728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Air Filters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 21 in. x 27 in. x 5 in. Pleated Replacement Air Filter for Trane or American Standard

21 in. x 27 in. x 5 in. Pleated Replacement Air Filter for Trane or American Standard

Easily change your household furnace filter with this MERV 10 rated Honeywell 21 in. x 27 in. x 5 in. Pleated Air Filter. This filter captures common allergens, dust, pollen, mold spores, dirt and fibers from your home's airflow. It is designed to replace Trane or American Standard Perfect Fit filter model BAYFTFR21M.
Overall rating:
4.719 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(64 reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product61 of 63reviews
Rating Breakdown 64 reviews
4.7 out of 5
5
(49)
4
(13)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product61 of 63reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for 21 in. x 27 in. x 5 in. Pleated Replacement Air Filter for Trane or American Standard
Review 1 for 21 in. x 27 in. x 5 in. Pleated Replacement Air Filter for Trane or American Standard

Furnace Filter

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Fit perfectly. Easy pick up from store as well. Recommend.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 21 in. x 27 in. x 5 in. Pleated Replacement Air Filter for Trane or American Standard
from Texas

Excellent price for a great product!

PostedMay 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Honeywell pleated filter is a direct replacement for the much more expensive Perfect-Fit filter. I am very pleased with the quality of the Honeywell filter and the cost savings!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 21 in. x 27 in. x 5 in. Pleated Replacement Air Filter for Trane or American Standard

Great product at a great price.

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The filter is a perfect fit and functions exactly as intended.
The Home Depot had these furnace filters at the best price around, in-store and online. Delivery was as expected at my door on the projected date.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 21 in. x 27 in. x 5 in. Pleated Replacement Air Filter for Trane or American Standard

Great replacement filter for my Trade A/C

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am so happy that Home Depot started carrying these filters for my Trane A/C. I used to have to order them from specialty shops, which come with a specialty price. These are identical to my original Trane filters and actually have a higher MERV rating. They do the job and the price is a good value. The only thing I would love even more is if my local store carried these do I didn't have to order online. But, if you order two, you usually qualify for free shipping.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 21 in. x 27 in. x 5 in. Pleated Replacement Air Filter for Trane or American Standard
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Finally - an alternative to very high OEM prices for this filter

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Since buying a home with a new HVAC system 8 years ago I've been tied to the expensive OEM source for these filters. Glad there is now a generic alternative. Looks and seems to work just like the original. Very minor difference in edge design but does not affect function of the filter.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 21 in. x 27 in. x 5 in. Pleated Replacement Air Filter for Trane or American Standard

Most Amazing Filter on the Planet

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
It successfully filters the air. That's the primary expectation, I think. Oh and pleats. It has pleats. Like when you get pleated pants, but this is an air filter, so you can't wear it to work.
I mean, I guess you could wear it to work. But wow, you would seriously look like the crazy person at the office!
Unless that's your thing, I guess. Maybe wearing air filters as pants is just what you're into. I'm not judging or anything, but still, that's pretty messed up. Just go get some pants already.
Pros: Lots of Features
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 21 in. x 27 in. x 5 in. Pleated Replacement Air Filter for Trane or American Standard
from Oklahoma, USA

PERFECT

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Nothing fancy; just an air filter -- BUT at a fraction of the cost. My AC guy who instlled our unit charges about $90 for the same thing. Thanks, Home Depot.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Shape, Great Value, Economical
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 21 in. x 27 in. x 5 in. Pleated Replacement Air Filter for Trane or American Standard
from Prosper, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just Great!!

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Product is great quality and at a low cost. Shipped very fast and in good condition.
Pros: High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 21 in. x 27 in. x 5 in. Pleated Replacement Air Filter for Trane or American Standard

Great product at a great price!

