728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Services or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Water Heater Installation

Water Heater Installation

Overall rating:
4.435 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(384 reviews) 384
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product341 of 377reviews
Rating Breakdown 384 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(271)
4
(58)
3
(24)
2
(13)
1
(18)
90%of customersrecommend this product341 of 377reviews
Customer reviews for Water Heater Installation
Review 1 for Water Heater Installation
from Weston, FL, USA

Very bad experience.

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Water Heater installed was deffective and did not work properly. I had to go through the warranty process to get it replaced. They questioned me and made very clear that If they came I would have to pay for all expenses if they thought I had broken the unit myself. Finally they came and went to HpmeDepot to get a new unit, but the HomeDepot manager at the store did not know the process did not approve the exchange. The warranty people came back and installed the broken unit again (!) and told me that I had to deal with HD, that they were not going to do it. I contacted again HD and many long calls had to happen until finally someone seemed to take care of my problem. However, they told me that they would contact me the following day to schedule a visit and it took another three days and me calling repeteadly to get it fixed. After many calls, lots of frustration and wasted time, and with the broken unit in my house for two weeks, they replaced the unit. Horrible service.
+32points
34out of 36found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareOctober 27, 2014
We'd like to apologize for the troubles that you experienced during your recent water heater installation. We will continue to work to improve our installation services so that this type of service doesn't continue. Thank you for your feedback.
Review 2 for Water Heater Installation

Install didn't happen and I still got charged.

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I still got charged even though the install never happened and I have been fighting to get a credit for more than 2 weeks.
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareOctober 21, 2014
Jennifer, we will be sure to contact you to see that this is resolved for you. We apologize for the troubles. Thank you for letting us know.
Review 3 for Water Heater Installation
from San Diego, CA, USA

good

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
At the store, could not find the customer service person that handled replacement hot water heaters. Waited a long time,other people tried to find her. I almost left and went to Lowe's. Finally she showed and all I needed from her was the phone number for the installers! Must be a secret because nobody else had the number?
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Water Heater Installation
from Cypress, TX 77429, USA

Instalation was way too expensive

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would have like to have known that installation was going to be twice the cost of the water heater before the installer was at my house. I had a basic install and the effort did not justify the cost, but I had already taken the day off work. I will not use Home Depot again for service.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareOctober 6, 2014
Sorry for any troubles regarding the cost of your installation. We appreciate your feedback and would be happy to address any concerns you have. Thank you.
Review 5 for Water Heater Installation
from Issaquah Wa

Great experience!

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great job! On time, knowledgeable, and didn't try to sell me things I did not need. Fast and efficient!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Water Heater Installation

Bad experience at the store, installation was good

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
When I went to Home Depot to purchase the hot water heater the sales clerk was less than interested in helping me. He told me virtually nothing about the products except gallon size and price. (Another associate had to tell him to help me). I would have gone to Lowes at that point if I had time. Also HD did not cash my check for a MONTH because my drivers license number wasn't on it. ??? Instead it must have sat in someones desk, not a good policy. Also, I talked to someone at HD about an inspection from the city. That person had me chose a date and time and said they would arrange. Nobody ever showed up, not sure if a HD problem or a city problem.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Water Heater Installation
from Westerville, Oh

Rheem Water heater

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The water heater was installed very professionally. The only problem was the model we chose was not the one installed. The installer immediately obtained the correct model. When he brought it in, I found two or three dents. Had him take it back and get another. Third time was a charm. Correct unit and professionally installed. The installer was always good to get along with and pleased the customer.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Water Heater Installation
from San Jose, CA, USA

Prompt, quality installation

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installer was very well informed about city requirements. Passed city inspection with no issues.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Water Heater Installation

installation went good, but _ _ _ _ _ _ _

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I will not go back to home depot, was told from the day of the order to completion, I would get the military discount. Went back several times after install. I gave up ! , last I heard, can't give discount, because discount didn't apply to installation (ok with that answer) & can't update info in computer to give product discount. Was offered further discounts and received a credit card application in mail. Weeks after install, asked manager if training was held to correct the problem. Didn't get the answer I was hoping. How about training your employes on the policies of the military discount. Also nobody came up with the idea of giving a gift card for product military discount. I will say that lower management did an outstanding job to try to fix problem, but higher up failed.
Richard
+8points
12out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Water Heater Installation
from Golden, CO, USA

Replaced my hot water heater

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am an older single woman and not knowing anyone that could help me when my water heater started leaking - I called Home Depot to see if they could replace it.
I was impressed when I found out I could receive same day service. The installers were quick and efficient. When they were done they showed me how the hot water heater worked and how to ignite the pilot if it went out.
I could not have asked for a better product or service.
Thanks Home Depot!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Water Heater Installation

Basic work was fine - excessive upcharge for unnecessary extras

PostedMay 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am choosing my words carefully here – I have no evidence that I was overcharged for the work done. I do know that the work done was not what was bid, the work done was not up to professional standards, and work that was sold to me as necessary to meet code was in fact not required by code. Other work billed as “beyond a basic, standard installation” appears to me to very routine and expected in nature. I do not shop at The Home Depot anymore.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Water Heater Installation
from Renton WA

