728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Tape or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Tile Setting Mat by Custom Building Products

Tile Setting Mat by Custom Building Products

The SimpleMat Indoor and Outdoor Tile Installation Mat offers quick, clean and easy installation for tiles over countertops and backsplashes. The mat bonds instantly to allow grouting right away.
Overall rating:
3.565 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
64%of customersrecommend this product29 of 45reviews
Rating Breakdown 46 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(23)
4
(7)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(13)
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
64%of customersrecommend this product29 of 45reviews
Customer reviews for Tile Setting Mat by Custom Building Products
Review 1 for Tile Setting Mat by Custom Building Products
from chicago

Shockingly simple

PostedJune 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
White side down, glossy side up. Make sure you have a straight edge and a flat surface to cut the pieces with. It was the first time I've ever done anything like this, and honestly I was terrified to take off the electrical plates and turn off the electricity so I designed something else and the results were spectacular. I had the mat up and the tile in place within an hour. Grouting took 2 hours! This is a fantastic product. Start to finish a 3 hour job. OH one more tip-BEFORE YOU BUY IT check and make sure the box is sealed. People buy them, removed sheets, then returned it to the store and I got shorted, had to make a return trip to get a full box of 9 sheets.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tile Setting Mat by Custom Building Products
from southaven ms

awesome product

PostedOctober 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i'm a woman and found this product very easy to use. it is so much better than using thinset. this is user friendly you cut it with scissor peal the back off and stick to the wall or counter next peal the front off and stick your tile to it and grout. just that simple. it is hard to remove once it is stuck so be very sure about where you want the tile placed but it can be removed. it doesn't work well with small tile but for 12 x 12 sheets of tile it is perfect and for trim as well. i think it is the best thing every made for doing your walls and counters. i wished they'd make this for floors.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tile Setting Mat by Custom Building Products
from Southwest, Pa.

Works Better Than I Thought

PostedMarch 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was installing SEVERAL cases of the small glass mosaic tiles and was doing it for 30-60 minutes as I had time. I purchased 5 boxes of simplemat and figured I would try 1 first. I wiped down the wall first and dried it. I measured the wall and of course I had to trim every piece of the mat. After trimming I placed and pushed it onto the wall. Peeled the other backing off and installed the first mat of mosaic tiles..It honestly worked better then ANY quick set or anything I ever used. I did a small 16" by 72" area in roughly 30 minutes minus trimming a few of the mosaic tiles around outlets. The next day I used the pre mixed grout and that took another 30-45 minutes tops..So for less than 90 minutes a bathroom back splash was done and looks like a million bucks..I figured I would try it in our basement bathroom in case it didn't work..Its been over 3 months and still holding fast..I have used it several times since. The only negative is when you trim the VERY sticky mat, have alcohol to wipe your scissors off after each cut..That was the only bad thing but you do want it very sticky to hold the tiles..
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tile Setting Mat by Custom Building Products
from ky

Super-SimpleMat!

PostedNovember 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you follow the very simple instructions, there is NO WAY this won't work. So far I have used it at the top 14" of our shower surround, our kitchen backsplashes, and even outside to remake a tile table that had broken (something not recommended by the manufacturer, but has been through 2 years of all kinds of weather). If you press the tiles gently to check position you can easily remove them, but once you press the hard enough to "mush" the glue dots they really start to grab your tile, so press on gently at first. Once tiles are in position, use a rolling pin or something similar (I would recommend using a thin towel as a cushion to roll over) to ensure full contact and grip. The tiles I used were all under 1" (also smaller than manufacturer recommends, but,as testimony for the product, all still turned out perfectly) and they look faaaaabulous!.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tile Setting Mat by Custom Building Products

un-forgiving

PostedJuly 6, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product does not allow for any movement once you press a tile into place. With mastic you can move a tile into perfect position once it is on the surface. Whith this product once it is up it is up.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tile Setting Mat by Custom Building Products

Use at your own risk.

