728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Christmas Lights or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Light Tester

Light Tester

The Lightkeeper Pro fixes most light sets and pre-lit trees in seconds. It finds the damaged bulb at the plug or at the bulb socket. The audible continuity detector pinpoints the problem by tracing the circuit to the point of interruption. Use the attached LED headlight to guide your way and let the 3-way bulb puller gets tight bulbs out with ease. Features a handy storage compartment built into the handle for housing your bulbs and fuses.
Overall rating:
4.323 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(229 reviews) 229
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product190 of 222reviews
Rating Breakdown 229 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(165)
4
(26)
3
(10)
2
(3)
1
(25)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product190 of 222reviews
Customer reviews for Light Tester
Review 1 for Light Tester
from Atlanta, GA

Amazing!

PostedDecember 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best tool ever and simply amazed and surprised me! I found a gorgeous 6 ft prelit tree at a thrift store for $5 but the lights did not work. I took the tree home and bought this tool at Home Depot after reading good things about it but I was still skeptical. A few 'clicks' later with this handy tool, all the lights, both whiite and colored strings worked on my $5 tree! For under $20 total I now have a perfectly good beautiful prelit tree that was probably $400 new. This thing should be advertised on TV b/c we have all had to throw away strings of lights. Love love love it!!!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Light Tester

Best product I've ever bought

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product does everything thing it says. If you are tired of replacing strings of Christmas lights, this will save you money. My very first try only took one pull of the trigger to restore the strand of lights that weren't working!
Pros: Perfect Size, Good Size & Weight, Functional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Light Tester

Works Great

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a pre-lit tree that had a section of lights not working so for the past few years I just strung another set around it. I got this hoping to fix the pre-lit strand and had it working within minutes. I then fixed 3 other strands of lights just as easily.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Light Tester

Worth every penny

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We spent two days trouble shooting half of a strand of lights on our Christmas tree. One click and they were brought back to life. Love the bulb testing feature too. Would recommend this to everyone!
Pros: Excellent Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Light Tester
from Joshua Tx
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's like MAGIC !!!!!!

PostedDecember 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My brotherin law told me about this and I thought he was crazy, guess what. It works just like it said it would, plug it in and pull the trigger then presto there working. And sets that it wouldn't fix well with the built in voltage detector ,finding the concern is a brezzzzzzz.. Throw in the bulb and fues tester all in the same tool and PRESTO Daddy looks like a genius.
I would recommend this tool to every one that is putting up lights it's a must have.
James A.K.A. The Genius
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Light Tester

Outstanding product!

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this after one strand on my pre-lit tree would not light. I used the quick fix trigger and after a few pulls, my strand worked again! I was amazed. I also like the storage compartment, the voltage detector, and well everything about it! I wonder why this product is not advertised? It should be because it would be a great seller. The only reason I knew about it is because I happened to stumble upon it here on the internet. Great product!
Pros: Excellent Quality, Functional, Lots of Features
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Light Tester

A Christmas Miracle

PostedNovember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What would have taken me hours in the past was cut to minutes with this tool. In the past it would be me and a volt meter going bulb by bulb trying to figure out why large sections of my pre lit tree would not work....now it is done in just minutes....make sure after the lights come back on you replace any dead ones or you will have more go out
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Light Tester

Saving grace

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I never write reviews but this item warrants one! Been using it for years now. I've purchased them for friends and family, I've posted about it on Facebook. It has saved many prelit trees (mine as well as friends who have borrowed it), outdoor lights, prelit garlands, and numerous decorations. Totally worth it! If you follow the directions you can't go wrong. If your lights still don't work, then they just can't be fixed. This products will fix what can be fixed, but It can't fix something that is beyond repair.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Light Tester
from Kapolei,Hi

LightKeeper Pro

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This thing works like a charm! I love it!!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Light Tester
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

This made it very easy to determine which bulbs were burned out

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had a few strings of lights that wouldn't light up completely, and by using this I was able to get all the good bulbs to light, which made it very easy to find the bad ones. In one case, there were 5-6 bulbs that had burned out, which would have taken forever to figure out by just looking at the bulbs.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Light Tester
from N. St. Paul

Works like a charm

PostedDecember 5, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product will save you HOURS of frustration and headaches. Gets to the problem bulb quickly without having to pull and check each bulb. Get's those old strings back into service before the bearded guy shows up on the 24th.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Light Tester
from Barnegat N.J.

