728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for SimpleSet Gray 1 Gal. Premixed Thin-Set Mortar

SimpleSet Gray 1 Gal. Premixed Thin-Set Mortar

SimpleSet is a no-mix, no-mess alternative to traditional thin-set mortars. It spreads quickly and easily. Recommended to bond ceramic, mosaic and quarry tile up to 8 in. x 8 in. for interior use only. Can be used with tile up to 18 in. x 18 in. but dry time significantly increases. Dry time will be extended if using larger tiles, bonding to non-porous surface, in high humidity or if temperature is below 60°F. Do not apply excess adhesive when installing.
Overall rating:
3.717 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product35 of 44reviews
Rating Breakdown 46 reviews
3.7 out of 5
5
(19)
4
(14)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(9)
Appearance 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product35 of 44reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for SimpleSet Gray 1 Gal. Premixed Thin-Set Mortar
Review 1 for SimpleSet Gray 1 Gal. Premixed Thin-Set Mortar
from Salem MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked as expected

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This was my first tile job. The floor specialist at Home Depot recommended this and I welcomed the fact that it was premixed. I used it on a small bathroom floor of about 35 Square feet total. It took 2 - gallon buckets which is what I expected. The tiles were 6" x 24" in size. I finished about 9 PM at night. The next morning at around 8:00 AM the tiles were firm and not moving at all although the mortar still had some flex. By later in the morning it had firmed up and I was walking carefully on the floor without worry.
Not sure where are the horror stories about the stuff never setting are coming from. The product worked fine for me. It is expensive and I would go with a dry mix if doing a larger area.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SimpleSet Gray 1 Gal. Premixed Thin-Set Mortar
from Portland, OR
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product, easy to use.

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love having the mortar premixed. Easy to use! I also used Home Depot's paint, leveler, and other products to complete this project.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SimpleSet Gray 1 Gal. Premixed Thin-Set Mortar
from Warwick, RI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

EASY TO WORK WITH

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I only wish this came in a smaller container since my project was small in size.
I also repaired a ceramic statue with some of this :)
By the way.. my tile floor looks great!
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SimpleSet Gray 1 Gal. Premixed Thin-Set Mortar
from Concord, NC, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Premixed mortar in a bucket

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
It is what it is... Premixed mortar in a bucket. Good for small jobs or in my case prep and touch up work during bathroom renovation. Honestly I used it because I was too lazy to go outside with the drill and mix thinset. It's expensive compared to bagged dry thinset, but it did save time.
Pros: Very Adhesive
Cons: expensive
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SimpleSet Gray 1 Gal. Premixed Thin-Set Mortar
from Colo Spgs, CO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ready to use Mortar

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The gray colored mortar was ready to use. We had never used this product before but were able to figure it out pretty quick. We used a smaller 4" blade to apply it to a painted wall and also to wonderboard. After we applied it, we used a 1/4" notched trowel to even out the mortar and then pressed into place the slate backsplash.We only applied enough mortar to cover the piece we were working with. It helps to have 2 people to make it go faster. It helps to use the product at one time. We had to do it over a couple days and the second day the mortar was a little dryer and not as easy to apply but we were able to finish the job and it turned out great.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SimpleSet Gray 1 Gal. Premixed Thin-Set Mortar
from summerville
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

time saver

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
no mixing in buckets etc. Goes on smooth. Might be too pricey for larger projects
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SimpleSet Gray 1 Gal. Premixed Thin-Set Mortar
from mesa,AZ

easy to use

PostedSeptember 26, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
this product is very easy to use no mixing no fuss it is strong it has a good amout of time before it sets i would strongly recomend this product
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SimpleSet Gray 1 Gal. Premixed Thin-Set Mortar
from South Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pretty Good

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Gray is a little cheaper than white. It works pretty well, I got about 40SF out of it instead of 50SF.
It takes out the guess work in the mixing and time to mix. Good consistency and easy to work with.
Dried in about 12 hours with a fan blowing on it. Will use it again.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Effective
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SimpleSet Gray 1 Gal. Premixed Thin-Set Mortar

Good purchase

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I used it 2 years ago on walls covering old tiles and sheetrock. Didn't do any preparatiions besides regular cleaning. We are talking about 2 bathrooms. I do not see any loose tile. It takes longer time to dry out (days), but it is convinient if you need to correct mistakes. I am not a pro but tiles look really good. The downside is a weight and not very easy to spread it on the wall if product is not very fresh.
I never use it on the floor.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SimpleSet Gray 1 Gal. Premixed Thin-Set Mortar
from Hagerstown, MD
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product for do-it-yourself installation

