728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Pet Doors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Power Pet Large Electronic Fully Automatic Dog and Cat Electric Pet Door for Pets Up to 100 lb.

Power Pet Large Electronic Fully Automatic Dog and Cat Electric Pet Door for Pets Up to 100 lb.

Engineered for performance, value and extreme reliability, Power Pet doors are motor driven and activated by a tiny ultrasonic collar. Other electronic pet doors merely unlock a hinged panel, requiring your pet to push it open. Thats something that a lot of pets dont like to do. Patented Power Pet doors open completely under there own power. They feature a translucent door panel made of a new super-strength, bulletproof resin. When your pet approaches, the air-tight panel quickly and quietly powers upward disappearing into the stylish housing. Because the panel moves up and down and does not swing out, it can mounted in hermetically sealed grooves for air-tight closure. This mounting arrangement makes it impossible for an intruder to kick it out. The result is the most secure pet door against intruders and stray animals. Your pets are empowered to come and go as they please while their animal friends are politely asked to stay out. Panel Size: 12-¼ x 16 in. for pets up to 100 lbs.
Overall rating:
3.735 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
73%of customersrecommend this product24 of 33reviews
Rating Breakdown 34 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(18)
4
(4)
3
(3)
2
(3)
1
(6)
Quality 
2.7 out of 5.0
2.7 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
73%of customersrecommend this product24 of 33reviews
Customer reviews for Power Pet Large Electronic Fully Automatic Dog and Cat Electric Pet Door for Pets Up to 100 lb.
Review 1 for Power Pet Large Electronic Fully Automatic Dog and Cat Electric Pet Door for Pets Up to 100 lb.
from Dallas, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not a good product

PostedJune 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Door broke after about 1 year of use. The collar should not be attached to the dog's existing collar because if it gets turned around on his/her neck when scratching the door will not open. This happened to me once and I came home to an upset dog who was worried because he had to use the bathroom on my rug. Door opens randomly on it's own about 20-30 times after my dog goes through it before it will close. Lets a lot of heat in and I live in Texas. I think the standard flap is better if only I didn't have cats that could get out. Disappointed in this product and won't ever buy it again!!!
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Power Pet Large Electronic Fully Automatic Dog and Cat Electric Pet Door for Pets Up to 100 lb.
from Colorado
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

JUNK, JUNK, JUNK!!!

PostedOctober 19, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT, JUNK JUNK JUNK…
The first door I purchased for $350.00+ had the motor quit working in 1 year and two months. Now I had a big hole in my wall and I couldn’t find another door that would fit, so it was either purchase a new door or have a custom door made. I decided to give the door another chance, so I purchased another door. $350.00+ and 1 year and 3 months later that motor quit working. These doors aren’t made to last, but you can always buy their overpriced repair kits and plan on doing this every year. This door was used in a manner that it was designed for. I have three small dogs that stand at the door and wait for it to open, no jumping up and down on the door. I live in Denver, CO and in the winter the door would open, but close only half way, so my wife or I had to stand at the door and close it by hand once the dogs came in. As for the collars, they are JUNK too. They come apart very easily. My dogs are older, they sleep, go out and do their business and go on walks. Once they come apart and if you’re lucky enough to find the missing part , it will be more than likely missing the overpriced battery, so now you have to worry about the dog getting it and by a new battery. I have gone through 15+ collars over the last year at a price of $100.00 for a three pack on Amazon. I sent an email to the company president and this is the message I sent and the reply I received.
My message: This is the second door I've owned and the door stopped working. The same issue as the 1st door. I'm very disappointed in your product, for what it cost and the quality that you get. The door no longer goes up to let the dogs out. My wife and I both work and we need a dependable product that is going to work longer than a year and two months. Also I've spend a lot of money on the poorly designed collars. They come apart and we can't find the top part to snap it back on. I now have to put electrical tap around the housing to keep it from separating. I've purchase more than 15+ collars over the past year because of this.
The presidents message: Dear _____ Sorry to hear that you are having a problem with the Power Pet Door. What exactly is going on with the door. As for the collars if you keep having a problem with the top covers popping off then I would recommend the new MS-5 waterproof which also has a screw for the top cover.
My message back to her: Thank you for your email. The issue with the dog door is the door no longer goes up, as I stated in my notes when I submitted the case to your company. The only detail I can give you is the door no longer opens. Using the collars or using the button on the door.
As for the collars, I appreciate you recommending yet another product to buy, this doesn't address the poorly designed collars I currently own, I would suspect that this is a flaw in the design. I'm sure that I'm not the first or the last person who has called this to your attention.
To summarize:
1 ) 2 dog doors both had the same issue - the door no longer opens.
2) several collars and they all have the same issue - they separate and parts get lost.
I'm not the person who designed these products, but it doesn't take an engineer to see that there are some big issues with the way these products are designed.
I think hitecpet should stand behind their products, by replacing or fixing my dog door and replacing the collars with collars that perform the way they should...
In the end I was told the products out of warranty and buy the replacement parts or have a custom door made to fit the hole in your wall.
Save yourself some aggravation and money, buy another dog door.
Pros: none
Cons: qualty
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Power Pet Large Electronic Fully Automatic Dog and Cat Electric Pet Door for Pets Up to 100 lb.
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

