728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Floor Boar 1/2 in. Manual-Ratchet Laminate Floor Cutter

Floor Boar 1/2 in. Manual-Ratchet Laminate Floor Cutter

The ROBERTS Floor Boar 1/2 in. Manual-Ratchet Laminate Floor Cutter helps you make full-length, cross, notch and angle cuts in laminate flooring without needing to make adjustments. The cutter features dual 48-tooth blades made of durable, hardened steel.
Overall rating:
2.613 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
43%of customersrecommend this product13 of 30reviews
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
2.6 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(3)
3
(3)
2
(3)
1
(14)
Appearance 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Quality 
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6 out of 5
Value 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
43%of customersrecommend this product13 of 30reviews
Customer reviews for Floor Boar 1/2 in. Manual-Ratchet Laminate Floor Cutter
Review 1 for Floor Boar 1/2 in. Manual-Ratchet Laminate Floor Cutter
from New Hampshire

Good for a small project

PostedJuly 18, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This tool works pretty well if you only have to make straight cuts, and very few corners. I'm a novice at installing laminate flooring, and used this over a weekend to install flooring my 200 sq. ft. home office. The tool was great for me working in a third floor condo because it doesn't produce a lot of dust, so I could use it in my living room with just some cardboard under it to capture the waste. I did have some problems with cuts not being straight, but those ends will be covered by molding when I do the finish work, so it shouldn't matter that much. Overall, I would recommend this product for a project around 200 sq. ft. or less.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Floor Boar 1/2 in. Manual-Ratchet Laminate Floor Cutter
from Whittier, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Floor Boar

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Second day using this to cut laminate floor boards. Ratchet has not broken like others have mentioned. It cuts well. Cutting long ways is a little tricky. Has worked well for me. Obviously, can't compare to a table saw, but overall it has gotten the job done for the price. Satisfied.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Floor Boar 1/2 in. Manual-Ratchet Laminate Floor Cutter
from Dallas

Love This thing

PostedApril 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used a chop saw when installing my first daughters room and wish i had this thing! With the Floor Boar i never left the room and it made the job go 10X faster with no mess. The chop saw, i had to go outside everytime to make my cuts- over and over again, with this i just had it next to me the whole time. I read some earlier reviews but thought for $69 i would try it out and im glad i did. The best thing about this is it can cut the full length of the panel, i had to use a table saw for my other room-dangerous! Also, all the cuts made by this are covered up by baseboards so who cares?! i think this thing is great-love it!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Floor Boar 1/2 in. Manual-Ratchet Laminate Floor Cutter
from Lake Charles, LA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product, good value

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We work with a lot of volunteers, installing laminate floors. This cutter is great because you don't have the dust that you get when cutting with a miter saw, and you don't get all the walking back and forth from inside to outside where the saw is. We bought 4 of these and set up a crew in each room and off they go.
Several reports talk about the ratchet failing. This happened on two of ours. On one of them, the knob had worked loose and just needed tightening. On the other one, someone must have unscrewed the knob to remove the ratchet and not replaced the washer. The washer must be installed to keep the ratchet on the spline when the knob is tightened. We installed a new washer and everything was fine.
Cross cuts are fine with this cutter, lengthways cuts are OK with practice, it helps if someone else is holding the plank will you are cutting.
I don't how long these will last, but so far we have installed around 5000 sq ft of flooring with them and not had any problems other than those mentioned above. They have certainly paid for themselves over and over. Laminate floors will dull a miter saw blade very quickly so these eliminate the cost of replacing saw blades.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Floor Boar 1/2 in. Manual-Ratchet Laminate Floor Cutter
from Tennessee

Bad Cutter

PostedMay 5, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The one I purchased won't cut along a straight line. During the cut it drives your material off to one side. Once the cut is complete it is off more than 3/16 of an inch or more. There is no way to make a correction during the cut because it is self feeding and aligning.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Floor Boar 1/2 in. Manual-Ratchet Laminate Floor Cutter
from Georgia

The only way to cut laminate flooring!

