728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Services or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Water Heater Installation

Water Heater Installation

Overall rating:
4.485 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(311 reviews) 311
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product277 of 306reviews
Rating Breakdown 311 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(225)
4
(46)
3
(18)
2
(10)
1
(12)
91%of customersrecommend this product277 of 306reviews
Customer reviews for Water Heater Installation
Review 1 for Water Heater Installation
JD1978
from Shalimar, FL

Pricey

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I chose Home Depot because I had success with them before. The contractor, ARS doesn't have a local office, which delayed things when the first hot water heater was damaged in the box. Secondly, I wasn't given a choice of water heater, they installed the cheapest. Finally not sure how much plummers are paid, but over $600 for an hours work seemed excessive
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Water Heater Installation
Unsatisfied
from Wisconsin

Install was fine but getting appointment was atrocious

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The actual company that Home Depot uses for professions service installs is atrocious.
Took them 3 days to call me after I was told I would get a call the next morning. After getting the call scheduled install the next day. I actually had to call them 4x on the day of the install and was told my order from the previous day was never completed. After the installation, I received calls for 3 days afterward from the company asking me if I wanted quotes on the install of my water heater. Does the right hand know what the left hand is doing. I will never use the Home Depot professional installation service again, and I will never recommend it a friend.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareMarch 21, 2014
We thank you for your feedback and would like to apologize for the troubles faced during this installation. We will continue to work with our business partners to improve the quality of our services. Thanks again.
Review 3 for Water Heater Installation
Sandy14

Price for install was twice that quoted to me. Twice the cost of the product and 3 times that of other professionals in the area.

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I will NEVER have anything installed by Home Depot. I feel I was lied to about cost, the installers had no respect for the cleanliness of my home, leaving a mess.
+24points
25out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Water Heater Installation
Anita1958
from Indianapolis, IN, USA

Quick and easy with great results

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Everything was simply fantastic. From the salesman at Home Depot to the wonderful, professional installation crew. The customer service desk at Home Depot bent over backwards to help me get everything set up for the way I wanted it.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Water Heater Installation
Studlee21
from Indiana, USA

Great water heater for the price

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The water heater itself seems to be a good buy for how much it costs. I've only had it for a few weeks so far. It can be a little on the noisy side while it's heating however. You can't hear it with the door shut and tv/radio on though, so don't be too worried.
The process of buying it was made very easy by Home Depot. I went into the store, picked the one I wanted after receiving very helpful advice from the employee, then we went to the phone to set up the installation. The installation company calls to set up the time, they showed up punctually, and worked very quickly. Two guys took out my old water heater and installed the new one in under an hour.
Overall I am very happy with the product and installation. Gave it 4 stars because of the noise.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Water Heater Installation
Disappointed
from Watertown, MN

water heater dent and PVC sealant drips on our water softner

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Installer (plumber) was nice enough and efficient. He seemed knowledgeable. However, there is a small dent on the front of the water heater (it was a new hot water heater) and in addition to the dent, installer dripped purple adhesive used on the PVC pipe on top of our water softner. Both look terrible. PVC pipe adhesive drips are permanent - tried to remove but without success. Obviously the dent is also in full view - an on-going reminder of the sloppy workmanship and looks horrible. The install was expensive and not worth amount charged. Also, at time we went into the Home Depot Store to arrange purchase and install, the Customer Service Department at the store told us we could use an 18-month financing opportunity to pay the almost $1500; we were told they could not accept it at the store that day, but rather, we were told to give the advertising card for the financing to the installer, who would honor the 18-month financing program. The installer informed us he could not accept any financing variance and that we had to drive back to Home Depot Store (55 miles round-trip from our home) if we wanted to use the 18-month financing program. This was confirmed when I called Home Depot Customer Service Department at the store where we had been told the prior week we must give to the plumber. We drove back to the Home Depot Store a few days after the install and obtained the 18-month financing, however, this should not have been necessary and was contrary to what we were told the first day we drove to Home Depot. Also, it took an hour and a half out of day to obtain the financing, yet we were there previously at which time it could have or should have been handled. We have done a lot of business with Home Depot in the past. This purchase and install and financing process do not meet Home Depots usual standards. I am disappointed and discouraged by the entire process.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareOctober 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry that you were misinformed at the store level. These inconveniences could have been avoided, so we will be sure to work to improve our process so this doesn't continue to happen.
Review 7 for Water Heater Installation
WorldTraveler
from Burnsville, MN, USA

Remarkably Smooth Installation!

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I returned home from a 4-week business trip I found that the hot water heater was leaking - oh joy, Merry Christmas! I called several vendors - note to self: the installation doubles the price of the hot water heater :((. However Home Depot was running financing specials, the team at the store was Super helpful and I was amazed how quickly the installation was scheduled and took place. I was very pleased with the installer - he came in, did what he needed to do, Cleaned Up the Mess, and left. That's one major less worry on this next 4 week business trip.
Thank you Home Depot!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Water Heater Installation
Rotus
from Harvest, AL, USA

Thorough and efficient.

