728*90 Advertising Space
Home>

Customer reviews for LightKeeper Pro Light Tester

LightKeeper Pro Light Tester

When there is a problem with holiday lights, the LightKeeper Pro Light Tester has the solution. Use it on most miniature Incandescent lightsets and pre-lit trees. Features an audible continuity detector that pinpoints the problem by tracing the circuit to the point of interruption. There is an attached LED headlight to guide your way and the 3-way bulb puller gets tight bulbs out with ease. The storage compartment houses your bulbs and fuses.
Overall rating:
3.79 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(820 reviews) 820
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product451 of 594reviews
Rating Breakdown 820 reviews
3.8 out of 5
5
(466)
4
(98)
3
(41)
2
(48)
1
(167)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product451 of 594reviews
Customer questions and answers:
18 Questions | 91 Answers
Customer reviews for LightKeeper Pro Light Tester
Review 1 for LightKeeper Pro Light Tester
Verified Purchase:Yes

Don't know how it works but it works! I had a strand that was not lighting on half. I put the tes...

PostedDecember 18, 2018
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Don't know how it works but it works! I had a strand that was not lighting on half. I put the tester in one of the the sockets, clicked the trigger a few times and the lights came on. I don't think this works in every case but for me it did. Good product so far. Recommended.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LightKeeper Pro Light Tester
from Winter Haven, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

The story of old Buck

PostedJanuary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had heard of this for some time, but never really had the need for one until this Christmas. I have an animated lit Buck that stands about 3 ft high and 4 ft long. I got old Buck 3 Christmases ago at HD and is a beauty when lit up, and unfortunately this year just before bringing him in for storage for another year, he blew out one whole leg, an entire side and part of the other side. Now let me say there are a heck of a lot of lights on old Buck. So I looked online and found they had this light keeper on clearance and in stock at my local Home Depot. Drove over and picked up two, since they were only 5 dollars each. Just in case one was a dud. It is multifaceted and tests the bulbs, will allegedly start up a string in some cases (I haven't tried this part yet) , and will hum to let you know where electricity stops at in a string. I plugged in old Buck and began scanning and it stopped humming pretty quick at the start of the outage area and didn't start humming again along about 30 of the bulbs, but restarted at the end. I replaced the first bulb after the last hum, nothing. I began pulling and testing the other bulbs along the string, most of which were truly out, some were not. But I still couldn't get Buck to light up in that area. At least the light checker told me which bulbs were out by pulling each and testing individually. I decided to take my time and just try a few a day, changing out as needed, so I wouldn't get frustrated and just shoot old Buck. Every time I would scan, it would still point to that first dud bulb which I had tested and replaced twice. Began taping the replaced bulbs with painters tape so I could tell where I had been. So today I scanned and replaced a few more bulbs and as it turns out, the place where the light checker had kept telling me was the start of the problem never has lit up, but I replaced another bulb on the line that was lose in its socket which was apparently causing the whole area to black out. Buck is up and fully functional again, so I can say this item does what it says it will do by narrowing down where your issue is. I got power humming everywhere but along his leg, which was a big help. I also found that some of the 2.5 replacement bulbs don't have enough wire to make contact in the socket, so I used some of the newer replacement bulbs that came in the 2 by 10 ft net lighting which solved that issue. That may be why that one bulb isn't lighting up, but I am not about to touch anything right now. My beloved Buck is up and running again and that is all I wanted.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Functional, Lots of Features
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LightKeeper Pro Light Tester
from 48047
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

SUPER PURCHASE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedSeptember 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Hi there ! ~ I bought this off a clearance table after Christmas & used it ever since ~ I don't know how I got along w/o it ~ I used to throw out old Christmas lights but now I save them all ~ It's sooooo easy to use this & it gives you 3 different options to try if you need them ~ I would rate 100 stars if I could ~ If you're considering this product, don't waste time ~ Buy this !!! ~ You will never regret it & it's fun, too ~ It's a great feeling when you fix a string that hasn't worked for years ~ I've even taken it over to my kids house for sets of their lights that fizzled out for no reason ~ It's a necessity, REALLY !!!!!! ~ You'll never be sorry, especially if you fix a set that is already on your tree or hanging on the edge of a gutter ~ Another great thing about this product is that it runs on 'button' batteries ~ I hope this review works out for you & I gotta repeat....... you'll never be sorry!!!!!!!!! mmc
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Vibrant Color, Rich Looking, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Well Made, Lots of Features, Comfortable, Nice Design, gives you a great feeling to see a set light up !!
Cons: no cons !!!!!!!!!!
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LightKeeper Pro Light Tester

What a great little device worked the first time!... I have a string of 6-6' Halloween skull fenc...

