728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Timers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer

15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer

This CFL ready GE 15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer automates lights, fans, heaters, pumps and other indoor electrical devices. It automatically adjusts for daylight savings time and features a random vacation setting for extra security while you are away. The timer comes with easy preset options but is also programmable.
Overall rating:
2.283 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(60 reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
31%of customersrecommend this product18 of 58reviews
Rating Breakdown 60 reviews
2.3 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(6)
3
(3)
2
(9)
1
(31)
Quality 
2.4 out of 5.0
2.4 out of 5
Value 
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6 out of 5
31%of customersrecommend this product18 of 58reviews
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 28 Answers
Customer reviews for 15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer
Review 1 for 15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer

Quick tips to help prevent perceived failure.

PostedApril 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What I find a lot of times is we are so excited with our new gadget that we expect the device to be intuitive enough to manage without reading the instructions. So I, against every bone of my compulsive desire, try to make it a habit to read all instructions before using\installing a device, because you never know. With this device there a three critical never knew's that I would guess are cause for a least a few of the negative posts.
I initially bought one of these years ago, and used it for my XMAS lights - still running perfectly. Worked so well I bought a few more to control my yard fountains, outside lights, and internal home lights. Not one has ever failed, and my faimly has gone on to buy them and also had very good success.
Some helpful tips for others:
CONFIGURATION:
Do not use a metallic object to adjust this timer. Always use a non-metallic object such as a wooden pencil [I use a wood Shish Kabob screwer - hey what ever works]
MEMORY BACK UP:
This timer is equipped with a rechargeable Ni-Mh battery which will protect your programs during power failure for up to 30 days. No need to replace battery. Note that the screen blanks if the battery is discharged completely. [if you replace the battery with a non-rechargeable one, don't complain when the screen blanks]
AMPs
This is for 15AMPs or less (do not use for 20 AMP outlets - the switch will fail)
NOTE THE AM/PM INDICATORS:
This is done with an "A or P" indication of font size 1. Failure to note this will mess up your on/off cycles.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer
from livermore

Many Options

PostedJanuary 24, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
All-right, let me try to explain how these switches from GE work. What I needed was a programmable wall switch. When I was home I expected that I could use it just like any other wall switch you have at home, it turns lights on and off. Then when I was going away for a day week, whatever, I could enable the timer and the lights would go on and off according to my programming.
NO, that is not how this product from GE works. There is an “Off/TIMER” select switch. When you select OFF the switch does “NOTHING”. Can’t turn the lights on. When you select TIMER your lights will go on and off according to your program and you can manually switch them on/off if you want them on/off. Great, I always like to get out of bed at 2 AM to turn my bedroom lights off. OR Great, I always like to get out of bed at 2 AM and not have any bedroom lights unless I switch this thing to “TIMER”.
This is not the only product that works like this, so beware.
WRONG” = “This indoor timer can replace a standard in-wall switch or an older spring-wound timer”. Buy the older timer.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer

GE "Smart" Digital Timer

PostedNovember 14, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The only thing "Smart" about this timer is in its name. Yes it is an easy install. Unfortuantely it has no life expectancy. I first purchased four of these in December '09. I had to replace all four in July '10. The internal battery, which cannot be replaced, failed on all four units. Once that happens the units will no longer work. I brought them back to Home Depot and they replaced them without question. In October another one failed and again Home Depot replaced it. I called the manufacturer and they offered to inspect the units for me but I needed to buy four more so I could ship them back to the manufacutrer. I chose to go the Home Depot and get the warranty replacement. Another one failed in November and Home Depot again replaced it. In less than 1 year I am on my tenth unit. I have been using in wall timers for years and have never had this issue with any other product. I have several Intermatic timers in various properties, some going on 5 years old. I am switching all four of these GE "Smart" to Intermatic units.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer
from Ashburn, VA

Can be improved

PostedJune 7, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The device is pretty good. Easy to install and easy to program. However, there are two areas that I think can be improved:
1. When the switch is moved from timer to off, the whole unit basically is shut down. It would be nice to allow manual on/off by pushing on the big cover. With that, one can normally operate the lights without worrying about the programmed on/off time. When you are out for vacation, it is simply to switch to timer to activate the pre-programmed on./off times. It makes it more convenient so that you do not have to program the timer every time you are on vacation.
2. The random mode is actually varying the on or off time from you pre-programmed times. Honeywell timers in their random mode actually turn lights on and off a number of times randomly in the evening after sunset. I suppose with the GE, one can set a few programs of on-off pairs together with the random mode to simulate the same behavior, but it is just not as convenient.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer

A good product once wiring is figured out!

