728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Sprayers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Pro 4 gal. Diaphragm-Pump Backpack Sprayer

Pro 4 gal. Diaphragm-Pump Backpack Sprayer

Featuring heavy-duty, padded shoulder straps to help provide comfortable carrying, the Pro 4-Gallon Diaphragm-Pump Backpack Sprayer is designed for use with powders, liquids and water-soluble solutions. The 4 nozzles offer stream adjustment for customizable spraying and the wand can be used for left- and right-handed application.
Overall rating:
2.571 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
47%of customersrecommend this product9 of 19reviews
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
2.6 out of 5.0
5
(4)
4
(4)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(10)
Quality 
2.4 out of 5.0
2.4 out of 5
Value 
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3 out of 5
47%of customersrecommend this product9 of 19reviews
Customer reviews for Pro 4 gal. Diaphragm-Pump Backpack Sprayer
Review 1 for Pro 4 gal. Diaphragm-Pump Backpack Sprayer

Not even comfortable giving ONE star!

PostedApril 6, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Out of the box it felt cheap made for the price. Worked fairly well the first time around the yard. Second time after I mowed I drug out the sprayer to put down some roundup. Never got through the second use before the pump part, diaphram whatever, broke. Cheap plastic parts where it takes the most abuse such as the pump. No wonder a large part of the instructions is about how to order repair kits for the pump. Now I have to decide whether to take this back to Home Depot or write it up as a lesson learned and see what brands are available at other stores. Been a BIG fan of Home Depot for years but the more I see cheap junk in the stores, the more disappointed I have become.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pro 4 gal. Diaphragm-Pump Backpack Sprayer
from Brooksville, Florida

Hoped For Better Quality

PostedOctober 3, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had this pump sprayer for just less than a year. For the most part it work well however it’s the products durably I feel is this lacking. The hardware came apart and needs thread locking compound to keep it from falling apart.
My biggest complaint is the tank. I use it in a professional landscaping business so it’s out in the sun every day and the tank has become bridle and developed a large crack running along the top of the tank and finally where the shoulder straps connect to the tank is woefully deficient. I don’t understand how a designer could use so little material to keep the strap in place with a tank that could when full weight 30 plus pounds. I have replaced the tank for $22.00 but I am looking for a replacement for the sprayer.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pro 4 gal. Diaphragm-Pump Backpack Sprayer

Do not buy this product.

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I use backpack sprayers about every other day at work, and Ive noticed that over the last several years they are progressively lasting a shorter period of time( all solo sprayers). I bought this one and it hasn't even lasted six months. The main problem is that the gasket around the lid never totally prevents leakage, even when new. After a month of use the chemical will just pour down your back when you walk. Also, my spray wand has failed at three places. The valve doesn't work right. The wand leaks when it is hot outside. And the wand also leaks at the point where the tip connects. Do not buy a solo product!!! Save your money and get an SP or Birchmieir. P.S. you can't find replacement solo parts when they fail. If you're able to, the cost is a significant percentage of buying a new backpack altogether. I'm surprised Home Depot carries such a low quality product.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pro 4 gal. Diaphragm-Pump Backpack Sprayer
from Blaine
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stay away from this product

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My diaphragm started to leak after a year of regular use.
No spare parts and no warranty.
$120 down the drain
Cons: junk, waste
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pro 4 gal. Diaphragm-Pump Backpack Sprayer
from Tulsa, OK

Cheaply made

PostedMay 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Within a week, the plastic clips that hold the straps broke. I had to tie them in a knot at the bottom. Liquid seeps out of the wand and the pump area, spilling dye on my garage floor. When using the sprayer, the lid will leak and allow chemicals to run down your back. I am so dissatisfied with this sprayer. I would have gladly paid $30 more for a good quality product. I am so tired of junk and cheaply made products. This product is also generally delicate. You cannot just put in the back of a pickup without worrying about something snapping in half.
The good? It sprays a nice pattern. The pressure builds with a short number of strokes and the pump has worked well for me other than the leaks mentioned.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pro 4 gal. Diaphragm-Pump Backpack Sprayer
from Martinez CA

