728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Personal Safety or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Personal Security Motion-Sensing Alarm with Keychain Remote

Personal Security Motion-Sensing Alarm with Keychain Remote

GE Personal Security Motion-Sensing Alarm with Keychain Remote provides peace of mind by deterring would-be intruders within a 20-foot range. This simple-to-use, cost-effective security solution helps protect you and your family against home invasions thanks to the 120-decibel alarm, loud enough to make a would-be intruder think twice about entering your home. Quick and easy installation means your home will be secured in minutes. 45-second exit delay and 30-second entry delay provides ultimate flexibility by allowing you to enter or exit the area before activating. The convenient keychain remote activates and deactivates the alarm from anywhere in your home. Ensure that your motion-sensing alarm is always ready with the low-battery indicator light. Perfect for homes, apartments and offices.
Overall rating:
3.796 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product30 of 39reviews
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
3.8 out of 5
5
(20)
4
(11)
3
(3)
2
(4)
1
(6)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product30 of 39reviews
Customer questions and answers:
19 Questions | 61 Answers
Customer reviews for Personal Security Motion-Sensing Alarm with Keychain Remote
Review 1 for Personal Security Motion-Sensing Alarm with Keychain Remote
from Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Makes our home safer

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This security motion sensing alarm with remote activation is easy to activate and install. We have tested it by walking through the room and it works superbly. We plan to add more to the interior of our home. It is very inexpensive compared to the security that it provides. We would definitely recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Loud, Compact, Motion-Activated, Stylish, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Personal Security Motion-Sensing Alarm with Keychain Remote

Works OK But..

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Alarm's delay after arming works fine, but the 30 second delay after detecting motion did not work, causing alarm to immediately sound. Loud. Disarms using the remote only after alarm starts. Previous alarm like this worked fine for 4 years - only needed annual battery change.
Pros: Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Response from By Tech SupportApril 23, 2015By Tech SupportApril 23, 2015
HBSailor, if you are positive that the alarm was armed in the away mode and not in home and the alarm triggered immediately after detecting movement then the unit would need to replaced. When arming in away mode it should arm after 45 seconds and the alarm sounds 30 seconds after detecting movement. Jasco Products Tech Support (Manufacturer) GETechSupport
Review 3 for Personal Security Motion-Sensing Alarm with Keychain Remote
from Nampa, ID
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good alarm, bad remote

PostedMay 30, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We have two of these alarms at our business to let us know when someone comes through the doors. The alarms work great, but the buttons on the remotes have worn out, and we have searched quite a bit and found that if you need new remotes, you have to re-buy the entire kit.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Tech SupportJune 2, 2015By Tech SupportJune 2, 2015
Mabb, you can contact the sales department at 1-800-654-8483 option 2 and order replacement remotes for this alarm. Jasco Products Tech Support (Manufacturer) GETechSupport
Review 4 for Personal Security Motion-Sensing Alarm with Keychain Remote
from Seattle, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Wonderful alarm except for the remote control.

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have 3 of these alarms and have now ordered 2 more. They are very easy to use BUT the remote controls have failed on 2 of the ones I purchased earlier. I did replace the batteries but that is not the problem. So if the remotes all fail they are useless as there is no on/off control on the units themselves.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Loud, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: remote fails
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Personal Security Motion-Sensing Alarm with Keychain Remote
from Georgia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Only lasted 6 months

PostedAugust 4, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this about 6 months ago. Works great but quit working/responding to the remote. I thought the batteries may have been going low so I reloaded fresh batteries (remote and unit) and still no luck. Unit does not respond to the remote and will not arm. Only has a 90-day warranty so I will need to replace. Unit worked great though. Just short had a short life. I will try to contact the manufacturer for replacement and hope for the best. Based on short life, can't recommend at this time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Loud, Compact, Motion-Activated, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: only lasted 6 months.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Personal Security Motion-Sensing Alarm with Keychain Remote
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Contruction Hurried

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was Thrilled to have the GE remote coming to me, however upon opening the box, I found the remote to have a void (inch opening) as if something wasn't snapping in place. When arming the system I have to push the button 4 to 5 times at close range in order to initiate countdown. Very disappointed at the questionable build quality. Would return, however too much hassle, would not recommend.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Personal Security Motion-Sensing Alarm with Keychain Remote
from Sterling, VA

Personal Security

PostedOctober 17, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I think this is a great security system. I am sure you will not get anything stolen . The signal is very loud, when you come in it will start beeping and you have time to turn it off by the remote. The chime is an alerting sound and the alarm is loud and crazy. It comes with a wireless remote. You do not have to install anything on your doors. You can put the remote on your key chain. I got this so that I can be aware of people going in and out of my room. It will alert you if it needs batteries.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Personal Security Motion-Sensing Alarm with Keychain Remote
from Maryland
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Frugal Lady; but well worth it

PostedMarch 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I live in a two bedroom apartment and thus far I feel safe at night when my son is asleep and I'm in my room. A simple push of the button and I sleep like a baby. Knowing my Motion detector is working in the sad event an intruder decides to come through my door uninvited.
Pros: Easy to Use, Loud, Motion-Activated
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Personal Security Motion-Sensing Alarm with Keychain Remote
from Oshkosh wi
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't work

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Batteries work, made it squak once, pretty useless
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Tech SupportMay 8, 2015By Tech SupportMay 8, 2015
Tiredmom, when you say batteries work does that mean you changed the batteries in the motion sensor and the remote? Did you try the panic feature? Did you call technical support? Jasco Products Tech Support (Manufacturer) GETechSupport
Review 10 for Personal Security Motion-Sensing Alarm with Keychain Remote

Great for keeping the neighbors dog from peeing on my patio.