PostedJune 22, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
If you are replacing an Intermatic timer (like we did), the key thing to note is that the wiring is completely different. Follow these 4 easy steps:
1. Dig out the bundle of neutral wires in the back of the switch box. The Intermatic did not require it, and it may be hidden. It's most likely white. Connect the white timer wire to the nest of neutrals wirenutted together.
2. Get a voltmeter and confirm which of your wires in the switch box is live. Hook that up to the black timer wire. This step is important, because if you get your black wires swapped, you may fry the timer.
3. The other black wire in your box is your switch. It should have no voltage. Connect that to the red timer wire. Note that the GE red timer wire has a different usage than the red in the Intermatics, which was used only for 3-way switches.
4. Hook up the green timer wire to your ground.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer
from PA

"Automatic" adjust is a misnomer

PostedAugust 16, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This timer works well - especially if you have CFL or LED lights.
But it does not "automatically adjust" for daylight savings time. It has no idea when DST starts or ends. You need to press a button and then all it does is adjust its current time back or forward by one hour. This feature may save a few button presses but it's not automatic and it's certainly not worth the extra money.
I would recommend the 15086 model which is basically the same thing without the DST button.
As other reviewers have noted, both models require four connections - hot power wire, wire to the fixture, neural wire and a ground wire. This makes it a little more effort to install but avoids the timer have to send a small amount of current through the light fixture to operate. This is what allows the timer to work for CFL as well as LED lights.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer

GE Sun Smart Digital Timer

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is the third timer I have installed in the same location. The first Intramatic digital worked well but failed after a year. The second Intramatic would not fit in the electrical box and it was hard to see the display.
Just installed the GE unit and it's working as advertised. Programming is easy, but the directions are poor. What isn't said, but should be, is that only one program can be active at a time (i.e. no prog. conflicts). I only use the timer to turn on the outside lights at dusk, and off at dawn - Program 1. Deleted (inactivated) the other 6 alternative programs. Works fine. Lighted face plate and ability to change to face plate colors a big plus. The timer fits in the electrical box. Jasco (maker of GE unit) support line is excellent. I will probably buy a spare unit I am so happy with Sun Smart Timer.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer
from Oroville, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GE Smart Digital Digital Timer

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I own couple of these timers and it seems like that it fails almost every 12 to 18 months. This time I tried to find out what is going on with the Smart Digital Timer. At this time the timer display is dark. Frist I disconnected the Red/Black and White wires and the display came back on. (this tells me that the standby battery is good) Second I tried to set the time, day and program my timer. I let the timer run just like this (no connection to the hot or neutral. I checked that the timer is working and at the set time it came on and at the set time it went off. Third I tried to connect the white cable, timer still works now I connect the Hot cable and the display dies on me. What could be the issue here? Lets hope GE Tech Support can assist me in isolation why this is happening.
Thanks
Sal1
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: dies after 12 - 18 months
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By Tech SupportSeptember 5, 2014By Tech SupportSeptember 5, 2014
There is no known reason why this timer is doing this. This timer is a very old one and has been discontinued for at least 3 years. We would recommend the 15312 timer which is still being produced. If you would like more specific help with the 15086 timer would be to call in and speak to technical support.
Jasco Products Tech Suport(Manufacturer)GETechSupport
Review 9 for 15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer
from NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Lasted less than 2 years

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installation was a PIA. In order to accommodate the depth of this switch & wiring it was necessary to block out the wall box nearly one inch.
Programming was hit-and-miss, but this is more due to my poor eyesight than the product. If you have weak eyes you'll have a ball programming the teeny-tiny display on the switch.
As other reviewers have noted, this "smart" timer forgets the settings that have been programmed into it.
After less than two years the manual switch portion has failed completely. It is now a rather expensive wall decoration.
I expect more than this sub-standard quality from a product carrying the GE name. However, I see that nowhere in the description does it list the country of origin.
Cons: Burns Out, resets programming spontaneously
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer
from Bartlett, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Does not have a good track record

PostedJune 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the first GE timer two years ago, after 7 months it did all kinds of crazy things, it went on and off rapidly, stayed on for over the programmed length of time and then finally stopped working. I called up GE / Jasco to have it replaced, and they replaced it free of charge. Installed the second one and the same thing happened again in a matter of 8 months. This time I going to purchase the one from a company that has better track record on programmable things, like for instance, 7 day thermostats. The name is easy to remember, it's what bees make and you find water in this deep pit below ground surface. I have a thermostat by them that is programmable and its going on the tenth year.
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer
from Raleigh NC

Good, but not very "Smart"

PostedMarch 13, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I replaced another brand digital timer with this one because my old one couldn't handle CFL bulbs. The Intermatic timer I had before had a setting to turn on lights at dusk and off at dawn, plus it allowed you to set a random 20 minute window at dusk and dawn so the lights didn't come on at the exact time. This, in addition to manual programming was fantastic. The GE can support CFL lights, but it doesn't have dusk or dawn settings - only fixed times or random operation. It would be nice if I could find one with the features of the Intermatic with the CFL capability of the GE. If it had dusk/dawn settings, it would get 5 stars.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer
from Chicago
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

terrible instructions

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Easy to install BUT terrible instructions on how to set up. Have no idea which program it is on..Most products will have a p1 or p2 showing somewhere on display but this one does not. Also, wasted an hour trying to trouble shoot but what was happening was everytime I installed on the wall, I was pusing on the cover which automatically turned the system on/off. So now, I have to be careful that no one accidentally bumps into unit. Inexpensive BUT would rather spend a few more dollars to get one that is more instructive and has some protection on accidentally turning unit on/off by bumping into it.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer
from San Jose, CA