poor customer service!

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have purchased 3 of this company's electronic pet doors and unfortunately have mixed reviews. While I have had very little problems with the doors themselves, the collars have quite a few issues. We have a large and medium door which we placed into the wall and a medium one for the patio slider, and as I said have had no problems with the doors. The collars, however, are a different story! They are flimsy and fall apart easily. You must buy the waterproof ones if you dog is going to splash through puddles or run in snow, or God Forbid, go for a swim!!! The batteries are expensive and are not easy to replace and the plastic housing breaks easily. This company's customer service leaves much to be desired as well. When I called once with issues and questions related to how to adjust the sensitivity to make the door work better, the customer service rep was curt and rude and treated me like a second grader. When my out- dated collars ceased to work and I was unable to produce my purchase order number, they were unable to help me. So, if you buy from this company, be sure you keep all receipts in a handy place---you will be needing them! They do not keep records of any purchases past the one year warranty period. What about keeping in touch with the clients who make purchases to let us know about new products and upgrades we may be interested in? Marketing 101.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Fits in Various Rooms, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, so convenient for the dogs
Cons: customer service, poorly constructed collars, unreliable
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Power Pet Large Electronic Fully Automatic Dog and Cat Electric Pet Door for Pets Up to 100 lb.
from Virginia
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Door. Easy to Service

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a great door that can only be improved by changing the sensor to an RFID in my opinion. Complaints regarding the motor are understandable; however, the door can be self serviced and the motor can be replaced by you with no need to go spend another $350. All other components are also self-serviceable making it a very user friendly product. I have one installed in a townhome and am about to install another in a single-family.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Great Value, Functional, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit
Cons: color, Size, only one color available., it would be great if they offered a larger size
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Power Pet Large Electronic Fully Automatic Dog and Cat Electric Pet Door for Pets Up to 100 lb.
from Spokane, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Door is good collars junk.

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The door seem to be a pretty good unit and not to tough to install. Now the collars are junk, they come apart all the time and you will spend all your time searching for them in your yard. The battery in them is quite expensive.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Quality, remotes fall apart
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Power Pet Large Electronic Fully Automatic Dog and Cat Electric Pet Door for Pets Up to 100 lb.
from Monte Vista, CO 81144, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very easy installation. Took only about half hour. My two dogs figured out how to use the door instantly. This really helps keep the cold out. The old "flap" type dog door just let too much cold in. Only suggestion would be to redesign the collar transmitter. We ended up fastening them to their regular collar.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Power Pet Large Electronic Fully Automatic Dog and Cat Electric Pet Door for Pets Up to 100 lb.
from Tucson,AZ.USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Overall a good product.