PostedOctober 27, 2016
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
What a great little device worked the first time!... I have a string of 6-6' Halloween skull fencing light-panels plugged together and on a timer... I had one panel quit a couple of nights ago... Bummer! Had a friend tell me about a gun thingy that would help me find the problem... So off to home depot brought it home, did a quick read through of the instructions and watch video online! All I did was turn on the power, as per instruction pulled a bulb from the dead panel, inserted the socket into the gun, pulled the trigger ONCE and my lights are back in business! This device is worth every penny! Going to purchase the LED version for my christmas lights too!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LightKeeper Pro Light Tester
from Center Valley, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Something that is AWESOME

PostedDecember 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I rarely write reviews but in this case this is awesome. I needed to fix lights on a wire deer. I figured I never find the issue but this product worked perfectly. I found the bad bulbs(yes more than one and a bad socket.) Now my deer is lit perfectly. Finally something that actually works. I recommend you watch the video before using. It will save time. It found the image below. I would have never found that by eye. It was all mixed in with the mesh of the deer.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LightKeeper Pro Light Tester
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Verified Purchase:Yes

This is a must for all your indoor&outdoor holiday lights

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Worked great found the problem first thing . Was easy to used. You got to get one!!!
Pros: Excellent Quality, Sturdy, Perfect Size, Functional, Well Made, Lots of Features, Comfortable, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LightKeeper Pro Light Tester
from Phoenix, AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The tool repaired a bad section of my pre-lit tree!

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I found out about this tool by searching for "troubleshoot Christmas tree lights." I saw many hits about it and watched a couple YouTube videos (which I recommend to learn how to use it). I was amazed that it fixed a non-working section of my pre-lit tree on the first attempt! I had to go to three different stores to find one locally, and finally found them at Home Depot.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Functional, works as described if you follow instructions, instructional videos on youtube
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LightKeeper Pro Light Tester
Verified Purchase:Yes

After purchasing the Light-Pro, I came home and immediately began to test it. To my surprise it w...

PostedDecember 18, 2018
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After purchasing the Light-Pro, I came home and immediately began to test it. To my surprise it worked perfectly. This device has saved me from wasting my money on buying replacement lights.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LightKeeper Pro Light Tester

This thing is amazing i fixed my prelit wreath and my prelit christmas tree that have both been...

PostedDecember 8, 2017
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This thing is amazing i fixed my prelit wreath and my prelit christmas tree that have both been without 2 thirds of their lights for a couple of years OMG I love this It took me 15 minutes it was so easy I was sooooooo skeptical but this product really works I promise
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LightKeeper Pro Light Tester
from Beach Park, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It is a wonderful product

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
I love this product. It saved me from throwing out my favorite Christmas tree and a few strain of light I use
to decorate my office.
Pros: Perfect Size, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Cons: a little over priced
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LightKeeper Pro Light Tester

The LightKeeper Pro saved my 9 year old GE Pre-lit tree. This year just about every section (the...

PostedNovember 24, 2018
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The LightKeeper Pro saved my 9 year old GE Pre-lit tree. This year just about every section (there are a total of 5 on my 10.5' tree) had big areas that wouldn't light. One by one I was able to get them to work using the LightKeeper Pro. The video instruction on their website is as important as the tool itself. Over the course of about 3 hours I got the whole tree lit and replaced 112 bulbs out of the 1200, mostly using bulbs from a couple of old strands of clear lights.
If this tool can help me defer the purchase of a new tree by a year or two, then it pays for itself and then some.
Highly recommend this tool!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for LightKeeper Pro Light Tester
Verified Purchase:Yes

Quit throwing your lights away and fix some easy and fast ! Is very simple to use !

PostedDecember 11, 2018
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quit throwing your lights away and fix some easy and fast ! Is very simple to use !
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LightKeeper Pro Light Tester
from Utah, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Verified Purchase:Yes

Magic!

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great tool to have for those troublesome strands of lights. This tester is easy to use and is amazing how it fixes those trouble areas on lights that just go out. I still get a smile on my face every time I use this tester as the lights just like magic come back to life. It is well worth the money.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Functional
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for LightKeeper Pro Light Tester
from Chattanooga, TN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Verified Purchase:Yes

DID NOT ACCOMPLISH WHAT I HOPED FOR

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
DID NOT ACCOMPLISH WHAT I HOPED FOR ON A PRELIT TREE, WILL SEE IF NEXT YEAR IT HELPS OTHER SMALL ISSUES, OTHERWISE A $20 WASTE. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND IT TO OTHERS.
Cons: Not Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-6points
1out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for LightKeeper Pro Light Tester
from Van Nuys, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Verified Purchase:Yes

Paid for it's self with first use!

