728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for HHP1500K Mica Panel Heater, Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

HHP1500K Mica Panel Heater, Black

The Kenwood Mica Panel Heater features a sleek design that can either sit on the floor or be wall mounted. The adjustable thermostat and 2 heat settings allow you to set your ideal comfort level. This unit has a safety thermal cut-off to ensure product safety. The internal tip-over switch provides added safety in case the unit becomes unstable or is accidentally tipped over. The convenient carry handle allows for easy portability.
Overall rating:
3.556 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product7 of 9reviews
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(2)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(1)
78%of customersrecommend this product7 of 9reviews
Customer reviews for HHP1500K Mica Panel Heater, Black
Review 1 for HHP1500K Mica Panel Heater, Black
Tynegate
from Florida

GOOD SO FAR

PostedMarch 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So far very satisfied with the delivery speed and initial use of the stove. Even the oily smell when we tried it out seemed quite minimal. A well-mannered heating device that seemed the best option for a fanless, quiet heater. Hope it lasts longer than some reports would indicate!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HHP1500K Mica Panel Heater, Black
dandw
from NM

not too bad

PostedFebruary 4, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
this heater is not too bad. the things that you have to remeber is that it not a traditional heater where it warms the air. This heater uses ir heat. that means that it warms surfaces. it may take some time to do this so it works best if you give it the time. It is also not ment for large rooms. I like it for small areas
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HHP1500K Mica Panel Heater, Black
AllieS
from McKeesport, PA

EXCELLENT

PostedOctober 14, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just got this the other day and I LOVE IT! I turned my heat down to 58 and ran the heater in between my kitchen and living room. Within a about 2 hours my house was around 66. You can turn the nob very slowly till it clicks, when that happens it will keep your house at that temperature. It heated my house to a comfy 68. It is fantastic!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HHP1500K Mica Panel Heater, Black
TJ13
from West Virginia

Good Product

PostedApril 5, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Unlike some of the other reviewers, I found the heat output of this product more than acceptable. I replaced a radiant ceramic heater and was afraid the mica one might not put out as much heat, but I notice little difference. If you need something with a fan, of course, that's a different story, but for radiant heat, I think it works fine.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HHP1500K Mica Panel Heater, Black
chris0in0the0burg
from Pittsburgh, PA

I found it was not worth the extra money

PostedOctober 18, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had a small oil filled heater to heat my 8x8x7 room. I kept it on mid and number 3 to keep the room comfy. I bought the Mica heater to replace this heater after 5 years. After 24 hours on its highest setting the room never got comfy. The chill was out of the room, but just not warm enough. It also states that it is wall mountable. Not sure how it is because after 3 hours of being on the back of the unit gets HOT. Maybe I have a defective one not sure, but it is going back and I'll get two oil filled heaters for what I paid for this one. I know that the oil filled work just fine.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HHP1500K Mica Panel Heater, Black
JDZin
from San Francisco

Mica Panel looks cool but doesn't heat

PostedJanuary 23, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I needed an efficient whole room heater to take the chill off NoCal winter evenings. When it arrived, I unboxed it and put it in the living room ... first near the fireplace, then in the middle of the room, then close to the window, but no matter where I put it or long it was on, the heater (actually a Dilonghi) barely raised the temperature a degree or two. I also tried it in the dining room and kitchen, with similar results, although it worked best in the kitchen which was the smallest room I tried. Truth is, a little Holmes $15 fan heater I bought two weeks before did a better job, so I returned the cool new Kenwood Mica heater to HD.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HHP1500K Mica Panel Heater, Black
rcyclc
from Mountains, NC

Chose this over Edenpure

PostedNovember 16, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I followed along with the consumer reports and was going to get a baseboard type. I also borrowed an edenpure from a friend before I bought. The price of both those mentioned made me want to at least try this micathermic version. Had it about 2 weeks now and I am satisfied (although no power bill yet). The unit heats up fast and seems to work well in the large basement room i have. Tried it upstairs and noticed that it probably would heat the majority of the house too. The only drawback for some would be the idea of mounting it to a wall. The back does get hot and although it would set away from a wall probably 1 inch I would avoid getting this as a wall mount...its not an issue for me. The wheels and light weight feel is nice too. No bending over for the baseboard type and the controls are suitable for this unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HHP1500K Mica Panel Heater, Black
Anonymous
from upstate NY

Mica Panel Heater

PostedDecember 27, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Seems to be a great product, haven't gotten a light bill yet so we will see. I have a very drafty cold room which never was able to warm. We put the panel heater in the room it was a cold below 0 outside and 40 degrees in that room. It did not heat up very fast obviously but once established it has been doing great. We can actually leave the door open without a wind like draft. We ran the unit on high for a few days till it warmed up outside and are now using it at a lower setting. The room we have it in is about 15 x 15 which is a bigger space than recommended for the unit, but it is doing a great job. You need to allow the unit to warm items in the room when using it as we are, but would have to say a difference was notice in little time. The temperature is now staying over 65 at a low setting with little breeze felt. I would recommend the unit at this time, we'll see if I feel the same when my light bill comes. We are heating our old farm house in upstate NY with a wood stove and one of these little units.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HHP1500K Mica Panel Heater, Black
Sp95130
from san jose, ca

nice and quiet

PostedNovember 28, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This unit is very quiet. it does warm the area within about 3 feet and will increase the temperature of the room modestly away from that, but will not warm a large room on its own. i do have another similiar unit that is a bionaire and i will say although that unit is not quite as quiet or pretty, it will heat a room over time. I would say this unit is not quite as capable as the other, but it is more attractive and it does heat a small area pretty well. I got this for a lot less than the bionaire, which is why i was willing to try it...($63 with free shipping) and I paid about 20 more for the bionaire bought locally. I will wait to see what my electric bill looks like. If its not too high and i could get it for the lower price again (for the holidays its up to $90 now, i see) i would consider getting a second one to adequately heat my living room. (the bionaire is in the bedroom). BTW, i have no other heat source in my rental and plastic over large, single paned windows and live in the calif bay area. cold evenings are 50s to 60s and this unit will make about a 5degree increase on its own. you can tell its made the room warmer but it doesn't make it toasty. the bionaire will heat the bedroom so hot i have to throw off the covers and turn the unit off or down, so its quite the better performing unit.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.