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
My dog adapted easily and made a game of it.
Went through several times; I think for the fun of it.
The unit arrived in good order and quickly.
Having a problem with the locket. The snap in the locket had to be secured with a piece of tape. Difficult to get to speak to a rep. You must use email if you have a complaint or you want to discuss an issue.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Install, Good Size & Fit, Great Detail
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Power Pet Large Electronic Fully Automatic Dog and Cat Electric Pet Door for Pets Up to 100 lb.
from Alexandria, VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Concept, Poor Design

PostedNovember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Easy to install; very convenient also, if near an electric outlet so that you do not need to purchase the battery (however, I am sure convenient if loss of power in the house). The sensor distance does not work as indicated. The worst design, however, is the collar. The life of the collar is very short. I have had the door less than one year and have been through 6 collars. There is not a long warranty for the collar and I have lost money at about $35 a collar. Clearly the design of the collar is not well made and the warranty itself is not a full year. If you are employed and gone from the house for more than 8 hours, I would not suggest this item as the collars are not reliable and your pet could be stuck inside or worse, outside and the collar just not work. Even replacing the batteries does not make them work!
Pros: Easy to Clean
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Power Pet Large Electronic Fully Automatic Dog and Cat Electric Pet Door for Pets Up to 100 lb.
from California, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ultrasonic Tags cannot get wet at all

PostedJanuary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I recently removed this pet door because the ultrasonic tags cannot get wet or even moist without failing. Over the 3 years we had this door we bought maybe 10 tags at $35 each. If your dog is even slightly active, just doing something like running through wet grass could cause the tags to fail. We now have a door with magnetic tags that is reliable - it cost more initially, but will save big $$ over the years when you don't have to buy tag after ultrasonic tag.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Power Pet Large Electronic Fully Automatic Dog and Cat Electric Pet Door for Pets Up to 100 lb.

Love this product!

PostedFebruary 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was in a crunch and needed to get my dog set up with a way to go in and out of the house on her own--this is after she had literally been at my feet for the past 6 years! Started installing the door the afternoon before I needed everything to be in place for the next day (door installed AND the dog knowing how to use it). Had a few challenges--not product related but rather installing the pet door into a raised-panel door. Except for some adjustments for the raised panels, it was pretty easy getting the door installed. (Being a woman, the biggest challenge was getting the screws into the wood. I ended up substituting a lag bolt for one of the screws so I could ratchet it in. (I would love to work with product designers/engineers as they design do-it-yourself products so they can be made more woman-installer friendly!)
Prior to ordering the door, I read reviews online and I was a little concerned the noise the door made opening and closing would scare my dog. So after putting the collar on my dog, I got out her treats. As she triggered the dog door by walking by it, she didn't even react to the sound as she was too excited to get her treats! When she got close to the door and it opened, I threw a treat outside and she quickly went out after it. While gobbling down the treat, the door closed behind her. She then quickly approached the door eager to figure out how to come back in. The door opened and in she came ready for more treats. Everything has been great ever since. Highly recommend this pet door!
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Power Pet Large Electronic Fully Automatic Dog and Cat Electric Pet Door for Pets Up to 100 lb.
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This seems like a good product.

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
For what the door cost the back up battery should come with it! The inside screw covers are cincy. After instillation I didn't have the prongs lined up perfect on the screw caps and the prong on it snapped off. I wouldn't recommend this instillation for a less than average carpenter. I installed two of these one at my house and one for my parents.
Pros: Functional
Cons: not water proof collar., chincy inside screw caps, no battery with it., no timer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Power Pet Large Electronic Fully Automatic Dog and Cat Electric Pet Door for Pets Up to 100 lb.
from Little Rock, AR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

The outside sensor malfunctioned shortly after I started using it.

