728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Services or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Heating & Cooling System Installation

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Heating & Cooling System Installation

Overall rating:
4.29 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(276 reviews) 276
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product228 of 274reviews
Rating Breakdown 276 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(179)
4
(49)
3
(13)
2
(19)
1
(16)
83%of customersrecommend this product228 of 274reviews
Customer reviews for Heating & Cooling System Installation
Review 1 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Bessemer, AL, USA

Less than derirable install

PostedApril 25, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The installation of the units became a nightmare. I was told this would be a two day install,instead it turned into a three week frustrating ordeal. I run a wedding chapel where these units were installed, I faced the embarrassment of having to uncover the previous vents in the middle of a wedding reception because the units were not cooling. Good customer service when notified but install crew left a lot to be desired. I was not a happy camper with install and leaks,weather have not allowed me to get a solid check air or heat as of yet,hopefully all is well,if not be prepared to hear from me.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy SherondaCustomer CareJune 8, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Please let us know if you need any further assistance with your unit or service.

Sheronda
Social Media
The Home Depot
Atlanta, GA 30339
sheronda_care@homedepot.com
Review 2 for Heating & Cooling System Installation

Excellent contractor with a fantastic eye for detail.

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We were drawn in by the credit terms but the contractor that provided the estimate won us over. Their attention to detail was tops. I've already recommend Home Depot to my neighbor.
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Heating & Cooling System Installation

Fast, clean, professional did a great job

PostedMarch 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Do have one concern, the financing was set up interest free for 18 months but came in from Home Depot for 6 months. After calling they said it should be corrected after three billing periods. May want to revise the way that happens for a smoother sale and to avoid the customer having to call about the term of the financing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Lombard, IL

No problems with the install or the product.

PostedMarch 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was happy with the installation and the new furnace. We have not yet tried the AC, but the only problem was with the lines out to the unit. I thought they could have been put up higher in the joists instead of low.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Heating & Cooling System Installation

Tech didn't catch major condensation leak

PostedAugust 19, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Installation
We had the company out to give an annual inspection, however he missed a condensation leak and it leaked for weeks causing mold and health issues in my house. if they are coming to INSPECT your unit, don't you think that should be caught????? Aside from that, the tech was very nice and polite and informed us of every other thing with our AC other then the issue!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Glen Allen, VA, USA

Could have done it more systematically

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Installation
Eventhough i had asked for the off hours service and paid for that, the technician seem to be in a rush, and on discovering that the refrigerant was low, should have immediately suggested a leak test. Filling in Refrigerant without a leak test not a good idea. After couple of days no AC. And they could have better communicated all the fees upfront. Had to call another contractor. Did not give them any additional info, but they did it systematically and no issues since then. Also when customer says they want a specific part as replacement, the vendor partner should respect that. I could have saved time, inconvenience and $$$ if vendor would have done it more systematically.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Columbia, SC, USA

Great system, great price but not too much attention to detail

PostedMay 20, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Heating & Cooling System Installation
I got a great deal on a 2 ton HVAC system! The installation crew does a sufficient job, but doesn't go above and beyond (didn't check the status of the breakers used to run the system - which were melted, and didn't suggest or address solutions to the AC drain which is 1/2" off the ground and easily clogs).
Also, the contractors do not make appointments, they give you a 2-3 hour range when they may arrive and you have to take a 1/2 day off from work to get anything checked/repaired.
Also, my electric company offers a $200 rebate for 14 seer systems and the contractor still hasn't finished it so that I can process it (it has been weeks since the installation).
+12points
15out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Heating & Cooling System Installation

Follow up has been poor

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Heating & Cooling System Installation
Dented walls & damaged furniture on install. Then we've had to wait 1 month for the repair work. AC unit is great, but not happy with customer service after the fact.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Heating & Cooling System Installation

Still have not had a fully functioning AC unit after 2 months of "installation

PostedJuly 23, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
This review is from:Heating & Cooling System Installation
I was promised that the AXC unit I purchased would fix my problem and if anything else was found wrong that it would be covered. Well the same day of the instillation a cool was cracked and I was promised it would be replaced. Well after 3 more visits, a new drain pan, pipes cleaned (replaced coil ) the issue has not been rectified. So now I am paying on this product and can not use it.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareAugust 10, 2015
Hello Ryan,

