728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Grinders or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/4 in. Angle Die Grinder

1/4 in. Angle Die Grinder

The Husky 1/4 in. Angle Die Grinder features a 5:4 gear reduction to provide increased stall torque and provides a grinding speed up to 20,000 RPM. Critical components have been heat-treated with a proprietary process for performance while the grinder also features a sealed ball bearing design. A soft-touch coating offers greater user comfort for extended use. The grinder has an air consumption rate of 4 CFM at 90 psi.
Overall rating:
3.571 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
69%of customersrecommend this product9 of 13reviews
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(2)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
69%of customersrecommend this product9 of 13reviews
Customer reviews for 1/4 in. Angle Die Grinder
Review 1 for 1/4 in. Angle Die Grinder
Raxle
from Gainesville, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Locked up as soon as air was hooked up

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After disassembly and reassembly ,it seems to be working fine though.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/4 in. Angle Die Grinder

It works great and has good power for the money

PostedMay 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have about 20 hours on this die grinder and I must say that I'm very happy with it. It has done all that I ask of it and never gives me any problems. I had to return the first one I bought because after I opened the box it looked like some one drove over it with a truck. So I went back to home depot and got another one. This time the product in the box was in great shape. I installed the air chuck, oiled the tool and I put it to use. I use the tool for removing build up on mower blades and other rusty surfaces. I only use sanding wheels and wire wheels on this grinder so I can't tell you how it would work with a grinding stone. The trigger has good speed range and the tool over all is easy to control and handle. It has some weight to it which is a good thing. I bought this tool because I also have the Husky 1/2 inch impact gun (350 foot pounds) and the 3/8 impact gun. both of those guns have been in almost constant use for about 3 months now and all I do is clean and oil them at the end of the day. I think that all of the problems that people are having with this product is that they don't oil them everyday like there are supposed to. If you don't oil any air tool it will wear out or break in no time. The seals will also dry out which will make the tool leak over time. If I had to buy this tool over again I would the same goes for my 1/2 inch and 3/8 impact guns.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/4 in. Angle Die Grinder
travis
from SAT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great little grinder!

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a really nice grinder, except it is a SCREAMER! must wear ear protection.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight
Cons: very noisy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/4 in. Angle Die Grinder
Jagiem
from Watkins Glen, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not bad for the price. Good for small jobs or homeowner

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Light weight, inexpensive, and good enough for minor jobs around the garage. Cant beat the price but you get what you pay for. Good for a back up or for a spare to use at the vacation cottage for quick clean up jobs on outboard motors or when removing thermostat from boat every year. Pleasantly pleased.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: dont know how long it will last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1/4 in. Angle Die Grinder
MaintenanceMAN
from Fort Gratiot, Mi
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Watch OUT!

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Watch out for poor assembly! I am a Maintenance Tech and bought this grinder for something to have at work for cleaning sealing surfaces. I wanted something that wasnt to pricey so i could leave it at work and not be so upset if it went up missing. Ordered it online seeing my local HD had one model die grinder in store and it was not on sale. Got it in the mail a few days ago, took it straight to work put a fitting on it and went to use it and it sounded as if all the gears were worn down and you could grab the mandril with your hand and stop it well running. Ended up having to take it apart and found there was no grease on the gears and that the spanner nut was cross threaded causing the output gear to barely touch the gear coming out of the air motor. Fixed all the issues and re-assembled, was working great. After giving it a day to think about i decided i wanted to return it and exchange it for another one. I feared if who ever assembled it didnt bother to grease the gears and had cross threaded the spanner nut what kinda short cuts had been take with the air motor. I was told by my local HD i had voided the warranty seeing i had taken it apart to fix it myself instead of just returning it. You could tell from the vice marks on it from trying to get the spanner nut off. My career is doing exactly thing....fixing pneumatic powered items...motors, valves and cylinders!!!!! Spend the extra money and get the Ingersoll Rand.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: poor assembly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1/4 in. Angle Die Grinder
DIYDork
from Tennessee

Great value, but an air hog.

PostedMay 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've only put about 12 hours on this tool, but it saved me a lot of money to be able to do the project I needed to get done.
In case you're as ignorant of air tools as I was a few weeks ago, this thing is an air hog. I bought the Husky 20 gal compressor rated to deliver 4.3 cfm @ 90 psi and it can't keep up with this tool. I get about 1 minute of use at full RPM, followed by about 3 minutes of tank recovery on the compressor.
If you want to be able to use this continuously without having to twiddle your thumbs for 3 out of every 4 minutes while the tank refills, you'll need a 60-80 gallon tank compressor to feed this tool.
I don't have a lot of money to throw at a compressor or air tools right now so my $179 compressor and this $50 tool did what I needed to get done. It took me longer than it would have with a workhorse of a compressor, but I stayed in my budget for the project.
All in all, I'm extremely pleased with this grinder, especially for the money. At $50, this is one of those tools that pays for itself in about an hour of use if it saves you from having to pay someone to knock out the project for you.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1/4 in. Angle Die Grinder
Jkat

Says not to use with a 6 gallon compressor

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
since I have a 6 gallon pancake compressor, "this product is not for use with compressors smaller than 7 gallons" is information I could have used before I received the product....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1/4 in. Angle Die Grinder
Rich
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This right angle grinder is small but it does a good job..A mandrel with a polishing and grinding kit makes this tool handy dandy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1/4 in. Angle Die Grinder
Doc2
from Hollywood, Al., USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Small enough to get into small places

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I use the angle grinder to work on cars, getting in close places to remove gaskets and clean up surface before replaces gaskets.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1/4 in. Angle Die Grinder
cga929

Good quality grinder at a great price.

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very satisfied would recommend to the fellow weekend warrior fix it man.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1/4 in. Angle Die Grinder
Racerx
from Pahrump, NV
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool, smooth and easy.

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was a good purchase. The tool was ready to go when I got it home and accepted the disk I already had. It has been working great. The tool this replaced was 10 years old and failure was my fault. I would suggest this tool to anyone looking for good quality.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Long-Lasting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1/4 in. Angle Die Grinder
Santo
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is well made and works well.

PostedSeptember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I mostly use my angle die grinder for my truck project. It does what I need it to do and operates smoothly.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, smooth operating.
Cons: rubber handle would be good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1/4 in. Angle Die Grinder
jerrya1213
from rochester ny

die grinder

PostedDecember 20, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
very poor ,only worked for 5 min
-12points
1out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1/4 in. Angle Die Grinder
reighnman
from sioux city, iowa

husky p-grinder

PostedAugust 13, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I got about 2 hours of use out of this product and the drive blew out on it. i am definatley not happy with this grinder , less then 3 hours of use and it breaks on me . At least there is a warranty.
-8points
0out of 8found this review helpful.