728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Power Clear 418 18 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Power Clear 418 18 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

The Toro Power Clear 180 Single-Stage 18 in. Gas Snow Blower features Power Curve patented technology to help efficiently move snow. The wide, rubber paddles are designed to propel the snow blower forward while clearing snow down to the pavement. This gas snow blower features a 4-Cycle, 87 cc Toro OHV engine to help provide powerful performance. The positive-locking Zip deflector lets the user throw snow in a variety of directions up to 25 ft. to ensure adequate snow removal.
Overall rating:
4.419 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(639 reviews) 639
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product560 of 611reviews
Rating Breakdown 639 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(419)
4
(150)
3
(24)
2
(11)
1
(35)
Features 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product560 of 611reviews
Customer questions and answers:
18 Questions | 164 Answers
Customer reviews for Power Clear 418 18 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
Review 1 for Power Clear 418 18 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Grafton, WI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outstanding!

PostedJanuary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
OK! After a great deal of research, on comparable units I made the plunge. First off, I have a Simplicity 1126L which handes the heavy stuff that Mother Nature tosses at us. I am not going to use the 418 to blow 10 inches of snow that has the consistency of cement. I need something to handle the 4-6 inch snow falls. I take care of my next door neighbors yard and mine. I have about 300 ft of sidewalk and two triple car 150 ft driveways. I want to get it done quick.
Before I bought the 418, I went out and bought a "great condition" TORO CCR 1000 1990 model 2 stroke powered single stage off of Craigslist. It worked great for a while then it had belt issues. The CCR paddle is one of the best on the market. The 418 has that paddle design. The 418 is a light weight strong powered machine!
So I researched the MTD models (CUB, Troybilt, and Yard Machines), the Poulan models ( Poulan Pro, Husqvarna and McCollouch). The Briggs and Stratton ( Snapper and Simplicity) and the Ariens Single stages. The Toro is the consistent highest rated blower - and with reason!
Simple replacement parts are not consistently available for the MTD and the Poulan models. The Briggs and the Ariens are great models but pricey. I looked up the paddle and the belts. These are normal wear items. Both Husqvarna and MTD paddles were not available or on back order off the web sites I checked. The belts were also not available for the Husky. The MTD belt was more expensive than the TORO parts.
The Toro peforms extremely well. It started up right our of the box. Don't worry about the 87cc engine. It has the guts to tackle a 6 inch to 8 inch snow fall. The engine is well matched to the 18 inch width. Is it a Chinese engine? Yup it is...so are most of the Briggs, the Poulan's and the MTDs. But keep one thing in mind the Chinese produce good stuff and also bad stuff. TORO has great qualtiy control - they do send their staff to oversee the engine manufacturing. The engine is a power house - believe it! Are the other competitors engines larger - yes - but they have 20, 21 and 22 inch widths. The 87 OHV engine is well matched and well engineered to this width snow blower. The electric start is nice, but my wife and I don't need it.
Let's talk about the carburetor and the gas. The gas we use today is troublesome for small carbureted engines. If you let your power equipment sit for more than 30 days with gas in the carb, you will likely have issues. I use Seafoam gas additive ( available at HD) to keep my carburetor clean. In Wisconsin, we have the extra special winter blend ethanol enriched gas which absorbs water readily. If you don't have fresh gas, that has a stabilizer, you will get surging and eventually have carb issues. IMHO. Drain you carburetor at the end of the season and the tank and you won't have problems.
This little baby really throws the snow! It'll tackle moderate snows, just slow down a little. If this is your only snowblower, get out there twice or three times a storm and you'll be fine, of just get a larger Toro. I highly recommend this excellent product! Way to go TORO!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Power Clear 418 18 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from pennsylvania
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Decent snow blower,but...

