728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Decorative Light Bulbs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 40W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) G18 CFL Light Bulb (2-Pack)

40W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) G18 CFL Light Bulb (2-Pack)

Get the soft, warm glow of incandescent bulbs at a lower energy expense with the EcoSmart 9-Watt (40W) G18 Candelabra Base Soft White CFL Light Bulbs (2-Pack). Ideal for use in ceiling fans, vanity strips and pendant light fixtures, these bulbs use 75% less energy than equivalent 40-watt incandescent globes, helping you save up to $58 in energy costs over the life of the bulbs.
Overall rating:
3.5 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
58%of customersrecommend this product14 of 24reviews
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
3.5 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(6)
3
(6)
2
(4)
1
(3)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
58%of customersrecommend this product14 of 24reviews
Customer reviews for 40W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) G18 CFL Light Bulb (2-Pack)
Review 1 for 40W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) G18 CFL Light Bulb (2-Pack)
from North West, Loudoun Virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful light!

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought these bulbs for my Chandelier that needs 12 bulbs 60W Max. Using these, I am getting 480 Watt Equivalent light while consuming only 108 Watts. Thats a huge electric saving. You get a 7 years warrenty, so you pay a little extra but it will pay off really fast. Its a great buy.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Very Bright
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 40W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) G18 CFL Light Bulb (2-Pack)

Replaced a bulb that lasted 2 weeks

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had to replace some vanity lights in our bathroom. Only one light was out from our original purchase at Lowe's, but there were no replacement bulbs that matched from any source. So I ordered the entire set of four bulbs for replacement from. The lights worked well, producing good illumination, but after two weeks, one bulb went out. I thought the problem might have been the fixture, so I decided to try it in another fixture; the problem was the bulb was burned out. I was going to return the bulb to Home Depot, but, alas, I dropped it upon unscrewing it from the other fixture. If you are in a similar situation, good luck; this was the best price, but obviously not the best value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 40W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) G18 CFL Light Bulb (2-Pack)
from Palis hills

Light bulb confusion

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I remember you could buy a 40 watt light bulb with your eyes closed. But today it takes research special orders in store pickup and the dreaded color tempurture selection. CFL bulbs are garbage. These new bulbs are listed are warm white but no they are cool blue. The said they last 7 years but no three days later two out of 5 are burned out. I am going to return them. I ordered 8 bulbs hoping they would match the color of the other bulbs in the fixture. Even though they are the same number they are different colors. This is pure garbage from china
Pros: Eco-Friendly
Cons: Burns Out, color temps are all different. china garbage
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 40W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) G18 CFL Light Bulb (2-Pack)

Takes a long time to warm up

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Just received and been using them for a couple of weeks, so the review is solely based on the performance. The only complaint is that these bulbs take a really long time to warm up to reach the normal working stage, no major issues other than that.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 40W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) G18 CFL Light Bulb (2-Pack)
from Loudon, TN, USA

Short life, steep price

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you nees a candelabra based globe light there is not a lot of choice. I bought 6 of these for a 5 light fixture about a year ago in my HD store at around 7 bucks a 2-pack. I have had 2 of them go bad and re-ordered another 2-pack on-line when I discovered that they are no longer available in the store and I had to have one to match the remaining 4 from my original purchase. About the same price for the item but then tack on shipping and the cost was well over 6 bucks a bulb. Find an alternative if you can, I'm sort of stuck.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 40W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) G18 CFL Light Bulb (2-Pack)
from Brooklyn, NY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

good quality

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Haven't used the bulbs long enough to determine the quality, but I hope it lasts!
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 40W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) G18 CFL Light Bulb (2-Pack)

Energy savings

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
needing candelabra based bulbs leaves you with limited energy saving options, but I find these to be a good solution
Pros: Compact
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 40W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) G18 CFL Light Bulb (2-Pack)
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

3 out of 4 are good

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
One of the bulbs was defective. I have to bring it back, a nuisance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 40W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) G18 CFL Light Bulb (2-Pack)
from Vermont consumer

Okay when they work

PostedOctober 19, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased 8 lamps and installed them in my wife's vanity. Two bulbs did not work. (from different packages) I returned them the following day (36 mile round trip) and Home Depot exchanged them, no problem. I tested the new bulbs in the store so as not to waste another trip. I installed the two replacement bulbs and they worked fine until the following morning, and one no longer worked. I returned to the store and this one was replaced as well. 3 out of 10 defective, 30%, 300,000 parts per million, not a very good track record. Please understand, I do not blame Home Depot. I do think 72 extra miles of travel is a little rediculous.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 40W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) G18 CFL Light Bulb (2-Pack)
from Grass Valley, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Poor quality

PostedDecember 19, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Use six in the bathroom. Four of them did not last for more than 300 hours.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 40W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) G18 CFL Light Bulb (2-Pack)

they have to warm up like a flourescent and have a slight flicker

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
bought these to be more energy efficient but the quality of light output is disappointing, they have to warm up and there is a slight flicker in the light output
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 40W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) G18 CFL Light Bulb (2-Pack)

not good

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Takes a long time to warm up.. flciker on day 1.. will return
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 40W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) G18 CFL Light Bulb (2-Pack)
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA

Good, but rather noisy

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've been using these bulbs for several years and like them a lot. I bought a new pair when one of the old bulbs started buzzing while turned on. Unfortunately, one of the two new bulbs was similarly noisy fresh out of the package.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 40W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) G18 CFL Light Bulb (2-Pack)

Great fit for the hallway fixture

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Seems to be a specialty bulb. Wish they were available in the store. Will upgrade to LED when they come out at a reasonable price.
Pros: Compact, Easy Replacement, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: not available in store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 40W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) G18 CFL Light Bulb (2-Pack)
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Smallest globe CFL bulbs one can find.

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Lumen output is very reasonable for the size of the CFL. However, it is NOT usually carried at the stores. You will have to get them on-line only.
Pros: Compact, reasonably priced
Cons: hard to find
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 40W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) G18 CFL Light Bulb (2-Pack)
from NYC

Good when you get working bulb

PostedMay 10, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought twelve of these (6 packs) for two bathroom fixtures. 1-2 of them were broken (they would light but had loose part inside). Returned and had to go through three bulbs, all with same loose part defect, before I found one that was intact. Before you leave store, take the bulbs from packaging and shake. If you don't hear loose part, you're probably okay. Good light for bathroom (short warm-up period) but they need better quality control.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 40W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) G18 CFL Light Bulb (2-Pack)
from Gurnee, IL

one out of two worked

PostedNovember 4, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Trying to replace all of the incandecent bulbs over bathroom mirror - bought 2 to try. They are very bright and big, but figured I could get used to it. One week later only one worked. At 9.99 for two, you expect them to last longer than that (I hardly use them - maybe twice a day). Had thrown away the receipt, so couldn't even return it - expensive lesson.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 40W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) G18 CFL Light Bulb (2-Pack)
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ideal for multiple lamp hanging fixture

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This bulb is of the right size and wattage for the fixture and has the right color index for my application.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 40W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) G18 CFL Light Bulb (2-Pack)
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The bulbs work great. Unable to find them locally.

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Fast delivery and very happy with the bulbs. Unfortunately a bulb was broken in one of the three sets I ordered.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 40W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) G18 CFL Light Bulb (2-Pack)
from Houston, TX

Blub Life Not Too Good

PostedJanuary 10, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Have use these bulbs in light fixtures in kitchen because bulbs are exposed and I'd rather look at a round globe than a spiral light. I have six bulbs installed and replace one about every three months. I know I'm not getting the 4000 hours life span that is advertised. Will be using LED bulbs when price drops some more.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>