728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Sno-Tek 24 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

Sno-Tek 24 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

The Ariens Sno-Tek 2-Stage 24 in. Gas Snow Blower utilizes dual-stage technology to deliver reliable performance. With a 24 in. clearing capacity and all-steel dash panel and controls, this blower provides a durable option to handle your wintery woes. With a 24 in. clearing width and 20 in. intake height plus the 6 forward speeds and 2 reverse speeds transmission and an 11 in. serrated, all-steel augers that pull snow into the blower, this unit will power through tough snow conditions providing efficient snow removal.
Overall rating:
4.464 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(56 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product18 of 20reviews
Rating Breakdown 56 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(42)
4
(7)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(4)
90%of customersrecommend this product18 of 20reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Sno-Tek 24 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
Review 1 for Sno-Tek 24 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from Wisconsin (We have 80+ inches of snow a year)

Worth every penny

PostedFebruary 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are very happy with this snow thrower. Here are the reasons:
- The engine is very powerful. It can throw the snow to 20 feet away.
- Easy to start. It doesn't take more than two seconds to start the engine.
- Good "gas mileage". We only spent 1 gal of gas and it already lasted for 5 major snow storms (5 to 15" of snow each)
- Solidly build. It is built by Ariens in US. Our previous Ariens snow thrower had worked for 25 years before it retired.
And we wish this machine has the following features:
- 2 wheel drive. Currently the engine is driven by one wheel only. It can be problematic if the friction is low because the snow-thrower moves like fish-tail.
- Snow shoe/ tire-chains to improve traction.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sno-Tek 24 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from Woodbridge, VA, transplant from upstate NY

Sno Tek review

PostedJanuary 10, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought and received an Ariens sno tek snow blower. Put it together despite no apparant instructions and after slight experimentation, got it to run....needed it with 20" of snow. Worked great....no problems. Wish we had more snow so I could use it more. Just wish it had a bigger engine but after "feathering it" with the hand clutch it chugged along and threw the snow well. I'd buy another if they keep this program going a while.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sno-Tek 24 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

PostedJanuary 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product. Made with the same quality as their main Ariens brand. Throws the light to heavy snow without a problem.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sno-Tek 24 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from Connecticut

Works well but needs chains on tires

PostedJanuary 1, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've owned more expensive snow blowers in the past and so I was initially a bit concerned I was trading down by getting this one. But having used it a few times, it does everything the bigger ones have done in the past. My only complaint is that it needs chains on the tires -- not sure why they wouldn't automatically include this given that they don't cost much and can make a world of difference in terms of traction.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sno-Tek 24 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from Fort Washington , Maryland

Its all that and more, Sno-tek

PostedFebruary 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I recieved my snow blower there was no snow, I couuld not wait for it to snow again,and my wish came true, it snowed on Jan 30 ,2010 about 4" here in MD ,and I did 4 houses in less than an hour, and more snow is coming february 2nd and more on the 6th and 7th,so you know what's up, I'm really happy with my investment and very impressed about it's performance. Let it snow, Let it snow, Let it snow.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sno-Tek 24 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from Indiana

Awesome, Indiana

PostedJanuary 8, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Its totally easy to assemble. Ive used it three times this week and its so easy to manuever. Blows the snow anywhere from 15 to 20 feet. It sure beats the heck out of a shovel. No regrets on the purchase and would recommend this item to anyone looking for a good snowblower. I give this 5 stars+++++ also made in the Good Ole USA which is very hard to find. Special thanks to Ariens, and The Home Depot.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sno-Tek 24 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from Eastern Shore, MD

Outstanding Performance

PostedFebruary 10, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had the Ariens Sno-Tec 24 for almost a month now. Over the last few weeks it has been put to the test. It is easy to start, runs a long time on a tank of gas and chews up the ice and snow. I would definately recommend this snow blower.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sno-Tek 24 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from Michigan

Sno-tek Two-Stage 24 In. Recoil Snow Blower

PostedDecember 28, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Wife picked up the same unit in the local store, but it only had 1 forward speed, no reverse. So, I went online and found for $100 more I got 6 forward, 2 reverse speeds. I also found a 10% online discount, so the new unit cost me about $40 more. I assumed it would show up in a box, and require assembly. To my surprise, about a week after ordering I got a call from a local Ariens dealer arranging delivery of the unit. Even more to my surprise, it was assembled and prepped by the dealer. Now the downside (and reason for 4 stars vs 5). The dealer did a very poor job "prepping". When the guy pulled it off the truck, the chute assembly didn't work. The cotter pin had fallen out in transit (probably wasn't seated properly). Before I ran it I checked the oil level, and saw that it was at the "add" level. I'm certain I know what happened. If you read the manual, you'll note that oil level is to be checked with the oil cap unscrewed. Naturally, if you check the oil level with the cap screwed all the way in (down) it will show more oil. Finally, the two skid pads on the outside of the unit weren't adjusted at all. The first couple of swipes I made with the unit it was scraping like heck. After I figured this one out, it was an easy adjustment. So, the moral of the story is don't assume the "dealer" knows what the heck they are doing.......
Now, the good news is the unit itself. I used it for the first time today. Started 1st pull. Went through a couple inches of wet, heavy snow at full speed without any problems. Worked so well, I went to my neighbors and had their drive cleared in not time. You're supposed to change the oil after the 1st 2 hours of use (clean out any manufacturing "crud"). What would have taken me around 2 hours to do with my old single stage Toro I did in under 45 minutes with the Ariens. I'll have to do a couple more runs before Its time to do the 2 hour change....
If you need the power of a dual stage thrower, I'd recommend this unit. It will remain to be seen how durable the LCT engine is. It certainly is built with all the "good stuff" (cast iron cylinder, ball bearings on the crank). According to the dealer guy (based on my noted experience, I do take this with a grain of salt....) the only difference with this unit and the pricey professional units they sell is that the various rotating parts are bushings rather than bearings as on the pro units. Of course, should the bushings fail they can be retrofitted with bearings easily should you choose to do so. Based on my experience, bushings will outlast you as long as they are kept reasonably clean and lubricated.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sno-Tek 24 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from Buffalo Grove, IL