PostedJune 9, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this product for a 12'x13" area in my kitchen (backsplash). I bought one box, but I needed one more sheet so I went to HD to buy another box. I installed Simplemat and installed my tile (1"x1" glass Mosiac sheets). The first box seems to be holding fine, but the last sheet from the new box gave me problems. The next morning I found the last 12"x12" tile on the counter. So I took the Simplemat sheet off, cleaned the area, and installed another sheet. I installed the tile, and waited a few hours before grouting. After I finished grouting the same 12"x12" tile sheet fell on the counter due to the weight of the tile plus the grout. I decided that I must have gotten a bad lot, and decided to return what was left of the new box(minus 2 sheets) and just use mortar. It's been 4 days and everything seems ok. I'm still worried after time it'll start falling off. If I were to do it over again I would just go with mortar. Especially if your using expensive tile. It's not worth the risk and worry.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tile Setting Mat by Custom Building Products
from Conway, AR

Smartmat: Do a Backsplash in a DASH!

PostedOctober 5, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this product to do a kitchen backsplash on drywall. The smartmat made the project so easy. You just peel paper on side, put it on the wall, then peel the paper off the other side, stick the tile to it and then grout. It's that easy. I will admit I was a little leery about trying the product at first, but I'm glad I got it. It really adheres to the wall well and you can move around tile and see the entire finished product at one time. The only thing I don't like about the product is the price. It is expensive. One box covers like a 9 x 15, so I would recommend at least getting 2 boxes. Thinset is much cheaper than this product, but I guess you have to pay for ease and convenience. If you want to do a backsplash in a flash, I would highly recommend this product.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tile Setting Mat by Custom Building Products
from CT

Time Consuming installation, but well worth it!

PostedFebruary 21, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
First off, the competitor's comparable product is/was $10 more PER BOX than the Home Depot SimpleMat; Not sure what the difference is, but from the reviews I read, they sounded about the same.
Second, with absolutely no tiling experience, I was able to put up a rather large kitchen backsplash over the course of a weekend. I guarantee you I would not have had nearly as much success using thinset or mortar on a vertical surface.
There are some caveats to successfully utilizing this product:
The surface you mount the adhesive paper to NEEDS to be very clean and somewhat level in order to be effective.
When mounting any tile that you had to cut with a tile wet saw, you must, I repeat, you MUST clean and fully dry each tile prior to mounting. I found using a hair dryer to blow hot air over the clean, wet tiles helped me maintain a steady pace. The tiles must be FULLY dry, otherwise they will not stick, and worse, they will ruin the tile adhesive - forcing you to use some silicone to mount said tile.
The directions tell you to overlap sections; although I found you don't need to with medium to large tiles ( I used 3x6 tiles), if you choose to overlap, ensure you lift up the cellophane tile adhesive cover on both sheets so that you don't inadvertently stick one sheet to the other's cellophane (instead of the wall). Sounds like common sense, but it's easy to overlook when you're in the middle of the job.
Overall, the cutting and mounting of the paper to the wall was very time consuming - much more so than throwing thinset on the wall. However, the time was well worth it considering your tiles don't need spacers once mounted, your tiles have not a chance of sliding/losing position and you can grout right away.
Yes the product is expensive, but for tiling on vertical surfaces, it saved a lot of frustration.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tile Setting Mat by Custom Building Products
from Denver, CO

great, but not perfect

PostedSeptember 8, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Apparently this is a "love or hate" type of product after reading the other reviews. I used this to tile the back splash in my kitchen and had great success with it. After getting the hang of it, it was easy to apply to the wall although slightly difficult to cut around outlets, etc. I applied my 12x12 sheets of 1x1 mosaic and it went up like a dream. It's been up for 2 days with no tile falling off. I'll grout it this weekend. What I learned: 1) Once you start applying a piece to the wall you're committed. It won't come off the wall without taking the wall with it. 2) Take your time and go slow. 3) Larger tiles and sheets of tile work best. Anything smaller than 2x2 won't stick well. I had some single 1x1 that I had to stick in places and they twist and shift.
I'd recommend this for a back splash any time. It was much faster and neater than applying thinset and watching your tiles slide down the wall.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tile Setting Mat by Custom Building Products
from St. louis area

