728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Light Tester

Light Tester

The Lightkeeper Pro fixes most light sets and pre-lit trees in seconds. It finds the damaged bulb at the plug or at the bulb socket. The audible continuity detector pinpoints the problem by tracing the circuit to the point of interruption. Use the attached LED headlight to guide your way and let the 3-way bulb puller gets tight bulbs out with ease. Features a handy storage compartment built into the handle for housing your bulbs and fuses.
Overall rating:
4.297 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(202 reviews) 202
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product166 of 195reviews
Rating Breakdown 202 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(142)
4
(25)
3
(10)
2
(3)
1
(22)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product166 of 195reviews
Customer reviews for Light Tester
Review 1 for Light Tester
from Central NJ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Get one before it is gone.

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For $20 and the Home Depot return policy, this is a no brainer. I had, yes now it is working, a GE 150 Pro Line light set with 2 of the 3 sections unlit. I tried the quick fix method as described in the instructions and got 1 working, so now 2 of the three worked. The 3 section did not respond to the quick fix. Using the audible tone procedure, I found the bad bulb and now have 150 lights working. A replacement is $18.98, so the device, after 1 repair cost me $1. The next set will start to save me actual money.
I did contact the company for assistance and they responded quickly and professionally.
This is a great product and a great company.
Go buy one now!.
Pros: Excellent Quality, Well Made, Lots of Features, Nice Design, it actually works!
Cons: none
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Light Tester

Best $20 i ever spent.

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Well worth the money. Not totally sure how it all works but I have a prelit tree and four of the strands were only partially lit. I was prepared to just add new lights when i found this on line. I got in the car a drove to the store immediately. I had every strand but one working in less than five minutes. The one strand i still ended up going bulb by bulb to find the bad connection. The voltage detector was hard to use on the prewired tree because all the wires are so close together. One other suggestion would be to pick up extra bulbs while you are at the store to replace any that are bad. I can see using it for other low voltage projects too.
Pros: Functional, Perfect Size, Nice Design
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Light Tester
from Los Angeles area, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

This tester has saved me more time and money than I can say. I love it!

PostedNovember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had this tester for many years and can't be without it when it comes to holiday lights. I put up thousands of Christmas lights each year. When a section of my net lights or icicle lights would go out, I used to spend hours trying to find the burnt out bulb of giving up and buying a new set. Now all I do is pull the trigger a few times and 9 out of 10 times they start working again. It's great for all kinds of light string problems. This year I seem to have misplaced it so I'm getting another one.
Pros: Excellent Quality, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Well Made, Lots of Features, Easy to Use
Cons: don't have any
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Light Tester

Unbelievable

PostedNovember 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the first time I have used this product. Excellent product and time saver.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Light Tester
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a must for all your indoor&outdoor holiday lights

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Worked great found the problem first thing . Was easy to used. You got to get one!!!
Pros: Excellent Quality, Sturdy, Perfect Size, Functional, Well Made, Lots of Features, Comfortable, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Light Tester
from atlanta, ga
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I fixed two of the first three lighted garland strands that I tried this on. By reviving these lights, it has already paid for itself. The only thing more I would like is for it to take AAA or AA batteries instead of button cells.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Light Tester
from Utah, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Magic!

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great tool to have for those troublesome strands of lights. This tester is easy to use and is amazing how it fixes those trouble areas on lights that just go out. I still get a smile on my face every time I use this tester as the lights just like magic come back to life. It is well worth the money.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Functional
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Light Tester

Worth every penny

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We spent two days trouble shooting half of a strand of lights on our Christmas tree. One click and they were brought back to life. Love the bulb testing feature too. Would recommend this to everyone!
Pros: Excellent Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Light Tester
from Apex, NC, USA

Worked as described!

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After spending several hours trying to fix a pre-lit tree, I decided to purchase the LightKeeper Pro. I was skeptical that it would work (at least the "fix trigger" part), but I thought I could use the voltage detector. I came home and tried the "fix trigger" on one section of the pre-lit tree and it worked on the first trigger pull. After that, I tried it on the top section and it took pulling the trigger about 12 times. Worked great and I went on to fix a few other strands of lights with it!
Pros: Easy to Install, Lots of Features
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Light Tester

Just get this

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I know. When something sounds to good to be true it usually is...but not this thing. Trust the reviews like I did. Spent 3 hours checking our tree after getting it down for the season. Large sections were out this year. Went to home depot and was home for 2 mins before I had it fixed. I keep telling all my friends if they have any lights go out to get this asap!!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Lots of Features, Nice Design
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Light Tester
from Beach Park, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It is a wonderful product

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I love this product. It saved me from throwing out my favorite Christmas tree and a few strain of light I use
to decorate my office.
Pros: Perfect Size, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Cons: a little over priced
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Light Tester
from Atlanta, GA

Amazing!

