728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Services or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Heating & Cooling System Installation

Heating & Cooling System Installation

Overall rating:
4.418 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(182 reviews) 182
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product160 of 181reviews
Rating Breakdown 182 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(127)
4
(32)
3
(5)
2
(8)
1
(10)
88%of customersrecommend this product160 of 181reviews
Customer reviews for Heating & Cooling System Installation
Review 1 for Heating & Cooling System Installation

Excellent contractor with a fantastic eye for detail.

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We were drawn in by the credit terms but the contractor that provided the estimate won us over. Their attention to detail was tops. I've already recommend Home Depot to my neighbor.
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Bessemer, AL, USA

Less than derirable install

PostedApril 25, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The installation of the units became a nightmare. I was told this would be a two day install,instead it turned into a three week frustrating ordeal. I run a wedding chapel where these units were installed, I faced the embarrassment of having to uncover the previous vents in the middle of a wedding reception because the units were not cooling. Good customer service when notified but install crew left a lot to be desired. I was not a happy camper with install and leaks,weather have not allowed me to get a solid check air or heat as of yet,hopefully all is well,if not be prepared to hear from me.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy SherondaCustomer CareJune 8, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Please let us know if you need any further assistance with your unit or service.

Sheronda
Social Media
The Home Depot
Atlanta, GA 30339
sheronda_care@homedepot.com
Review 3 for Heating & Cooling System Installation

Fast, clean, professional did a great job

PostedMarch 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Do have one concern, the financing was set up interest free for 18 months but came in from Home Depot for 6 months. After calling they said it should be corrected after three billing periods. May want to revise the way that happens for a smoother sale and to avoid the customer having to call about the term of the financing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Lombard, IL

No problems with the install or the product.

PostedMarch 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was happy with the installation and the new furnace. We have not yet tried the AC, but the only problem was with the lines out to the unit. I thought they could have been put up higher in the joists instead of low.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Redlands, CA, USA

Poor customer service

PostedJune 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Installation
Ac service guy came out. Didn't introduce himself.. 1st thing off the bat he said my ac was not working right. He didn't even get in the backyard. I guess he can tell by the sound. After looking at my unit he already suggested that my ac gets replace and said my unit will not last the summer. Then said a part was bad and that it would be to expensive to replace and that I should replace the unit, quoted me $12,000 to replace it... Paid the $30 for a service that has a company tell you to get a new unit when my unit has not had any problems... No filter replacement and didn't even check the freon... According to Home Depot when they call to make the appt that was the detail of the inspection. But when ac guy came out he just did visual look.. Home Depot need to be ontop of there contractors and make sure they do the work they are task to do..
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Summerville, SC, USA

The new AC Unit failed 10 days after installation

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Heating & Cooling System Installation
The new system failed 10 days after installation. It took multiple calls to the installer to get it repaired. The part was not available and they would not take one off of another new unit. As a result we were without AC for several days in the summer heat and humidity. They promised us a portable unit until the part arrived but they never fulfilled that promise. They ended up saying they were all in use elsewhere. The person responsible for the installation stopped taking my calls or returning my calls. In the end the unit was repaired but it took multiple calls and longer than we should have reasonably expected. We got more excuses than service.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Oro Valley, AZ, USA

I can not imagine a less professional relationship

PostedJune 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Installation
You installed the WRONG water heater!! The wrong size
the wrong capacity, and the wrong warranty. I paid for the
correct heater, but was given a lesser model because "IT
was out of stock"...It does not work!!!! No shower. No live
body returns calls...not the store..Not corporate..The install
company blames Home Depot..and Home Depot blames
the installation...BE VERY CAREFUL OF THIS COMPANY
+25points
31out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Los Angeles, CA, USA

Owner: Installers arrived on time, were neat and overall do a very good job.

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Heating & Cooling System Installation
The salesperson and the installers seemed more knowledgeable than the others who submitted bids. The Home Depot bid was also among the lowest .
I suggest that your form proposal be clarified in two ways:
1. Make it clearer that the 5 year labor warranty is really not included. It's conditioned on paying $290+ per year for maintenance. Leaving the cost of the maintenance off the form left me feeling a bit blind sided when I discovered it.
2. Make it clearer that the HERS test is not included in the "total amount" and that payment is the responsibility of the owner--similar to the way asbestos removal is handled on the form.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
24out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Austin, TX, USA

Was overcharged and no warranty

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Installation
It was overly expensive $75 per pound of refrigerant. You can see the price of the product online at $5 or less per pound. Hence its way to overpriced even with labor. I will never use homedepot again. The technician was not able to find the leak at all. Still since it was low on refrigerant that means there was a leak somewhere. Still he charged me $100 to test the leak even though he couldn't find the problem. The leak sealant that he put comes without any warranty and that too is overpriced at $200. The price of labor and product should be separate.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Roselle il

Bad contractor

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Installation
Ars is bad contractor very expensive service missleadiding advertisment at the store as far as spring cleanup go Ars charge 240 $ for replacing the part on ac that cost 14.99 at the store and took 5 min to replace
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from North Beach, MD, USA

From start to finish excellent.