PostedNovember 11, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
A major problem for me is that the outside sensor malfunctioned after about two weeks of use and my dog was locked outside. The malfunction outweights all the other benefits for me.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Power Pet Large Electronic Fully Automatic Dog and Cat Electric Pet Door for Pets Up to 100 lb.
from South Carolina
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

collar is useless

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The door itself is wonderful, but when the collar doesn't work it becomes irrelevant. It falls apart, batteries don't always work or fix it and it causes a lot of trouble for both my dogs and for me.
Pros: Easy to Install, Fits in Various Rooms, Good Size & Fit
Cons: Quality, not functional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Power Pet Large Electronic Fully Automatic Dog and Cat Electric Pet Door for Pets Up to 100 lb.
from Corona
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great for a couple months and then it useless

PostedNovember 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product would be great if it worked for more than 3 months. After 3 months the sensors on the door itself stop working and my dogs got locked outside or they couldn't get outside so they went to the bathroom on my floor. This door was amazing at first and turned into a complete nightmare. I suggest you wait until there is a better made one in the future.
Cons: Quality, not functional, Size, Appearance
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Power Pet Large Electronic Fully Automatic Dog and Cat Electric Pet Door for Pets Up to 100 lb.
from Atlanta, GA

excellent product

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love this product for our 46 lb dog. It took him awhile to feel comfortable with it-treats on the other side helped. It is burglar and critter proof-which worried me about a conventional dog door. Also, our cats cannot escape through the door. Very glad we purchased the product.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Power Pet Large Electronic Fully Automatic Dog and Cat Electric Pet Door for Pets Up to 100 lb.
from Fayetteville, NC

BUY THIS PET DOOR

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have 2 dogs that constantly go in and out of the house. My ability to train dogs is a different story. The power pet electric dog is INCREDIBLE! I had Home Depot install a new back door (the original door had a window built into it) and the pet door. They showed up on time and did a great job. It took about two days for my dogs to get used to the noise that the pet door motor makes. After a week the dogs are so used to the electric door they can run at the door and time their speed so by the time they get to the door the door is fully open. If you have dogs that live in the house BUY THIS PET DOOR.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Power Pet Large Electronic Fully Automatic Dog and Cat Electric Pet Door for Pets Up to 100 lb.
from Tampa

It works great

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a regular doggie door, but my cat would go outside, jump the fence and --- well who knows what he was doing. So far the dog goes in and out and the cat stays in. It was very easy to install. The instructions say the hardest part is cutting the hole-- and it was. The door screwed on just fine--no problems--just like on the youtube video. The only problem -- and it is a problem with the dog, not the door--is the dog likes to stand in front of the door and look outside with the door open. I'm glad I got it.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Power Pet Large Electronic Fully Automatic Dog and Cat Electric Pet Door for Pets Up to 100 lb.
from Indiana
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pretty good product

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Very easy installation. Took only about half hour. My four dogs figured out how to use the door in after about 15 attempts. I have had the door for about two years with no major problems with the door itself. How ever this year the temperature dropped below zero and the door froze shut. So if you plan to install a door make sure the insulation around the door is really good.the sensors on the door itself are in a bad location I think they need to be on top because the sensors get dirty from dogs going in and out so you have to keep them wiped off or the collars will not work. The collar's are a whole different story we have tried all three types M2, M4 & M5. they all work but hey are costly. the collar part is cheap, we integrated our senors into their regular collars, and you have to design a way that the sensor stays under the dogs neck so the eye sensors pick it up. the other thing I do not like is I have to buy the battery from them because they do not sell them anywhere else that i have found.
Pros: Fits in Various Rooms, Functional, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Good Size & Fit, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Power Pet Large Electronic Fully Automatic Dog and Cat Electric Pet Door for Pets Up to 100 lb.
from Idaho, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic door. only open when my dog is heading straight toward it!

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Awesome! My dog can go in & out without me worrying some other animal is going to follow. I love the appearance, smooth lines. I also like the added feature of being able to lock it when I'm out if town. Well worth the money!
Pros: Energy Efficient, Beautiful Appearance, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Power Pet Large Electronic Fully Automatic Dog and Cat Electric Pet Door for Pets Up to 100 lb.
from Washington, DC

AWESOME!

PostedSeptember 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a 2yr old 70lb Golden Retriever who LOVES this door. I am away during the day sometimes 12 hours and she uses it all day long. It took her about 2 weeks to learn it was ok to go in and out whenever she wants to. I started off with the highest setting so the door would open when she stood 10 ft away. Now she knows to go to the door and almost put her nose on the glass to open it. Definetly worth the money and extra security.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>