728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Light Tester

Light Tester

The Lightkeeper Pro fixes most light sets and pre-lit trees in seconds. It finds the damaged bulb at the plug or at the bulb socket. The audible continuity detector pinpoints the problem by tracing the circuit to the point of interruption. Use the attached LED headlight to guide your way and let the 3-way bulb puller gets tight bulbs out with ease. Features a handy storage compartment built into the handle for housing your bulbs and fuses.
Overall rating:
4.27 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(200 reviews) 200
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product163 of 193reviews
Rating Breakdown 200 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(139)
4
(25)
3
(10)
2
(3)
1
(23)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
84%of customersrecommend this product163 of 193reviews
Customer reviews for Light Tester
Review 1 for Light Tester
from Apex, NC, USA

Worked as described!

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After spending several hours trying to fix a pre-lit tree, I decided to purchase the LightKeeper Pro. I was skeptical that it would work (at least the "fix trigger" part), but I thought I could use the voltage detector. I came home and tried the "fix trigger" on one section of the pre-lit tree and it worked on the first trigger pull. After that, I tried it on the top section and it took pulling the trigger about 12 times. Worked great and I went on to fix a few other strands of lights with it!
Pros: Easy to Install, Lots of Features
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Light Tester
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a must for all your indoor&outdoor holiday lights

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Worked great found the problem first thing . Was easy to used. You got to get one!!!
Pros: Excellent Quality, Sturdy, Perfect Size, Functional, Well Made, Lots of Features, Comfortable, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Light Tester

Best $20 i ever spent.

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Well worth the money. Not totally sure how it all works but I have a prelit tree and four of the strands were only partially lit. I was prepared to just add new lights when i found this on line. I got in the car a drove to the store immediately. I had every strand but one working in less than five minutes. The one strand i still ended up going bulb by bulb to find the bad connection. The voltage detector was hard to use on the prewired tree because all the wires are so close together. One other suggestion would be to pick up extra bulbs while you are at the store to replace any that are bad. I can see using it for other low voltage projects too.
Pros: Functional, Perfect Size, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Light Tester
from Atlanta, GA

Amazing!

PostedDecember 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best tool ever and simply amazed and surprised me! I found a gorgeous 6 ft prelit tree at a thrift store for $5 but the lights did not work. I took the tree home and bought this tool at Home Depot after reading good things about it but I was still skeptical. A few 'clicks' later with this handy tool, all the lights, both whiite and colored strings worked on my $5 tree! For under $20 total I now have a perfectly good beautiful prelit tree that was probably $400 new. This thing should be advertised on TV b/c we have all had to throw away strings of lights. Love love love it!!!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Light Tester

Best product I've ever bought

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product does everything thing it says. If you are tired of replacing strings of Christmas lights, this will save you money. My very first try only took one pull of the trigger to restore the strand of lights that weren't working!
Pros: Perfect Size, Good Size & Weight, Functional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Light Tester

Works Great

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a pre-lit tree that had a section of lights not working so for the past few years I just strung another set around it. I got this hoping to fix the pre-lit strand and had it working within minutes. I then fixed 3 other strands of lights just as easily.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Light Tester

Just get this

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I know. When something sounds to good to be true it usually is...but not this thing. Trust the reviews like I did. Spent 3 hours checking our tree after getting it down for the season. Large sections were out this year. Went to home depot and was home for 2 mins before I had it fixed. I keep telling all my friends if they have any lights go out to get this asap!!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Lots of Features, Nice Design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Light Tester

Best Purchase EVER

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I normally do not buy products like this thinking they normally do not work.
BUT this product is amazing. It has saved me the last 3 years on strands of lights that went out and tracking down where the issue was.
Pros: Excellent Quality, Lots of Features
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Light Tester

Worth every penny

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We spent two days trouble shooting half of a strand of lights on our Christmas tree. One click and they were brought back to life. Love the bulb testing feature too. Would recommend this to everyone!
Pros: Excellent Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Light Tester
from Joshua Tx
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's like MAGIC !!!!!!

