728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop CFL Light Bulbs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 100W Equivalent Soft White (2700k) Twister Dimmable CFL Light Bulb

100W Equivalent Soft White (2700k) Twister Dimmable CFL Light Bulb

The EcoSmart 23-Watt (100W) Dimmable Soft White CFL Light Bulb (E)* helps you create the perfect light level in your indoor space. Ideal for use in table lamps, sconces and other dimming lighting applications, the bulb provides a warm, full glow similar to that cast by an incandescent bulb. This durable bulb lasts up to 13 times longer than its 100-watt incandescent equivalent. (E)* means this bulb meets Federal minimum efficiency standards.
Overall rating:
2.2 / 5
2.2
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
33%of customersrecommend this product3 of 9reviews
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
2.2 out of 5.0
5
(0)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(5)
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
33%of customersrecommend this product3 of 9reviews
Customer reviews for 100W Equivalent Soft White (2700k) Twister Dimmable CFL Light Bulb
Review 1 for 100W Equivalent Soft White (2700k) Twister Dimmable CFL Light Bulb

Great Light

PostedOctober 21, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a great light for dimming. It dims down to candle-light brightness and maintains a fairly white color balance. It works great with my Insteon dimmers (sold by Home Depot among others). It’s longer than most 100 watt equivalent CFLs so it doesn’t work in all applications. I would give it five stars if it was a bit shorter.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 100W Equivalent Soft White (2700k) Twister Dimmable CFL Light Bulb
from Marlborough, MA

A little too "Eco" in performance

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought these bulbs (12 of them) when they were deeply discounted to about $3 per bulb. I am also using the CFL rated dimmers that Home Depot had shelved in the CFL section specifically for dimmable CFL applications. I was attracted by the price but disappointed with the quality. I can say though that Home Depot has stood behind the bulbs and accepted returns and exchanges without hassle. But I've gone through more than 6 of these bulbs trying to find ones that will actually stay dimmed. They work fine when at full power but a large percentage of the bulbs that I purchased at different points in time over the past 3-4 months (8/10-11/10) have consistently not stayed at their dimmed level - they dim initially but within an hour or so start flickering and putting out barely any light. I've not kept them dimmed below 50%, trying to go easy on them. So after the process of elimination I have one light fixture left that has a bum bulb which I will try to exchange yet again in hopes of getting one that performs as you'd expect (it dims and stays on while dimmed). But now the bulbs are $9 each. I hope the price increase is reflective of a corrective action to resolve the quality issues with these bulbs.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 100W Equivalent Soft White (2700k) Twister Dimmable CFL Light Bulb
from Decatur, Ga.

Ecosmart dimmable 23W CFL

PostedSeptember 16, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The most significant feature of these bulbs is that they're dimmable. It even says so on the package, in big enough text that normal humans can read it. yay! These bulbs give off good light color (around 2700k), and lots of light. Pricey @ about $9 ea., but they're rated to last 10,000hrs (8760 hrs per year, so you've got to do some math depending upon how many hours these bulb are used each day).
They run a bit warm, but nothing like an incandescent or halogen.
I have 10, and one has failed after one month. Home Depot replaced it for free (9 year warranty!).
Highly recommended.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 100W Equivalent Soft White (2700k) Twister Dimmable CFL Light Bulb

Junk

PostedSeptember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 4 of these bulbs for our master bedroom because they were bright and dimmable. Six months later I have one left working. Don't waste your money on these. Forty bucks later, I'm back to using regular light bulbs.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 100W Equivalent Soft White (2700k) Twister Dimmable CFL Light Bulb

Product of poor quality

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Although it is advertised as "working with dimmers" it actually keeps blinking when dimmed, to the very annoying and unpleasant for eyes level.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 100W Equivalent Soft White (2700k) Twister Dimmable CFL Light Bulb
from Asheville, NC
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Burned out within 4 months

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
One bulb burned out within a month and another within 4 months, leaving black marks inside the light fixture. These were installed by a certified electrician so I know it wasn't me. Very disappointed - they weren't cheap!
Cons: Burns Out
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 100W Equivalent Soft White (2700k) Twister Dimmable CFL Light Bulb
from Orange County, CA

Disappointing versus other products

PostedOctober 18, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have four lamps with 100W replacement dimmable CFL bulbs in a bedroom, two with these and two with Sylvania bulbs. Whereas the other bulbs allowed me to dim the load down to less than 5% with noticeable flicker, and down to almost 10% with barely noticeable flicker, these EcoSmart bulbs had a much more restricted dimming range (light levels would barely change much then shut off below 20% or so), and would buzz and flicker noticeably at anything less than full power. Worse yet, my home theater PC's IR receiver kept blinking like crazy whenever these bulbs were lit at any dim level, and even blink occasionally when on full power, thinking it was receiving IR commands and preventing the PC from going to sleep (which eats more power than the incandescent bulbs these were replacing). No problem whatsoever with the PC when using the Sylvania bulb. I only wish I hadn't thrown out the original packaging before noticing this. :-(
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 100W Equivalent Soft White (2700k) Twister Dimmable CFL Light Bulb

Good but harsh

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Love the fact that it is a low wattage CFL dimmable bulb, but the light is a very harsh white light. Wish someone would come out with dimmable lights with a warmer colour!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 100W Equivalent Soft White (2700k) Twister Dimmable CFL Light Bulb

Dead at 8 months

PostedOctober 22, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Worked fine until premature failure. Dimmed as expected, but life is not as advertised. Home Depot should DC this product until company can fix. I have not had good luck with about 1/2 of the CFL's that I have purchased; many do not last. Disappointing.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 100W Equivalent Soft White (2700k) Twister Dimmable CFL Light Bulb
from Navarre, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

CFL do not dim, work as normal.

PostedNovember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These CFL's did not dim when connected to previous working dimmer. The product does not state a special devices needed to have dimming wokr
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Easy Installation
Cons: does not dim
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.