728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Services or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Water Heater Installation

Water Heater Installation

Overall rating:
4.455 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(369 reviews) 369
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product329 of 363reviews
Rating Breakdown 369 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(261)
4
(58)
3
(23)
2
(11)
1
(16)
91%of customersrecommend this product329 of 363reviews
Customer reviews for Water Heater Installation
Review 1 for Water Heater Installation
from Golden, CO, USA

Replaced my hot water heater

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am an older single woman and not knowing anyone that could help me when my water heater started leaking - I called Home Depot to see if they could replace it.
I was impressed when I found out I could receive same day service. The installers were quick and efficient. When they were done they showed me how the hot water heater worked and how to ignite the pilot if it went out.
I could not have asked for a better product or service.
Thanks Home Depot!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Water Heater Installation

Bad experience at the store, installation was good

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
When I went to Home Depot to purchase the hot water heater the sales clerk was less than interested in helping me. He told me virtually nothing about the products except gallon size and price. (Another associate had to tell him to help me). I would have gone to Lowes at that point if I had time. Also HD did not cash my check for a MONTH because my drivers license number wasn't on it. ??? Instead it must have sat in someones desk, not a good policy. Also, I talked to someone at HD about an inspection from the city. That person had me chose a date and time and said they would arrange. Nobody ever showed up, not sure if a HD problem or a city problem.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Water Heater Installation
from Renton WA

Lots of hiccups and information during the scheduling and installation

PostedJune 1, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Follow through and accuracy of order installation was quite poor. Initially, I was told to give model information which I attempted to do by leaving a message for the person that handled my order. I thought to call him around 5 pm the day before the order and was told that the info I had provided was not correct - I told him that he could have called me and that I had purchased a water heater from his company about 10 years ago. I was told that he couldn't locate me in the record file. The day of the installation the wrong water heater was delivered and he had to go get the right one. He installed it, left and it still didn't work. I got nervous and anxious so I called a plumber to check out the problem he told me it was the water heater (note I would told I didn't have copper pipes by scheduler and this could also be a problem, hence I made a call to the plumber. Another installer came out the next morning (seemed to be a little out of sorts) he asked me what the problem was and then sighed and said he would check it out. I told him that the plumber said the new water heater part was defective from the factory and that if the installer had completed a final check he could have caught the problem and fixed it right then - I got no phone call from the company management to offer an apology and try to make it right - I had to pay the plumber for the service call and no attempt was made to make some kind of an adjustment in price because of this. I have never had such service - or by the way the scheduler put the wrong address in the system initially and the installer was about 2 hours late because of it. Unbelievable!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Water Heater Installation

installation went good, but _ _ _ _ _ _ _

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I will not go back to home depot, was told from the day of the order to completion, I would get the military discount. Went back several times after install. I gave up ! , last I heard, can't give discount, because discount didn't apply to installation (ok with that answer) & can't update info in computer to give product discount. Was offered further discounts and received a credit card application in mail. Weeks after install, asked manager if training was held to correct the problem. Didn't get the answer I was hoping. How about training your employes on the policies of the military discount. Also nobody came up with the idea of giving a gift card for product military discount. I will say that lower management did an outstanding job to try to fix problem, but higher up failed.
Richard
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Water Heater Installation
from Shalimar, FL

Pricey

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I chose Home Depot because I had success with them before. The contractor, ARS doesn't have a local office, which delayed things when the first hot water heater was damaged in the box. Secondly, I wasn't given a choice of water heater, they installed the cheapest. Finally not sure how much plummers are paid, but over $600 for an hours work seemed excessive
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Water Heater Installation
from Wisconsin

Install was fine but getting appointment was atrocious

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The actual company that Home Depot uses for professions service installs is atrocious.
Took them 3 days to call me after I was told I would get a call the next morning. After getting the call scheduled install the next day. I actually had to call them 4x on the day of the install and was told my order from the previous day was never completed. After the installation, I received calls for 3 days afterward from the company asking me if I wanted quotes on the install of my water heater. Does the right hand know what the left hand is doing. I will never use the Home Depot professional installation service again, and I will never recommend it a friend.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareMarch 21, 2014
We thank you for your feedback and would like to apologize for the troubles faced during this installation. We will continue to work with our business partners to improve the quality of our services. Thanks again.
Review 7 for Water Heater Installation

Quick and easy installation. They took care of everything.