PostedNovember 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wasn't sure when I bought it, but thought I would give it a try. I was sure happy that I bought it! I installed just under 900 square feet of 5/16" thick (plus 1/16" attached underlayment pad) laminate floor and the Floor Boar worked great. The flooring had the pad attached and as long as I cut it upside down, it worked flawlessly. The ratchet did come unscrewed a few times, but as long as I tightened it up here and there, I had no problems with it. The blades held up perfectly. When cutting a corner, I would get as close as I could and then finish off the corner with a hand saw. In the past I used a table saw and that was a mess and not advised. This saved me a lot of time by doing all of the cutting right where I was laying the floor. As for the straight cut issues that seemed to be reported, as long as you take a few seconds and make sure that the piece of floor is straight, it cuts it straight and fast. Even my five year old helped me, with supervision of course! This is a must have and take your time and follow the directions, it works great! This gets 5 stars and a full recommend! Best $70 I spent!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Floor Boar 1/2 in. Manual-Ratchet Laminate Floor Cutter
from arkansas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

ideal time saver that really allows work to fly.

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This tool allows easy cutting of 12mm flooring to be done right where installation is happening saving enormous energy and time. It makes a serious chip pile of shards and such but is dust free and easy to contain mess using a flooring box under it. The appearance of cut is a bit rough and not super crisp; but, that isn't it's purpose. I used it to cut fairly complex cuts in a large room and it finished great in little time compared to running outside to my table saw. I read all the negative reviews and simply admit my experience was very different. Takes a few cuts to really get the hang of it but it is easy to use. Caveat, make sure to start straight by noting the lines on table and holding to em and you'll be fine.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Floor Boar 1/2 in. Manual-Ratchet Laminate Floor Cutter
from Houston,TX

Floor Boar

PostedNovember 8, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This product was working great for me until the blade cracked into 3 pieces on one side. The cuts are not as clean as the picture shows on the box. It is a little difficult to cut long straight line with this product. The good aspect of this product is that it is not as messy as my saw. I think the best person to use this is on small projects with short straight cuts, because your edges are pretty chewed up from the cutting action, and if your cutting angles this thing tends to clip off your nice little point
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Floor Boar 1/2 in. Manual-Ratchet Laminate Floor Cutter

Good for easy jobs, but...

PostedSeptember 9, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The cutter worked fine when I was only cutting the board's width. The length cuts were sometimes difficult because it wouldn't keep the board lined up correctly. Always draw a line and watch it carefully. This is a great product if the cuts aren't too intricate. Also, your neighbors will be happy that you're not using a miter or table saw. I did use a table saw towards the end of the project because the length cuts were too much of a pain.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Floor Boar 1/2 in. Manual-Ratchet Laminate Floor Cutter
from Illinois

Floor Boar

PostedNovember 1, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Rec'd this item fast. The directional switch was broken BUT the company was terrific and sent me another one the NEXT day. Once I tried this product I was sold! This is one of the best products I've used and the company has a customer for life for their great handling of the broken product. No dust, easy to use and great cuts every time. I can't say enough about how much I like this product. This is my 4th room doing laminate flooring and the Floor Boar made it a breeze.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Floor Boar 1/2 in. Manual-Ratchet Laminate Floor Cutter

Good design but very LOW quality.