PostedNovember 4, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a must have tool.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Light Tester
from Oxnard, CA

It works!

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I first saw this item at The Home Depot, it seemed a product too good to be true. But it works remarkably well. A very detailed instruction sheet is stored in the handle. What if the problem is neither with the bulb, nor with the shunt but due to a bad or broken connection? The audible voltage detector allows you to trace this down. I'm impressed with this product. Rather than fooling twenty or thirty minutes trying to find out why a section of my lights will not light up (and this happens almost every year), this tool will help fix it in a few minutes! Be aware that the tool requires 3 batteries (L1154) which are included. I would recommend replacing these every season before using the tool. I fixed an unlit section of my Christmas tree lights with one pull of the trigger and a bad section of my outdoor icicle lights in less than 10 minutes with the voltage detector.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Light Tester
from East Greenbush, NY, USA

Awesome product that will save you tons of time!

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After spending hours of time over the past two days, my son found this product. All I can say is I wish he found it sooner because it fixed all of the problems with our lights that are pre strung on the tree. I had to use the trigger a few times and also had to use the voltage tester to isolate the issues but this tool made easy work of that. Stop banging your head against the wall trying to figure out which bulb is the issue and buy this!
Pros: Easy to Use, saves time
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Light Tester
from Santa Rosa, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44

Are you kidding me!!!?

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I spent an hour and a half struggling with my pre lit tree trying to find the bulbs that were causing several strands not to light up. I looked online for a solution and found this. Went to Home Depot and picked one up. Got home, pulled a bulb and clicked it once. The strand came on. Are you serious? How does this work? Fixed 3 of 4 strands. The other feature (that detects electricity flowing through the wiring) didn't really work. It didn't even beep reliably on working strands. Still, for the time and hassle it saves, worth it! 2 weeks later, my neighbor is hanging christmas lights, gets them all up and then finds a section out. I pull out this tool and in 3 clicks, it's fixed. Before you spend hours checking each bulb, just buy one of these. Money well spent (even if the second feature doesn't work).
Pros: time saver!
Cons: not all of the features work.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Light Tester
from Georgai
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It didn't work on two different strings

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This thing may work under ideal conditions. However it did not work for me. Case #1. String on pre-lit tree. The fix did not work and because of close proximity of the wires and bulbs, it was not able to locate the fault. Case #2. Fix did not work. Locator found the fault but the fault turned out to be multiple bulbs burned out. On these strings, once a bulb burns out, it raises the voltage on the others, shortening their lives. Eventually you reach a point where a chain reaction starts and burns out multiple bulbs. Replacing any one of them with a good bulb results in an immediate burn out. For the sake of your sanity, forget this thing and just buy a new string.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Light Tester
from Pembroke Pines, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't work for me.

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Tried everything including calling the company that makes this product. I see a lot of people recommending this prouduct...I guess it's me. I have a pre-lit tree that has many sockets. All of them work except for one...so, I have that section in the back of the tree so you can't see the dark area.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Light Tester
from Staten Island, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It really works

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Two thirds of a string of lightet garland went out and I couldn't get it working. I went to buy a new one but couldn't find the same kind. I saw the Lightkeeper Pro and although I was skeptical, I baught it. It worked great and it only took two minutes to get the lights working.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Light Tester
from Dundalk, MD, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I was able to save me some $$$

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It was able to save about half of the problems that I had with bad lights or wiring. At least it saved me alot of time with the things that could not be saved. I would buy it again and would definitely recommend it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Light Tester
from Poughkeepsie, NY

Lightkeeper Pro is fantastic

PostedNovember 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Man, if those folks aren't getting rich on this sucker, they SHOULD BE. I'm rather jaded on this kind of thing but figured if I lost a twenty it wouldn't be the worst thing that ever happened to me. This thing WORKS.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>