Nice design - watch assembly

PostedSeptember 4, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Just got the snowblower last night.
Overall nice design - lots of improvements over the same type of snowblowers from 10 years ago. Especially in the belt area and the whole gearbox/impeller assembly they have made nice improvements to the design. If gearbox blows, the gerarbox, impeller shaft, and auger are all more serviceable than in the past. The quick turn of the chute is great too.
Bad news - assembly - snowblower is going back. In assembly Ariens put very lightweight grease everywhere on the drive gears. Under moderate temp the grease liquifies and drips. The bottom of the box had oil deposits which concerned me. After sitting about 8 hours in the garage the grease dripped oil deposits on the garage floor.
When I took off the bottom belt-pan I found a handle bolt just laying around making noise. So I've decided to return for replacement.
Other assembly issue is Ariens puts white grease pen X's ALL over the snowblower for assembly checks. What's up with this!? Guess Arien's feelings are that it's a snowblower and finish in a consumer product is not that important.
Anways back to the store it goes because the extra handle bolt found rolling around in the bottom pan.
-Sparty
-2points
4out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sno-Tek 24 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from Aurora Colorado

Just add snow!

PostedOctober 8, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am not to sure about the other reviewer not even using the blower before he took it back which seems very odd to me. How can you write a review on a product that you never used and returned?
My friend has an older Ariens which is about 10 years old and has said it has never failed to start or given him any problems not to mention his drive is 3 times the size of mine. He gives it the highest marks after 10 years of use!
Mine is new and the fit and finish is excellent! I can't wait until the first big snows! I live on a corner lot so I have a lot of side walk to blow! 10 years, mine s a 4 cycle so no mixing fuel&oil great price and warranty how can you go wrong? Last winter the HOA was lacking in their snow removal and this year I won't have an aching back all evening!
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sno-Tek 24 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from Orange, NY

I love it

PostedDecember 12, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love it... I read other reviews which weren't many, maybe 2 .. but couldn't really gather much incite.. I decided to bite the bullet and take a change and purchase it ...
First: The price was just right.
Second: It's made in America .. how about that..
Performance.. On my second use of the blower the day was much colder than my first.. maybe 25 degrees F. I primed the bulb and then flipped the switch to on and pulled the handle, she cranked right up. I was amazed, yet glad. Snow removal is very good, throwing snow at least 15-20 feet (and im exaggerating a bit). The gearing is also nice to.. For the money I really don't have much or anything to complain about...
Also I got free shipping on the snow blower to, so that was a plus not having to have to pay 60 to 80 bucks just to have it delivered... If your in need of a snow blower, order it now ...
I give 5 stars ...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sno-Tek 24 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from Gypsum, CO

Works perfect in 2 feet of snow!

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just purchased the Ariens Sno-Tek two-stage 24" snow blower. This is my first snow blower after thinking about purchasing one for three years now. I love the fact that it is built in the good old US of A!!......can't say that about too many things these days.
We just received a little over 2 feet of snow here in the Colorado Mountains and this thing cleared out my entire patio, sidewalk and driveway with no problem. Machine started on the first pull and it is super easy to use. Everything about this unit seems very solid and dependable. I can finally clear my driveway with ease and I am looking forward to putting this thing to the test all winter.
I do have decorative concrete all around our house so I decided to purchase the "non-abrasive skid shoe kit" and replaced them with ease with the metal ones that came with the machine. They worked great and I am confident that those will prevent any scratching or dings on our concrete.
Hope this helps!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sno-Tek 24 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from Milwaukee WI

Bad experience on 1st use

PostedDecember 24, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just got the snowblower as a christmas gift and just so happened there was snow on the ground so I put it to use. About half way thru the driveway the wheel cotter pin fell off and so did the wheel. I know its possible just a bad pin on the wheel but about 2 hours into ouwning this product the wheel fell off.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sno-Tek 24 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

Sno Tek

PostedDecember 13, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just bought this Snow blower and so far I love it. I've never owned a snowblower before but have to say that this is perfect so far. I'll post an update in a few months or so.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sno-Tek 24 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower

good machine for the $$$$$

PostedDecember 21, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased on 12/18/09 and used on 12/20/09,
cleared 3 foot tall plow embankments with no problem, easy to use and throws snow like a larger 28'' MTD I use to have
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sno-Tek 24 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
from Rochester, MN

AWESOME!!!!

PostedJanuary 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great machine at a great price! As good or better than machines costing more. This thing is a BEAST!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Sno-Tek 24 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower
Based on the average of (40) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
3 out of 4 recommend this product