I'm really sorry that you are still experiencing troubles with your installation. We will be sure to contact you to address your concerns and help to get them resolved in a timely manner. Thanks for your continued patience.
Review 10 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Katy, TX, USA

Very bad experience

PostedMarch 13, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Installation
The Home Depot send us a contractor who charged $600 to install a $ 40 worth piece of electrical heater element that took 15 minutes to install. We went several times to Home depot asking for justice, however no one helped us, except expressing sympathy .
This is not expected of a big company like Home Depot.
+113points
125out of 137found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareMarch 16, 2015
Hi Deepak. Sorry to hear of such a huge install fee. We will be happy to look into your order and see if there is anything we can do to help with this. We appreciate you letting us know and allowing us the opportunity to make this right for you.
Review 11 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Mobile, AL, USA

Don't use this "service"

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Heating & Cooling System Installation
Wanted an estimate to repairs & replace as needed. Quickly got a salesman NOT a tech, saying need all new & Sold over $7k system.
I needed a new gas heater & a freon in AC. New Equipment didn't fit - installer had to get a smaller coil.
Installer was a hour away & did good job. Returned twice to pass code. Still waiting refund for cheaper blower.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Brandon, FL, USA

Excellent service and products

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Heating & Cooling System Installation
A/C install went smoothly. Salesperson matched a quotation from a different company. Technicians were courteous and knowledgable. This is how A/C installation should be. Great job!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
10out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Heating & Cooling System Installation

You get what you pay for

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Installation
I paid 118 for two annual servicing's for my AC units - primarily because I usually pay 250 through my normal company. Obviously three weeks later there is an issue that should have been found when the guy come out. Now I am paying five times the amount to fix it. Home Depot should stick to selling items - not services.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Heating & Cooling System Installation

Made a quick checklist and gone!

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Installation
I thought "Heating and Cooling System Maintenance" meant the contractor would do some maintenance on my system, but the contractor just made a quick checklist and told me that I need another service for exhauster fan maintenance. That was it for the "Heating and cooling system Maintenance" service from Home Depot...less than 15 minutes.
+29points
30out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Heating & Cooling System Installation

Excellent service

PostedJune 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Heating & Cooling System Installation
Installation went as planned, service representatives arrived on time for set up and installation of my new system. The service providers took every precaution to properly prepare and protect my carpet and area where work was to be done. I was completely satisfied with the work done by Home Depot.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from La Vergne, TN, USA

good installation

PostedAugust 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:Heating & Cooling System Installation
good service, arrive on time for the installation.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Farmington Hills, MI, USA

Good Product, Prodessional Installation

PostedJuly 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Heating & Cooling System Installation
The air conditioning unit works as advertised and is super, super quiet. The installers were very professional and did a great job. All aspects of the job were neat and timely, and they were very friendly.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Heating & Cooling System Installation

should have a supervisor inspect sooner after job has been completed

PostedAugust 12, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Heating & Cooling System Installation
Beutler Heating and Air left a sloppy job and other workmen had to come back to add finishing touch.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Heating & Cooling System Installation

Great job, good product

PostedMay 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Heating & Cooling System Installation
Got the no duct AC unit installed, and a great job was done. Installer showed up on time, and took no time to do a great job. Now my patio room, is not a sauna box! The no duct AC unit is very quiet all the way around. I had to check on it three times to make sure it was working. The installation was not sloppy, very neat and professionally done. Thank you again, for moving us out of our family room to the new patio room. Oh I love it!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Los Angeles, CA, USA

Owner: Installers arrived on time, were neat and overall do a very good job.

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Heating & Cooling System Installation
The salesperson and the installers seemed more knowledgeable than the others who submitted bids. The Home Depot bid was also among the lowest .
I suggest that your form proposal be clarified in two ways:
1. Make it clearer that the 5 year labor warranty is really not included. It's conditioned on paying $290+ per year for maintenance. Leaving the cost of the maintenance off the form left me feeling a bit blind sided when I discovered it.
2. Make it clearer that the HERS test is not included in the "total amount" and that payment is the responsibility of the owner--similar to the way asbestos removal is handled on the form.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
26out of 40found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 14 >>