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I purchased this new Toro Power Clear 418 EZ (non-electric start) about a year or so ago , but only just used it this Jan, 2014 as we haven't had enough snow to justify using it until now. This thing can handle up to about a foot (12 inches) of snow (more if you are willing to take smaller "bites" with at least one more pass). Paid just under $400 with tax at Home Depot. A few caveats however, the wheels are small and made of plastic with very little traction, making use on moderate to steep inclines (5% grade or greater) difficult to use effectively as the machine can slide (if you work uphill,with good traction footwear, this helps somewhat). It would have helped if the wheels were a bit bigger in diameter and made of rubber for better traction. It was relatively easy to put together (approx 30 min to 1 hour total time including reading the manual) out of the box after first reading the instructions, but you do need some wrenches to help attach the washers and lock nuts of the chute properly (hand tightening here wouldn't quite be good enough in my opinion, but you still don't want to over tighten). The snow I used this on was relatively light, and even on relatively level ground the distance the snow was thrown was about 15 feet or so even after adjusting the chute several times. It took several pulls (approx 3 or 4) even after priming it and with the choke on for a cold start, to start this thing. I'll have to wait to see in another year or so if it is any more difficult to start. It may be worth the extra money to get the electric start if you are considering purchasing, especially if you don't have a lot of upper body strength for the pulls. So, if you live in one of Mid-Atlantic states for example, and have a relatively level or mildly sloping piece of real estate, this guy could handle approx 90% of your snow falls in my opinion (20 inches or greater would be out of the question in my opinion). i wouldn't pay more than $400 plus tax for it (maybe a little more if you get the electric start). Haven't had a leak problem as yet as one reviewer stated, but I am keeping my eye out for it. If you have a lot of moderate to steep inclines on your property that need to be cleared you may want to purchase another model that is self propelled with better traction, otherwise I would no problem recommending this model as it is small, relatively easy to assemble, relatively powerful for it's size, relatively easy to transport in say, an SUV, if you needed to take it to help out a friend or another family member. I wouldn't pay more than $400 plus tax for it (non-electric starter) maybe a little more if you get the electric starter model.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Power Clear 418 18 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from MI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Everything You Need In A Snowblower!

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The Toro 418 Is a very effecient, machine, unless you live in an area with a lot or several deep snowfalls, this should do the trick, without costing you a lot of money! This particular model was recommended to me by a guy who services lawn equipment, he told us dont get anything else, it wont last! He said the Toros hold up and are easier to repair when they do need servicing. We'll see. The unit is heavy! I was not difficult to uncrate and assemble, one just needed to put the handle on and tighten it in place and put the chute on the blowing hatch and use 2 nuts to hold the chute onto the body. they supply a bottle of oil that has to be put in the machine before one can use it. there is an easy to open oil resevior cover.But you do have to stand the machine on its front end to do this or you may get oil all over! After that, put gas in the tank (its 4-cycle so no need to mix oil!) and plug it in with a heavy-duty outdoor extention cord, turn the gascock on and press the starter button located just above the extension cord plug and it should start right up! Mine did, I only had to press the starter for a second and she kicked right in. Unlike a lawn mower, you dont need to grasp the saftey handle to start it, but to engage the paddles, you do! It moves along well does a decent job of moving the snow. We had really powdery snow so it blew around and I had to adjust the chute down so it wouldnt just re-spread! Only beef I have is it wants to pull right, I had to fight to keep it on a straight course. The snow was close to a foot deep, so it was not easy to get through. but we did. I'm generally pleased with this model, I would recommend it, unless you have a very large area to clear, a lot of snow, or several heavy snowfalls, this may not be the best choice for those situations. But in an urban area, with light to moderate snowfall in winter, this should keep you happy!
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: Difficult to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Power Clear 418 18 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Wickliffe, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for regular snow

