728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Umbrellas & Bases or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Palm Canyon 8-1/2 ft. Patio Umbrella-DISCONTINUED

Palm Canyon 8-1/2 ft. Patio Umbrella-DISCONTINUED

The Palm Canyon collection Rectangular Umbrella is made with extruded and cast aluminum for strength and durability. This umbrella also features mildew and fade resistant Olefin fabric, an espresso frame finish, three position tilt, and a hand crank for easy operation. The other items in the collection include a 2 pack Swivel Rocker, 3 piece Balcony Set, 5pc Firepit Set, 7 piece Dining Set, Chaise, and a Side Table. Umbrella base sold separately.
Overall rating:
2.577 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
46%of customersrecommend this product12 of 26reviews
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
2.6 out of 5.0
5
(4)
4
(5)
3
(2)
2
(6)
1
(9)
Quality 
1.5 out of 5.0
1.5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
46%of customersrecommend this product12 of 26reviews
Customer reviews for Palm Canyon 8-1/2 ft. Patio Umbrella-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for Palm Canyon 8-1/2 ft. Patio Umbrella-DISCONTINUED
from Rhode Island

this umbrella was not worth the money!

PostedJuly 5, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased the whole set at the end of the 2009 season and used it for maybe a month. Last summer we used it all summer till maybe august and then the pin broke that keeps the umbrella from tilting. I will not replace it at the cost of $199! My husband tried to fix it but due the plastic parts inside he can not. I still have my old umbrella from a discount store that cost $40 and it still works beautifully after 5 seasons. This umbrella is a dissapointment because it covered the large table and matched the set. I will now try to find something that matches elsewhere. Not worth the hassle or the money.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Palm Canyon 8-1/2 ft. Patio Umbrella-DISCONTINUED
from Cudahy WI

Palm Canyon Umbrella

PostedJuly 19, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
purchased in June 2009, this summer the button to tilt the umbrella fell off and was laying on the ground. I called Home Casual and they state the parts to fix this are not available yet I do see that it is still for sale on line today, 7/19/11. We had never used the tilt option on the umbrella and can't believe that this fell apart and away from the umbrella. If they are still making the umbrella the parts should be available. Buyer Beware!!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Palm Canyon 8-1/2 ft. Patio Umbrella-DISCONTINUED
from Cape Coral, FL

Not a good deal for this price!

PostedMarch 14, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought the umbrella to cover our large patio, which it did beautifully. However, for this price, it should be made a little more durable. The metal stays that support the umbrella are NOT attached, so each time you put it up, you have to carefully hold them in place WHILE you are cranking it up. You have to stop periodically to make sure the metal stays STAY in place. My husband was not as patient with this process and just cranked it up. It broke immediately. One would think that for $179 and no stand included, at least the metal stays could be attached to the fabric better. Definitely would not recommend this umbrella. Buy cheaper and get better quality. Unfortunately, it is hard to find one this size and shape.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Palm Canyon 8-1/2 ft. Patio Umbrella-DISCONTINUED

Don't do it!!! Poor Quality!

PostedMay 9, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am on my third umbrella. The first one broke-in-half on a mildly windy day, only two months after I purchased it. I sent the company a picture and they sent me a new umbrella. The second umbrella lasted the rest of the summer/fall and was packed away for the winter. I unpacked it the next spring only to find that one of the small pins on the arm that holds up the canvas, was missing. Because I have the matching table and chairs, I ordered another umbrella thinking that I must have stored it improperly. The new umbrella arrived bent in the center. I was eight months pregnant and two tired to focus on returning the umbrella, so I have two broken umbrella and very sunny patio. Poor quality product. Do not buy this product.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Palm Canyon 8-1/2 ft. Patio Umbrella-DISCONTINUED
from Ocean City, New Jersey

This product is made poorly

PostedJuly 26, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this set in May 09, I am now on my third umberella. The first lasted a month and a half, was replaced under warranty. The second one was used for 4 months in 2010, and one and a half months in 2011 before it broke. I feel that for the amount of use it gets , that the quality is very poor. Unfortunately it matches the cushions so I don't have much of a choice. The second umberella was not covered under warranty, had to pay full price.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Palm Canyon 8-1/2 ft. Patio Umbrella-DISCONTINUED
from Amarillo, TX

Umbrella

PostedMay 30, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Our umbrella also shipped without a stand. There is a stand pictured with the umbrella. There is not a stand mentioned as "coordinating item". It stands to reason either the stand should be included with the umbrella or should not be shown with the umbrella and should be shown as a "coordinating item".
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Palm Canyon 8-1/2 ft. Patio Umbrella-DISCONTINUED
from St Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very Poor

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not worth &199.00. Very inferior fabric and construction. Already coming apart before it was ever used. It looked liked it was a used product returned and sold as new. I got a much better 10' from Sam's Club for half the price.
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Palm Canyon 8-1/2 ft. Patio Umbrella-DISCONTINUED
from Indiana, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Save Your Money!