Broke after 10 months

PostedOctober 1, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I installed one of these in an outdoor (waterproof) box to control my pool lights (CFLs - <50 w total). The timer worked OK for 10 months and then just died completely. I say OK because the clock wasn't very accurate - it would gain a few minutes each month. Now the display is blank and the lights don't come on, even if I try to operate it manually. There's current flowing to the circuit; the outlet connected in parallel with the switch is operational.
I realize this isn't intended for outdoor use, but it was in a sealed enclosure and the climate here is very mild.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer
from Dallas, TX

Oh so easy

PostedMarch 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
OMG....reading reviews about timers had me very aprehensive about trying this sort of instalation myself. I need not have. It was a breeze. 4 wires and 5 mins later I was trying it out. OK, the LED screen is a little small and the one issue I did have was not entering minutes when programing it. I thought hours alone would be fine but this is not the case. Now I am looking at moving on up and taking on more demanding tasks. One last note, my house is only 2 years old so that may have something to do with the ease I had!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer
from Elyria, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy installation and have not had a problem like others.

PostedFebruary 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased 2 of these to control my front and back porch lights as i was tired of coming home to a dark house. In short, I made my initial purchase in October, 2010 and both have been working without a problem since then. Maybe I am just lucky as I have seen the horrific reviews detailing the problems that so many have had. However, I am a good customer and feel that it's incumbent on me to take the time to write my account. They have worked as advertised since my initial purchase.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer

excellent product

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read all the reviews before buying this product. After installing one and seeing how easy it was to install & program, I bought two more and installed them too. They have been working for over two months now without any problems. I went on vacation for 3 weeks and they performed a expected. Only problem in installing is that the unit is deep and makes the J-box crowded. I mitigated this by splicing the wires instead of using wire nuts and I was in business!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer
from Minneapolis, MN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor quality

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First off, I hardly ever write online reviews. I've owned two of these timers. The first one failed after a month. Home Depot replaced it no questions asked. Good job, Home Depot. It's the GE product you sell that's of sub-par quality.
The second one has lasted about two years then failed it. As it began to fail I could hear a buzzing sound inside of it and a distinct burnt circuit board smell coming from the wall. Now it doesn't work at all. Don't buy these!
Cons: Burns Out
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Tech SupportAugust 18, 2014By Tech SupportAugust 18, 2014
Matt090, Sorry to hear about your experience with this timer. I can assure you that this is not the norm for this timer or any of the digital timers that we manufacture. There are multiple of reasons that will cause a timer to fail and without having the timer to test there is no way of knowing exactly what happened to it. some of the causes are power surges through the line, wiring that come loose, while this is just two examples there are many more. Hopefully this information helps.
Jasco Products Tech Suport(Manufacturer)GETechSupport
Response from By Tech SupportAugust 18, 2014By Tech SupportAugust 18, 2014
Matt090, Sorry to hear about your experience with this timer. I can assure you that this is not the norm for this timer or any of the digital timers that we manufacture. There are multiple of reasons that will cause a timer to fail and without having the timer to test there is no way of knowing exactly what happened to it. some of the causes are power surges through the line, wiring that come loose, while this is just two examples there are many more. Hopefully this information helps.
Jasco Products Tech Suport(Manufacturer)GETechSupport
Review 18 for 15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer

Poor Product

PostedJune 20, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I recently installed this, after a couple days, lost all programming. Reprogrammed, couple days later and out of town, lost the programming. I was out of town and no lights on! Returned it, bought a new one, and the same problems. I checked with an electrician who said the battery is bad and cannot be changed per the Home Depot department. I was told, probably a bad batch of batteries in the products! So two installed and zero work! I bet burglars like them!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer
from wisconsin
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I'm stuck

PostedSeptember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
An electrician installed this for me, but didn't have his reading glasses on (the excuse), so he didn't set it for me. I've read the instructions, gotten out the flashlight to see if anything has happened, but absolutely nothing makes sense. I bet the electrician realized his mistake and used the glasses as an excuse. I can not program this at all. There is no phone number for technical help. Don't buy this unless you have owl eyes.
Cons: Complicated, read outs are too small
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 15 Amp In-Wall Smart Digital Timer
from Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Questionable durability

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Unlike the other reviewers, installation was not difficult including programming. I guess being a DIY and IT guy helped.
However, my concerns are. :
1) went to random mode after a few months of being installed.
2) failed to work after 1 year.
After it failed, i removed it and tried to troubleshoot it by using a tester on the wires and true enough, it will not close the circuit. I will try another brand.
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: short life
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Tech SupportJuly 28, 2014By Tech SupportJuly 28, 2014
Allan, I am sorry to hear that the 15071 timer failed after only one year. I have heard a few times of the timer going to a random setting on the display. Unfortunately with these older versions of timers you can’t switch between manual and auto settings like the newer versions. The best to do would have been to contact technical support at the time that the timer showed manual to see what could have been done.
Jasco Products Tech Suport(Manufacturer)GETechSupport
1 2 3 >>