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Finally use it for the first time with this Wednesday winter 2012 blizzard. The first time start took a few pull, just didn't prime enough. I used the electric start and worked effortlessly. After that, manual pull was easy.
The light 4-6 inch powdery snow was easily to remove. The light weight of the blower has the pros and con. The pro is light and easy to push. The con is too light and sometimes floats up on deeper snow. The snow shoots up 15 plus feet.
When I get to the apron closer to the road, I had a hard time removing wet snow. It keeps stalling on me few time. I have to move a little slower and run two pass trying to avoid it. For heavy and wet snow, this unit is not very good. It keeps stalling. The whole reason I purchase this was to help me remove heavy snow on the apron which was a back breaking task instead of manual hand shoveling the snow. The blower help saves my back but frustrated on the performance.
This model with light weight and compact size blower is ideal for clearing the side walk and narrow path. Easy to turn around due to the small and light weight. A plus for light snow area but not for wet snow. It does a job better than manual hand shoveling and cut the time in half.
I was hoping to get a simple model as my driveway is short and don't need a big and expensive snow blower for that. I was steered wrongly by some of the reviewers and I should listen to the one who had more problems with it. I was wrong in the sense that the blower stalls on 8 inch of wet snow. A very disappointing performance.
For a very light snow and powdery snow, this works. For heavy and wet snow (thicker than 8"), this model doesn't perform that well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
Cons: stalls on wet snow
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Power Clear 418 18 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Naperville, IL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bring on the snow/ Buy this it will save your back!

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Overall great product, but in self propel mode when the snowblower is tilted forward, the machine moves on an angle so it's hard to keep a straight line. My husband had the same problem.
Works fast if you know how to plan your driveway path so you don't have to constantly turn the snow shoot surprisingly I see ALOT of people making it harder on themselves like we were when we started.
Here is a HUGE TIP: For a rectangular driveway….make a pass at the top (by the garage) and bottom (by the street) to create a snow free path, then cut a line down the center of the driveway, when you get to your clear paths at the top and bottom of the driveway, the snow shoot won't' have to get turned as long as you go counterclockwise or clockwise (doesn't matter) as long as you keep the same path…picture a rectangular pinwheel. My husband was able to do an entire 6 car driveway in 9 minutes and that was with 5 inches of heavy snow in the self propel mode…it normally would have take 1 hour or longer. Well worth the money. Great and strong machine. I can actually say the snow isn't a chore now.
Very compact design too, we have a 2 car garage and no room for anything but it really takes up very little floor space. We already used it for 3 heavy snow storms of 4+ inches each, works great even where the snow plow pushes all the street snow on our driveway. You have to take smaller "bites" of the snow with the snowblower but it works great, just watch the curb not to mess up the blade.
Oh, and my husband said we didn't need it until he tried it for himself and was really impressed how quick it goes and how well it works…I am now SUPER WIFE…but he already knew that ;)
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Power Clear 418 18 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Chicago
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Does The Job / Good For The Price

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Overall this Snow Blower does a pretty decent job. We recently moved to a new house from a townhouse so no more condo association snow removal, and of course it is the worst winter in decades here in Chicago. We needed one pretty quickly and this was one of the only affordable ones left. We just couldn't see spending $1300 on a snow blower...at the time. It works just as well in the heavy wet snow as it does in the pretty soft fluffy kind but only if you don't expect too much, You will need to pull back once you hear it starting to fade so it won't shut off on you. I didn't give it a higher rating because after just 3 weeks in the cord broke just as my husband was about to tackle snow storm #199 of the season. The folks at Home Depot were AWESOME. We were actually looking to upgrade but the associate that helped us was so knowledgeable and recommended we didn't based on the selection they had available even though they cost several hundred dollars more - we appreciated that! They happened to have one left in the exact same model so we were able to do an even exchange. Basically it is a good snow blower for the money but probably better for a small area. We have a large driveway and backyard and could definitely use one a little bit bigger, but it is small enough and easy enough to use that I was able to operate it when my husband was out of town. For now it serves its purpose.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable, Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Power Clear 418 18 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Chicago, IL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

A very nice little blower!

