728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20 in. 21.2 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer

20 in. 21.2 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer

The ECHO 20 in. 21.2 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer features double-sides blades made of hardened steel great for cutting and pruning overgrown shrubs. This hedge trimmer operates in a reciprocating scissor-like motion for clean cuts. The 2-stroke engine of this trimmer is certified by the EPA for durability.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product29 of 32reviews
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(23)
4
(6)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(1)
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product29 of 32reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for 20 in. 21.2 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
Review 1 for 20 in. 21.2 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from Brookeville, MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Removes the drudgery from trimming

PostedApril 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a typical Echo tool; high quality, relatively powerful, and designed to last a long time.
This takes the worst job, trimming bushes, hedges, trees and makes it into a simple task. It's as simple as starting the engine, and sculpting your bushes.
While this tool is lightweight for it's class, the angle that you hold the trimmer means that it requires some strength in your arms.
Treat this like you treat a chainsaw.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20 in. 21.2 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome machine! Worth every penny.

PostedMay 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used this trimmer for the first time this weekend, and it did a great job. So much better than a corded trimmer. Started on the first two pulls, one on choke, and one on start. I have no complaints. Some may be concerned about the weight, but it is a gas motor with a 20 inch blade. It is not going to be five pounds! I think Echo did a wonderful job getting it to eleven pounds. If you are in decent shape you will be fine.
My only problem is that I wish I bought it last year.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20 in. 21.2 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from Louisville, KY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

My husband is very happy with it, although it is a bit on the heavy side.

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
My husband was happy with this gift; however, it is a bit on the heavy side. He used to use an electric and was was able to trim the hedges in half the time.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Accurate
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20 in. 21.2 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from Irwin, PA

PostedFebruary 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a little trouble getting this started the first time but probably was more user error than anything. I think I flooded it and should have switched the choke to RUN mode sooner. Once it started, it ran like a jack rabbit. I used 93 octane but the directions only called for 89 octane or higher so I went with the 93. This thing cut like a chain saw. I used it to help remove some bushes not just trim them. I was able to cut them down to the stump. It had no problem cutting things about an inch in diameter. The other reviews were correct, this thing is a bit heavy and quite a workout but it does the job. I am 6'2 and weigh 250 pounds and lift weights often so be prepared for the workout. My only complaint is that the STOP switch by the trigger seems to be in a bad location. I bumped it twice and shut the thing down. But, it fired right back up with half a pull. The good thing is that the STOP switch does work just in case. A little pricey but you have to pay for quality. I thought about buying the Ryobi model for $192 but went with this one. I'm glad I did.
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20 in. 21.2 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from Pace, Florida

Echo HC 150

PostedJuly 3, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a professional lawn care specialist and have had this machine for 6 years. It is made of excellent quality and has shown that since it has always started quickly and effortlessly (unless I have the switch to off). I have yet to have it in the shop, therefore maintenance is very low. I do not use it every weekend but when I do it is always ready.
Daryl
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20 in. 21.2 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from Richmond, KY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Job....Echo Quality

PostedNovember 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used this to replace an aging 2.4amp B&D electric trimmer. No use in comparing those two b/c it's like comparing a horse to a donkey in the KY Derby.
That said, the chrome blades are extremely sharp and effective at shredding brush. The 20" blade certainly feels bigger than it is but for most homeowners serious enough to spend this kind of money it's effective IMO.
Like other Echo products the engine is easy to start and a power horse. Forget the 21.2cc rating. My Echo edger has the same engine (less i-30 starting system) and it is more efficient than the 31cc edgers I used before.
The unit is heavy but that's to be expected with a gas unit. Compared to other gas trimmers its average. I find the weight to be well balanced and it's easy to flick it from side to side to do various angles. With my cutting time cut by 50% the weight is not as big an issue but it could be to those who are not accustomed to the weight.
Little or no exhaust fumes as it is a 50:1 ratio for fuel and the exhaust ports downward. I also felt little/no heat off of the unit even when I rested it against my pants while taking breaks.
Overall I love it. I own the SRM230 and PE-225 echo units also purchased from HD 3 years ago. Both have proved to be very reliable. Like many 2-cycle engines make sure you stay away from ethanol and you will be OK.
Pros: Great Engine, quality
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20 in. 21.2 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes hedge trimming much easier

PostedOctober 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have too many hedges and have always used an electric trimmer. This made the job much faster and they are very sharp. They cost about 3 times as much as most electrics but I feel they are worth the extra cost.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20 in. 21.2 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from Garden Grove, CA

Great Hedge Trimmer, Great Price

PostedOctober 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this hedge trimmer a couple months ago and really love it. It has great power and cuts through thick branches with ease. The blades are space far apart which allows it to cut large diameter branches. The trimmer I had been using before this one took me two to three times as long to trim my bushes with. This hedge trimmer also has a great sounding engine! Highly recommended.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20 in. 21.2 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer

