728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/2 in. Air Impact Wrench-DISCONTINUED

1/2 in. Air Impact Wrench-DISCONTINUED

The STC International 1/2 in. Air Impact Wrench delivers the power you need along with features that minimize user fatigue. Its 650 ft.-lb. of torque and 1,300 ipm handle many challenging jobs. All of the torque is available in reverse, thanks to a twin hammer mechanism. This impact wrench has a muffler system and swivel air inlet. It directs exhaust away from both the workplace and the operator.
Overall rating:
4.353 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product42 of 48reviews
Rating Breakdown 51 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(31)
4
(13)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product42 of 48reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for 1/2 in. Air Impact Wrench-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 1/2 in. Air Impact Wrench-DISCONTINUED

Good tool for the money.

PostedMay 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had mine for over two years...I use it a couple times a week. It is much more quiet than a Craftsman model I had - and it has a lot more torque.
It has not failed me - I keep it lubed before and after each use.
I have no complaints, and would buy it again.
Pros: Powerful, Quiet
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/2 in. Air Impact Wrench-DISCONTINUED
from Columbus, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product for the price

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this item as a Special Buy of the Day. An inexpensive impact wrench rated at 350 ft. – lb. that I had previously would not always loosen lug nuts. This tool does a much better job and is was a great value at the sale price.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Great Value
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/2 in. Air Impact Wrench-DISCONTINUED

Great!

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Couldn't ask for a better deal! 650 ft-lbs has zipped off every lug nut, axle nut that i've asked it too. And was the same price as competitor's 250-400 ft-lb guns
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/2 in. Air Impact Wrench-DISCONTINUED

Works great

PostedAugust 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had good luck with Husky over the years and I'm not disappointed with this one. Been using it for lugs and so far it works like a champ.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1/2 in. Air Impact Wrench-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

650 ft/lbs? HAAA!

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The fact that Husky claims 650 ft/lbs is absolutely laughable. I had the proper set up and oiled this thing before tackling a wheel change on my car. This thing failed to remove two of the lug nuts. I used my torque wrench to loosen them and they both loosen at about 140 ft/lbs. Being a little over 500 ft/lbs off is just plain ridiculous.
Don't be fooled by the manufacturer's vastly optimistic "measurement" of the torque. Nor should you be fooled by all the positive reviews from people who never tested it's strength.
It does seem like it's high quality when you gold it in your hand, and it is moderately quiet, but those observances do not offset the lacking in functionality.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy
Cons: not as advertised
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1/2 in. Air Impact Wrench-DISCONTINUED

strong gun!

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I havn't come across not one nut or bolt this thing would not break loose. Best $60 impact gun I've used.
Pros: Strong
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1/2 in. Air Impact Wrench-DISCONTINUED
from Nashville
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a beast

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Oh man, this thing has power. I'm an idiot and tried it out on the bolt holding my lawnmower wheel in place. The wheel was wobbling, so i grabbed this gun to tighten it, and it snapped it right off! I'm not even mad, I'm just impressed that it broke it right off. The adjustable torque feature is nice, and I actually had it on the low setting when this happened. Moral of the story is I will only use this bad boy to break stuff loose, not to tighten anything. Great price for 650 ft/lbs too.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, beast mode
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1/2 in. Air Impact Wrench-DISCONTINUED
from Northern Indiana

Shocker

PostedFebruary 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I originally bought this tool because it claimed to have as much power as its more expensive brothers. When I got it out of the box and plugged it in it was so quiet I didn't think there was any way possible it was as strong as it said it was but the other day when I was in the shop I walked over to a bunch of guys trying to get a set of lugs off of a tire; after four different impacts (high dollar brands no less) and no luck I walked over and finally decided to try out my new toy. To my surprise the Husky impact took the lugs off the car without even flinching I was very impressed. I would recommend this product to anyone that wants to have a good impact but doesn't want to spend the money on the big names.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1/2 in. Air Impact Wrench-DISCONTINUED
from Seattle, WA, USA

Promising as RV tool

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this impact wrench based on brand and price to carry in my RV that is equipped with an on-board compressor primarily for airing tires up and down on rough and off roads for lug nuts that require 150 ft-lbs. The wrench will also be used for tire repair and rotation, so it will not get extensive use. At 4.3 lbs (case is composite material), it is no heavier that a breaker bar I would need to carry to make tire changes easy. The three-level power regulator is very handy as the middle level is enough to loosen the lug nuts and the lowest level is high enough to snug the lug nuts down for final tightening with a torque wrench. At a rated 650 ft-lbs the wrench might also come in handy for some nasty repair that might need to be done back home. I could not give it a full 5 stars without more extensive use to test it's reliability.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1/2 in. Air Impact Wrench-DISCONTINUED
from Minnesota, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well built, high power, surprisingly light

