728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop CFL Light Bulbs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 27-Watt (100W) Daylight CFL Light Bulb (2-Pack) (E)*

27-Watt (100W) Daylight CFL Light Bulb (2-Pack) (E)*

The EcoSmart 27-Watt (100W) Daylight CFL Light Bulb (2-Pack) is ideal for use in table lamps, sconces and other general lighting applications. The bulbs last up to 13 times longer and use 75% less energy than 100-watt incandescent bulbs. Suitable for totally enclosed fixtures, the bulbs save you up to $174 in energy costs over the life of the bulbs.
Overall rating:
4.182 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product9 of 11reviews
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(0)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product9 of 11reviews
Customer reviews for 27-Watt (100W) Daylight CFL Light Bulb (2-Pack) (E)*
Review 1 for 27-Watt (100W) Daylight CFL Light Bulb (2-Pack) (E)*
Dakota
from Washington, IL 61571, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Pleased

PostedSeptember 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed these bulbs in an un-finished basement. I had the "cool-yellow" CFLs installed, but the concrete walls really soaked up the lite. These were the perfect choice for this application. I think the mistake some people make is, every room requires a different choice of CFLs. ie, normal (cool), Daylight, or bright white. I filled up my cart with all the choices H.D. offered, took home and experimented, inside and outside of my home. Yes, all CFLs take 20-30 seconds to come up to full light, but the savings far out weight the inconvenience. I would not recommend LED's right now due to the cost. 5 years ago what cost $20 for one CFL, now cost $5.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 27-Watt (100W) Daylight CFL Light Bulb (2-Pack) (E)*
bman85082

WAYYY TOO "FLOURESCENT"

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Just wanted to put up a quick review! Now please know that you can talk to 10 different people & get 10 different answers in regards to this. But this is just my PERSONAL experience.
I bought these bulbs, & installed them in the ceiling fixtures in my closet & bathroom. First thing to mention is that ALL of these flourescent/CFL bulbs take a while to FULLY light up when you first light them (about 30 seconds to 1:30).... After that first "lighting", the next time you light them up they take less time but still take at least a good 20 seconds to fully light. In other words, they will not seem very bright at first (because they will not initially be at their rated brightness per your packaging), but they will kick in (once all sections of the tubing are fully lit) & you're good.
In my experience with these bulbs (this "Daylight" version), they were wayyy too "flourescent" in that I was expecting them to be like daylight but they actually looked just like your standard flourescents in most any older office building... One could almost cry false advertising, but because this matter is so subjective I don't think that would be fair. Nevertheless, I ended up taking them back & I exchanged them for the "Bright White" version of the same bulb, which is a lower color temperature (3500K vs 5000k).... Let me tell you, I have no reason to make up stories or twist information.... I can absolutely declare that if you want the brightest yet most NATURAL/"close-to-daylight" flourescent, grab the "Bright White" version (Model # ES5M823235K [in the red pack])...
My bathroom & closet ceiling fixtures have square "frosted" glass coverings over them & I promise you it TOTALLY looks like daylight. I feel that I am more than qualified to give this account due to the following: In my old house that I grew up in (I was there for about TEN YEARS), we had frosted dome skylights in the ceilings of both bathrooms. This would allow natural daylight to come in but with a nice matte/room-filling tone that was so pleasant, natural & non-harsh. I've missed those skylights ever since we moved from there & have promised myself that once I build my first house, I would have skylights again. After i put the "Bright White" bulbs in, I was instantly taken back to when I grew up in that house. When I walk into my closet/bathroom, I honestly have to keep pinching myself to convince myself that I don't have skylights in this apartment!!! They're THAT good & its amazing what a difference in color temperature will do for you...
Now they have some that are even LOWER color temperatures (2700K, "soft white") but then its straying away from natural & i'm not going to go down that road... One thing to note is that you (unfortunately) can't dim the "bright white" OR "daylight" versions of these bulbs... If you want to dim them, you have to go with the next one down ("Soft White" version Model # ES5M10123), but once again thats a lower color temperature & to me I just don't wanna do it.
Sorry for the rambling, but a review like this would have helped me tremendously. BOTTOM LINE: If you want harsh office-like flourescent, go for these... But if you want something that resembles natural daylight, go for the "Bright White" versions. You will NOT be disappointed!!!
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 27-Watt (100W) Daylight CFL Light Bulb (2-Pack) (E)*
meow
from seattle, wa

