728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1500-Watt Ceramic Portable Space Tower Heater-DISCONTINUED

1500-Watt Ceramic Portable Space Tower Heater-DISCONTINUED

This ceramic tower heater distributes warmth into the air for maximum comfort. Coolness dissipates to an envelopment of illuminating heat and the renewing effects of warmer air become more present in your surroundings. Its slim design and small footprint provide a distinctive, space-saving solution with an elegant, sleek look. With Bionaire brand technology, you can live in harmony with nature for a serene home environment.
Overall rating:
2.82 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(78 reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
48%of customersrecommend this product37 of 77reviews
Rating Breakdown 78 reviews
2.8 out of 5
5
(25)
4
(9)
3
(6)
2
(3)
1
(35)
Quality 
2.6 out of 5
2.6 out of 5
Value 
2.4 out of 5
2.4 out of 5
48%of customersrecommend this product37 of 77reviews
Customer reviews for 1500-Watt Ceramic Portable Space Tower Heater-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Portable Space Tower Heater-DISCONTINUED
from Anchorage, AK
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not last

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this heater in early 2011 from HD and used it for about 5 months and then stored it in my closet. In October 2012 I took it to my office to use and it worked for a month and now it just blows cold air. I tried emailing Bionnaire but have not received any response. Would like to return to HD but doubt they'll take it back since I purchased it over 90 days ago. Pretty frustrating to pay almost $100 for something that is built to quit in less than 2 years with little use.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: will die in a short time frame
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Portable Space Tower Heater-DISCONTINUED

Cheap junk

PostedNovember 30, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Owned for less than 1 year. Purchased last winter. Turned it on during first cold snap of fall, after about 5 minutes I heard a buzzing/clicking noise and then the smell of burning plastic filled the room. Fan and control still worked but unit no longer produced heat.
After taking it apart it appears the neutral wire coming from the heating element had become severed after melting/burning through the insulation, possibly due to corrosion.
Cheap product. Avoid.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Portable Space Tower Heater-DISCONTINUED
from Nowhere

Stay away from Bionaire. This product lasted 2 years with low use.

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this unit in 2011 and used it for 2 seasons to help warm a family room. I used it an average of 2 hours a day. Rarely left it running past that. Now, when I plugged it in this week it only blows cold air.
What has happened to quality products?
I will never buy another Bionaire product.
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Portable Space Tower Heater-DISCONTINUED
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Product poorly made & constructed

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased it. It lasted about 6 weeks and then the heater went out and only received COLD air. I called Bionaire and was told they didn't have any left & didn't know when more would be in. Told me to call back in 1 week. Called back in 1 week and still no heater. Was told to phone back in 2 weeks. Will do it. They have poor customer relationship, I am a senior citizen & can't afford to waste money on inferior products. Bionaire isn't going to make it good. I will just throw heater in the trash as it is no good. They don't need to be in business if they can't make a better product or stand behind what they do make.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Portable Space Tower Heater-DISCONTINUED
from Allentown Pa
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Garbage - save your money

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
3 failed within 18 months
Light your money on fire - at least you will get heat out
of it
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Portable Space Tower Heater-DISCONTINUED
from NY
Age Range:35 to 44

Bad heater

PostedSeptember 15, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 2nd one in last fall and seems like I need a another one very soon cuz even my 1st one had a same condition as everybody said at in this review as using some amount of time and then the heater start blowing just a cold wind.
I never gonna buy this again..and can't recommend to anyone.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Portable Space Tower Heater-DISCONTINUED
from Austin, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Planned Obsolescence

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have concluded that Bionaire designed this heater with some very nice features but engineered it so that its life will terminate after 1 year forcing you to purchase another. I did just that after the first one died thinking it was just a fluke. The second heater died after just one year. This is called planned obsolescence which the people at Bionaire must know. Do your homework and check other reviews on the web. You will find similar remarks. If you do purchase it, you will love it while it works. But when it prematurely breaks and you have taken the utmost care and responsibility with it, don't say I didn't tell you so.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Portable Space Tower Heater-DISCONTINUED
from Los Angeles, CA 90025, USA

ok... at least i didnt die of cold (hypothermia)

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Its ok, a bit noisy, the last one i had was very quiet in comparison. price is bit high but fair. went from 40F to 64F after 4 hours
Pros: Stylish, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Noisy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Portable Space Tower Heater-DISCONTINUED
from NJ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for one year- twice!