PostedDecember 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My brotherin law told me about this and I thought he was crazy, guess what. It works just like it said it would, plug it in and pull the trigger then presto there working. And sets that it wouldn't fix well with the built in voltage detector ,finding the concern is a brezzzzzzz.. Throw in the bulb and fues tester all in the same tool and PRESTO Daddy looks like a genius.
I would recommend this tool to every one that is putting up lights it's a must have.
James A.K.A. The Genius
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Light Tester
from Barnegat N.J.

PostedNovember 4, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a must have tool.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Light Tester
from N. St. Paul

Works like a charm

PostedDecember 5, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product will save you HOURS of frustration and headaches. Gets to the problem bulb quickly without having to pull and check each bulb. Get's those old strings back into service before the bearded guy shows up on the 24th.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Light Tester
from Oxnard, CA

It works!

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I first saw this item at The Home Depot, it seemed a product too good to be true. But it works remarkably well. A very detailed instruction sheet is stored in the handle. What if the problem is neither with the bulb, nor with the shunt but due to a bad or broken connection? The audible voltage detector allows you to trace this down. I'm impressed with this product. Rather than fooling twenty or thirty minutes trying to find out why a section of my lights will not light up (and this happens almost every year), this tool will help fix it in a few minutes! Be aware that the tool requires 3 batteries (L1154) which are included. I would recommend replacing these every season before using the tool. I fixed an unlit section of my Christmas tree lights with one pull of the trigger and a bad section of my outdoor icicle lights in less than 10 minutes with the voltage detector.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Light Tester
from Kapolei,Hi

LightKeeper Pro

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This thing works like a charm! I love it!!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Light Tester
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

This made it very easy to determine which bulbs were burned out

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had a few strings of lights that wouldn't light up completely, and by using this I was able to get all the good bulbs to light, which made it very easy to find the bad ones. In one case, there were 5-6 bulbs that had burned out, which would have taken forever to figure out by just looking at the bulbs.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Light Tester
from East Greenbush, NY, USA

Awesome product that will save you tons of time!

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After spending hours of time over the past two days, my son found this product. All I can say is I wish he found it sooner because it fixed all of the problems with our lights that are pre strung on the tree. I had to use the trigger a few times and also had to use the voltage tester to isolate the issues but this tool made easy work of that. Stop banging your head against the wall trying to figure out which bulb is the issue and buy this!
Pros: Easy to Use, saves time
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Light Tester

Outstanding product!

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this after one strand on my pre-lit tree would not light. I used the quick fix trigger and after a few pulls, my strand worked again! I was amazed. I also like the storage compartment, the voltage detector, and well everything about it! I wonder why this product is not advertised? It should be because it would be a great seller. The only reason I knew about it is because I happened to stumble upon it here on the internet. Great product!
Pros: Excellent Quality, Functional, Lots of Features
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Light Tester
from Santa Rosa, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44

Are you kidding me!!!?

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I spent an hour and a half struggling with my pre lit tree trying to find the bulbs that were causing several strands not to light up. I looked online for a solution and found this. Went to Home Depot and picked one up. Got home, pulled a bulb and clicked it once. The strand came on. Are you serious? How does this work? Fixed 3 of 4 strands. The other feature (that detects electricity flowing through the wiring) didn't really work. It didn't even beep reliably on working strands. Still, for the time and hassle it saves, worth it! 2 weeks later, my neighbor is hanging christmas lights, gets them all up and then finds a section out. I pull out this tool and in 3 clicks, it's fixed. Before you spend hours checking each bulb, just buy one of these. Money well spent (even if the second feature doesn't work).
Pros: time saver!
Cons: not all of the features work.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Light Tester
from Poughkeepsie, NY

Lightkeeper Pro is fantastic

PostedNovember 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Man, if those folks aren't getting rich on this sucker, they SHOULD BE. I'm rather jaded on this kind of thing but figured if I lost a twenty it wouldn't be the worst thing that ever happened to me. This thing WORKS.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Light Tester
from Saint Joseph Minnesota

lightkeeper pro

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this was the best tool I have ever seen for fixing lights. Every home that decorates with lights should have one.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>