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was a very easy process. Beginning with coming out to my house to make sure I get the right product, easy scheduling and then on time and quick with installation.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Water Heater Installation

Price for install was twice that quoted to me. Twice the cost of the product and 3 times that of other professionals in the area.

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I will NEVER have anything installed by Home Depot. I feel I was lied to about cost, the installers had no respect for the cleanliness of my home, leaving a mess.
+24points
25out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Water Heater Installation
from Abita Springs, LA

As always, great service!

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The installers showed up on time and did a great job.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Water Heater Installation
from Minneapolis, MN, USA

Very satisfied with install.

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our water heater was installed the very next day. Everything works great and very pleased with service to product.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Water Heater Installation
from Cincinnati, Ohio.

From start to finish everything went great.

PostedJune 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The installation and service was superior. Easy to set up appointment, easy for the technician to install and when one if my pipes was leaking, the technician replaced at no cost. Thank you for a smooth process. I highly recommend, the product, process and completed project. Thank you.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Water Heater Installation

Basic work was fine - excessive upcharge for unnecessary extras

PostedMay 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am choosing my words carefully here – I have no evidence that I was overcharged for the work done. I do know that the work done was not what was bid, the work done was not up to professional standards, and work that was sold to me as necessary to meet code was in fact not required by code. Other work billed as “beyond a basic, standard installation” appears to me to very routine and expected in nature. I do not shop at The Home Depot anymore.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Water Heater Installation
from Eugene, OR

Good job on installation. Add on costs were more than expected.

PostedJune 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
We were surprised with the extent of the add-ons. We were even charged $100 extra because we have a steep drive way. Furthermore, the installer was promoting a water softening system which we believe was unnecessary.
In answer to the above question: I would neither recommend Home Depot installations nor discourage it. I am neutral.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Water Heater Installation
from Indiana, USA

Great water heater for the price

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The water heater itself seems to be a good buy for how much it costs. I've only had it for a few weeks so far. It can be a little on the noisy side while it's heating however. You can't hear it with the door shut and tv/radio on though, so don't be too worried.
The process of buying it was made very easy by Home Depot. I went into the store, picked the one I wanted after receiving very helpful advice from the employee, then we went to the phone to set up the installation. The installation company calls to set up the time, they showed up punctually, and worked very quickly. Two guys took out my old water heater and installed the new one in under an hour.
Overall I am very happy with the product and installation. Gave it 4 stars because of the noise.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Water Heater Installation

Of course it cost more for install that expected... but all good

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The space for our HW heater was too small for the larger, longer warranty model, so we got the less expensive one.... but of course the addl. work that needed to be done brought the price up to what we were planning to spend on the better model... all good I guess.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Water Heater Installation
from Riner, VA

Astronomical installation Price

PostedMay 15, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Water Heater $299; Install $400
Although the installers were nice, ontime and friendly after they left I discovered the unit was damaged during install. There was no mention to me about the dents and scratches they put on the unit. I am currently working with my local store for resolution.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy SherondaCustomer CareMay 22, 2013
Pett, I apologize for the problems you had with your Home Depot water heater installation. Home Depot stands behind our installations 100% and our store will work to make this right for you. If we can assist further, please let me know. Thank you
Sheronda Gipson
The Home Depot
Teamsocial@homedepot.com
Review 17 for Water Heater Installation
from Grand Haven, MI, USA

Poor customer service...very dissatisfied!!

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This install was a disaster from the first interaction with the install company. If this water heater install was not partly funded by DHS I would have definitely went with someone else. I love Home Depot... Hate their install company.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Water Heater Installation
from Woodbury, MN, USA

Went smoothly.

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
First time we have used this service. Completed in a timely manner. Only negative was extra add ons--needed vented, needed extra pipe. Informative person took our order.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Water Heater Installation
from San Diego, CA, USA

Purchased and installation of gas water heater

PostedApril 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased a Rheem 70 gallon gas water heater from Home Depot which they delivered to my home the same day. Then scheduled an installation with Delta Plumbing through Home Depot's contractor referral service. They showed up at the scheduled time and completed the install within the time frame provided and did an excellent job.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Water Heater Installation
from Kaneohe, HI, USA

On time delivery and professional install

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Water heater delivered and installed as promised. Install was quick and professional. Well done!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 19 >>