728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Light Tester

Light Tester

The LightKeeper Pro fixes most light sets and pre-lit trees in seconds. It finds the damaged bulb at the plug or at the bulb socket. The audible continuity detector pinpoints the problem by tracing the circuit to the point of interruption. Use the attached LED headlight to guide your way and let the 3-way bulb puller gets tight bulbs out with ease. Features a handy storage compartment built into the handle for housing your bulbs and fuses.
Overall rating:
4.306 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(271 reviews) 271
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product225 of 263reviews
Rating Breakdown 271 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(192)
4
(32)
3
(14)
2
(4)
1
(29)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product225 of 263reviews
Customer reviews for Light Tester
Review 1 for Light Tester
from Phoenix, AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The tool repaired a bad section of my pre-lit tree!

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I found out about this tool by searching for "troubleshoot Christmas tree lights." I saw many hits about it and watched a couple YouTube videos (which I recommend to learn how to use it). I was amazed that it fixed a non-working section of my pre-lit tree on the first attempt! I had to go to three different stores to find one locally, and finally found them at Home Depot.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Functional, works as described if you follow instructions, instructional videos on youtube
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Light Tester
from Winter Haven, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

The story of old Buck

PostedJanuary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had heard of this for some time, but never really had the need for one until this Christmas. I have an animated lit Buck that stands about 3 ft high and 4 ft long. I got old Buck 3 Christmases ago at HD and is a beauty when lit up, and unfortunately this year just before bringing him in for storage for another year, he blew out one whole leg, an entire side and part of the other side. Now let me say there are a heck of a lot of lights on old Buck. So I looked online and found they had this light keeper on clearance and in stock at my local Home Depot. Drove over and picked up two, since they were only 5 dollars each. Just in case one was a dud. It is multifaceted and tests the bulbs, will allegedly start up a string in some cases (I haven't tried this part yet) , and will hum to let you know where electricity stops at in a string. I plugged in old Buck and began scanning and it stopped humming pretty quick at the start of the outage area and didn't start humming again along about 30 of the bulbs, but restarted at the end. I replaced the first bulb after the last hum, nothing. I began pulling and testing the other bulbs along the string, most of which were truly out, some were not. But I still couldn't get Buck to light up in that area. At least the light checker told me which bulbs were out by pulling each and testing individually. I decided to take my time and just try a few a day, changing out as needed, so I wouldn't get frustrated and just shoot old Buck. Every time I would scan, it would still point to that first dud bulb which I had tested and replaced twice. Began taping the replaced bulbs with painters tape so I could tell where I had been. So today I scanned and replaced a few more bulbs and as it turns out, the place where the light checker had kept telling me was the start of the problem never has lit up, but I replaced another bulb on the line that was lose in its socket which was apparently causing the whole area to black out. Buck is up and fully functional again, so I can say this item does what it says it will do by narrowing down where your issue is. I got power humming everywhere but along his leg, which was a big help. I also found that some of the 2.5 replacement bulbs don't have enough wire to make contact in the socket, so I used some of the newer replacement bulbs that came in the 2 by 10 ft net lighting which solved that issue. That may be why that one bulb isn't lighting up, but I am not about to touch anything right now. My beloved Buck is up and running again and that is all I wanted.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Functional, Lots of Features
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Light Tester

A Christmas Miracle

PostedNovember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
What would have taken me hours in the past was cut to minutes with this tool. In the past it would be me and a volt meter going bulb by bulb trying to figure out why large sections of my pre lit tree would not work....now it is done in just minutes....make sure after the lights come back on you replace any dead ones or you will have more go out
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Light Tester

Saving grace

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I never write reviews but this item warrants one! Been using it for years now. I've purchased them for friends and family, I've posted about it on Facebook. It has saved many prelit trees (mine as well as friends who have borrowed it), outdoor lights, prelit garlands, and numerous decorations. Totally worth it! If you follow the directions you can't go wrong. If your lights still don't work, then they just can't be fixed. This products will fix what can be fixed, but It can't fix something that is beyond repair.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Light Tester
from Van Nuys, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Paid for it's self with first use!

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We tested the string of lights and they worked......After staple gunning to the roof line they stopped working? Got the light tester out and read the instructions and used it.............Low and behold they started working. This thing will always be part of my Christmas decoration kit. Well worth the money!
Pros: Sturdy, Functional, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Light Tester

Best $20 i ever spent.

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Well worth the money. Not totally sure how it all works but I have a prelit tree and four of the strands were only partially lit. I was prepared to just add new lights when i found this on line. I got in the car a drove to the store immediately. I had every strand but one working in less than five minutes. The one strand i still ended up going bulb by bulb to find the bad connection. The voltage detector was hard to use on the prewired tree because all the wires are so close together. One other suggestion would be to pick up extra bulbs while you are at the store to replace any that are bad. I can see using it for other low voltage projects too.
Pros: Functional, Perfect Size, Nice Design
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Light Tester
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a must for all your indoor&outdoor holiday lights

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Worked great found the problem first thing . Was easy to used. You got to get one!!!
Pros: Excellent Quality, Sturdy, Perfect Size, Functional, Well Made, Lots of Features, Comfortable, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Light Tester
from Tennessee
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This thing is amazing

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We bought this during the after Christmas sale 3 years ago. It took me 2 years to fully understand how this thing works but it definitely does work. If you have a string that is not working just pull a bulb out and plug the socket into the spot provided on the tester and pull trigger repeatedly until the lights come on. If the string of lights are divided into sections make sure you unplug one of the bulbs that is in the non working section. Make sure the string is plugged in while doing this.
Pros: Excellent Quality, Functional, Well Made, Nice Design
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Light Tester
from Central NJ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Get one before it is gone.