Great but a little on the heavey side

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This hedge trimmer will cut through anything. Works very well, and has more power than you need. It is a little heavy, so I get to do all the trimming now.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20 in. 21.2 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from Friant California

Hedge Trimmer

PostedMay 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just got this trimmer and it's great. I should have bought it a long time ago. No more cords to drag around and it cuts like a champ. You can cut more than you will want to clean up it cuts so fast. It is a little heavy so you will get a work out using it for a long period time. I'm 6'2 240 lbs and it gives me all the work out I want. But if you have a large yard. and want to get the job done fast this is for you. I would buy it again in a heart beat!
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20 in. 21.2 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from Jacksonville, FL

Homeowner workhorse

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this machine spring 2011. Have only used it a few times, but it really gets the job done. Some of my azaleas had become overgrown and therefore some large stems, but this machine handled them very well. Only annoyance I have is that it is kind of heavy and if you're not in physical condition to normally be holding this much weight at chest/shoulder height, you'll get a real workout. I'm only 59 y.o. and hopefully it will last until I throw in the towel and hire someone to do my yard work or move to a condo (and hopefully neither will be soon). This is my first Echo product and I'd purchase more if the need arises.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20 in. 21.2 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer

smooth operation, starts well, solid construction

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this product for a month, it has good power, easy start up, solid construction that tells me i will get years of service. probably function as well as my other echo product.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20 in. 21.2 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer

GREAT TRIMMER

PostedJuly 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently got this trimmer after getting fed up with the Ryobi I had gotten. It is well worth the additional $100. It starts in 2-3 pulls of the cord and within seconds cutting 3/4" branches like butter. Great product and well worth the cost.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20 in. 21.2 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from Medford, Oregon

Great Gift

PostedJune 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I puchased this item for my husbands 50th birthday. He Loved It. And was so excited not to have to look any further. The first time he used it he said it was like a dream. It was easy to opperate and a breeze to work with. It has become his favorite gardening tools.
Thank You
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20 in. 21.2 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer

good quality

PostedApril 22, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this to break free from the tether of electricity. In Home Depot, I had the choice of this or the Ryobi, which, from past experience with their power tools, I was in no disposition to purchase. This is my 3rd Echo power tool, so I was not concerned about the quality, and I have not been disappointed. I put this hedger to the test, and it passed with flying colors.
My complaints: the positioning of the stop switch. I hit the switch about 4 times while hedging. I can think of a hundred better places to put it, rather than where your hand goes! Poor design, Echo.
2nd complaint is the weight. Working with this for about an hour, my arms were killing me, and, here the next day, they are still sore. I am no small man, and I do physical work daily, so to have a machine tire my arms out this much is rare. l would think Echo, for as much as they charge for their products, could put a little more engineering into this and either balance it better, or drop some weight.
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20 in. 21.2 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from Coconut Creek, Fl

Echo hedge trimmer

PostedJune 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A little heavier than I thought it would be but what a machine. Makes cutting even the most over grown hedges very easy.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20 in. 21.2 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from St Augustine, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Spend some time at the gym first

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Although no doubt Echo has made this unit as light as it can possibly be, using it on a high and wide hedge amounts to quite a workout. I thought I was in good shape for a man of 72, but I really felt it in my arms after holding this trimmer out in front of me for 20 minutes. Still, I love it and highly recommend the model.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20 in. 21.2 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from montgomery, ala.

ECHO HC150

PostedAugust 28, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
had it about 2 yrs. .... very tough to start. once you get it going it runs and cuts great.... like most yard engines if you use ethanol fuel it will eat the cheap plastics, rubber grommets and fuel lines etc.. they use on these tools. i had to replace the fuel tank grommet after one year and i avoid ethanol gas at all costs.... had the same trouble with a Stihl weed eater... ethanol is killing small engines and the manufs. are still using cheap parts on these tools that can't take ethanol for extended periods...
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20 in. 21.2 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fair product. Lousy warranty!

PostedMay 24, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased HC-150 from Home Depot. Worked flawlessly for 4 years. During last year of warranty, began to run sluggishly. Took to repair center where they said carburetor was bad and needed to be replaced . Echo would not honor warranty saying that they would not warranty any fuel related problems. Since most carburetor issues seem to be "fuel related", I feel extended warranty was worthless!
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20 in. 21.2 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer

Powerful hedge trimmer - say goodbye to cords

PostedMay 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This trimmer was well worth the money. It has plenty of power and makes trimming the hedges much easier than using my old B&D corded trimmer. This trimmer is not the lightest so be prepared for a workout. Your arms are going to be sore after a day with this bad boy.
You cant go wrong with ECHO!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>