PostedDecember 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best tool ever and simply amazed and surprised me! I found a gorgeous 6 ft prelit tree at a thrift store for $5 but the lights did not work. I took the tree home and bought this tool at Home Depot after reading good things about it but I was still skeptical. A few 'clicks' later with this handy tool, all the lights, both whiite and colored strings worked on my $5 tree! For under $20 total I now have a perfectly good beautiful prelit tree that was probably $400 new. This thing should be advertised on TV b/c we have all had to throw away strings of lights. Love love love it!!!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Light Tester

Works Great

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a pre-lit tree that had a section of lights not working so for the past few years I just strung another set around it. I got this hoping to fix the pre-lit strand and had it working within minutes. I then fixed 3 other strands of lights just as easily.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Light Tester

Best product I've ever bought

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product does everything thing it says. If you are tired of replacing strings of Christmas lights, this will save you money. My very first try only took one pull of the trigger to restore the strand of lights that weren't working!
Pros: Perfect Size, Good Size & Weight, Functional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Light Tester

Best Purchase EVER

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I normally do not buy products like this thinking they normally do not work.
BUT this product is amazing. It has saved me the last 3 years on strands of lights that went out and tracking down where the issue was.
Pros: Excellent Quality, Lots of Features
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Light Tester
from Pembroke Pines, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't work for me.

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Tried everything including calling the company that makes this product. I see a lot of people recommending this prouduct...I guess it's me. I have a pre-lit tree that has many sockets. All of them work except for one...so, I have that section in the back of the tree so you can't see the dark area.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Light Tester
from Georgetown, SC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very easy to use. Saved several strands of lights.

PostedJune 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It really does what it says. I have been able to "fix" at least three sets of lights with the tester. They had gone out while already installed for the season. It really saved me from having to take the whole thing down and replace it. I put a pretty fair number of lights out in the yard and keep this tool with me at all times.
The individual bulb tester on top helps me to confirm whether a bulb is bad or the wiring is the problem. I do keep spare bulbs and fuses in the handle but be careful because it will pop open if you drop it, sending them every where. Occasionally the voltage detector isn't accurate at determining how far a strand of lights is still working but if you repeat it, it's usually more accurate.
It's really a must have tool for anyone with incandescent holiday lights.
Pros: Functional, Lots of Features, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Not Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Light Tester
from Portland, OR
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Like Magic!

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had seen this on a morning show, and decided to give it a shot. 2 of the seven strands on our prelit tree were out. I read the directions, and did not go further than step one. You insert a bulb socket into the tool after removing the bulb (on out strands only) and start clicking. If you hit 30 clicks, you are to do step 2a. Couldn't tell you what that is because we didn't make it there. The first strand lit after about 15 clicks. The second strand only took 5. The kids watched and asked how the tool works. I have no idea. I told them magic. This $20 saved us $300+ on a new tree. I know I will end up lending it to people. The directions do give a list of non-repairable strands. Read this carefully too.
Pros: Well Made, Excellent Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Light Tester

Outstanding product!

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this after one strand on my pre-lit tree would not light. I used the quick fix trigger and after a few pulls, my strand worked again! I was amazed. I also like the storage compartment, the voltage detector, and well everything about it! I wonder why this product is not advertised? It should be because it would be a great seller. The only reason I knew about it is because I happened to stumble upon it here on the internet. Great product!
Pros: Excellent Quality, Functional, Lots of Features
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Light Tester
from Bloomington, MN
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Pretty slick tool

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Worth the $20 EASILY! Used it to find issues in one half of a 100 light strand on a pre-lit Christmas tree (50 were on, 50 were off). After tinkering with the strands on the tree for quite some time trying to decipher the beeps and silence (hours), I took the "out" lights off the tree and laid them on the floor. Following from the plug I was able to find the bulb pretty much INSTANTLY! Without the tool I would have had to either (1) buy a completely new strand or (2) remove each bulb one at a time. One more use and it's paid for.
Also, was able to use the tool to make sure the burnt out bulbs I was replacing on the tree were working properly before putting them on the tree. Pretty neat gadget for someone with a little patience and some common sense.
Pros: Functional, sound feedback, light feedback
Cons: poor instructions (look to youtube)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>