728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Light Tester

Light Tester

The Lightkeeper Pro fixes most light sets and pre-lit trees in seconds. It finds the damaged bulb at the plug or at the bulb socket. Audible continuity detector pinpoints the problem by tracing the circuit to the point of interruption. The 3-way bulb puller gets tight bulbs out with ease. Storage compartment built into handle for bulbs and fuses.
Overall rating:
4.266 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(199 reviews) 199
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product162 of 192reviews
Rating Breakdown 199 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(138)
4
(25)
3
(10)
2
(3)
1
(23)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
84%of customersrecommend this product162 of 192reviews
Customer reviews for Light Tester
Review 1 for Light Tester
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a must for all your indoor&outdoor holiday lights

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Worked great found the problem first thing . Was easy to used. You got to get one!!!
Pros: Excellent Quality, Sturdy, Perfect Size, Functional, Well Made, Lots of Features, Comfortable, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Light Tester

Best $20 i ever spent.

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Well worth the money. Not totally sure how it all works but I have a prelit tree and four of the strands were only partially lit. I was prepared to just add new lights when i found this on line. I got in the car a drove to the store immediately. I had every strand but one working in less than five minutes. The one strand i still ended up going bulb by bulb to find the bad connection. The voltage detector was hard to use on the prewired tree because all the wires are so close together. One other suggestion would be to pick up extra bulbs while you are at the store to replace any that are bad. I can see using it for other low voltage projects too.
Pros: Functional, Perfect Size, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Light Tester
from Utah, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Magic!

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great tool to have for those troublesome strands of lights. This tester is easy to use and is amazing how it fixes those trouble areas on lights that just go out. I still get a smile on my face every time I use this tester as the lights just like magic come back to life. It is well worth the money.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Functional
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Light Tester

Just get this

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I know. When something sounds to good to be true it usually is...but not this thing. Trust the reviews like I did. Spent 3 hours checking our tree after getting it down for the season. Large sections were out this year. Went to home depot and was home for 2 mins before I had it fixed. I keep telling all my friends if they have any lights go out to get this asap!!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Lots of Features, Nice Design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Light Tester
from Apex, NC, USA

Worked as described!

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After spending several hours trying to fix a pre-lit tree, I decided to purchase the LightKeeper Pro. I was skeptical that it would work (at least the "fix trigger" part), but I thought I could use the voltage detector. I came home and tried the "fix trigger" on one section of the pre-lit tree and it worked on the first trigger pull. After that, I tried it on the top section and it took pulling the trigger about 12 times. Worked great and I went on to fix a few other strands of lights with it!
Pros: Easy to Install, Lots of Features
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Light Tester

Worth every penny

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We spent two days trouble shooting half of a strand of lights on our Christmas tree. One click and they were brought back to life. Love the bulb testing feature too. Would recommend this to everyone!
Pros: Excellent Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Light Tester

Best Purchase EVER

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I normally do not buy products like this thinking they normally do not work.
BUT this product is amazing. It has saved me the last 3 years on strands of lights that went out and tracking down where the issue was.
Pros: Excellent Quality, Lots of Features
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Light Tester
from Georgetown, SC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very easy to use. Saved several strands of lights.

PostedJune 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It really does what it says. I have been able to "fix" at least three sets of lights with the tester. They had gone out while already installed for the season. It really saved me from having to take the whole thing down and replace it. I put a pretty fair number of lights out in the yard and keep this tool with me at all times.
The individual bulb tester on top helps me to confirm whether a bulb is bad or the wiring is the problem. I do keep spare bulbs and fuses in the handle but be careful because it will pop open if you drop it, sending them every where. Occasionally the voltage detector isn't accurate at determining how far a strand of lights is still working but if you repeat it, it's usually more accurate.
It's really a must have tool for anyone with incandescent holiday lights.
Pros: Functional, Lots of Features, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Not Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Light Tester
from Beach Park, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It is a wonderful product

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I love this product. It saved me from throwing out my favorite Christmas tree and a few strain of light I use
to decorate my office.
Pros: Perfect Size, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Cons: a little over priced
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Light Tester
from Atlanta, GA

Amazing!

PostedDecember 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best tool ever and simply amazed and surprised me! I found a gorgeous 6 ft prelit tree at a thrift store for $5 but the lights did not work. I took the tree home and bought this tool at Home Depot after reading good things about it but I was still skeptical. A few 'clicks' later with this handy tool, all the lights, both whiite and colored strings worked on my $5 tree! For under $20 total I now have a perfectly good beautiful prelit tree that was probably $400 new. This thing should be advertised on TV b/c we have all had to throw away strings of lights. Love love love it!!!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Light Tester
from Portland, OR
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Like Magic!