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We tested the string of lights and they worked......After staple gunning to the roof line they stopped working? Got the light tester out and read the instructions and used it.............Low and behold they started working. This thing will always be part of my Christmas decoration kit. Well worth the money!
Pros: Sturdy, Functional, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for LightKeeper Pro Light Tester

This.is.amazing!!! Just buy it. But before you use it read the detailed directions AND go look a...

PostedDecember 8, 2018
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This.is.amazing!!! Just buy it. But before you use it read the detailed directions AND go look at the video. This product gives you at least 3 ways to detect the problem-so if the first one doesn't work, don't give up! Move on to the next one. Also, realize that for some sets, instead of just replacing the bulb and the plastic holder that inserts into the bulb socket, with a new bulb/plastic holder unit, the "holder unit" may not be exactly the same size as the original (slightly off). Therefore you can use the OLD plastic bulb holder and just replace the bulb itself (there are spare bulb contained in the handle of the lightkeeper pro). Once the bulb is placed in the old holder and the wires threaded through the holes in the bottom and bent up on the sides, the old holder with new bulb in place will fit back perfectly into the socket and work. I am not very savvy about anything electrical and it took me 15 minutes to find the bad bulb and replace it. Worth it's weight in gold!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for LightKeeper Pro Light Tester
from Detroit, MI

Indespensible

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A friend gave me one several years ago. The pezio shunt welding thing is great. Never had much luck with the tone and while the bulb tester works I rarely need it because the pezio shows me exactly which lamps are out. A couple tips:
Once the string re-lights you must replace the bad bulbs. With the shunts closed they provide too much voltage to the other lamps and they burn out fast. It's possible to cascade the string so they all burn out if you don't stay on top of it.
This season I worked with a 150 light string (3 sets of 50 in one cord). Two of the segments were out. The sockets wouldn't go into the Lightkeeper socket so I plugged the string into the electrical socket above the trigger which fixed one segment. The third would not come on no matter what. Finally I decided that the two working segments might be bleeding off too much of the current so I pulled one lamp from each. This time the pezio fixed the third segment - there were 4 bad lamps on it!
Pros: Functional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for LightKeeper Pro Light Tester

OK, I'm a retired electrical engineer and I was really skeptical about this device, but I lack th...

PostedNovember 9, 2018
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
OK, I'm a retired electrical engineer and I was really skeptical about this device, but I lack the patience required to troubleshoot these string lights. Bit the bullet, and came home with the Lightkeeper Pro. If you are lucky as I was, you simply plug the string in, locate the portion of string that is unlit, remove one of the unlit bulbs, place the now empty socket firmly into the adapter on the front of the gun, and squeeze the trigger rapidly a few times. Magic! The piezo electric "spark" miraculously fixes the shunt(s) causing the light string to illuminate! Find the bulbs in that section that do not stay lit and test them with the included bulb tester/puller and replace them as necessary. I also tested the audible voltage detector and found it functional, but not necessarily intuitive for the average homeowner trying to troubleshoot Christmas light strings.
Is it the best tool purchase I ever made? Not really, but it did indeed perform as advertised and was easy to use. It also has everything built into one handy "multi function" tool, and didn't try my patience one bit!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for LightKeeper Pro Light Tester
from Oxnard, CA

It works!

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
When I first saw this item at The Home Depot, it seemed a product too good to be true. But it works remarkably well. A very detailed instruction sheet is stored in the handle. What if the problem is neither with the bulb, nor with the shunt but due to a bad or broken connection? The audible voltage detector allows you to trace this down. I'm impressed with this product. Rather than fooling twenty or thirty minutes trying to find out why a section of my lights will not light up (and this happens almost every year), this tool will help fix it in a few minutes! Be aware that the tool requires 3 batteries (L1154) which are included. I would recommend replacing these every season before using the tool. I fixed an unlit section of my Christmas tree lights with one pull of the trigger and a bad section of my outdoor icicle lights in less than 10 minutes with the voltage detector.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for LightKeeper Pro Light Tester
from Raleigh, NC
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

time & money saver!

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We bought this tool after discovering that our pre-lit Christmas tree had multiple strands out... again. We had already restrung several strands of lights in multiple previous years and were irritated at the thought of having to do it again (after all, isn't the main reason you buy a pre-lit tree to NOT have to string the lights every year). We were about ready to throw out our $300+ tree when I discovered this tool. The tool offers two different options for fixing the lights. The first "quick" option didn't work in our case, but we were pretty easily able to determine the location of the faulty bulb using the audible voltage detector. It was a little tricky because lights from different parts of the strand were intermingled because we left the strand wound around all the branches. But the company's website has several very helpful videos that help you figure it out without having to unwind the lights. If we never use this tool again we've already gotten our money's worth!
Pros: Functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 41 >>