728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Pet Doors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Power Pet Electronic Fully Automatic Dog and Cat Door

Power Pet Electronic Fully Automatic Dog and Cat Door

The High Tech Pet Power Pet Electronic Fully Automatic Dog and Cat Door is motor driven and activated by an ultrasonic collar (included). The pet door features a translucent door panel made of a bulletproof resin that quickly and quietly powers upward into the stylish housing when your pet approaches. An automatic dead-bolt locking feature adds security to your home, and the pet door is mounted to resist kicking out by an intruder.
Overall rating:
4.111 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product7 of 9reviews
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product7 of 9reviews
Customer reviews for Power Pet Electronic Fully Automatic Dog and Cat Door
Review 1 for Power Pet Electronic Fully Automatic Dog and Cat Door
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dog door has all the bells and whistles you could want.

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The only problem we had with the dog door was that the electrical adaptor that came with the unit didn't work with the door. We discovered it was compatible with another cord (dust buster) and used it instead while HomeDepot sent us another cord.
The unit went in easily, toughest part was cutting the hole in the wall but the frame of the dog door allows for mistakes and we were very happy with the seal and the dog was even happier. She learned how to use it within minutes.
We used a wall extender, 4" plastic and it was perfect for a house with wood siding.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Good Size & Fit
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Power Pet Electronic Fully Automatic Dog and Cat Door
from Costa mesa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great door for the money

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This door gives us such a relief and we dont have to worry the neighbors to help take care of our cat. It keeps the local cats and racoons out of the garage so we can leave enough food while we are away. Great door. Just took a bit to get my cat to use it as the noise of the door opening did scare him at first.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Power Pet Electronic Fully Automatic Dog and Cat Door
from Linden, NJ

Great Asset

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased the electronic door with the intention of installing it in our back door but since we have a storm door for winter and a screen door for summer besides the back door, we decided it would be better installed through the wall right next to the back door. Installation was simple once we made the cut in the wall. Our dog loves it because she can go in and out whenever she wants. She just walks up to it and it opens. It has dials so we can adjust how close she has to be for it to open for going out and coming in. Since it operates on electricity you need to have an outlet close by. We turn it off at night so she won't go out and bark. It's very simple to operate.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Power Pet Electronic Fully Automatic Dog and Cat Door
from Arvada, CO

Power Pet Door

PostedJanuary 31, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Really a pretty cool door and signal collar system. I just put it in and it works as it should for both of my dogs. The adjustable signal distance is a great feature. We bought this to let the dogs come / go freely while keeping the cats snuggly in the house. The door pressure / tension is a little tricky if the whole unit is not set flat and tight against the wall surface.
I can only come up with one negative issue: the installation hardware (long silver screws) are cheaper quality. Three screw heads snapped off and two phillips heads stripped (out of 10 screws). Do yourself a favor and purchase mounting screws of your own.
Future wish list for this door system: some kind of secondary outer flap to help provide an insulating barrier from outside cold.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Power Pet Electronic Fully Automatic Dog and Cat Door
from south Georgia

Works as described

PostedJuly 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had the Electronic Pet Door installed for about a week now. It basically does everything it was described to do, and does it very well. My cat had no trouble learning to use it. The only things I can think of as far as product negatives is the fact that the noise made when the door opens is louder than I would have expected - but maybe this will be a plus as it will scare other animals, beside my cat, away. I like this product enough that I will probably be ordering another one and I would recommend it to friends.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Power Pet Electronic Fully Automatic Dog and Cat Door
from Grapevine, TX

Automatic Pet Door

PostedFebruary 10, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This door works perfectly. Gives my dog the freedom he needs and keeps all other animals outside. I would highly recomend getting the battery pack along with it unless you have a plug right by your door.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Power Pet Electronic Fully Automatic Dog and Cat Door

Poor Collars

PostedJune 13, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Door works great but Collar need improvements. Collar is not durable enough for active dogs. I cut into a $300 service door to install the pet door to find out later how poor the collar design was. The collar cannot tolerate any water or minor bangs & clangs from the dogs. I have electric fence collars that handle bangs & clangs just find and are waterproof so I wonder why it is so hard to offer a similar collar for this pet door?? Beware of the collar on this product :( :(
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Power Pet Electronic Fully Automatic Dog and Cat Door
from Hurst TX

Louie loves his new automatic dog door.

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent product, easy to install the only problem was the mounting screws were of poor quality, I ended up using my own screws. So far the door works great and Louie loves it.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Power Pet Electronic Fully Automatic Dog and Cat Door

This is the second one we have bought.

PostedOctober 5, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We want to have this product for the ease and convenience. We bought the same stupid thing twice because there's a hole in our house that this one fits. The first one just stopped opening after two years. Now after only 5 months the "Microsonic II Plus" collar has stopped working - a $70 dollar piece of junk, and yes, we tried a new $6 battery. Warning: don't cut a hole in your house for this product.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.