Lots of hiccups and information during the scheduling and installation

PostedJune 1, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Follow through and accuracy of order installation was quite poor. Initially, I was told to give model information which I attempted to do by leaving a message for the person that handled my order. I thought to call him around 5 pm the day before the order and was told that the info I had provided was not correct - I told him that he could have called me and that I had purchased a water heater from his company about 10 years ago. I was told that he couldn't locate me in the record file. The day of the installation the wrong water heater was delivered and he had to go get the right one. He installed it, left and it still didn't work. I got nervous and anxious so I called a plumber to check out the problem he told me it was the water heater (note I would told I didn't have copper pipes by scheduler and this could also be a problem, hence I made a call to the plumber. Another installer came out the next morning (seemed to be a little out of sorts) he asked me what the problem was and then sighed and said he would check it out. I told him that the plumber said the new water heater part was defective from the factory and that if the installer had completed a final check he could have caught the problem and fixed it right then - I got no phone call from the company management to offer an apology and try to make it right - I had to pay the plumber for the service call and no attempt was made to make some kind of an adjustment in price because of this. I have never had such service - or by the way the scheduler put the wrong address in the system initially and the installer was about 2 hours late because of it. Unbelievable!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Water Heater Installation
from Wisconsin

Install was fine but getting appointment was atrocious

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The actual company that Home Depot uses for professions service installs is atrocious.
Took them 3 days to call me after I was told I would get a call the next morning. After getting the call scheduled install the next day. I actually had to call them 4x on the day of the install and was told my order from the previous day was never completed. After the installation, I received calls for 3 days afterward from the company asking me if I wanted quotes on the install of my water heater. Does the right hand know what the left hand is doing. I will never use the Home Depot professional installation service again, and I will never recommend it a friend.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareMarch 21, 2014
We thank you for your feedback and would like to apologize for the troubles faced during this installation. We will continue to work with our business partners to improve the quality of our services. Thanks again.
Review 14 for Water Heater Installation
from Shalimar, FL

Pricey

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I chose Home Depot because I had success with them before. The contractor, ARS doesn't have a local office, which delayed things when the first hot water heater was damaged in the box. Secondly, I wasn't given a choice of water heater, they installed the cheapest. Finally not sure how much plummers are paid, but over $600 for an hours work seemed excessive
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Water Heater Installation
from Venice, FL, USA

New hot water heater

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought a new hot water heater to replace a very old one that had serious rusting around the bottom. Since it came with the house, I had no idea of the age of it though it still worked fine. I just didn't know for how long. The HD installation scheduling person was able to walk me through the various heater options (capacity and size were an important consideration). They were able to schedule the delivery and installation at the date/time I requested. The installation person was very personable, was on time, knew how to deal with the old fittings, replaced them with new ones, carted off the old water heater along with all leftover pieces and trash, and had the whole thing done in just under an hour. I'm very pleased with how this turned out. It's one less thing I have to be concerned about in this old house.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Water Heater Installation

Great job!

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No concerns, great job! Makings type in more info just to submit is the most annoying part.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Water Heater Installation
from Grand Haven, MI, USA

Poor customer service...very dissatisfied!!

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This install was a disaster from the first interaction with the install company. If this water heater install was not partly funded by DHS I would have definitely went with someone else. I love Home Depot... Hate their install company.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Water Heater Installation

Price for install was twice that quoted to me. Twice the cost of the product and 3 times that of other professionals in the area.

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I will NEVER have anything installed by Home Depot. I feel I was lied to about cost, the installers had no respect for the cleanliness of my home, leaving a mess.
+24points
26out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Water Heater Installation
from Indiana, USA

Great water heater for the price

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The water heater itself seems to be a good buy for how much it costs. I've only had it for a few weeks so far. It can be a little on the noisy side while it's heating however. You can't hear it with the door shut and tv/radio on though, so don't be too worried.
The process of buying it was made very easy by Home Depot. I went into the store, picked the one I wanted after receiving very helpful advice from the employee, then we went to the phone to set up the installation. The installation company calls to set up the time, they showed up punctually, and worked very quickly. Two guys took out my old water heater and installed the new one in under an hour.
Overall I am very happy with the product and installation. Gave it 4 stars because of the noise.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Water Heater Installation
from Cleveland, OH, USA

I had my water heater installed almost 2 wks ago, the gas sensor is broken

PostedApril 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
ive been waiting and waiting for someone to come replace my heater again. (since the part to fix it is out of stock) Ive had technicians at my home, ive done diagnostic over the phone with tech support and ive gotten no where fast. The communication between Home Depot, the installer and the manufacturer leaves much to be desired. I am having a tough time because no one knows whats going on. I just want someone to call me and set up an appt. Ive been told 3x that someone will call me. I am still waiting. Very displeased.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 20 >>