I think it is awesome

PostedMay 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm a "lazy can't stand to do yard work" kind of guy and I just moved into a place with a huge yard... all over grown with weeds. I hired some laborers to weed it and it was looking pretty down to the dirt (in May) and then it rained like crazy again so up they came.
Went and bought this guy and got the whole yard done on one 4 gallon batch of round up. I'm a happy camper.
Yes the chest strap is a little funky but not enough to take a star away in my opinion... the shoulder straps work great and holds it in place well and the chest strap is fixed with a knot on one side.
It went together VERY quick with a 13mm socket and wrench (I think a 1/2" will work as well as a pair of pliers if that is all you have) and that was it. This thing is cool... the fill opening is very large so filling and mixing is easy, it has marks on the tank so you know how much you are adding. One small warning... 4 gallons weighs a few pounds... filling it on a table where you can back up to it and "step into it" rather than picking it up and trying to swing it on like a back pack will save you a lot of work. Make sure to tighten the shoulder straps so it sits high enough that the "stand" (a bar that is bent into a C shape) doesn't hit your back when hoisting it around.
It is simple and effective... you cruise the yard, pump with your left and spray with your right... or switch it the other way if you want in probably about three minutes. I thought I would want it the other way, not sure why and I am right handed but the way it comes set up for right spray works best for me. I have a very bad back and this addressed an otherwise sometimes backbreaking job... it made it easy and manageable with NO strain on the bad back.
It doesn't take much pumping to get a VERY strong stream or mist/flow and it pretty much stays that way through the tank, a few pumps goes a long ways... and the pumping is so easy that it really doesn't feel like much work at all. The brass spray tip adjusted VERY easily giving me a quick dial in to the right spray AND it did not change or require adjustment at all during use.
All things considered... price, what you get, how well it works, how long you expect it to last... I think it is a bargain and would by it again in a heartbeat if it came up missing. This thing is a winner... you will make short work of a dirty pain in the rear job in no time at all... and with a 4 gallon tank you will get the whole yard in one shot or have some left over for touch ups.
This is one lazy guy that got back to his usual self in record time with this baby. 5 stars all the way.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pro 4 gal. Diaphragm-Pump Backpack Sprayer
from MD

Very good product

PostedJuly 10, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very easy to assemble and use. Used 1x and worked very well. Sprayed just the visible weeds on 1/3 acre in about 1/2 hour with little effort. Pumps easy, cleans easy. Suspect it will hold up and work well.
Somewhat difficult to learn what spray nozzle does what - but that is probably more me than the product or directions. No good spot to secure unused nozzles- easy to lose them.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pro 4 gal. Diaphragm-Pump Backpack Sprayer
from Lansing Michigan

Backpack sprayer RL Pro 4 gallon

PostedJuly 2, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The unit seems strong and well built. The actual operation instructions were a little weak and the pump handle does not stay firmly in place when you are pumping with it. Perhaps betters instruction with clearer pictures would help?
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pro 4 gal. Diaphragm-Pump Backpack Sprayer
from Katy, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Worst Backpack Sprayer

PostedMay 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Save you self the headeache do not buy this product. If the Diaphragm breaks you need to buy a new one. It is almost impossible to repair it without breaking the sprayer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pro 4 gal. Diaphragm-Pump Backpack Sprayer

Sprays well, but low quality parts

PostedApril 6, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Bought the sprayer this week to assist prepping a cedar fenceo for staining. Assembly was easy and straight forward. The big disappointment are the clips that hold the shoulder straps to the lower frame. Both have broken in 3 days of use. I will seek out new ones or just sew the straps to the frame. Just be prepared to lose some time dealing with this problem. Otherwise, i have enjoyed the convenience of the higher capacity and the srayer works well.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pro 4 gal. Diaphragm-Pump Backpack Sprayer
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Backpack sprayer is great just not this one

PostedJune 3, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the second sprayer that I have purchased. The pump broke after several uses. I purchased repair parts but was unable to get it to work. I then purchased another one. I should have known better. After two uses it is now out of commission. I am going to attempt to return it but I have my doubts. A backpack sprayer is definitely the way to go, but this brand is not the one to get.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pro 4 gal. Diaphragm-Pump Backpack Sprayer

Very poor design!