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had seen this on a morning show, and decided to give it a shot. 2 of the seven strands on our prelit tree were out. I read the directions, and did not go further than step one. You insert a bulb socket into the tool after removing the bulb (on out strands only) and start clicking. If you hit 30 clicks, you are to do step 2a. Couldn't tell you what that is because we didn't make it there. The first strand lit after about 15 clicks. The second strand only took 5. The kids watched and asked how the tool works. I have no idea. I told them magic. This $20 saved us $300+ on a new tree. I know I will end up lending it to people. The directions do give a list of non-repairable strands. Read this carefully too.
Pros: Well Made, Excellent Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Light Tester

Works Great

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a pre-lit tree that had a section of lights not working so for the past few years I just strung another set around it. I got this hoping to fix the pre-lit strand and had it working within minutes. I then fixed 3 other strands of lights just as easily.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Light Tester

Best product I've ever bought

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product does everything thing it says. If you are tired of replacing strings of Christmas lights, this will save you money. My very first try only took one pull of the trigger to restore the strand of lights that weren't working!
Pros: Perfect Size, Good Size & Weight, Functional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Light Tester
from Bloomington, MN
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Pretty slick tool

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Worth the $20 EASILY! Used it to find issues in one half of a 100 light strand on a pre-lit Christmas tree (50 were on, 50 were off). After tinkering with the strands on the tree for quite some time trying to decipher the beeps and silence (hours), I took the "out" lights off the tree and laid them on the floor. Following from the plug I was able to find the bulb pretty much INSTANTLY! Without the tool I would have had to either (1) buy a completely new strand or (2) remove each bulb one at a time. One more use and it's paid for.
Also, was able to use the tool to make sure the burnt out bulbs I was replacing on the tree were working properly before putting them on the tree. Pretty neat gadget for someone with a little patience and some common sense.
Pros: Functional, sound feedback, light feedback
Cons: poor instructions (look to youtube)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Light Tester
from Raleigh, NC, USA

Product saved our holiday!

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have an older, artificial pre-lit Christmas tree (lights are not LED). We put the tree up and half a strand in the middle of the tree was not working. Searched online for a fix and came across the Lightkit Pro. Purchased it online, went to the store to pick up because the store I normally shop was out of the kit. The kit fixed our tree and strands of lights we use outside. My husband read the instructions thoroughly (which is recommended by the manufacturer) after reading online reviews of the product. We felt it was worth the cost to purchase the kit and try to fix the lights. Thankfully, the kit repaired the lights and got us through another year!
Pros: Functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Light Tester
from Detroit, MI

Indespensible

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A friend gave me one several years ago. The pezio shunt welding thing is great. Never had much luck with the tone and while the bulb tester works I rarely need it because the pezio shows me exactly which lamps are out. A couple tips:
Once the string re-lights you must replace the bad bulbs. With the shunts closed they provide too much voltage to the other lamps and they burn out fast. It's possible to cascade the string so they all burn out if you don't stay on top of it.
This season I worked with a 150 light string (3 sets of 50 in one cord). Two of the segments were out. The sockets wouldn't go into the Lightkeeper socket so I plugged the string into the electrical socket above the trigger which fixed one segment. The third would not come on no matter what. Finally I decided that the two working segments might be bleeding off too much of the current so I pulled one lamp from each. This time the pezio fixed the third segment - there were 4 bad lamps on it!
Pros: Functional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Light Tester

Well Worth the $20

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been fighting a couple of Christmas yard art pieces over the last couple of years. Was ready to toss them out due to half the lights would not work. Thought I would give this little tool a chance after reading the reviews and believe me I am very happy with this device. Works perfectly and now both pieces of yard art are fully functional.
Pros: works great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Light Tester
from East Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Another tool but not the ultimate answer

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This works some of the time but not for all problems.
It is helpful but battery life is poor.
Should have been built for 3 AAs instead of 3 "watch" batteries. If you don't have some basic electrical theory you may be more frustrated than successful. I liked it but I have a degree in electronics. If you don't understand the circuit of the light string I suggest you just go buy a new set. Lamp test socket fits some lamps poorly. Prolly works best on string that is fairly new with few bad lamps. Also works best when string is OFF the tree.
Doesn't come with nearly enough new lamps. 5
Cannot find the blinker bulbs that are unmarked.
Pros: nice compliment to a good vom
Cons: 1 size doesn't fit all
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Light Tester
from WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

couldn't fix without it!

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I checked EACH BULB 5 times. There were over 120 bulbs! EVERY BULB tested OK! used the tool and it pointed out one that the power was failing at. IT WAS THE SOCKET! found the problem in less than 5 minutes. UGHHH! almost threw away the tree, this tool saved it!
Pros: Lots of Features, audible is great even for me (hard of hearing)
Cons: bulb remover is not the best. front bar in the way
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Light Tester

Where have you been all my life?

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I don't know how or why it works, but I plugged it into one of the light sockets in a 50 foot strand of non-working pre-lit garland, pulled the trigger and like magic, the strand lit up. Greatest Christmas tool EVER. Too bad I wasted an hour yesterday checking each bulb with no success.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>