would not recommend

PostedMarch 20, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The bond was so bad that several of my bigger tiles fell from the wall overnight before I could grout them. I actually removed the mesh from behind tiles to increase the bonding, but they still would not bond properly. Even the 1" tiles bonded so poorly that when I removed the spacers gravity caused the higher up tiles fall down the wall filling in the grout space. The mat is very sticky and difficult to cut, but not nearly strong enough to hold anything but very thin tile.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tile Setting Mat by Custom Building Products
from Stockton Ca

simplemat

PostedDecember 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this for the backsplash on one of my rentals and it was a real time saver. It was a little difficult to peal the paper off the back at first but once I got the hang of it it was ok. The only neg is the price it is rather expencive but worth the cost to not have the tiles slidding down the wall. I would recommend it to anyone. I plan to use it again.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tile Setting Mat by Custom Building Products
from Birmingham, AL

Easy to use and a real time saver

PostedAugust 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I upgraded my builder grade mantel using glass tiles. The product was fairly easy to install, but there are a couple of points to consider. First, the backing is very sticky so get it in place correctly the first time. There is no correcting a bad fit. Second, if you use small tiles (I used even smaller than recommended tiles) they may fall off until you grout. This product is not designed for small tiles, but after grouting everything is very solid.
I am so pleased with the ease of this product (and no messy thinset) that I'm going to use it to install a tile backsplash in my kitchen.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Tile Setting Mat by Custom Building Products
from Denver, CO

If I can do it... anyone can

PostedNovember 9, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Planned the installation of a tile backsplash behind the range in my kitchen as a weekend project. When I got to Home Depot with my "shopping list," I noticed the SimpleMat boxes. I asked one of the Home Depot employees what she knew about it, and she said it worked great and was super easy. It was more expensive than tile adhesive, but I was willing to pay more for convenience.
In all, the project took me about 4 hours, covering a 20 square foot area with 12"x12" mosaic mats. The nice thing about SimpleMat is that if you stick a tile up lightly, you CAN pull it off if you need to reposition. And there is some "wiggle room" to get the placement just right.
The nice thing about using SimpleMat is that you don't have to wait for the tile adhesive to set before you apply the grout. You stick the tiles up, and you can grout immediately afterwards. So... the project was completed in four hours... instead of being a two-day process.
I'll eventually install a backsplash above the rest of area between the countertops and the upper cabinets -- and I'll definitely be using SimpleMat again. Highly recommended.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Tile Setting Mat by Custom Building Products
from Los Angeles, CA, USA

Seems like a great idea, but does not bond well

PostedSeptember 24, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this product to install a mosaic tile backsplash for my kitchen. When I saw this product at HD, I thought it was a brilliant idea: no mastic or thin set, no mess, no wait and I can work in small sections. Wow, a dream come true, I thought.
It turned out to be a truly regrettable decision. I put up two sections on two walls, about 20 sq ft in total in one afternoon. I also put up a small section where the two walls joined using pre-mixed mastic. And I was going to finish the other wall before grouting the next day.
When I came home from work the next day, I found that the tiles were sagging and one 2 foot section above the stove was peeling off. My wife had boiled some water on the stove in the afternoon, and the heat had soften the glue on the tile mat to the point that it had lost adhesion. Even tiles on the wall away from the stove were sagging. But the section installed with mastic of course had no such problem.
I had to decide whether to salvage it or remove all the tiles. I can either grout it immediately, hoping that the joints will hold the whole installation up, or tear the whole thing out. I decided at the end to just remove it, because I'd rather have it done right than live with the possibility that it may one day fail and the whole 20 sq ft installation might come off.
Actually removing the tiles were easier than I thought. Just put a hair dryer on it and the tiles came off easily. But pulling the Simlemat off the drywall was much harder.
In hindsight, I wasn't surprised that the Simplemat had failed. Using a resin as bonding material for a vertical tile installation is a recipe for failure. Resin never sets like thin set or mastic would when they dry. I am surprised to have seen so many good reviews for this product.
In conclusion, buyers beware! Do not use Simplemat on any vertical installation that might later be exposed to higher than ambient temperatures.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tile Setting Mat by Custom Building Products
from Gulf Breeze, Fl