PostedMay 7, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had this umbrella for one year and threw it away! The construction is very poor and the fabric is not fade resistant! The cast aluminum pole broke when it was blown over by a slight wind. The rest of the set is great, but find your umbrella elsewhere.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Palm Canyon 8-1/2 ft. Patio Umbrella-DISCONTINUED

needs more ribs

PostedJune 2, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
this is a rectangular umbrella. nice that the shape matches the table, but it has two drawbacks:
- the wind constantly hits the long side and spins it around, even when it's anchored in the baes.
- when it rans, the water collects in the sagging areas between the ribs, holds it, then dumps it into the chair below. there's no way to get the chairs under the umbrella to avoid this.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Palm Canyon 8-1/2 ft. Patio Umbrella-DISCONTINUED
from 12304
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Average quality, too expensive.

PostedApril 16, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Considering the price of this item, the quality of workmanship and materials used is lacking.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Palm Canyon 8-1/2 ft. Patio Umbrella-DISCONTINUED

poor quality

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very poor quality. One week since I bought it, and it already showed wear and tear. Returned to store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Palm Canyon 8-1/2 ft. Patio Umbrella-DISCONTINUED

umbrella

PostedJuly 25, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I loved the set in store. The umbrella broke after two weeks and we got another one and that one broke on the second day i would never buy this set!!!! wish i didnt so look else where
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Palm Canyon 8-1/2 ft. Patio Umbrella-DISCONTINUED
from ca

umbrella

PostedMarch 20, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great umbrella but was quite disappointed to find that it does not include the stand for the price of 179.00. Now I have to spend money on a stand.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Palm Canyon 8-1/2 ft. Patio Umbrella-DISCONTINUED
from Tampa, FL

Great umbrella

PostedMay 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bigger than I thought, great quality. Really protects from weather
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Palm Canyon 8-1/2 ft. Patio Umbrella-DISCONTINUED

Not worth the money

PostedJune 6, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this umbrella less than a year ago. A small wind came and broke it to pieces. The umbrella was always twisting and turning regardless of weather. I am very dissatisfied with the product and now have to buy new one, but not at home depot.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Palm Canyon 8-1/2 ft. Patio Umbrella-DISCONTINUED
from Palm Springs, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

FABRIC DOESN'T HOLD UP WELL

PostedApril 1, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I bought this entire suite. It's A very nice looking suite. Unfortunaly the umbrella only lasted about a year and a half before ripping. I think the warranty was only 1 year of course. Now I'm faced with trying to find the replacement canopy or find something else that might match this st. The button to push to tilt the umbrella had broken during the first year. They did send out a replacement part under warranty no problem. I just wish the fabric was a little more durable. Otherwise it's a great set and I get a lot of compliments on it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Palm Canyon 8-1/2 ft. Patio Umbrella-DISCONTINUED
from Vista, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Terrible

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wish I would have listened to all the poor reviews on this product. We bought this set in July of 2011. Lucky for us the umbrella came free with the set at the time, We loved the set when we first received it. The rectangular umbrella was different then the typical round ones. After 6 months, like everyone else said, the button to the tilt part of the umbrella popped out, The metal broke. I called Home Depot and they forwarded me to Hemei Furniture. After numerous phone calls they sent me a new umbrella. It was the wrong shape and the wrong color. So back on the phone I went and had to send them proof that they sent me the wrong color. One week later I received a new umbrella, the right one this time. (they did let me keep the wrong one they sent out first). All is good and guess what, 3 weeks ago the button popped out of the tilt area of the umbrella again. I have NEVER used the tilt function of the umbrella. So now I am playing phone tag and email tag with Hemei Furniture again in hopes that this issue will be resolved. I do have one more complaint, Although the cushions are very comfortable, they are extremely faded after only a year. DISAPPOINTMENT to the max!!!!!!!!!
Pros: Sturdy, Comfortable
Cons: fades and umbrella keeps breaking
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Palm Canyon 8-1/2 ft. Patio Umbrella-DISCONTINUED
from Pittsburgh Pennsylvania

This umbrella is exactly what I was looking for.

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This umbrella fits perfectly over my rectangular outdoor table and chair set. Additionally, I was able to purchase this product at a great sale price and it was much less than what I found on other websites. I was also able to take advantage of free shipping for this product, which made the purchase extremely pleasing. I recommend this purchase to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Palm Canyon 8-1/2 ft. Patio Umbrella-DISCONTINUED

Palm Canyon Umbrella...No Umbrella Stand?

PostedApril 13, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
^^^ As they said..nice umbrella but very surprised it didnt come with a stand for that price. This was especially disappointing since the instructions explicitly say "Do not use the umbrella without a stand". Poor decision by the company not to tell you this upfront when purchasing the dining set.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Palm Canyon 8-1/2 ft. Patio Umbrella-DISCONTINUED
from PA

Quality concerns

PostedJuly 5, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this umbrella with the table and chairs. The table and chairs have been fine. However, the umbrella has broken after only a couple months use. Unfortunately it sat in the unopened box for about a year before we used it so the one year warranty has expired.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>