728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop CFL Light Bulbs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 100W Equivalent Daylight (5500K) Spiral Full Spectrum Craft CFL Light Bulb

100W Equivalent Daylight (5500K) Spiral Full Spectrum Craft CFL Light Bulb

The EcoSmart 27-Watt (100W) Full Spectrum Craft CFL Light Bulb (E) has an energy-efficient design that meets Federal minimum efficiency standards and saves you up to 87 in energy costs over life of bulb. Ideal for use with craft projects, the bulb simulates daylight to provide natural lighting and greater color visibility. (E) means this bulb meets Federal minimum efficiency standards.
Overall rating:
3.765 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
73%of customersrecommend this product11 of 15reviews
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
73%of customersrecommend this product11 of 15reviews
Customer reviews for 100W Equivalent Daylight (5500K) Spiral Full Spectrum Craft CFL Light Bulb
Review 1 for 100W Equivalent Daylight (5500K) Spiral Full Spectrum Craft CFL Light Bulb
from Adair, OK 74330, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great bulb

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought this bulb for my Parrot, Lady. She needs Sun light in the winter. I received my purchase early and very well packed which is a big plus. When I first turned on the bulb I was impressed with the natural white light (not blue like other bulbs) and the absence of the normal buzz or hum of other bulbs. My Parrot now talks up a storm and is much more active than before I used the bulb.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 100W Equivalent Daylight (5500K) Spiral Full Spectrum Craft CFL Light Bulb

Poor Quality Control, good value

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These bulbs are a great value and produce fantastic light. It now looks like daytime in my plant box. However, QC is pathetic. Fail rate for me was 50%. This is easily overcome by burning in the bulbs when you get them though. The defective ones will burn out within 3 days and the good ones will last a long time. All you have to do is order twice as many bulbs as you need, and then run them all for 3 days straight. Then return the defective ones to your local store for a refund. The good ones will last a normal lifespan for a CFL.
Pros: Very Bright
Cons: Burns Out
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 100W Equivalent Daylight (5500K) Spiral Full Spectrum Craft CFL Light Bulb
from NY

The Best Money Can Buy!

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used almost any kind of lighting that there is for my craft room and none of them, (from least expensive to the expensive!), have compared to these lightbulbs for the money and for the brightness that they produce! The light is very soothing to the eyes but yet displays every detail in its true colors. This is an amzaing light! You won't believe it until you try it!
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 100W Equivalent Daylight (5500K) Spiral Full Spectrum Craft CFL Light Bulb

27-WATT (100W) FULL SPECTRUM CRAFT CFL LIGHT BULB

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This exactly what the doctor ordered at the right price! I NEED sunshine. I bought these bulbs for in the area I exercise and they help immensely. The light is much closer to sunshine than the other high watt CFL lights I was using.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Very Bright
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 100W Equivalent Daylight (5500K) Spiral Full Spectrum Craft CFL Light Bulb
from Millerton, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not the best quality

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was hoping to buy full spectrum lights for my wife who has Seasonal Affective Disorder..(cabin fever) Although the bulbs are rated for high hours, I have had 40% of them fail within 4 hours. The base seems to run too hot. If you catch them when they first flicker, unscrew them and let them cool, they will come back on. I am not satisfied with the design quality of these...made in China.
+16points
21out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 100W Equivalent Daylight (5500K) Spiral Full Spectrum Craft CFL Light Bulb
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Gender:Male

Good value for the money. Clean spectrum.