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've just purchased this blower in the past week as we've encountered a significant amount of snow here throughout the Chicagoland area. I'd have to say that we have well over 2 feet of snow on the ground at this time and have used it 4 or 5 times thus far. We're aware of it's limitations due to size and have had to use it a little more frequently perhaps than we'd need to with a larger and more powerful blower. I really needed something that my wife could easily maneuver and this little Toro is a champ! I was concerned that it's 87cc motor might be a bit undersized but it really does toss the snow. Our driveway is about 65 feet long and it removed 10 inches of snow in under 90 minutes, quite remarkable in my estimation given the fact that it was blowing and drifting quite a bit at the time. My father had a little TORO S-200 for 30 years and it ran like a champ but was NO match for this little workhouse. Are there more powerful blowers available? Sure, but if you don't really need a beast of a blower or if you want something easy to maneuver and to put together, this TORO is a very nice little snow blower. I would recommend without hesitation. It starts up easily in just a couple of tugs and keeps running.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Power Clear 418 18 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

As Easy As Vaccuming

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was the best purchase I've made in a long time. I bought this small Toro snow blower and canceled my snow shoveling service saving myself hundreds of dollars every winter. I actually enjoy using this on my walks and driveway. I'm a single mom with two young teenagers and my kids time me doing the walks--I can do our entire driveway and corner lot sidewalks in 9 minutes. I love it when I pull out my little mighty snow blower and all the dads in the neighborhood are walking behind (or riding on!) these giant snow blowers and I'm just cruising along getting the job done, putting the little guy back in the garage and moving on to the next thing. I thought about going up to the next size width to accomplish more in less time, but this is so easy to use.
The snow blower turns on easily with one or two pulls of the cord. I also have an electric starter but have never needed to use it.
It cleans snow down to the sidewalk while I'm walking at a fast pace. It can clear heavy wet snow but is a bit slower at that task.
I have no complaints and love this little machine. It has saved me a ton of money and time, and it's fun.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Power Clear 418 18 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Suburb of Chicago

Small But Mighty

PostedDecember 8, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this unit 2 years ago. I don't have much extra space in my garage so I wanted a small machine. I have a 2 car driveway that is 3 cars deep plus the walkways. So it's a good deal of area. I was concerned that this unit would not be able to handle the job. But it does a great job every time. It even goes through the HEAVY WET SNOW left by the plows at the end of the drive without stopping. I do half to take the this section in smaller swaths but it does all the work.
It always starts ! I use a good quality fuel stabilizer and make sure I run it dry at the end of the season. When the first snow hits I just put in the gas and start it. I can't say anything bad about it. It's small, light and very strong. It cleans right down to the pavement and throws the snow well over 25 feet so I don't wind up with snow mountains down the sides of the driveway. The deepest snow we have had so far was 14 inches. This machine handled it with no problems. This is my third year using it and as always it started right up and did it's job. It's refreshing to spend money on a machine and be able to smile about it while using it.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Power Clear 418 18 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Frustrating and useless

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This snow thrower was given to me as a Christmas gift 2012 by my adult children to save me from shoveling. I used it once that winter and it appeared to work pretty well. This past winter it has been nothing but problems. It starts then stalls when engaging blades. I have had it in for service twice. The first time they blamed it on bad gas and I had to pay $80 to clean lines because they say that gas issues not covered under warranty. I bought new gas can, new gas and stabilizer. Took it home and next snow it started and stalled again. Took it back. They couldn't find anything wrong. Next snow again it started but stalled again when engaging blades. I live in the Philadelphia area and we have had the worst winter in years. In the six or seven snows this year I have only been able to use it once. NOT RELIABLE. I have read that some users have had carburetor problems. Not bad the two times it worked but need something that starts. Warranty will expire next winter before the next probable snow. Don't know what to do. Really disappointed in TORO product which I thought would be dependable and NOT so unreliable.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Power Clear 418 18 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best little blower yet!