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product is perfect for someone like myself who does a project himself. It enabled me to install small quantities if tile at a time at my convenience without mixing large quantities of thinset and having some wasted.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SimpleSet Gray 1 Gal. Premixed Thin-Set Mortar
from LaPorte, Colorado
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple & Easy

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This thin-set is so easy to use and helps make installation a breeze.
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SimpleSet Gray 1 Gal. Premixed Thin-Set Mortar

Easy to use DIY

PostedMarch 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Went on easy. Allow more dry time than labeled for large tiles. Buy extra. I needed three to cover what I thought one would per the label (used only 1/4 of third container). Easy cleanup if done right away, dried really fast on surfaces.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SimpleSet Gray 1 Gal. Premixed Thin-Set Mortar
from Canton, GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works for me!

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this product to repair some damage from water on wall board in the bathroom. I had to apply several coats to build it up and it worked super. It dried quickly with a little help from a fan and built up well. The project was a complete success thanks to this easy to use mortar.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SimpleSet Gray 1 Gal. Premixed Thin-Set Mortar
from Ocean City, NJ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A NEED PRODUCT TO GET MY JOB DONE

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
it wasn't an easy job installing the tiles but the "thin-set" was a good product and got the job done.
Pros: Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SimpleSet Gray 1 Gal. Premixed Thin-Set Mortar
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked as expected

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Was easy to use. Will use on other projects that require small amounts of thin set.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Clean, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for SimpleSet Gray 1 Gal. Premixed Thin-Set Mortar
from West Lafayette, IN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Would never recommend this product

PostedApril 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this product tiling a kitchen floor. Never use this for flooring. Maybe it has other uses, but flooring is not one of them. First of all it's not thin-set, and it's not mortar. It's Mastic.. I laid my tiles and 40 hrs later it hadn't cured in the least bit. I ended up pulling all the tiles, cleaning them, & redoing the floor with mortar. After pulling the tiles after 40 hrs, the Simple set was just as moist as the minute I put it down. I bought 2 buckets,,,,a waste of $100. Terrible product, at least what I used it for.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for SimpleSet Gray 1 Gal. Premixed Thin-Set Mortar
from Yucca Vly CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Small job?

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Got a small job... Here you go... Clean & easy with no mixing processes...
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for SimpleSet Gray 1 Gal. Premixed Thin-Set Mortar
from Stratford, CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This product was very easy to use--especially as an amateur. This was my first tiling project I've done totally on my own and this product made it much easier to complete!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for SimpleSet Gray 1 Gal. Premixed Thin-Set Mortar
from New Albany, IN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great for floor tile as well as wall tile

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Not sure why some people are saying this stuff does not setup hard. I have been using it for the past several months and have never had a problem with it.
Takes away the guesswork in on-site mixing and it is the stickiest thin-set I have ever used. I have also used it for faux concrete labs, along with stain and a sealer. Hard as a rock.
While it is expensive, the time saved in mixing is worth the difference.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Effective
Cons: Hard to Remove
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for SimpleSet Gray 1 Gal. Premixed Thin-Set Mortar
from OH
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product DOES NOT set at all!!!!!!

PostedOctober 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We installed a 12x8 ceramic tile floor using this Thin Set product. After waiting 4 days for it to dry, we called the company. They told us that it just needs more time and to try putting a heater in that room to help it dry, so we did. One week later.....the Thin Set Mortar was still not hard. I was able to poke into the mortar with a screw driver. We even used a dehumidifier in that room also for 3 days and still no new results. Finally after 2 weeks, we then called the company back to once again complain about their product. They then offered me very, very minimal amount of money to redo my floor, about a quarter of what the whole project really cost me. Finally after a long conversation with them, I am now getting 3 estimates from contractors to redo my floor and they are paying.
Since we have come to an agreement, I, in turn, went into my room, used a small screw driver and was able to lift a tile up as tho it was just put down. I was able to draw lines thru the mortar with the screw driver and I was also able to scrape up some of the mortar and form a sticky, wet ball in my hand.
Needless to say, I will never use this product again, it's nothing but junk.
Cons: doesn't harden
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>