728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Space Heaters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1500-Watt Ceramic Portable Space Tower Heater-DISCONTINUED

1500-Watt Ceramic Portable Space Tower Heater-DISCONTINUED

This ceramic tower heater distributes warmth into the air for maximum comfort. Coolness dissipates to an envelopment of illuminating heat and the renewing effects of warmer air become more present in your surroundings. Its slim design and small footprint provide a distinctive, space-saving solution with an elegant, sleek look. With Bionaire brand technology, you can live in harmony with nature for a serene home environment.
Overall rating:
2.82 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(78 reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
48%of customersrecommend this product37 of 77reviews
Rating Breakdown 78 reviews
2.8 out of 5.0
5
(25)
4
(9)
3
(6)
2
(3)
1
(35)
Quality 
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6 out of 5
Value 
2.4 out of 5.0
2.4 out of 5
48%of customersrecommend this product37 of 77reviews
Customer reviews for 1500-Watt Ceramic Portable Space Tower Heater-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Portable Space Tower Heater-DISCONTINUED
from Anchorage, AK
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not last

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this heater in early 2011 from HD and used it for about 5 months and then stored it in my closet. In October 2012 I took it to my office to use and it worked for a month and now it just blows cold air. I tried emailing Bionnaire but have not received any response. Would like to return to HD but doubt they'll take it back since I purchased it over 90 days ago. Pretty frustrating to pay almost $100 for something that is built to quit in less than 2 years with little use.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: will die in a short time frame
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Portable Space Tower Heater-DISCONTINUED
from Nowhere

Stay away from Bionaire. This product lasted 2 years with low use.

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this unit in 2011 and used it for 2 seasons to help warm a family room. I used it an average of 2 hours a day. Rarely left it running past that. Now, when I plugged it in this week it only blows cold air.
What has happened to quality products?
I will never buy another Bionaire product.
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Portable Space Tower Heater-DISCONTINUED

Cheap junk

PostedNovember 30, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Owned for less than 1 year. Purchased last winter. Turned it on during first cold snap of fall, after about 5 minutes I heard a buzzing/clicking noise and then the smell of burning plastic filled the room. Fan and control still worked but unit no longer produced heat.
After taking it apart it appears the neutral wire coming from the heating element had become severed after melting/burning through the insulation, possibly due to corrosion.
Cheap product. Avoid.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Portable Space Tower Heater-DISCONTINUED
from Allentown Pa
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Garbage - save your money

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
3 failed within 18 months
Light your money on fire - at least you will get heat out
of it
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Portable Space Tower Heater-DISCONTINUED
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Product poorly made & constructed

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased it. It lasted about 6 weeks and then the heater went out and only received COLD air. I called Bionaire and was told they didn't have any left & didn't know when more would be in. Told me to call back in 1 week. Called back in 1 week and still no heater. Was told to phone back in 2 weeks. Will do it. They have poor customer relationship, I am a senior citizen & can't afford to waste money on inferior products. Bionaire isn't going to make it good. I will just throw heater in the trash as it is no good. They don't need to be in business if they can't make a better product or stand behind what they do make.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Portable Space Tower Heater-DISCONTINUED
from NY
Age Range:35 to 44

Bad heater

PostedSeptember 15, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 2nd one in last fall and seems like I need a another one very soon cuz even my 1st one had a same condition as everybody said at in this review as using some amount of time and then the heater start blowing just a cold wind.
I never gonna buy this again..and can't recommend to anyone.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Portable Space Tower Heater-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Ceramic Heater 1500-Watt-Portable

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Real nice heater.Secure and efficient. One nice thing is that you do not have to got up from the bed to turn on or of.It has a remote control.AAA+++The price is a little way more expensive from other suppliers.I did order from Home Depot due to have it delivered to my home.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: high cost comparing with other suppliers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Portable Space Tower Heater-DISCONTINUED
from Los Angeles, CA 90025, USA

ok... at least i didnt die of cold (hypothermia)

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Its ok, a bit noisy, the last one i had was very quiet in comparison. price is bit high but fair. went from 40F to 64F after 4 hours
Pros: Stylish, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Noisy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Portable Space Tower Heater-DISCONTINUED
from Austin, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Planned Obsolescence

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have concluded that Bionaire designed this heater with some very nice features but engineered it so that its life will terminate after 1 year forcing you to purchase another. I did just that after the first one died thinking it was just a fluke. The second heater died after just one year. This is called planned obsolescence which the people at Bionaire must know. Do your homework and check other reviews on the web. You will find similar remarks. If you do purchase it, you will love it while it works. But when it prematurely breaks and you have taken the utmost care and responsibility with it, don't say I didn't tell you so.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Portable Space Tower Heater-DISCONTINUED
from NJ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for one year- twice!

