728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for SimpleSet Gray 1 -gal. Premixed Thin-Set Mortar

SimpleSet Gray 1 -gal. Premixed Thin-Set Mortar

SimpleSet is a no-mix, no-mess alternative to traditional thin-set mortars. It spreads quickly and easily. Recommended to bond ceramic, mosaic and quarry tile up to 8 in. x 8 in. for interior use only. Can be used with tile up to 18 in. x 18 in. but dry time significantly increases. Dry time will be extended if using larger tiles, bonding to non-porous surface, in high humidity, or if temperature is below 60F. Do not apply excess adhesive when installing.
Overall rating:
3.355 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product21 of 29reviews
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
3.4 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(8)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(9)
Appearance 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product21 of 29reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for SimpleSet Gray 1 -gal. Premixed Thin-Set Mortar
Review 1 for SimpleSet Gray 1 -gal. Premixed Thin-Set Mortar
from South Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pretty Good

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Gray is a little cheaper than white. It works pretty well, I got about 40SF out of it instead of 50SF.
It takes out the guess work in the mixing and time to mix. Good consistency and easy to work with.
Dried in about 12 hours with a fan blowing on it. Will use it again.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SimpleSet Gray 1 -gal. Premixed Thin-Set Mortar
from happy valley lake pleasant
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Premix Mortar

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used to attached faux stone. Sufficient ...who is to say this is to short
Pros: Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SimpleSet Gray 1 -gal. Premixed Thin-Set Mortar
from Concord, NC, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Premixed mortar in a bucket

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
It is what it is... Premixed mortar in a bucket. Good for small jobs or in my case prep and touch up work during bathroom renovation. Honestly I used it because I was too lazy to go outside with the drill and mix thinset. It's expensive compared to bagged dry thinset, but it did save time.
Pros: Very Adhesive
Cons: expensive
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SimpleSet Gray 1 -gal. Premixed Thin-Set Mortar
from Stratford, CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product was very easy to use--especially as an amateur. This was my first tiling project I've done totally on my own and this product made it much easier to complete!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SimpleSet Gray 1 -gal. Premixed Thin-Set Mortar
from New Albany, IN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great for floor tile as well as wall tile

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Not sure why some people are saying this stuff does not setup hard. I have been using it for the past several months and have never had a problem with it.
Takes away the guesswork in on-site mixing and it is the stickiest thin-set I have ever used. I have also used it for faux concrete labs, along with stain and a sealer. Hard as a rock.
While it is expensive, the time saved in mixing is worth the difference.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Effective
Cons: Hard to Remove
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SimpleSet Gray 1 -gal. Premixed Thin-Set Mortar
from West Lafayette, IN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Would never recommend this product

PostedApril 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this product tiling a kitchen floor. Never use this for flooring. Maybe it has other uses, but flooring is not one of them. First of all it's not thin-set, and it's not mortar. It's Mastic.. I laid my tiles and 40 hrs later it hadn't cured in the least bit. I ended up pulling all the tiles, cleaning them, & redoing the floor with mortar. After pulling the tiles after 40 hrs, the Simple set was just as moist as the minute I put it down. I bought 2 buckets,,,,a waste of $100. Terrible product, at least what I used it for.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SimpleSet Gray 1 -gal. Premixed Thin-Set Mortar

Denny

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The mortar was easy to use great price did a great job with the tile
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SimpleSet Gray 1 -gal. Premixed Thin-Set Mortar

Easy to use

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Picked this up for my first Mortar job to seal the seams of some wonderboard about a month ago. Worked great. I did just recently notice that we just hit some high 80s days and I started to smell the Mortar again like it wasn't totally cured yet. It was hard and hasn't cracked so I don't think it hurt anything.
Pros: Easy to Install
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SimpleSet Gray 1 -gal. Premixed Thin-Set Mortar
from Seattle, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to apply w/o mess

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Thin set mortar is great value for professionals or DIYs due to easy, no messy usage. Minimal smell during dry out and strong hold.
Pros: Comfortable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SimpleSet Gray 1 -gal. Premixed Thin-Set Mortar
from mesa,AZ

easy to use

PostedSeptember 26, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
this product is very easy to use no mixing no fuss it is strong it has a good amout of time before it sets i would strongly recomend this product
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SimpleSet Gray 1 -gal. Premixed Thin-Set Mortar
from Lexington, KY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not set like traditional thin set mortar

