728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Furniture Paint, Faux Finishes & Craft Paint or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 29 oz. Tintable Chalkboard Paint

29 oz. Tintable Chalkboard Paint

This Rust-Oleum Specialty 29 oz. Tintable Chalkboard Paint features a latex-based low-odor formula that converts metal, wood, masonry, drywall, plaster, glass, concrete, unglazed ceramics, paperboard and hardboard to a usable chalkboard surface. The matte finish provides a fun and functional chalkboard that erases cleanly. Choose from up to 12 colors to tint your paint.
Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product8 of 8reviews
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product8 of 8reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for 29 oz. Tintable Chalkboard Paint
Review 1 for 29 oz. Tintable Chalkboard Paint

You can easily roll this

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read a review stating that the package was incorrect and you couldn't roll this paint. Completely untrue! I have painted this stuff multiple times and it always rolls great. You have to use a super smooth foam roller and your coats should be thin as they always should be when rolling paint. Maybe if you just dipped the roller into the paint and didn't roll it out on tray like you are suppose to then I can see it becoming an issue but otherwise this is a simple application with foam roller. Creates a super smooth untextured finish. As a side note I would sand the wall smooth and clean first if that is what you are painting. Don't skip steps you won't have the finish product you are looking for.
+68points
68out of 68found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 29 oz. Tintable Chalkboard Paint
from Newtown, CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Chalk Board Paint

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wanted to do something different. I saw the "color" chalkboard. It took me a total of an hour and a half to measure, tape off a 3'x4' section. Roll the paint on. Waited 30 minutes between coats. Took 3 Coats. It looks AWESOME. I can't wait to use it. I am looking for a special border to put around it know, but the paint worked well!!!
Pros: Easy to Apply, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 29 oz. Tintable Chalkboard Paint
from Los Angeles, CA

Love This Stuff

PostedSeptember 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got a gender neutral color (deep teal) to do various projects. It went on really easily and the color is beautiful. I recommend you put it on with a sponge roller instead of a brush. When it dries if there are bumps it makes it hard to write on with chalk. The directions say you need 2 or 3 coats, but I definitely needed 3 coats. I painted it onto metal and it worked wonderfully. I'm currently searching for more projects to use this with.
+36points
36out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 29 oz. Tintable Chalkboard Paint
from Crystal Lake, IL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product when you follow directions

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used 3 coats on one wall that was the size of a standard door. Excellent job. I still have nearly a whole can left. What am I going to do with all of this extra paint?? I wish it would come in a smaller size, therefore I could have gotten multiple colors and painted all kinds of fun stuff around the house!
Pros: Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Dries Quickly, follow directions
Cons: should google for clearer instructions
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 29 oz. Tintable Chalkboard Paint
from Quakertown, PA 18951, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Used with their Magnetic Primer

PostedDecember 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used Raspberry over their gray Magnetic Primer on a huge wall in my basement. Raspberry was not as bright because of dark primer, but both products work well. This was easy to do and my kids love it!! I have a functional accent wall.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 29 oz. Tintable Chalkboard Paint

Beautiful color

PostedFebruary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Coverage 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I got this chalkboard paint in the Chocolate Brown, rather than black, for my son's room to use on one wall. I love the color! It matches his room, better than black, and same effect for chalking. You have to wait 4 hours to apply the second coat, but you will need to! First coat is thin and sketchy. Easy to apply though. You will most likely need 3 coats. So, for one wall, plan on getting 3 of these 29 0z. cans. It's worth it! So different, that it was much more pleasurable painting ..knowing u can write on it later! Easy to clean up! I only wish I could get by with one coat, like the paint n primer in one. Or, that they made this in a GALLON size! By the way, you don't need any primer before painting chalkboard paint:) It grabs any surface well:)
+27points
30out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 29 oz. Tintable Chalkboard Paint
from St. Peters, MO

Box directions are incorrect

PostedMarch 23, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a good product, but the directions on the box are misleading. We tried to roll the paint but the roller wouldn't budge. We brushed on the first coat, let it dry for 2 hours and then we were able to roll it. It's an odd texture so the roller doesn't respond to the first coat. It took 3 coats to cover, but once it was on, it looked great!
+24points
33out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 29 oz. Tintable Chalkboard Paint
from Milwaukee, WI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

table for my classroom

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Awesome product! Great to use for kids and easy to clean!
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.