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is not the first air impact wrench I've used, but it is the best. It's surprisingly light, it makes short work of rusted and frozen nuts and bolts, and is well built.
Air flow requirements are less than other models I've seen, but you'll still want a decent sized compressor. Mine puts out 4 SCFM, and that runs this little gadget just fine.
Don't forget to pick up some sort of universal joint type gadget for this, either, or you'll find that you just can't reach the worst of the frozen bolts.
I recommend it highly.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Light Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1/2 in. Air Impact Wrench-DISCONTINUED
from Tin Town, MO 65622, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

nice rubber like out side and easy buttons to use

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
dual piston has lots of power ,takes lugs off 150 real easy
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1/2 in. Air Impact Wrench-DISCONTINUED
from Missouri

hassle to use if you have to work fast

PostedMarch 20, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Well, I was skeptical about this one and should have followed my "instinct". First of all...on the display model, the direction and strength control wheel was completely locked up. I assumed that it was simply because it was a display model that had been way over tested. An hour later when I opened mine, I found that same direction/strength wheel selector to be VERY hard to turn. After oiling it and rotating the selector for about 15 minutes there was no change. At times, I could not move the selector with one hand. I love the Husky hand tools, but this one didn't pass. I work as a technician at a dealership, and this tool would slow me down way too much.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1/2 in. Air Impact Wrench-DISCONTINUED
from Newport News, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Light and powerful.

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best wrench I have bought yet. I am home mechanic and this one is great. Gets the job done with a less powerful compressor. 5 CFM@90 PSI is enough for this wrench to work great.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1/2 in. Air Impact Wrench-DISCONTINUED
from Florida, USA

Best pneumatic wrench for the price on the market

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I really got tired of returning impact wrenches to other stores because the quality just wasn't there. That is until I purchased this one. I am a home mechanic and this is as good as any commercial quality wrench. Works great, really puts it to the bolt or nut. I especially like the adjustable torque feature.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Strong, Long-Lasting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1/2 in. Air Impact Wrench-DISCONTINUED

This product has a short life expectancy if you use it enough.

PostedSeptember 25, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ive gone through three of these impacts, I work as an express lube technician, and they always torque, which isn't a bad thing. The problem I ran into is, despite religious oiling, cleaning, and maintenance, the gears in t hese tools strip! They start making a very bad noise, and no amount of cleaning, greasing, or oiling, can stop them. I finally got a really good deal on a used Ingersol Rand gun from a tool truck, used it was 60$ - new it was 850$ It's about five years old, and it never fails me. Husky eliminated their lifetime warranty on this tool recently, and took the "Pro" logo off of it. I also have a 1/4 inch impact from husky, I use it every day, but it doesn't torque very well at all, I probably couldn't even use it to loosen a lawn mower blade. In short, this product is good for light maintenance usage, it will torque, but after a while you can expect to hear a freight train squeal every time you hit the trigger! in long, I wouldn't suggest ever buying one, for the money you just spent on it, you can get an IR brand new!
+10points
15out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1/2 in. Air Impact Wrench-DISCONTINUED

Torque doesn't seem to be what is listed

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Wouldn't break one stuck lug nut. Removed it with a breaker bar with little effort. Might improve with use and break in.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1/2 in. Air Impact Wrench-DISCONTINUED

Great impact gun

PostedJune 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This impact gun has a lot of power (700ft-lbs) for the casual handyman. I used it to remove some suspension parts and it breezed through the job without a hitch. My only complaint is that the forward-reverse knob is recessed and hard to turn.
Pros: Powerful, Good Size & Weight
Cons: direction switch recessed
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1/2 in. Air Impact Wrench-DISCONTINUED
from Schererville, IN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Impress by the quality for the money.

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This impact is very impressive for the money. Very powerful. Added plus is the low noise output. It has taken loose every bolt and nut that I through at it. Would recommend this product to anyone in need of a quality bargin impact. Easy to use controls and good balance of the gun.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1/2 in. Air Impact Wrench-DISCONTINUED
from Columbia, SC, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Pretty nice tool for the money.

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm a technician at a dealership, I bought this gun for general service work and pretty much anything else you would need an impact wrench for. I am pretty picky and like my air tools quiet. I wish this was a little quieter, but it is definitely not as loud as a lot of them. The power regulator is a little stiff and there isn't a big difference between the settings, it's a little stronger than I'd prefer on the lowest setting, but you can get used to it. It is nicely balanced and it does have plenty of power. I think the regular price was around $130 ish, and I payed around $60 on clearance. If I had to pay full price I would have spent a little more and got a better brand (Aircat or CP), but for the clearance price, it is a great deal.
Pros: Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1/2 in. Air Impact Wrench-DISCONTINUED
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far, So good

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
4 out of 5 just because I've only used the wrench for two jobs so far. It easily torqued off lug nuts on 4 wheels and then easily loosened some really tight brake caliper bolts that I couldn't budge with a 18" breaker bar. I just hope this performance lasts over the years.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>