PostedFebruary 12, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would have to agree 100% with another poster here, Jomad1, re: the planned obsolescence comment... I bought two of these in the past that each died almost 1 year to the day of when I first used them, almost as though the heater"knew" to do so. I am currently on my third, which I purchased this past October, and I suspect come October 2012, kaput. Only because of a very understanding HD manager who has taken these back have I continued to buy this product. When it does work, it works really great though, I must say!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Portable Space Tower Heater-DISCONTINUED
from Rochester Hills, MI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Absolute Junk

PostedFebruary 12, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought one and it lasted 2 weeks, just started blowing cold air. Returned to HD and got another one. It lasted about 6 weeks and same result. Look at the other reviews, this heater is pure junk.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Portable Space Tower Heater-DISCONTINUED
from United States
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very Short Lifespan

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
I bought 2 of these for space heating in my 3 level townhome. One failed after 2 weeks, the other after about a month. I opened 1 up because I no longer had the receipt and found the neutral wire going to the heat element was a crispy fried and the wire insulation was melted. It only blows cold air now since the heater element is not getting power. I'll never buy another product from Bionaire.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Portable Space Tower Heater-DISCONTINUED
from Tacoma, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worked great, until it didn't

PostedOctober 30, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had this for a little over 1 year and up until today, it worked great. We used it in our RV to heat instead of using our propane. Worked great for that purpose, the remote was cool, and it was easily able to heat the RV even when it got into the 40's outside.
This morning, the fan and oscillation were working great, but a smell of burnt insulation told me something was wrong, and the unit was no longer producing heat. I turned it off for a few hours to cool, thinking the thermal overload might have kicked in, but it still didn't produce heat anymore.
Shame, because it seemed so nice, but if it only lasts a year, then it's not worth it. I'll replace it with something that seems more reliable, maybe an oil-filled unit since those tend to produce more even heat over a period of time.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Portable Space Tower Heater-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Ceramic Heater 1500-Watt-Portable

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Real nice heater.Secure and efficient. One nice thing is that you do not have to got up from the bed to turn on or of.It has a remote control.AAA+++The price is a little way more expensive from other suppliers.I did order from Home Depot due to have it delivered to my home.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: high cost comparing with other suppliers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Portable Space Tower Heater-DISCONTINUED
from Elmont, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Stopped working in less than one year.

PostedNovember 3, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very disappointed that this heater stopped working within a year of purchase. Honestly, what's with that. I should have read other reviews prior to purchasing.
When the heater worked, it worked well. But it was not worth having the unit work for less than a year.
I do not recommend this unit. I think that Bionaire should be contacted and informed by mass email.
Thank you.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Portable Space Tower Heater-DISCONTINUED
from Nashville TN

Bionaire Heater

PostedOctober 31, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
is a very good heater for small to medium spaces...Do not expect this little heater to reach beyond a 12 x 12 room or for rooms with high ceilings. As a grandparent, it is reasonably child proof but care should be taken lest it be knocked over....Remote control features are very good and as a cold morning heater, it works....Bought 2 kitchen and gathering room...........Let's see how long it lasts.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Portable Space Tower Heater-DISCONTINUED
from cincinnati

Not Worth the $$

PostedDecember 9, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Unfortunately, this model doesn't heat a small room. It's best used as a leg warmer. The unit is very deceiving... due to the fact that the grill on the front makes it look like heat would come out of the entire area, when there is only a 6in area that delivers heat. You have to be right in front of the unit to feel the heat. I had bf return today, and will try a different model.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Portable Space Tower Heater-DISCONTINUED

Don't waste your money on this one.

PostedJanuary 22, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Lasted three weeks then smelled something burning. Must be poorly made. Our previous oil filled one lasted four years and just broke down this winter. The oil filled one may not have the fan to throw out the heat, however, it gradually heats up the room and I feel is a safer product. Hope they have some left. I'll be returning this one.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Portable Space Tower Heater-DISCONTINUED
from ny
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

wont last....

PostedSeptember 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
bought 1 last year loved it, bought another 1 month later, 2 month later one dies, the other just blows air.
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Portable Space Tower Heater-DISCONTINUED
from Alabama, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well before it broke!

PostedJanuary 12, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had the heater for approximately 3 months and it worked great. I keep it in my rv during cold months. It just bit the dust. The heater element quit and now it just circulates cold air.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Portable Space Tower Heater-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product is okay

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Only problem i have is the remote control doesn't always work. You have to push it really hard and keep pushing it over and over sometimes to get it to work.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>