PostedOctober 22, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Can't believe you have to remove bolt to store. Cross strap was terrible, no easy adjustment. I will probably return before using. Unless you move pump handle to storage mode the wand has no place to fasten and the thing takes up a lot of space. Hose flops all around. Also, no way to release pressure except removing top of tank.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pro 4 gal. Diaphragm-Pump Backpack Sprayer
from Houston, Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

LOVE IT!

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used mine several different times and absolutely love it! Would HIGHLY recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pro 4 gal. Diaphragm-Pump Backpack Sprayer
from oregon
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DON'T BUY THIS SPRAYER

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After owning this sprayer for over a year, the diaphragm in the pump is leaking profusely, only after the lid has leaked the whole time. I can't find replacement parts, and if I can, I'm sure they will be very expensive. Not sure what I'm going to do with it, probably donate it somewhere and buy a commercial grade backpack sprayer. Sprayer worked good til it started leaking, but 1 year of use til complete failure? I'll never buy another Solo product again.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pro 4 gal. Diaphragm-Pump Backpack Sprayer
from Middleburg, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not worth the money! Quit Working!

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After I used it only two times & it would not pump up any pressure to spray! It seems that pump was not properly installed. There was also air bubbles coming from around the tank inside, which shows signs of leakage around the pump.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pro 4 gal. Diaphragm-Pump Backpack Sprayer

Not Recommended

PostedApril 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this to use instead of a hose-end sprayer or one of those smaller pump tanks you have to carry around by hand. Takes much more physical effort to keep the tank pumped up while using it than I had hoped. Even though hose-end sprayers are a pain with the hose and all, I think I'll go back to that. They're faster and require less muscle.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: too hard to pump
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pro 4 gal. Diaphragm-Pump Backpack Sprayer
from Grovetown, GA 30813, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pretty good

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The sprayer works great. The only issue that I have is with the shoulder straps. They are made to snap into the tank but don't hold very well. I ended up having to "rig" them myself with a set of rivets to permanently solve the problem. Other than the shoulder straps issue the sprayer is great. It comes with several nozzles and holds four gallons of liquid.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pro 4 gal. Diaphragm-Pump Backpack Sprayer
from Mendocino Coast of California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Terrific sprayer with great new improvements

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I may sound effusive about this sprayer but it is only becuase I am. I have another 4 Gal backpack sprayer by the same company that is about 12 years old. I llike the backpack sprayer a lot. It allowed me to load up a large amount of chemical and then to apply it effectively where it was needed: it did the job! After a year or so of use the sprayer started to leak from the pump and even with new seals it still leaked. Enter the Diaphragm sprayer, no "O" rings, no open pump shaft. I'm a retired mechanical engineer and I love this sprayer. The old sprayer I had to jury rig a plastic skirt to keep my butt and legs from getting soaked by chemical. This new sprayer is a closed system as long as the diaphragm is intact it won't leak, Great innovation! great sprayer and the rotating pump handle and the storage for the wand were great ideas too. I operate a specialty farm and this sprayer has been a pardigm leap in the world of backpack sprayers. I use it on my driveways, my parking areas and my fence-lines and I couldn't be happier!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pro 4 gal. Diaphragm-Pump Backpack Sprayer
from Southwest Oregon
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

THE sprayer for large quantities.

PostedMay 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
That review title was supposed to read "THE sprayer for large quantities." This is an effective sprayer and it's much easier to use than the bicycle pump type of sprayers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pro 4 gal. Diaphragm-Pump Backpack Sprayer

Very good product

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Owner for 4 months
Easy to assemble. Easy to use. You can spray a 1/2 acre in 15 minutes or so. Sprayer seems well built.
Shoulder straps are not the most comfortable, but more than handle the load. Would like to have seen better instructions on various tips to use and when, but not hard to figure out.
Would buy this again!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>