728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Light Tester

Light Tester

The Lightkeeper Pro fixes most light sets and pre-lit trees in seconds. It finds the damaged bulb at the plug or at the bulb socket. The audible continuity detector pinpoints the problem by tracing the circuit to the point of interruption. Use the attached LED headlight to guide your way and let the 3-way bulb puller gets tight bulbs out with ease. Features a handy storage compartment built into the handle for housing your bulbs and fuses.
Overall rating:
4.335 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(227 reviews) 227
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product189 of 220reviews
Rating Breakdown 227 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(164)
4
(26)
3
(10)
2
(3)
1
(24)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product189 of 220reviews
Customer reviews for Light Tester
Review 1 for Light Tester
from Phoenix, AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The tool repaired a bad section of my pre-lit tree!

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I found out about this tool by searching for "troubleshoot Christmas tree lights." I saw many hits about it and watched a couple YouTube videos (which I recommend to learn how to use it). I was amazed that it fixed a non-working section of my pre-lit tree on the first attempt! I had to go to three different stores to find one locally, and finally found them at Home Depot.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Functional, works as described if you follow instructions, instructional videos on youtube
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Light Tester

Saving grace

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I never write reviews but this item warrants one! Been using it for years now. I've purchased them for friends and family, I've posted about it on Facebook. It has saved many prelit trees (mine as well as friends who have borrowed it), outdoor lights, prelit garlands, and numerous decorations. Totally worth it! If you follow the directions you can't go wrong. If your lights still don't work, then they just can't be fixed. This products will fix what can be fixed, but It can't fix something that is beyond repair.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Light Tester
from Tennessee
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This thing is amazing

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this during the after Christmas sale 3 years ago. It took me 2 years to fully understand how this thing works but it definitely does work. If you have a string that is not working just pull a bulb out and plug the socket into the spot provided on the tester and pull trigger repeatedly until the lights come on. If the string of lights are divided into sections make sure you unplug one of the bulbs that is in the non working section. Make sure the string is plugged in while doing this.
Pros: Excellent Quality, Functional, Well Made, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Light Tester

A Christmas Miracle

PostedNovember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What would have taken me hours in the past was cut to minutes with this tool. In the past it would be me and a volt meter going bulb by bulb trying to figure out why large sections of my pre lit tree would not work....now it is done in just minutes....make sure after the lights come back on you replace any dead ones or you will have more go out
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Light Tester
from Magnolia nj
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wow it really works

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I don't understand how u can't give this 5 stars. The directions are well written ans if you are confused than go on YouTube because it show you how to use all the options or go on their website. I had several light and other outside nativity set which I can't stand doing every year. All u need is time and 20 dollars. Really the only thing that this thing can't do is solve world hunger. My hats off to the person that thought of this the only problem is I whish I had this last year
Pros: Excellent Quality, Lots of Features
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Light Tester

Most amazing tool in my tool box

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This tool is amazing. I reserve that for only truly amazing products. My pre-lit tree had a bad string since we bought it at a clearance sale. I had wiggled and messed with every bulb and it still would not light. Using the tool I first discovered that every single bulb on the string was burned out. Not sure how but they were. I went through and replaced every bulb. The string still would not lite. I then did the shunt process which is as simple as plugging the tool into one of the sockets and pulling the trigger a few times. The string spring to life!! Turns out I still had 4 or 5 bad bulbs, went through and replaced them and the tree was perfect. A few minutes later another string went out. Plugged the tool into a socket again, pulled the trigger a few times and back to life it came. This thing is truly amazing!
Pros: Excellent Quality, Sturdy, Perfect Size, Functional, Lots of Features
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Light Tester
from Orlando, FL

Worked like magic

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was so frustrated. Our pre-lit tree wasn't so lit anymore. I was going through it trying to find the bad bulbs, but couldn't find them. So, a drive to the Depot. Bought this, and brought it home, not expecting much. It worked perfectly. I had so many dead bulbs, but it found them all. Got some going again, also. Worked just as described.
Saved me from having to try to string new lights on a pre-lit tree.
Pros: Functional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Light Tester
from Central NJ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Get one before it is gone.

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For $20 and the Home Depot return policy, this is a no brainer. I had, yes now it is working, a GE 150 Pro Line light set with 2 of the 3 sections unlit. I tried the quick fix method as described in the instructions and got 1 working, so now 2 of the three worked. The 3 section did not respond to the quick fix. Using the audible tone procedure, I found the bad bulb and now have 150 lights working. A replacement is $18.98, so the device, after 1 repair cost me $1. The next set will start to save me actual money.
I did contact the company for assistance and they responded quickly and professionally.
This is a great product and a great company.
Go buy one now!.
Pros: Excellent Quality, Well Made, Lots of Features, Nice Design, it actually works!
Cons: none
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Light Tester

Must Have

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Add this to the box where you store your Christmas lights. You'll probably use it every year and it might help save some of the holiday spirit,
It's not magic, but I was able to bring 3 strands back to life and test about 20 bulbs.
I bought a second tool for my in-laws. I was able to fix a segment of their pre-strung tree. Then I told them the tool was their Christmas present... It was very well received.
I haven't successfully used the voltage sensor. It seems a little flaky. It didn't detect voltage on lit lights. I have another detector that works better.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Lots of Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Light Tester
from Fargo, ND
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Like a Charm!

