728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Personal Safety or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Personal Security Motion Sensing Alarm with Remote Activation

Personal Security Motion Sensing Alarm with Remote Activation

An ideal choice for your home, the GE Personal Security Motion Sensing Alarm with Remote Activation has a 30-second exit delay and a 45-second entry delay to allow time to enter or exit prior to arming. The 120 dB alarm ensures that sound is heard and helps deter vandals or intruders. This motion sensing alarm does not require wiring for fast and easy installation and the low-battery indicator light notifies you when fresh batteries are needed.
Overall rating:
4.152 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product26 of 29reviews
Rating Breakdown 33 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(17)
4
(10)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(2)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product26 of 29reviews
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 56 Answers
Customer reviews for Personal Security Motion Sensing Alarm with Remote Activation
Review 1 for Personal Security Motion Sensing Alarm with Remote Activation
Secureathome
from Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Makes our home safer

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This security motion sensing alarm with remote activation is easy to activate and install. We have tested it by walking through the room and it works superbly. We plan to add more to the interior of our home. It is very inexpensive compared to the security that it provides. We would definitely recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Loud, Compact, Motion-Activated, Stylish, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Personal Security Motion Sensing Alarm with Remote Activation
DIYer
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Contruction Hurried

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was Thrilled to have the GE remote coming to me, however upon opening the box, I found the remote to have a void (inch opening) as if something wasn't snapping in place. When arming the system I have to push the button 4 to 5 times at close range in order to initiate countdown. Very disappointed at the questionable build quality. Would return, however too much hassle, would not recommend.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Personal Security Motion Sensing Alarm with Remote Activation
Dissapointed
from Georgia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Only lasted 6 months

PostedAugust 4, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this about 6 months ago. Works great but quit working/responding to the remote. I thought the batteries may have been going low so I reloaded fresh batteries (remote and unit) and still no luck. Unit does not respond to the remote and will not arm. Only has a 90-day warranty so I will need to replace. Unit worked great though. Just short had a short life. I will try to contact the manufacturer for replacement and hope for the best. Based on short life, can't recommend at this time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Loud, Compact, Motion-Activated, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: only lasted 6 months.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Personal Security Motion Sensing Alarm with Remote Activation
el77
from Seattle, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Wonderful alarm except for the remote control.

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have 3 of these alarms and have now ordered 2 more. They are very easy to use BUT the remote controls have failed on 2 of the ones I purchased earlier. I did replace the batteries but that is not the problem. So if the remotes all fail they are useless as there is no on/off control on the units themselves.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Loud, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: remote fails
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Personal Security Motion Sensing Alarm with Remote Activation
AaBb

This product gives a sense of security

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was better than the previous product that I owned because it took less time to install. No security code was needed.
I like the slim remote much better than the other one.
The tone/pitch is louder than the other so the audibility is much better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Personal Security Motion Sensing Alarm with Remote Activation
Vyomesh
from Montgomery, AL 36110, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good product for if you don't have security system at home

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good product for people that do not have alarm at Home
Also work as chime, Wireless ,do not need to do any wiring.
Battery operated.
Also that does not dial 911 or does not have any connection to phone line either. It will go off by it self.
Good for Front of your door or good for backyard, so it let you know if some one there. This is all in one unite, Means sensor and siren both in built in one unite. battery operated only. Good coverage area. Remote material is little chip, so use carefully.
Bottom line money you paying , you get little more then that.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Personal Security Motion Sensing Alarm with Remote Activation
Stlstanding
from Maryland
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Frugal Lady; but well worth it

PostedMarch 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I live in a two bedroom apartment and thus far I feel safe at night when my son is asleep and I'm in my room. A simple push of the button and I sleep like a baby. Knowing my Motion detector is working in the sad event an intruder decides to come through my door uninvited.
Pros: Easy to Use, Loud, Motion-Activated
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Personal Security Motion Sensing Alarm with Remote Activation
Jim55
from Poulsbo, WA 98370, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Performs well, amazingly inexpensive

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It produces either a paralyzing shriek or a "ding-dong" as desired. I wish it made a quieter noise when arming it and that it only gave a 15 second warning beep rather than 30 second warning, since that might give an intruder long enough to disable it before it goes off. For $10, one can't quibble at these minor deficiencies.
Pros: Easy to Use, Loud, Compact, Motion-Activated, Stylish, Easy Replacement, Battery Length, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation, alternate sound fairly pleasant
Cons: can't adjust warning beep delay
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Personal Security Motion Sensing Alarm with Remote Activation
Caspi
from Escondido, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

GE Personal Security Motion

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Security Motion work well easy to use, however it has only 1 remote control and to turn on or off you need to be 1 feet away.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Loud, Compact, Motion-Activated, Battery Length, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Personal Security Motion Sensing Alarm with Remote Activation
Crucial2

Great for keeping the neighbors dog from peeing on my patio.