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
For $20 and the Home Depot return policy, this is a no brainer. I had, yes now it is working, a GE 150 Pro Line light set with 2 of the 3 sections unlit. I tried the quick fix method as described in the instructions and got 1 working, so now 2 of the three worked. The 3 section did not respond to the quick fix. Using the audible tone procedure, I found the bad bulb and now have 150 lights working. A replacement is $18.98, so the device, after 1 repair cost me $1. The next set will start to save me actual money.
I did contact the company for assistance and they responded quickly and professionally.
This is a great product and a great company.
Go buy one now!.
Pros: Excellent Quality, Well Made, Lots of Features, Nice Design, it actually works!
Cons: none
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Light Tester
from Lake Wylie, SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not worth it

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If someone can get this device to work, I would like to hear from them.
Cons: doesn't work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Light Tester
from Apex, NC, USA

Worked as described!

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After spending several hours trying to fix a pre-lit tree, I decided to purchase the LightKeeper Pro. I was skeptical that it would work (at least the "fix trigger" part), but I thought I could use the voltage detector. I came home and tried the "fix trigger" on one section of the pre-lit tree and it worked on the first trigger pull. After that, I tried it on the top section and it took pulling the trigger about 12 times. Worked great and I went on to fix a few other strands of lights with it!
Pros: Easy to Install, Lots of Features
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Light Tester
from Magnolia nj
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wow it really works

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I don't understand how u can't give this 5 stars. The directions are well written ans if you are confused than go on YouTube because it show you how to use all the options or go on their website. I had several light and other outside nativity set which I can't stand doing every year. All u need is time and 20 dollars. Really the only thing that this thing can't do is solve world hunger. My hats off to the person that thought of this the only problem is I whish I had this last year
Pros: Excellent Quality, Lots of Features
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Light Tester
from Atlanta, GA

Amazing!

PostedDecember 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the best tool ever and simply amazed and surprised me! I found a gorgeous 6 ft prelit tree at a thrift store for $5 but the lights did not work. I took the tree home and bought this tool at Home Depot after reading good things about it but I was still skeptical. A few 'clicks' later with this handy tool, all the lights, both whiite and colored strings worked on my $5 tree! For under $20 total I now have a perfectly good beautiful prelit tree that was probably $400 new. This thing should be advertised on TV b/c we have all had to throw away strings of lights. Love love love it!!!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Light Tester
from Orlando, FL

Worked like magic

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was so frustrated. Our pre-lit tree wasn't so lit anymore. I was going through it trying to find the bad bulbs, but couldn't find them. So, a drive to the Depot. Bought this, and brought it home, not expecting much. It worked perfectly. I had so many dead bulbs, but it found them all. Got some going again, also. Worked just as described.
Saved me from having to try to string new lights on a pre-lit tree.
Pros: Functional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Light Tester

Worth every penny

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We spent two days trouble shooting half of a strand of lights on our Christmas tree. One click and they were brought back to life. Love the bulb testing feature too. Would recommend this to everyone!
Pros: Excellent Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Light Tester
from Peoria, AZ

Neat gadget

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
In our personal situation it would have been helpful if you could read the full instructions before purchase. Over half of our string had blackened/burned out and this tester does not work in this situation. We could have taken it back, but we only paid $5.00 in the after Christmas sale, so it was still worth it for fixing strings that weren't blackened and works great at removing the bulb holder. One important thing we did learn is that it's very important to replace burned out bulbs as the more bulbs that are burned out in the string puts more voltage on the other bulbs shortening the life of the whole string and burning out that string (blackens the bulbs). You should do a yearly check for burned out bulbs or as you see them, which is harder after it's decorated.
Pros: Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Light Tester
from Woodstock, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saved Christmas!

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had a cheaper, smaller version of one of these, must have loaned it out and not gotten it back. Wouldn't you know it, strung all the lights on BEFORE testing them and sure enough several strands and half strands were not working. Made a quick call to confirm my on-line order was definitely in stock and went to pick up my new tester. Directions are easy to follow and it worked first time; even though my strands had burned out bulbs the tool fixed the shunt in the bulb socket and they worked. To make my strands last longer, I followed the recommendation and replaced my burned out bulbs before putting the strands away for the season...ready for next year!! I stock up on extra fuses and replacement bulbs at the after Christmas sales...This product is a great time and money saver.
Pros: good value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Light Tester

Was skeptical but it works!

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this as a last resort to fix 6 outdoor Chritmas wreaths that each had at least one string of lights out. Worked beautifully on all of them: plugged a bulb socket into the LightKeeper, pulled the trigger a few times, and voila, working lights! Interestingly, a few weeks later sections of the wreaths were out again but could not be repaired by the LightKeeper. It seems that all of the bulbs in the affected strings were burned out. My guess is that so many bulbs were shunted that the voltage got too high and cooked all of the remaining good bulbs.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Light Tester

Works Great

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a pre-lit tree that had a section of lights not working so for the past few years I just strung another set around it. I got this hoping to fix the pre-lit strand and had it working within minutes. I then fixed 3 other strands of lights just as easily.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Light Tester

Best product I've ever bought

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product does everything thing it says. If you are tired of replacing strings of Christmas lights, this will save you money. My very first try only took one pull of the trigger to restore the strand of lights that weren't working!
Pros: Perfect Size, Good Size & Weight, Functional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 14 >>