PostedApril 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Heating & Cooling System Installation
We came in the store to purchase mulch and a few items we did not plan for (love spring black Friday). Made appointment with bonus orange ball, excellent sales presentation--made purchase. The install was without issue, kept home and work area clean, removed old unit, tested new unit, completed paperwork. Will certainly start with Home Depot for next home improvement project. Thank you!!!!!!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Atlanta GA

AFter installation of air conditioning unit, not all parts were replaced so had to return to replace

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This review is from:Heating & Cooling System Installation
Average work because not all new parts were used so had to return to replace part. Also extra loud noise when running the air con. Inspector did not come to do final inspection of installation.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Heating & Cooling System Installation

Great job, good product

PostedMay 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Heating & Cooling System Installation
Got the no duct AC unit installed, and a great job was done. Installer showed up on time, and took no time to do a great job. Now my patio room, is not a sauna box! The no duct AC unit is very quiet all the way around. I had to check on it three times to make sure it was working. The installation was not sloppy, very neat and professionally done. Thank you again, for moving us out of our family room to the new patio room. Oh I love it!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Richmond, TX, USA

Nice service person, but payment methods questionable

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Installation
I had a nice serviceman with ARS. The main problems I experienced was a faulty switch that was installed by ARS. The Service person had to replace a second time. My most frustrating point was when payment was being made via Home Depot credit, but it took contractor ARS more than 30 minutes to process. They seemed frustrated with having to process Home Depot card and suggested I should pay with check or cash. That was so frustrating and an inconvenience as I was not going to use any other method.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Grosse Pointe Woods, MI

Great value and service.

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Heating & Cooling System Installation
Very thorough assessment of needs and ample information provided for effective comparative shopping.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Heating & Cooling System Installation

heating & ac installation

PostedJune 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Heating & Cooling System Installation
The installation was professional and wonderfully done.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Nashville TN

Did not like transaction or sales pressure.

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Heating & Cooling System Installation
The entire in-home sales process was worse than buying a car. High pressure sales tactics used. I was not happy with entire purchase issue. The inittial unit was not the model I purchased and the proposed in home fix was declined. Second and correct unit installed after model# check with manufactuer on line dot com page.
I am trying to resolve with your agent. If this is unsuccessful I will contact Home Depot Directly. I will be contacting your agent/seller by phone or writing regarding some remaining issues. If no progress is made to conclude the matter I will be be in touch with Home Depot.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareSeptember 3, 2013
Hi Mr Kufner,

We'd like to apologize for your experience with our sales team. We would like to address any other concerns that you may have regarding your installation. I have also emailed you, to offer additional assistance.
Review 18 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Cape Coral Florida 33990

Great Job

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Installation
I had my HVAC system serviced by Home Depot for the second year in a I was most satisfied both times by their professionalism and honesty . The service tech. was on time as promised, he did not rush on the service and was very thurogh in what he did. am very satisfied with the service and plan to have it done again next year.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Manteca, CA

Wonderful installation crew. Knew their business and very professional

PostedMay 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Heating & Cooling System Installation
We discovered that the crew failed to reconnect the hot water heater. When called for service and the vendor responded within 24 hours. We are very impressed with Home Depot and their vendor for HVAC
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-4points
3out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Windermere, FL, USA

Hope this saves us money.

PostedMay 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Heating & Cooling System Installation
I only have a couple of complaints about our installation. We scheduled our installation to start at noon, but they showed up at 9am. I was at work, but fortunately our daughter was home to open the garage so they could begin installation. Was not happy our daughter was there with two men. Secondly, they removed our new, higher priced Honeywell thermostat and took it with them. I would have liked them to ask us if we wanted it. I would have said yes. They replaced it with almost the exact same one that was removed. The men worked from start to finish, without taking breaks. They did get the job done in a timely fashion and cleaned everything up after themselves.
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>