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am really enjoying my full spectrum bulbs. I purchased 3 packages via the order on-line and pick-up in store. HD had everything ready for me to pick up as ordered. The bulbs easily replaced my original incandescent bulbs and the light is great to work with in these dim Fall hours.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 100W Equivalent Daylight (5500K) Spiral Full Spectrum Craft CFL Light Bulb

Great 5500K Full Spectrum CFL Light Bulb

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great 5500K Full Spectrum CFL Light Bulb. All works as expected. Only one thing is just it light up gradually at the beginning and takes a little while to provide full strength lighting.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 100W Equivalent Daylight (5500K) Spiral Full Spectrum Craft CFL Light Bulb
from Billings, mt

Real light

PostedFebruary 27, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I use this bulb for many tasks, artwork, painting, reading...a good light and a decent price
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 100W Equivalent Daylight (5500K) Spiral Full Spectrum Craft CFL Light Bulb
from Portland OR
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Full spectrum? Failed after 3 days!

PostedOctober 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First, although the website clearly says these CF bulbs are "full-spectrum," that term does not appear on the packaging itself. It does say "simulates daylight," but so did many of the bulbs I saw in the store, and passed up because they didn't claim to be full-spectrum. I was later told by a light-bulb salesman that no fluorescent bulbs are full-spectrum, and purchased a couple of incandescent bulbs that are so labeled.
Secondly, I used the bulbs for only a few days, in wall-affixed sconces, before they failed. One dimmed on the third day, and by the fifth day neither one lighted when I turned the switch.
Cons: Burns Out
+2points
15out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 100W Equivalent Daylight (5500K) Spiral Full Spectrum Craft CFL Light Bulb
from West Seattle, Seattle, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Full Spectrum affordability

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These are excellent bulbs - they produce a good light (and our plants love them!), and the low wattage reduces the amount of heat and reduces the overall power load, so we can actually use more of these lights if we want - though we don't need to. I'm buying more for other rooms.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 100W Equivalent Daylight (5500K) Spiral Full Spectrum Craft CFL Light Bulb
from Harbert, Chikaming Township, MI 49128, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great for Seasonal Affect Disorder

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bulb is great if you are looking to increase the light in a room or your home which might otherwise be dark, especially during long winter months. Light is more natural than other bulbs and gives the illusion of daylight even during the day. Just disappointed that there are not more available in different wattages or 3-way.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 100W Equivalent Daylight (5500K) Spiral Full Spectrum Craft CFL Light Bulb

WORKS great

PostedJune 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great great light bulb I use it for my indoor finch birds. They love it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 100W Equivalent Daylight (5500K) Spiral Full Spectrum Craft CFL Light Bulb

Great for Aquariums

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great DIY solution for upgrading aquarium lighting needs.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 100W Equivalent Daylight (5500K) Spiral Full Spectrum Craft CFL Light Bulb
from Waterbury, CT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

really bright

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
bright and bright ,,I buy more,really good,,perfect............
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Great Dimming, Very Bright, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 100W Equivalent Daylight (5500K) Spiral Full Spectrum Craft CFL Light Bulb
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Misrepresented?

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The web site says the bulb is full spectrum, but nowhere on the package does it say that it is. I bought it because my doctor recommended FS lighting. It gives off a pleasing light; however, I have my doubts about it being FS.
0points
5out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 100W Equivalent Daylight (5500K) Spiral Full Spectrum Craft CFL Light Bulb
from Pensacola, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Read the fine print

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The bulb failed after five months use in a protected, photo-controlled outdoor fixture. The product IS labelled "not dimmable" in very small print and on the back of the label, in VERY small print "not for use in photo controls." The consumer should not be forced to read every word of a product label - which would cause an exaggerated delay in one's shopping.
Cons: Burns Out, small print disclaimer
-16points
5out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 100W Equivalent Daylight (5500K) Spiral Full Spectrum Craft CFL Light Bulb
from Oakton, VA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Too blue, was expecting "full" spectrum

PostedJune 3, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This light just seems sickly blue to me. I much prefer the "bright white" CFL bulbs (3500k). I bought both to test which would look best to brighten up a basement, and this didn't do it. Maybe if I had a LOT more of them then the blue-ish light might look better (more like daylight) - but I'd need so many that I wouldn't be saving any power over the incandescents I replaced.
-11points
1out of 13found this review helpful.