clean lighting

PostedMarch 15, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is great lighting to use for amateur photography because it has a higher color temperature (its a cooler color), unlike tungsten light, AND it is fairly bright without being too harsh. I made a mini softbox with one of these lightbulps (and put a light diffuser over it to make it softer) and for the price I paid, I was very pleased with the results.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 27-Watt (100W) Daylight CFL Light Bulb (2-Pack) (E)*
silverhalideartist
from Ashburn, VA

dead in under 24 hours

PostedDecember 20, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I replaced two 100W nVision Bright White bulbs with these for the increased lumens and cooler "daylight" color. First 1 died after only about 4 hours of use and 2 on off cycles. The second one is still working but start up is horribly slow compared to the nVision bulb on the other side of the room. These will be returned.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 27-Watt (100W) Daylight CFL Light Bulb (2-Pack) (E)*
MrRushing
from Olathe, KS

Great Deal!

PostedSeptember 27, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the most efficient of the CFl (Compact Fluorescent) family for the price. Most 14 watt cfl's or lower cost $10 for a 3 or 4 pack at most other stores as where at Home Depot you can buy a two 27 watt pack for $5 which would add up to be $10 for four 27 watt cfl's, it is a great great deal compared to any other store and the bulbs give off a wonderful natural daylight shade which makes everything more vibrant and easier to see.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 27-Watt (100W) Daylight CFL Light Bulb (2-Pack) (E)*
NWKat
from Vancouver WA USA

Ecosmart 27 watt (100 w) daylight bulbs

PostedJuly 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These are fantastic. I am an artist and they work for keeping colors true. I also like them because our Northwest climate is very dark for about 2 months. These lightbulbs bring a sense of a clear sunny day to my home. I have not had any long enough to determine how long they last, but other similar ones have been VERY energy efficient.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 27-Watt (100W) Daylight CFL Light Bulb (2-Pack) (E)*
HankEdwards
from Lancaster, PA

Best CFLs I have bought

PostedDecember 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have tried a few different brands and am most satisfied with the EcoSmart line. Almost all CFL start out dim and then "warm up" to full brightness. EcoSmart seem to brighten faster than other brands. I like the newer Daylight and Bright type of bulbs for places like the bathroom, kitchen, workshop and porch. There are some places I have been able to use a bulb of higher wattage equivalent because it doesn't get as hot as an incandescent bulb. It's nice having some "extra" light in a few rooms!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 27-Watt (100W) Daylight CFL Light Bulb (2-Pack) (E)*
3DPainter
from L.A., California

GREAT for Arts and Crafts

PostedAugust 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a professional painter, and I paint 3D art day and night. This bulb shows true colors of paints, and very bright- bright enough that I stopped using my halogen floor lamp or flood bulbs on ceiling. I have tried so many different light bulbs, and for a long time, I believed it was not possible to have both energy efficiency and brightness I need for my work at the same time. Doubt no more! I use this bulb to give direct lighting for all of my painting projects with confidence. I recommend this light bulb to anyone who requires seeing true colors of objects you are working with. Great for arts and crafts people!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 27-Watt (100W) Daylight CFL Light Bulb (2-Pack) (E)*
gramirez2012
from Barrington, IL

Good, but needs improvement

PostedOctober 31, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I purchased these light bulbs to replace an old 60 watt incandescent that wasn't cutting it as a front porch light. This bulb is VERY bright, and works very well - while using only 27 watts! The downside however, is that it is very dim in colder conditions (42 degrees F right now). After a few minutes it warms up, but initially it is very hard to see. Overall good, but needs improvement.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 27-Watt (100W) Daylight CFL Light Bulb (2-Pack) (E)*
ashah007
from Oklahoma City, OK

Great bulbs !! Feels like Day Light !!

PostedOctober 19, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This are a great set. I tried N-Vision and this one beats N-vision inside out. I also got the 13 Watt of the same company and they work great. Size is a little on the bigger side. If it fits, it would be great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 27-Watt (100W) Daylight CFL Light Bulb (2-Pack) (E)*
compuostina
from Euless, Texas

Perfect Item

PostedNovember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
it is perfect quality and price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.