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this new in 2013. Outta the box it was an easy sell. Assembly was fast and easy. Read a lot of complaints about adding oil to the unit. Book says add 20oz oil. Unit came with 20oz oil. Unscrew the oil fill cap, tilt the unit on it's nose till the fill hole is up and pour it in. Easy.
Was a little disappointed when it said "two pull start". I always had to pull about 8-10 times. Well, after reading the instructions (really, who does that), I found out I was priming it incorrectly. I would mash it about 8 times...turns out twice is the magic number. It has been 0 here in Ohio for many days. The unit can sit unused for a week in 0 degree weather. Close the choke, prime it TWICE, pull the rope twice and it is running. And it is a quiet running machine. As far as throwing snow.... we had a 10 inch snow fall. I let the machine do the work and was busting through 10-12 inches of snow and throwing it 30 ft. never missed a lick, never coughed or stalled. Just can't force it. Let the machine do the work. Haven't tried the electric start yet, no need. Pull it twice and you are on your way.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, easy to start
Cons: none yet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Power Clear 418 18 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from New England
Age Range:25 to 34
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A good, simple snow blower.

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently moved to an area that gets a lot more snow than I have been used to getting in recent years, so I was looking for a simple snow blower for a 3-4 car driveway. This machine has definitely lived up to the positive reviews I read. The electric start is great, the oil was easy to change (though a bit messy as the drain plug is set very close to the metal guard on back), and it does a great job clearing. It works great for snows up to 6 inches, and if you're patient and willing to take smaller passes, it does fine with slightly more accumulation. If I worked slow and took small "bites", it even did fine with the 18 inches of heavy, wet snow that the snow plow put at the entrance to our driveway. I have been very satisfied with what this machine can do for the price I paid. It is reliable and does a good job. Just remember it is a small snow thrower, so if you don't think you can be patient and let it work, get something bigger. I've been very pleased with my purchase.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Great Engine
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+30points
34out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Power Clear 418 18 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from St. Paul, MN

Used it once, and I'm a fan

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had 20" of snow today in Minnesota, and my driveway and sidewalks had 3+ feet of snow on them, I shoveled my car out of the bottom of the driveway and picked this up, the guys at the store had it already assembled with oil in it and everything. I filled the gas and one pull and I was on my way! Cleared the snow with no problem, just had to cut through the heavy parts slowly, but my driveway and sidewalks are now clean down to the concrete! If you don't need one of the larger models this should be the one you're looking for, I have a small garage and it fits in nice, and it fits in my car also, so its pretty handy to take wherever you need. Motor runs nice, simple to operate, choke lever is made of plastic, so hopefully I don't break that. It uses a sort of double sided squeegee instead of metal blades, which I wasn't too sure about, but this was pretty heavy snow, and it had no problem getting through it. Best money I've spent all year!
+24points
28out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Power Clear 418 18 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from lynn ma
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

GREAT LITTLE MACHINE !

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I first used this machine after 8 inches of snow with ice on top it worked good but it was noisy well because of the ice it was scooping up! then on jan 2 2014 in lynn mass we got 15 inches of snow
nd it worked great and did not stall once because I know engines and can hear when it is going to stall
so you just back it off a bit and reblow it. it seems very dependable and starts very easy with the pull cord I also do not use the electric start because just the time it takes to plug it in you could start it manually I also looked at the worst reveiews about the carb problems I already have plans for this to keep this baby running I found a website for 13bucks you can buy a carb rebuild kit and for 45 bucks
you can buy a new carb so every summer when I am bored I am going to rebuid and switch out the
carb. so hopefully it will be like new every winter!
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Self-Propelled, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: none yet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Power Clear 418 18 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

I HATE IT!!! (Keep reading....)

