728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Services or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Water Heater Installation

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Water Heater Installation

Overall rating:
4.446 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(410 reviews) 410
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product365 of 403reviews
Rating Breakdown 410 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(291)
4
(62)
3
(24)
2
(15)
1
(18)
91%of customersrecommend this product365 of 403reviews
Customer reviews for Water Heater Installation
Review 1 for Water Heater Installation
from minneapolis, mn

Not Smooth

PostedJanuary 15, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Upon arrival, the plumber noted several items that were not up to code and would need to be fixed in order to meet compliance at the inspection. The bill ended up being more than twice the amount that I was quoted. They tried to put off finishing the installation for months. They did not install the improvements in the manner that we agreed upon, and was used to determine the extra fees. Despite having to bring everything up to code for inspection, there has been no inspection performed or scheduled. If these are the types of contractors Home Depot works with, I will not be using this service again. I do not feel like I got what I paid for.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareJanuary 22, 2015
Thank you Marcus for sharing your experience. We will be sure to reach out to you and discuss your concerns and ultimately see about making this right for you. We appreciate your feedback.
Review 2 for Water Heater Installation
from Redlands, CA, USA

Fast, professional installation

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The installation was done smoothly by a qualified technician. He worked until the late evening to get everything working and up to code.
The city inspector indicated the work was excellent.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Water Heater Installation
from Weston, FL, USA

Very bad experience.

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Water Heater installed was deffective and did not work properly. I had to go through the warranty process to get it replaced. They questioned me and made very clear that If they came I would have to pay for all expenses if they thought I had broken the unit myself. Finally they came and went to HpmeDepot to get a new unit, but the HomeDepot manager at the store did not know the process did not approve the exchange. The warranty people came back and installed the broken unit again (!) and told me that I had to deal with HD, that they were not going to do it. I contacted again HD and many long calls had to happen until finally someone seemed to take care of my problem. However, they told me that they would contact me the following day to schedule a visit and it took another three days and me calling repeteadly to get it fixed. After many calls, lots of frustration and wasted time, and with the broken unit in my house for two weeks, they replaced the unit. Horrible service.
+63points
65out of 67found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareOctober 27, 2014
We'd like to apologize for the troubles that you experienced during your recent water heater installation. We will continue to work to improve our installation services so that this type of service doesn't continue. Thank you for your feedback.
Review 4 for Water Heater Installation
from Eden Prairie, MN, USA

Smooth, painless water heater installation

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The entire process of having a water heater replaced was as smooth and as painless as it could have been. The contractor showed up right on schedule and completed the job in about an hour and a half. The site was left clean and the old water heater hauled away. I would highly recommend using Home Depot and the Crew2 installers anytime a water heater replacement is needed.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Water Heater Installation
from Chaska, MN, USA

HD Made It Easy

PostedMarch 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Went to local HD and had a seasoned plumping employee help me. He set me up with the installation contractor.
Within 24hrs the contractor was at my home with the new 50 gallon hot water heater. He went through a few things with me, and then removed the old unit, and installed the new beast. Very glad I went with their install services. They pulled a permit, and corrected installed everything. Glad I did not attempt to do it myself. Only down side is; installation was expensive. It was roughly five hundred bucks which includes the permit, deliver, install and removal of the old one. All in all, I would do it over again.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Water Heater Installation

Install didn't happen and I still got charged.

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
I still got charged even though the install never happened and I have been fighting to get a credit for more than 2 weeks.
+24points
26out of 28found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareOctober 21, 2014
Jennifer, we will be sure to contact you to see that this is resolved for you. We apologize for the troubles. Thank you for letting us know.
Review 7 for Water Heater Installation
from Garland, TX, USA

Not Happy

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I could not easily recommend the Home Depot hot water heater installation contractor from my experience. I did get the heater installed by a second team that were professional and treated the install in an efficient manner. However, that cannot be said for the initial installer and the problems that have been created by his apparent lack of customer service and attention to our particular appointment.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Water Heater Installation
from San Diego, CA, USA

good

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
At the store, could not find the customer service person that handled replacement hot water heaters. Waited a long time,other people tried to find her. I almost left and went to Lowe's. Finally she showed and all I needed from her was the phone number for the installers! Must be a secret because nobody else had the number?
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Water Heater Installation
from Westchester County, NY, USA

Cost reasonable, Installation effecient.

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installed within 24 hours after my request on-line. Spectacular!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Water Heater Installation
from Savage, MN, USA

Excellent service, excellent product!