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The neighbor dog waddles over and hears this thing chime. He instantly turns around and pees in his own yard. It is great. Maybe i will have some live grass when spring comes.
Pros: Easy to Use, Loud, Compact, Motion-Activated, Easy Replacement, Battery Length, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Personal Security Motion Sensing Alarm with Remote Activation
Willwill
from Sterling, VA

Personal Security

PostedOctober 17, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I think this is a great security system. I am sure you will not get anything stolen . The signal is very loud, when you come in it will start beeping and you have time to turn it off by the remote. The chime is an alerting sound and the alarm is loud and crazy. It comes with a wireless remote. You do not have to install anything on your doors. You can put the remote on your key chain. I got this so that I can be aware of people going in and out of my room. It will alert you if it needs batteries.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Personal Security Motion Sensing Alarm with Remote Activation
terry
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great!

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great! Easy to install. Has a good sensor range - detects motion at 20 ft. One sensor covers most of my 20 by 20 living room. The remote seems a little flimsy so I'll have to see how it holds up. Other than that, I'm very happy with it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Loud, Motion-Activated, Easy Installation
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Personal Security Motion Sensing Alarm with Remote Activation
Jack
from Boston, MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

simple and dependable

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed two of these on stairways to keep track of the kids. I don't think there has been a single false alarm or missed alarm - though it is possible sometimes to throw a pillow down the stairs without triggering the alarm.
The unit has no volume knob. It's loud (at least in chime mode, that's the only mode I use), so I put masking tape on it to cut the volume.
Disarming the alarm with the keychain triggers a 'disarming' sound. This means you cannot use the keychain to sneak past the alarm completely undetected.
Pros: Easy to Use, Loud, Motion-Activated, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Personal Security Motion Sensing Alarm with Remote Activation
puddin
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good for apts that need simple alarm for door

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to install, simple directions for use. As a single female with no technical skills, it is a gem for me to use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Motion-Activated, Clear Instructions, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Personal Security Motion Sensing Alarm with Remote Activation
MIKE
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

SHIPPED WITH MISSING BATTERY

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
UNIT WAS SHIPPED WITH NECESSARY BATTERY MISSING. TOO EXPENSIVE TO SHIP BACK. DISPOSED OF UNIT. GOOD DEAL IF BATTERY THEY SAID WAS WITH THE UNIT WAS INDEED SHIPPED.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Personal Security Motion Sensing Alarm with Remote Activation
Tiffany
from Burlington, VT, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female

motion sensor

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I use this product for a motion sensor and set it every night. It was easy to set, and it doesn't take much energy from the battery, so you're not changing the battery every two weeks.
Pros: Easy to Use, Loud, Motion-Activated, Battery Length, Eco-Friendly, Easy Installation
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Personal Security Motion Sensing Alarm with Remote Activation
kjv70360
from Houma, LA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Alarm system

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Yes bought this for my trailer for the door and hall way and i,m sure of buying 2 more one for my living room and for my bed room. i haven't been disapointed yet in this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Loud, Compact, Motion-Activated, Stylish, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Personal Security Motion Sensing Alarm with Remote Activation
vvarob

does all I wanted it for

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed a glass enclosed sun room and could figure no economical way - there are 30 window openings to wire - to connect it to my existing alarm system. This motion sensor alarm was what I needed.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Personal Security Motion Sensing Alarm with Remote Activation
SweatCoder
from Herriman, UT
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works fine

PostedJune 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This works great; I bought 2 of them. They do just what you'd expect, they have a nice loud alarm, and the remote works perfectly and is super easy.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Personal Security Motion Sensing Alarm with Remote Activation
Rockwell
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

These seem to be a great value

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought three of these alarms and they came on time and in good shape as promised. They are extremely easy to use but all three of them need to have the battery covers taped on the remotes or they will fall off. These should be designed with a little larger tab on them so that they stay on without the tape.
Other than that, they are great so far. Can't beat it for the price.
Pros: Easy to Use, Loud, Compact, Motion-Activated, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
Cons: battery cover on remote falls off.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>