728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Timers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer

15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer

This CFL ready GE 15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer automates lights, fans, heaters, pumps and other indoor electrical devices. It automatically adjusts for daylight savings time and features a random vacation setting for extra security while you are away. The timer comes with easy preset options but is also programmable.
Overall rating:
2.364 / 5
2.4
 / 
5
(55 reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
32%of customersrecommend this product17 of 53reviews
Rating Breakdown 55 reviews
2.4 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(6)
3
(3)
2
(7)
1
(28)
Quality 
2.5 out of 5.0
2.5 out of 5
Value 
2.7 out of 5.0
2.7 out of 5
32%of customersrecommend this product17 of 53reviews
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 28 Answers
Customer reviews for 15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer
Review 21 for 15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer
dennis
from Detroit, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Kills CFL's

PostedSeptember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased one for my garage. Runs 3 LED bulbs outside my garage doors. So, I got another for my front porch. It has 6 candleopera type CFL bulbs. All 6 pull less then 2 of it's 40W condesent bulbs. Within a week, it KILLED all but one bulb. You can pay extra for the "deluxe" model that is rated for CFL's but should it have killed the bulbs? So, I won't be buying these or recommending.
Pros: Easy Installation
Cons: incompatability
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer
casablanca1942
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

I do like the idea of the timers and their are a lot of choices.

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The directions are quite clear, but I am having a difficult time setting the on/off features. When I think I have it figured out, the lights don't turn on or off. I have to use the manual on/off feature.
Pros: Stylish, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Cons: Complicated
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer
EEngineer

Keep Looking

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The display does not light up. Who designed this ?
I need to get a flash light in order to see the display. Poorly designed unit.
Cons: poorly designed
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer
Timer

Does not last long

PostedOctober 20, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Brought this switch on March, 2011, and it lasted till October 18, 2012. Just long enough to be out of warranty.
Don't waste your money, and time on this product!
Cons: Short Battery Life
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer
NoddingHomer
from San Jose, CA

Broke after 10 months

PostedOctober 1, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I installed one of these in an outdoor (waterproof) box to control my pool lights (CFLs - <50 w total). The timer worked OK for 10 months and then just died completely. I say OK because the clock wasn't very accurate - it would gain a few minutes each month. Now the display is blank and the lights don't come on, even if I try to operate it manually. There's current flowing to the circuit; the outlet connected in parallel with the switch is operational.
I realize this isn't intended for outdoor use, but it was in a sealed enclosure and the climate here is very mild.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer
TomT
from Elyria, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy installation and have not had a problem like others.

PostedFebruary 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased 2 of these to control my front and back porch lights as i was tired of coming home to a dark house. In short, I made my initial purchase in October, 2010 and both have been working without a problem since then. Maybe I am just lucky as I have seen the horrific reviews detailing the problems that so many have had. However, I am a good customer and feel that it's incumbent on me to take the time to write my account. They have worked as advertised since my initial purchase.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer
delr

did not even last a year

PostedFebruary 2, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i bought three from home depot and had them installed by a licensed electrician. they are all defective. one stopped working and the other two work sometimes.
I'm not sure if i have the receipts to take it back to home depot. cannot believe GE has such a bad product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer
n10sive

Bad product

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the only model carried in the store despite its low rating here. Bought one anyway. Like all the other reviews, had to reset the programming almost once per week and after 3 months the display went out. Piece of junk. I don't recommend it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer
Charles
from Puerto Rico
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer. Excellent!

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have had this product operating for two years without a problem. Change battery every year.
Program instructions are a bit hard to understand but once you understand the logic you will have no problem.
The letters are very small so use a magnifier.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer
Zoinks

Shame I didn't see these reviews before purchasing

PostedMarch 4, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Check the reviews here and elsewhere. As with many others, mine failed (display failed) at 10 months. I won't be reinstalling this. Home Depot should remove this from their stores.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer
Lawrdent
from Chicago
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

terrible instructions

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Easy to install BUT terrible instructions on how to set up. Have no idea which program it is on..Most products will have a p1 or p2 showing somewhere on display but this one does not. Also, wasted an hour trying to trouble shoot but what was happening was everytime I installed on the wall, I was pusing on the cover which automatically turned the system on/off. So now, I have to be careful that no one accidentally bumps into unit. Inexpensive BUT would rather spend a few more dollars to get one that is more instructive and has some protection on accidentally turning unit on/off by bumping into it.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer
dubbledach

Breaks after 6-10 months

PostedFebruary 19, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We've bought several of these. Only one has lasted more than 10 months.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer
Mike

Bad batteries

PostedNovember 23, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought two of the timers from Home Depot last year to control xmas lights and both have blank screens. Will pull them and take to Home Depot to see if they will replace them.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer
Robert

The Product is Timed to Fail

PostedNovember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased 11 of these digital timers of which 9 of them failed within the first year. Enough said.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer
suprafra
from Ashburn, VA

Can be improved

PostedJune 7, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The device is pretty good. Easy to install and easy to program. However, there are two areas that I think can be improved:
1. When the switch is moved from timer to off, the whole unit basically is shut down. It would be nice to allow manual on/off by pushing on the big cover. With that, one can normally operate the lights without worrying about the programmed on/off time. When you are out for vacation, it is simply to switch to timer to activate the pre-programmed on./off times. It makes it more convenient so that you do not have to program the timer every time you are on vacation.
2. The random mode is actually varying the on or off time from you pre-programmed times. Honeywell timers in their random mode actually turn lights on and off a number of times randomly in the evening after sunset. I suppose with the GE, one can set a few programs of on-off pairs together with the random mode to simulate the same behavior, but it is just not as convenient.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer
CCClubman
from Coal City,IL.

GE Smart Timer

PostedDecember 6, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The GE In Wall Digital Smart Timer is easy to program and has a built in NI-MH battery back up in the event you lose power.
The downside is the display is small so it is hard to read. The upside is that is CFL ready!
Will save energy over electromechanical timers that are not CFL ready.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer
MM57

GE Sun Smart Digital Timer

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is the third timer I have installed in the same location. The first Intramatic digital worked well but failed after a year. The second Intramatic would not fit in the electrical box and it was hard to see the display.
Just installed the GE unit and it's working as advertised. Programming is easy, but the directions are poor. What isn't said, but should be, is that only one program can be active at a time (i.e. no prog. conflicts). I only use the timer to turn on the outside lights at dusk, and off at dawn - Program 1. Deleted (inactivated) the other 6 alternative programs. Works fine. Lighted face plate and ability to change to face plate colors a big plus. The timer fits in the electrical box. Jasco (maker of GE unit) support line is excellent. I will probably buy a spare unit I am so happy with Sun Smart Timer.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer
rj5300
from Ohio
Age Range:25 to 34

Poor quality

PostedJanuary 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Stopped working after a few months. Replacement did the same.. random on/off, resetting to 12:00 all the time, etc.
Don't buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer
Peggy

Defective when installed! Do not buy this.

PostedNovember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After I paid an electrician CA rates to install, the reset button didn't work. I couldn't get the reset button to enable a flashing screen so I could program it. Also, my second wall switch (needed for the 3-way feature) does not have a neutral wire, so I can't override the lights from the second switch. This product doesn't work for me, even if it hadn't been defective when purchased.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer
Greenuser

Broke down x2

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had two separate unit failed within 12 months. LCD screen goes blank, and no way to program the timer. No point changing it every year, better just to get a regular switch and do it the old fashion way.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 >>