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The installation contractor was efficient and thorough, including cleanup afterward. There have been no problems after the installation.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Water Heater Installation
Pett
from Riner, VA

Astronomical installation Price

PostedMay 15, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Water Heater $299; Install $400
Although the installers were nice, ontime and friendly after they left I discovered the unit was damaged during install. There was no mention to me about the dents and scratches they put on the unit. I am currently working with my local store for resolution.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy SherondaCustomer CareMay 22, 2013
Pett, I apologize for the problems you had with your Home Depot water heater installation. Home Depot stands behind our installations 100% and our store will work to make this right for you. If we can assist further, please let me know. Thank you
Sheronda Gipson
The Home Depot
Teamsocial@homedepot.com
Review 10 for Water Heater Installation
JayK
from Denver, CO

Professional install and clean

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer Service good. Missing point: No help or guidance regarding city permitting process
Install Service good. Missing point: No drip pans installed on either of my two water heaters
Price very good. Received bids which were almost double with less warranty (10 instead of your 12 years)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Water Heater Installation
Grego
from Twin Cities, MN, USA

Replacement water heater and installation went great

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The replacement water heater that I purchased was the same height and diameter as the own that was being replaced, hence the installation was quick and painless. The installer did a neat job, cleaned up after himself and was personable to boot.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Water Heater Installation
Ridgerunner
from Canyon Country, Santa Clarita, CA 91351, USA

Installation went well without a hitch

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The installer arrived on time and was very courteous. He patiently explained all questions I had. The installer was very competent and finished in a timely manner. He took the time to explain the inspection process which was very helpful. Overall a very good experience.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Water Heater Installation
Tricinda
from Franklin Township, NJ, USA

Installation was done very well & I'm more than pleased with the results.

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The installer was very professional and courteous. I'm extremely pleased with my new hot water heater & the customer service provided by Home Depot. Great Job :)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Water Heater Installation
Patt
from ocalifornia

Helpful staff; fast service was marred by the lack of disclosure of total cost of the job.

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The price quoted was for the water heater and the installation only. There was an additional $600 worth of costs, ie, strap, pan, pan drainage pipe, etc. which I was unaware of. The possibility of additional costs should be disclosed at the time of intitial inquiry and agreement.
The pan drainage pipe leads to the front porch, It was not installed with thought to how it looks or with any effort to align it with the other existing pipe.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Water Heater Installation
CustomerBen
from Valencia, Santa Clarita, CA 91355, USA

I found Home Depot helpful from purchase to installation. There were no hidden fees .

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had been impressed with the service I received from both Home Depot and the installers. Both professional from the outset.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Water Heater Installation
Tecolote
from Glendale, CA, USA

Install was done efficiently and effectively

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The work was done very professionally, and the installer was very professional and courteous throughout the process. He was detailed in his explanation of what he was going to do and how much he was going to cost. The one issue I had was his failing to separate what equipment was absolutely necessary and what was being recommended. I had to ask him to differentiate, otherwise he would have included all the extras in the price. But once that was settled he did the job well, and explained to us in great detail what it was he did.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Water Heater Installation
deannabanana
from Granada Hills, Los Angeles, CA, USA

Installation Process - outstanding; Store help - poor

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I first wish to say that the gentleman who installed the heater was professional, polite, efficient, and explained all I wanted to know. He even came early.
The Home Depot Store experience - Exceptionally Poor! to get someone to help with setting up Installation Service - exceptionally poor. Not enough personnel on hand. No one could help, manager was called repeatedly and never came to assist, initial purchase was set up erroneously by inexperience employee resulting in a purchase/return/ and repurchase.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Water Heater Installation
bob58
from Connecticut, USA

Started rough but ended better

PostedApril 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After buying the water hearted at Home Depot and talking to an install guy from the company they contract with I waited for installation day. When they came and stared the process I noticed the water hearted was the wrong brand. It was a GE they had brought and not a Rheem. I immediately told the installers and an hour wait ensued. After they called their shop I got 50 dollars back and hot water. Not sure what happened but pay close attention to what the installers are doing and point out any errors. Overall the GE works just fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Water Heater Installation
Pete
from Michigan, USA

The install did not take long and the results were good.

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The install only took a little over an hour which was great. I had hot water in about one hour after the install which was also great for my wife who had to go to work that day. The unit is energy star rated which is awesome to help save money on energy cost. My last unit was over 10 years old so it's nice to have an up to date unit. Thanks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Water Heater Installation
Ronglover

Install was ok but charged for items that were never discussed

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This install guy was what I would call very slick! He had the all time easiest install as in a water heater to the first floor and no obstructions so something with no issues. He took an inordinate amount of time and when he left I was on a business call and he "flashed" a bunch of papers to sign which I did...stupidly!!! He charged for several extra's like moving the washing machine out ot the way.....we are talking 3 feet and it is not heavy....$50??? If he had told me the charge i would have done this in two seconds. Other extra's
that seem over the top as well? Go look at the invoice!
You guys came out recently and installed two toilets...very honest guy and I was impressed.....now I will have to consider alternatives and tell my neighbor's the same...too bad as the convenience seems compelling but i hate to be robbed by a slick install person
Thanks for listening
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareJuly 9, 2013
Hi Ron,

We are sorry to hear about the unforeseen charges, and will work with our water heater team to review and follow up. Thanks for your post, and your business.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 16 >>