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The neighbor dog waddles over and hears this thing chime. He instantly turns around and pees in his own yard. It is great. Maybe i will have some live grass when spring comes.
Pros: Easy to Use, Loud, Compact, Motion-Activated, Easy Replacement, Battery Length, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Personal Security Motion-Sensing Alarm with Keychain Remote
from Montgomery, AL 36110, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good product for if you don't have security system at home

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Good product for people that do not have alarm at Home
Also work as chime, Wireless ,do not need to do any wiring.
Battery operated.
Also that does not dial 911 or does not have any connection to phone line either. It will go off by it self.
Good for Front of your door or good for backyard, so it let you know if some one there. This is all in one unite, Means sensor and siren both in built in one unite. battery operated only. Good coverage area. Remote material is little chip, so use carefully.
Bottom line money you paying , you get little more then that.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Personal Security Motion-Sensing Alarm with Keychain Remote
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not a good buy

PostedJune 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this about 12 months ago. Works great but quit working/responding to the remote. I thought the batteries may have been going low so I reloaded fresh batteries (remote and unit) and still no luck. Unit does not respond to the remote and will not arm. When I changed the battery the light was blinking and it died out in a few minutes, I thought it was the new batteries, so I changed to two new batteries again, NO LUCK! FYI, both sets of new batteries were good.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Tech SupportJune 10, 2014By Tech SupportJune 10, 2014
NJboy2, I apologize that the motion sensing alarm only lasted 12 months. If you move the switch on the remote to chime does it do anything? You might want to contact technical support to see if there is something that we can figure out. Jasco Products Tech Suport(Manufacturer)
phone number: 1-800-654-8483 option 1GETechSupport
Review 13 for Personal Security Motion-Sensing Alarm with Keychain Remote
from Palm Harbor; Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I have always found what I needed and at a great price. I have bought over 100 different products

PostedDecember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Example: the drill was really easy to assemble, lightweight and not noisy. I am really pleased with the battery life and was able to use the drill without charging for over an hour of heavy duty use...
I have need had to return a product for any reason
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Personal Security Motion-Sensing Alarm with Keychain Remote
from Poulsbo, WA 98370, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Performs well, amazingly inexpensive

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It produces either a paralyzing shriek or a "ding-dong" as desired. I wish it made a quieter noise when arming it and that it only gave a 15 second warning beep rather than 30 second warning, since that might give an intruder long enough to disable it before it goes off. For $10, one can't quibble at these minor deficiencies.
Pros: Easy to Use, Loud, Compact, Motion-Activated, Stylish, Easy Replacement, Battery Length, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation, alternate sound fairly pleasant
Cons: can't adjust warning beep delay
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Personal Security Motion-Sensing Alarm with Keychain Remote
from Escondido, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

GE Personal Security Motion

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Security Motion work well easy to use, however it has only 1 remote control and to turn on or off you need to be 1 feet away.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Loud, Compact, Motion-Activated, Battery Length, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Personal Security Motion-Sensing Alarm with Keychain Remote

does all I wanted it for

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I installed a glass enclosed sun room and could figure no economical way - there are 30 window openings to wire - to connect it to my existing alarm system. This motion sensor alarm was what I needed.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Personal Security Motion-Sensing Alarm with Keychain Remote

Too sensitive

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 3 of these. One concern is to have too many false alarm to annoy my neighbors. So I test them over a few nights with alarm downstairs and me upstairs. Every night I got false alarm. I moved them around the house, and change their angles. But cannot get one night of peace. Not clear what happened since I saw in some other reviews that people didn't experience any false alarm. If you want to buy this product, you can buy one first and see if it works for you.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Tech SupportJanuary 6, 2015By Tech SupportJanuary 6, 2015
Redwood, this alarm works off heat signatures which means that the sensor will “see” a room and say this room is 72 degrees. If it “sees” anything that is cooler/hotter than that 72 degrees it will see this as movement. If you have the sensor pointing at a vent and the A/C or heater turns on/off the sensor will see this as movement. If you have pets and don’t adjust the sensor it will see the pets. Jasco Products Tech Support (Manufacturer)GETechSupport
Review 18 for Personal Security Motion-Sensing Alarm with Keychain Remote
from Avondale, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outstanding product

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought 2 of these for my home and loved them so much I bought a third one and sent it to a friend who sleep walks,it alerts her now so as she does not hurt herself while sleep walking! a must have for affordable security measures. The chime feature is also very useful!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Personal Security Motion-Sensing Alarm with Keychain Remote
from Herriman, UT
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works fine

PostedJune 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This works great; I bought 2 of them. They do just what you'd expect, they have a nice loud alarm, and the remote works perfectly and is super easy.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Personal Security Motion-Sensing Alarm with Keychain Remote
from Panama City Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Keychain security motion alarm

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
easy to install and works great except if its a windy day
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>