PostedFebruary 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I called Home Depot for a quote on a water heater installation. Not only were they significantly cheaper (for the same quality product) than the plumbing company I called, but the heater was professionally installed a mere 2 hours later.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Water Heater Installation
from San Antonio, TX, USA

Overall: Nicely Done

PostedApril 1, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
When I scheduled the install I was not completely aware of how the process worked. I felt a bit lost in the beginning and it seemed communication was off to start. Once we finally got the project off the ground, the install was completed on my schedule and in a timely manner. Everyone I made contact with was very helpful and friendly. This turned out to be a good experience. The water heater works pretty well and the new setup is more pleasing than the old. I am happy with the overall installation.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Water Heater Installation

Installation was quick and easy

PostedApril 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installer was fast and clean. No problems since installation with water heater.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Water Heater Installation

Bad experience at the store, installation was good

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
When I went to Home Depot to purchase the hot water heater the sales clerk was less than interested in helping me. He told me virtually nothing about the products except gallon size and price. (Another associate had to tell him to help me). I would have gone to Lowes at that point if I had time. Also HD did not cash my check for a MONTH because my drivers license number wasn't on it. ??? Instead it must have sat in someones desk, not a good policy. Also, I talked to someone at HD about an inspection from the city. That person had me chose a date and time and said they would arrange. Nobody ever showed up, not sure if a HD problem or a city problem.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Water Heater Installation

Fast service. Very happy with water heater.

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very good plumber. Fast service and good quality item.
Will buy from Home Depot again.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Water Heater Installation
from Wisconsin

Install was fine but getting appointment was atrocious

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The actual company that Home Depot uses for professions service installs is atrocious.
Took them 3 days to call me after I was told I would get a call the next morning. After getting the call scheduled install the next day. I actually had to call them 4x on the day of the install and was told my order from the previous day was never completed. After the installation, I received calls for 3 days afterward from the company asking me if I wanted quotes on the install of my water heater. Does the right hand know what the left hand is doing. I will never use the Home Depot professional installation service again, and I will never recommend it a friend.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareMarch 21, 2014
We thank you for your feedback and would like to apologize for the troubles faced during this installation. We will continue to work with our business partners to improve the quality of our services. Thanks again.
Review 16 for Water Heater Installation
from Doylestown, PA

Quick and Easy

PostedMay 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The installer was quick, friendly, and professional. The water heater works great and the work area was clean after the installer left. I'm very pleased with the service.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Water Heater Installation
from Cypress, TX 77429, USA

Instalation was way too expensive

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would have like to have known that installation was going to be twice the cost of the water heater before the installer was at my house. I had a basic install and the effort did not justify the cost, but I had already taken the day off work. I will not use Home Depot again for service.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareOctober 6, 2014
Sorry for any troubles regarding the cost of your installation. We appreciate your feedback and would be happy to address any concerns you have. Thank you.
Review 18 for Water Heater Installation

Basic work was fine - excessive upcharge for unnecessary extras

PostedMay 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am choosing my words carefully here – I have no evidence that I was overcharged for the work done. I do know that the work done was not what was bid, the work done was not up to professional standards, and work that was sold to me as necessary to meet code was in fact not required by code. Other work billed as “beyond a basic, standard installation” appears to me to very routine and expected in nature. I do not shop at The Home Depot anymore.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Water Heater Installation
from Golden, CO, USA

Replaced my hot water heater

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am an older single woman and not knowing anyone that could help me when my water heater started leaking - I called Home Depot to see if they could replace it.
I was impressed when I found out I could receive same day service. The installers were quick and efficient. When they were done they showed me how the hot water heater worked and how to ignite the pilot if it went out.
I could not have asked for a better product or service.
Thanks Home Depot!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Water Heater Installation

installation went good, but _ _ _ _ _ _ _

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I will not go back to home depot, was told from the day of the order to completion, I would get the military discount. Went back several times after install. I gave up ! , last I heard, can't give discount, because discount didn't apply to installation (ok with that answer) & can't update info in computer to give product discount. Was offered further discounts and received a credit card application in mail. Weeks after install, asked manager if training was held to correct the problem. Didn't get the answer I was hoping. How about training your employes on the policies of the military discount. Also nobody came up with the idea of giving a gift card for product military discount. I will say that lower management did an outstanding job to try to fix problem, but higher up failed.
Richard
+12points
16out of 20found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 21 >>