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Waited 3 days for this product to set hard.
After which, I called the company and explained that I followed all their instructions but it wasn't setting hard. I could poke it with a pencil tip and it would go right in. It would cumble if squished between my fingers.
They told me that is the way this product sets - it doesn't and will not get hard like traditional thin set mortar. It will always stay "flexible".
I had to rip out all the floor tile and reset them.
This product should not be marketed as "thin set mortar" with no other explanation AND state it's intended for floor tile. There is flex in walking on tiles and eventually the tile would certainly work loose if the mortar stays flexible and crumbles.
Horrible product!
Home depot reimbursed me for my project but not my time and labor of having to rip it all out and do it again.
Cons: not suitable for floor tile
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SimpleSet Gray 1 -gal. Premixed Thin-Set Mortar
from Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Pre-mix was a good idea.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It was quite nice to open the container and start working. It is easy to work with. I followed the instructions and allowed for ample cure time. It set solid. I recommend cleaning your joints out as you go. The hardest part for me was going back to clean them out but that's my fault.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Great Instructions, Easy to Install, Effective, ready to use
Cons: expensive convinience
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SimpleSet Gray 1 -gal. Premixed Thin-Set Mortar
from Durham, CT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No mixing, spreads easily, dries fast and hard. That what mortar is supposed to do. This fits the bill 100%.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Effective
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SimpleSet Gray 1 -gal. Premixed Thin-Set Mortar
from OH
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product DOES NOT set at all!!!!!!

PostedOctober 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We installed a 12x8 ceramic tile floor using this Thin Set product. After waiting 4 days for it to dry, we called the company. They told us that it just needs more time and to try putting a heater in that room to help it dry, so we did. One week later.....the Thin Set Mortar was still not hard. I was able to poke into the mortar with a screw driver. We even used a dehumidifier in that room also for 3 days and still no new results. Finally after 2 weeks, we then called the company back to once again complain about their product. They then offered me very, very minimal amount of money to redo my floor, about a quarter of what the whole project really cost me. Finally after a long conversation with them, I am now getting 3 estimates from contractors to redo my floor and they are paying.
Since we have come to an agreement, I, in turn, went into my room, used a small screw driver and was able to lift a tile up as tho it was just put down. I was able to draw lines thru the mortar with the screw driver and I was also able to scrape up some of the mortar and form a sticky, wet ball in my hand.
Needless to say, I will never use this product again, it's nothing but junk.
Cons: doesn't harden
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SimpleSet Gray 1 -gal. Premixed Thin-Set Mortar
from Swarthmore, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

5 x 7 Bathroom Floor

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Premixed Thin-Set Mortar
We used this product to lay 6 X 6 in ceramic tile over ¾” plywood subfloor covered with Durock tile membrane in a 5 x 7 bathroom. Product was easy to apply and cleanup was easy. Tile was firmly adhered to the floor after 24 hr and appears to have “dried”.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for SimpleSet Gray 1 -gal. Premixed Thin-Set Mortar
from Staten Island, NY 10306, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple easy to use. Mess Free

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Needed a small amount of thin set to hold a shower pan in place. This product was ready made, easy to apply and the left over can be stored. A bag of thin set would have to be used in one shot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for SimpleSet Gray 1 -gal. Premixed Thin-Set Mortar
from West Seattle, Seattle, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

heavenly to work with

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this creamy quick set mortar mix. This product allowed me to set tiles at an increase rate. The color is great also, when it dries the neutral color blends well with colored grout.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install, Effective
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for SimpleSet Gray 1 -gal. Premixed Thin-Set Mortar
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

EPIC FAILURE!!!

PostedJune 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product cost us 3 days of re-setting our wall tile. Epic failure! Did not dry after 2 days and completely ruined our hard work. Had to re tile entire wall. This mix failed as a product in our opinion. It is not cheap and I would NOT recommend this product to anyone!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for SimpleSet Gray 1 -gal. Premixed Thin-Set Mortar
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Takes for ever to dry

PostedJune 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Don't use this product on a floor it dose not set up hard enough.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for SimpleSet Gray 1 -gal. Premixed Thin-Set Mortar
from Terrell
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not worth it!!!

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This stuff will not dry and harden the way you expect it too. Sure its easy to use & no fuss but you will not like results. We are ripping up a floor and starting over. It has been down 5 days and tiles can still be lifted right up off the floor. Home Depot has been fabulous and they are giving us credit for 3 buckets of this stuff and a few boxes of tile to compensate us. Never the less, we would have been much happier if we weren't starting over! TIP they say you must lay this on the floor as a mortar bed. Do not trowel individual tiles!
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 >>