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product works great! I was able to use it to fix a burnt out section of lights on the house by plugging it into the dead section and pulling the trigger once! It also made a nearly impossible job possible in a string of lights that had a huge burnt out section. Using this product by pulling the trigger 4 times, I was able to restore the burnt out section and identify about a dozen burnt out lights! It would have been impossible to identify the burnt out bulbs without this. This product will pay for itself very quickly, thus great value!
Pros: Functional, Lots of Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Light Tester
from Austintown, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wish it worked.

PostedDecember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As much as I would have loved for this to work, it simply didn’t. I had about ten strands of lights that had sections burned out, but had no bulbs missing. I tried it on every strand, including one net light, but unfortunately, nothing happened. I am not sure if this only works for a single row of bulbs, but I will tell you it does not work on curtain or net lighting. The other problem that you will have is because you have to plug in the lights to do this, you will get shocked on any bulb that is broken. Once the feeling in my fingers comes back, I am returning this to the Home Depot.
Cons: does not work
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Light Tester
from Naperville, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exceeded expectations

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This inexpensive product ($20) is a model of thoughtful product quality. The instructions are clear and complete with good explanations of the electrical principals involved. It works. And even the simple packaging is well designed to house the tool, spare bulbs, and also the trifold instructions card for storage. That's amazing --- in today’s world of sloppy work --- that a company could care enough about their product to think all the way through the user experience process. Well done.
Pros: Excellent Quality, Functional, Well Made
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Light Tester

A must have for the holiday light decorations

PostedDecember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installed multiple strands of lights totaling upwards of 5000 lights on my front bushes. All the sets were brand new and all were plugged in and checked before installed. Wired them all up and turned them all on and 2 sets were half out. Awesome. Saw the tester in the store so i picked up. Skimmed over the instructions and headed out front. Had both sets fixed and lit in a minute and a half. Bottom line, if you get into holiday lighting, this tester should be on a shelf in the garage because it will save the day when your lights decide to act up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Light Tester

Best $20 i ever spent.

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Well worth the money. Not totally sure how it all works but I have a prelit tree and four of the strands were only partially lit. I was prepared to just add new lights when i found this on line. I got in the car a drove to the store immediately. I had every strand but one working in less than five minutes. The one strand i still ended up going bulb by bulb to find the bad connection. The voltage detector was hard to use on the prewired tree because all the wires are so close together. One other suggestion would be to pick up extra bulbs while you are at the store to replace any that are bad. I can see using it for other low voltage projects too.
Pros: Functional, Perfect Size, Nice Design
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Light Tester
from HOLMES, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Xmas light tool

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've had one of these Christmas tree light tester/repairer guns for years. This was a replacement. I have fixed many strings of lights with this tool. Saves hours of time trying to find the bad bulb in a series wired string of lights. Pull one bulb out and pull the trigger until the lights come back on. Disconnect and put the bulb back in. Probably works 90% of the time.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Lots of Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Light Tester
from Monroe LA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Solved all my Christmas Light Problems

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
John De Cosmo has produced a product that does exactly as claimed. I salvaged a rope light bundle with 500 bulbs and three other light strings .It restored the shunts and identified where there was a broken light bulb. I grant that this product takes a bit of understanding but the instructions are clear even if you have to persevere a bit. To begin I could not get the continuous beep to operate, the intermittent one did work immediately, but then it did and I was able to isolate the problem. The bulb extraction portion is basic: it works but with some effort and when the bulb comes out it shoots out. The individual bulb tester works perfectly. This is not a precision Swiss instrument which would cost three times as much but for the price it works well: hence the five stars which I rarely award.
As this product is basically a Christmas tree light tester I would recommend storing it after the holidays by taking the batteries, supplied, out until next holidays.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Functional, Lots of Features, Comfortable, Nice Design, informative instructions, spare bulbs and fuses supplied, does the job, comes with batteries installed
Cons: bulb extraction portion a bit difficult to use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Light Tester
from Montrose, Ga
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Two Clicks And Its Fixed

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to use, it works like a charm. Would tell friends to buy it.
Pros: Excellent Quality, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Well Made, Lots of Features, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Light Tester
from Virginia

This tool is Christmas Magic

PostedDecember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This tool is true Christmas Magic. We had two strands on a pre-lit tree that weren't working. Plugged the strand into the tool, pressed the trigger and POOF! the lights suddenly came on and stayed on. I hope this tool works as well and easily for you as it did for us.
Pros: Functional, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Light Tester
from Raleigh, NC
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

time & money saver!

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this tool after discovering that our pre-lit Christmas tree had multiple strands out... again. We had already restrung several strands of lights in multiple previous years and were irritated at the thought of having to do it again (after all, isn't the main reason you buy a pre-lit tree to NOT have to string the lights every year). We were about ready to throw out our $300+ tree when I discovered this tool. The tool offers two different options for fixing the lights. The first "quick" option didn't work in our case, but we were pretty easily able to determine the location of the faulty bulb using the audible voltage detector. It was a little tricky because lights from different parts of the strand were intermingled because we left the strand wound around all the branches. But the company's website has several very helpful videos that help you figure it out without having to unwind the lights. If we never use this tool again we've already gotten our money's worth!
Pros: Functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Light Tester
from Alexandria, VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It Really Works

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was skeptical when I first saw this but went back and purchased it. I works as advertised and I have fixed 2 strings of icicle lights as well as a couple of regular strings. I do not know if it will work on Leds which I am gradually using to replace the traditional lights.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>