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been buying these filters for two years from Home Depot online and they always have the lowest price and fast delivery.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 21 in. x 27 in. x 5 in. Pleated Replacement Air Filter for Trane or American Standard
from Ontario
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excelent Trane replacement

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:17-1/2 in. x 27 in. x 5 in. Pleated Replacement Air Filter for Trane or American Standard
Product fit into Trane furnace almost better than the more expense Trane replacement furnace filter. This unit actually has a better MERV rating than the more expensive unit I had purchased. Will continue buying these filters. Cost savings not too much, but it's $10 2-3 times per year which makes this a better buy.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 21 in. x 27 in. x 5 in. Pleated Replacement Air Filter for Trane or American Standard
from Hamilton nj
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Fit perfectly

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:17-1/2 in. x 27 in. x 5 in. Pleated Replacement Air Filter for Trane or American Standard
Love that HD has these larger sizes but can only get on line. Was a perfect fit for my unit
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 21 in. x 27 in. x 5 in. Pleated Replacement Air Filter for Trane or American Standard
from Tucson, AZ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Shipping

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:17-1/2 in. x 27 in. x 5 in. Pleated Replacement Air Filter for Trane or American Standard
The product itself is great and the price for the product is excellent at the home depot. These are unique air filters that you cannot buy in the store and you have to purchase online. I have bought the filters on 3 or 4 different occasions now. I purchased a total of 6 filters this time and the issue always has to do with how the filters are packaged and shipped. 4 of the 6 filters made it to me in perfect condition, but 2 of the 6 arrived to my home and were damaged and crushed. I couldn't believe that one of the filters literally was not even placed in packaging but just had the ups label on the outside cellophane and of course got damaged during transport. Package all of the filters in boxes with bubble wrap (as you did with the 4 of the 6) and my comments will be nothing but positive!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 21 in. x 27 in. x 5 in. Pleated Replacement Air Filter for Trane or American Standard
from Hayes, Va
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pricing was the best !! Prompt delivery a plus!

PostedMay 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:26 in. x 21 in. x 5 in. Pleated Replacement Air Filter for Trane or American Standard
I am very pleased with the product I purchased from The Home Depot. Price was the best found.
Pros: High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 21 in. x 27 in. x 5 in. Pleated Replacement Air Filter for Trane or American Standard
from Raleigh, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Pleated Replacrment Air Filter for a Trane 17 1/2 x 5 inch

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:17-1/2 in. x 27 in. x 5 in. Pleated Replacement Air Filter for Trane or American Standard
I am pleased with this replacement air filter as the price is much better than the one offered via the air conditioner service company. It is great that Home Depot offers an alternative which also saves the customer some extra needed cash. Thanks!
I do not have any photos as I think that would be redundant.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 21 in. x 27 in. x 5 in. Pleated Replacement Air Filter for Trane or American Standard
from rochester, mn
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Filter, less expensive

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:17-1/2 in. x 27 in. x 5 in. Pleated Replacement Air Filter for Trane or American Standard
The filter came quickly, loved the free shipping to my local store, and it fits and works as advertised.
Pros: High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 21 in. x 27 in. x 5 in. Pleated Replacement Air Filter for Trane or American Standard
from Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Best price, quality product

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:21-1/2 in. x 21 in. x 5 in. Pleated Replacement Air Filter for Trane or American Standard
I change this air filter twice a year. Home Depot's price for the Honeywell product is the best I've seen. Each filter is individually wrapped. My order was delivered by UPS within a week of ordering on line.
Pros: Great Value
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 21 in. x 27 in. x 5 in. Pleated Replacement Air Filter for Trane or American Standard
from PALM BAY FL 32907
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

21x1/2 in.x21 in.x5 in. PLEATED AIR FILTER

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:21-1/2 in. x 21 in. x 5 in. Pleated Replacement Air Filter for Trane or American Standard
I wish that you would carry them in the store not just on line
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 21 in. x 27 in. x 5 in. Pleated Replacement Air Filter for Trane or American Standard
from Kennewick, Wa.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

On line order air filter

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:23-1/2 in. x 21 in. x 5 in. Pleated Replacement Air Filter for Trane or American Standard
This product met all my needs and specifications. It was better priced than the brand name. Product was shipped without charge and arrived quickly.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 21 in. x 27 in. x 5 in. Pleated Replacement Air Filter for Trane or American Standard
from Easthampton , MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Hard to find

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:21-1/2 in. x 21 in. x 5 in. Pleated Replacement Air Filter for Trane or American Standard
These central air conditioner filters are very hard to find. They aren't even in the store(Home Depot), so I had to order them on line through Home Depot. Shipping took about a week. They work well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: difficult to find
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 21 in. x 27 in. x 5 in. Pleated Replacement Air Filter for Trane or American Standard

Filter

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:17-1/2 in. x 27 in. x 5 in. Pleated Replacement Air Filter for Trane or American Standard
Perfect fit for a very inexpensive price as compared to the dealer's price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>