PostedFebruary 17, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
For a 200SF floor, I broke 3 of this cutter! Most parts of this cutter is good except a very small thing in its lever clicking to keep rotation. But if this little metal stuff is deformed, the cutter cannot work any more. All three cutters have this mechanical failure.
Do not buy it, it just waste your time and energy. If possible I would give this cutter 0 star.
Howeve,. HD is back up me well, return my money, though I still wasted a lot time on the cautter.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Floor Boar 1/2 in. Manual-Ratchet Laminate Floor Cutter

Horrible mechanical quality

PostedAugust 29, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Went through 3 of these in 2 days. Ratchet failed on the first one, cutter teeth went on the second, and the ratchet again on the third. All in just trying to complete a 10 x 13 room. When it worked it worked great, manufacturing quality was the issue. The cuts it made were straight and easy. Until quality improves don't waste your time or money. HD handled exchanges well though.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Floor Boar 1/2 in. Manual-Ratchet Laminate Floor Cutter
from CO

Glad we bought it

PostedMay 31, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Based on prior reviews I didn't want to buy it but my husband insisted. Glad we did. We had extra planks and practiced on one first. All cuts came out perfect and straight. We also used a paper template for the corners around the doors. All of those fit great (snug) around the corners.
Only 1 plank chipped and is at the end that will be covered by the T molding in the doorway.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Floor Boar 1/2 in. Manual-Ratchet Laminate Floor Cutter
from buffalo

works great

PostedFebruary 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
went through 18 boxes of pergo. Worked great. can even make cuts the long way, just watch your line. minimal mess compared with powere saw. great option if you have to cut indoors.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Floor Boar 1/2 in. Manual-Ratchet Laminate Floor Cutter
from Hickory NC

Good, butpoor quality

PostedDecember 14, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
it cuts great, can be used for corner cuts. easy to use, I loved it. However, as others have mentioned, the ratchet broke after 1 hour of use. Very disappointing.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Floor Boar 1/2 in. Manual-Ratchet Laminate Floor Cutter
from North Idaho/E. Washington

Floor Boar

PostedOctober 28, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought one of these cutters for cutting laminate flooring and found it to help speed things up a bit but it did provide a rougher cut (especially in a corner notch) then pictured on the box (Home depot had the best price so save yourself some time searching and just buy it here if you are going to buy one). In other words I would say that on the box they probably made the cut with a saw for the photo. As far as use I would say it is good for the price and for being an economical costing tool. However while waiting for this to deliver we rented the one that Home depot carries in their rental center which is much heavier and costly (professional grade tool) but I found the cut quality to be much better. If your only going to be working on your project for a few days you could save a bit too with a better cut and less messy results. So here we go...
Pros: Buy this if you think your project is going to take some time and want to be less messy then a saw as it is faster and less dust is created. The cut is fairly easy.
Cons: Leaves tons of little bits that get cut out between the blade and doesn't provide as nice as a cut as others on the market. The ease of cutting is overtaken as a con since it takes several ratcheting motions per cut. Also corner cuts are not at all clean and must be chiseled clean or cut with a hand saw for a nice fit thus negating the reason for the cutter.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Floor Boar 1/2 in. Manual-Ratchet Laminate Floor Cutter
from Slidell Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hesitant To Purchase

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was hesitant to purchase this cutter after I read the reviews but i am glad I did. I have used the cuttuer in our home and a rental property and was suprised at how well it worked. Works great on cross cuts but you have to struggle to keep the long cuts in line.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Floor Boar 1/2 in. Manual-Ratchet Laminate Floor Cutter
from Folsom, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Piece of junk

PostedDecember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cutter worked well for the first few hours then the forward direction ratchet stripped out. I reversed the handle and a day later, the reverse direction ratchet also stripped out making the tool absolutely useless.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Floor Boar 1/2 in. Manual-Ratchet Laminate Floor Cutter
from Hartselle, AL

This product needs to be taken off of all shelves.

PostedAugust 5, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was able to make approximately 2 1/2 cross cuts on 8 inch laminate boards before the cutter stripped. It still worked in the opposite direction, so I reversed the ratchet and was able to finish the cross cut and started a lengthwise cut when it stripped again. It will be returned to the store tomorrow.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Floor Boar 1/2 in. Manual-Ratchet Laminate Floor Cutter
from Indianapolis
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

slow

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
product is not dustless and takes too long to use much easier to use a jig saw
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>