beware

PostedMarch 1, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After reading the other reviews I'm convinced that time deteriorates this product. I've done tile a lot and when I saw this product I thought I'd give it a try. I had to use 2 1/2 boxes and it was a mess. In some areas if you touched the tile to the glue and had to reposition it it was hard to move. In other areas I would stick the tile and after a while it some would move or simply fall off. I haven't grouted yet and I am still having to move tile and some, when you pushed on them, were about to fall off. I know the old way is harder and more time consuming but I found with this product easy is far from better. I will never use it again.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Tile Setting Mat by Custom Building Products
from Bothell, wa

Best product ever!

PostedJune 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is so easy to use that even if you know nothing about tiling it will come out perfect. Especially good with mosaic. We used this last year for a travertine mosaic 1"x2" backsplash in our kitchen. Tip # 1 use small finish nails instead of spacers if needed. Tip #2 if you have to pull a tile off and the replacement tile won't stick you can stick it done with a little bit of liquid nails. Before ordering online call around your local Home Depots. Even though it shows that this product isn't sold at any of our local stores, when we actually called our local store they did have it in stock. Because this is a Home Depot product no other stores carry this product.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Tile Setting Mat by Custom Building Products
from Savannah, georgia

Works like it says

PostedMarch 18, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used it this afternoon to put up splash back behind stove. Adhesive is very strong. Easy to get air bubbles out. Measure carefully before you peel off backing on the side that sticks to the wall board. Went up easy tile stuck perfectly and grouting was easy. Started project at 3pm was finished by 6pm. Use 2x2 inch tiles and they stuck perfectly to the sheet. Would recommend for small projects.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tile Setting Mat by Custom Building Products
from Peach Tree City, GA

Disappointing

PostedDecember 24, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product came "highly" recommended from the HD employee, but turned out to be more time consuming than using thin set. Any dust, and I mean any dust, the tiles will not adhere. Take the plastic off the glue for more than 15 minutes, and the tiles will not adhere. Overall, this product is a waste of time and money.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tile Setting Mat by Custom Building Products
from Whittier

Sweet product

PostedMay 10, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is our third room that me and my boyfriend have worked on in our house, and the 2nd room we've put tile in. I saw this product and was itching to try it, and we did. We are using the mats for our back splash in our kitchen. The tiles we're using are 4x4 talavera tiles we ordered from Mexico. We used 2x2 tiles as well, and they stick fine to the adhesive mats. They don't have the mesh on the back. I do have to admit...it's easy enough for me to use it without my handyman boyfriend around. Just peel and stick. The tiles we ordered from Mexico are not all evenly made, so our grout lines don't have to be perfect. The directions say to "lightly push" the tiles on to make sure they're in the right place. Well once you push them on, they're on for good! If you try to move a tile over and it moves right back into place, you might have to peel it off and push it on again. I like this stuff though. Very convenient. We only have one more wall to go! We'll grout tomorrow. I hope no tiles fall tonight, since we read reviews of tiles needing to be grouted right away...!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Tile Setting Mat by Custom Building Products
from 29170

Pretty slick idea

PostedFebruary 2, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Pretty easy to use. I used 1'x1' sheets of 2"x2" slate stone and it worked quite well. Very easy to cut around obstacles. Glue does stick to scissors a bit. (hey, it's glue)
Made the job easy and fun. Now off to do the other wall to match!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>