PostedFebruary 12, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would have to agree 100% with another poster here, Jomad1, re: the planned obsolescence comment... I bought two of these in the past that each died almost 1 year to the day of when I first used them, almost as though the heater"knew" to do so. I am currently on my third, which I purchased this past October, and I suspect come October 2012, kaput. Only because of a very understanding HD manager who has taken these back have I continued to buy this product. When it does work, it works really great though, I must say!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Portable Space Tower Heater-DISCONTINUED
from Rochester Hills, MI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Absolute Junk

PostedFebruary 12, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought one and it lasted 2 weeks, just started blowing cold air. Returned to HD and got another one. It lasted about 6 weeks and same result. Look at the other reviews, this heater is pure junk.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Portable Space Tower Heater-DISCONTINUED
from United States
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very Short Lifespan

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I bought 2 of these for space heating in my 3 level townhome. One failed after 2 weeks, the other after about a month. I opened 1 up because I no longer had the receipt and found the neutral wire going to the heat element was a crispy fried and the wire insulation was melted. It only blows cold air now since the heater element is not getting power. I'll never buy another product from Bionaire.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Portable Space Tower Heater-DISCONTINUED
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Only lasted one week of normal usage.

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The heating element shorted out in smoke and flames after only one week in service. A leading national rating service gave it high-marks so we assume the heater in question was a lemon.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable, shorted out
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Portable Space Tower Heater-DISCONTINUED
from Baltimore, MD
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DEAD AFTER 3 MONTHS

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Coil blew out. Like many others reported - blows cold air only. Obvious quality problem.
No wonder they have only 1-year warranty.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: not reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Portable Space Tower Heater-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wonderfully easy to use and effective

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife and I travel in a 38 ft. 5th wheel and used it extensively during our last trip. It worked effectively heating our home from home. Appreciated the on/off sweeping motion of the unit.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Portable Space Tower Heater-DISCONTINUED
from Carpinteria
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

had one that worked great so when I needed another!

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have owned my first unit for two years and when it came time to purchase a 2nd unit there wasn't any question what I was going to purchase.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Portable Space Tower Heater-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Failed within 2 months

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just purchased this product back at the end of November and now all it does is blow cold air.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Portable Space Tower Heater-DISCONTINUED
from Abilene TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Great Heater!

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It's disappointing to see all the bad reviews. I'm about to purchase one for my Mom. We have one in our house and have had it for a couple of years and it' works great! Whenever she comes to visit she uses it in our Sunroom and in our guess room. She likes it warmer than we do. When she's not around I use it and I love it! I just hope it doesn't go out on me now that I've said this. I'm buying her one for her house for christmas.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Portable Space Tower Heater-DISCONTINUED
from Tacoma, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worked great, until it didn't

PostedOctober 30, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had this for a little over 1 year and up until today, it worked great. We used it in our RV to heat instead of using our propane. Worked great for that purpose, the remote was cool, and it was easily able to heat the RV even when it got into the 40's outside.
This morning, the fan and oscillation were working great, but a smell of burnt insulation told me something was wrong, and the unit was no longer producing heat. I turned it off for a few hours to cool, thinking the thermal overload might have kicked in, but it still didn't produce heat anymore.
Shame, because it seemed so nice, but if it only lasts a year, then it's not worth it. I'll replace it with something that seems more reliable, maybe an oil-filled unit since those tend to produce more even heat over a period of time.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Portable Space Tower Heater-DISCONTINUED
from California, USA
Age Range:65 or over

Fits our needs

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This heater works well for the area we use it in. It takes the chill off and keeps us comfortable. It is not meant for any large areas.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>