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I absolutely HATE this thing? Why, you ask? 'Cuz the darn thing won't die!! My wife won't let me buy one of the big Toro Power Max HD blowers until this one dies. Well, unless I run this one over with the truck, I don't think I'll be getting a new toy any time soon.
To be honest, this thing just keeps running. Yes, it's an 18" snow blower, so keep that in mind when you're going in to that 4 foot drift. But for everything else, it works like a champ! Cleans down to the pavement, easy to move around to clean the front stairs and the back deck, perfect for my 200' of sidewalk (yes, 200 feet!). And the electric start is the goods! Hit the primer, hit the button, clear some snow.
It's a Toro, so it just works.
I'm sure I can find something else to spend my money on at Home Depot. I think I may need a new grill....
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+69points
69out of 69found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Power Clear 418 18 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Great purchase :)

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a very good product. I have had to use it 5 or 6 times since my purchase on Jan. 25, 2014. It does a wonderful job for being a smaller type snow blower, and it has always started right up, even when the wind chill was -40 degrees, and it sits in an unheated garage! I have to make 3 swipes on my sidewalk to clear it, and 8 swipes across my driveway, but it is well worth the little extra work for me, because I now have a machine that actually starts right up when it gets cold :) Thank you to the TORO Co., for making this awesome product! ( ToroPower Clear 418 18 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower )
The ONLY complaint, is that I think for the price, TORO could have installed a mechanism to control the direction of the chute while plowing, like they have on so many other models.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: Limited Features
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Power Clear 418 18 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Gets the job done, exactly what i was looking for

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I picked this up to tackle the never ending snow we've been getting in Illinois and this little guy has gotten the job done every time. It starts up on the first pull every time and my wife enjoys using the electric start. The specs for the snow depth are pretty accurate and anything beyond that cause it to get a little bogged down but it is to be expected with this type of model. I've been running it a few times a week for the last few months and it has been running great. The build out of the box only took about 10-15 minutes but the cable to engage the paddle is a little strange to get set up and dialed in right, the instructions for that aren't the greatest either. I'd def recommend this for anyone looking to do some basic driveway/sidewalk clearing after light to moderate snowfall.
Pros: Great Engine, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Power Clear 418 18 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

truly a blessing

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am soooooo glad I purchased this snow blower. I Bought it for my mom and brothers who live in the suburbs near Indiana. She lives across from an empty field and they get a ton of snow there. It takes my brothers hours to dig out the walk ways and to dig out the alley so they can get the car out of the garage and on to the street. The snow storms we have been having recently has been horrible and I purchased this blower just in time. Not only did it take only one of my brothers half the time to do everything by themself but he was able to dig out some of our older neighbors who dont have any young males to shovel them out. This was a great investment and worth every penny. My mom is eternally grateful and so are my brothers cause they dont have to kill themselves digging out a path.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Power Clear 418 18 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Ellicott Ct, MD

Power Clear 180

PostedDecember 26, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
"This is the 2nd Toro I;ve owned, The older model was a 2 cycle that lasted 20 years, and decided to go with the newer power clear 180 4 stoke and give it a chance. It worked great. We Had 21" snow in one day and it cleaned right down to the pavement. Had plenty of power for snow depth 10" or less, even with packed snow at end of driveway where the county plowed us in. Did not burn much gas, easy to move and store in garage when done. Also light enough to lift in back of truck. Even though it has electric start ,I tested the manual pull cord both hot and cold starts, and no problems. Just had to learn the cold start process. Use of controls is easy. Would recommend and buy again. I plan to keep this unit another 20yr, AND NO MORE MIXING GAS AND OIL. Way to go Toro..
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Power Clear 418 18 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Washington, NJ 07882, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great snow blower for a woman to use

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I like this item as it is easy enough to assemble (did it myself!), and maneuver. Men love giant snow blowers, but us gals have difficulty with them. This is the perfect size/weight for a woman to use without issue. It does a great job! I like the electric start when I first get going, and if I should "feed" it too much snow, one pull and it restarts. So if you're tired of trying to use a giant one & feel like it would have been the same difference if you shoveled, get this one. Did my 6 car long driveway and all of my walks, and felt great. The direction shute seems a bit chintzy being made out of plastic, but I have no issues with it. It is self propelled if you pick it up by the handle, and does get down to the pavement. Slow & steady & you'll have no problem.
Pros: Easy to Use, Self-Propelled, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 14 >>