728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Services or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Heating & Cooling System Installation

Heating & Cooling System Installation

Overall rating:
4.327 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(208 reviews) 208
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product177 of 207reviews
Rating Breakdown 208 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(139)
4
(36)
3
(8)
2
(12)
1
(13)
86%of customersrecommend this product177 of 207reviews
Customer reviews for Heating & Cooling System Installation
Review 1 for Heating & Cooling System Installation

Excellent contractor with a fantastic eye for detail.

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We were drawn in by the credit terms but the contractor that provided the estimate won us over. Their attention to detail was tops. I've already recommend Home Depot to my neighbor.
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Bessemer, AL, USA

Less than derirable install

PostedApril 25, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The installation of the units became a nightmare. I was told this would be a two day install,instead it turned into a three week frustrating ordeal. I run a wedding chapel where these units were installed, I faced the embarrassment of having to uncover the previous vents in the middle of a wedding reception because the units were not cooling. Good customer service when notified but install crew left a lot to be desired. I was not a happy camper with install and leaks,weather have not allowed me to get a solid check air or heat as of yet,hopefully all is well,if not be prepared to hear from me.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy SherondaCustomer CareJune 8, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Please let us know if you need any further assistance with your unit or service.

Sheronda
Social Media
The Home Depot
Atlanta, GA 30339
sheronda_care@homedepot.com
Review 3 for Heating & Cooling System Installation

Fast, clean, professional did a great job

PostedMarch 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Do have one concern, the financing was set up interest free for 18 months but came in from Home Depot for 6 months. After calling they said it should be corrected after three billing periods. May want to revise the way that happens for a smoother sale and to avoid the customer having to call about the term of the financing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Lombard, IL

No problems with the install or the product.

PostedMarch 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was happy with the installation and the new furnace. We have not yet tried the AC, but the only problem was with the lines out to the unit. I thought they could have been put up higher in the joists instead of low.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Atlanta, GA, USA

EXTREMELY BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Heating & Cooling System Installation
It took over two months to complete an install of 2 A/C units and furnaces. After multiple calls because of my calls not being returned, the install was finally completed. The attic was filled with scraps of the old equipment. Overall, a very bad customer experience for a premium price.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareSeptember 4, 2014
We are sorry to hear of the delay in completing your installations. We will be sure to continue working towards improving our installation services. Thank you for your feedback.
Review 6 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Kansas City, MO, USA

Awful results with start to end.

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Heating & Cooling System Installation
The job to this day is still not completed. Was suppose to have someone at my house on June 2nd. They finally came out June 19th. And that was when they serviced and talked to me about a new A/C unit which came to $178.00. I told them I was looking for a new furnace and A/C unit. And was told at that time that what they charged me to service my old unit would be taken off of the new unit if I decided to purchase a new one. Signed al the paperwork that day to purchase a new Furnace and A/C unit. Had set up an install date a week later. When I called to find out where they were for the install I was told that they had they forgot and set Then there was a man sent out on July 2 check out the efficiency of my old unit and was charged another $78 and was told that would be taken off of my bill for the new install. I was suppose to be the 1st one on the list I was told. So he would be here by 10 am. But he didn't show up till around 4:30 pm. June 3rd they showed up to start the new install and when I was going over with what I was told was going to be done. I was told that it was not put into the service contract and that they would not be able to do the install that day and would have to reschedule. Then I made some phone calls the tech made some phone calls and the problem was solved and they continued the install. In the process of doing the install they broke one of my water lines to my water heater. They said they could not fix it because neither were plumbers and did not have the equipment to fix it. So I had to fix it myself after they left at 8:30 pm getting the system running but did not complete everything. The tech came back on July 7th the tech returned to install the humidifier which he completed. But then I went downstairs later that day and found water all over my basement floor. Where they had installed the water line for the humidifier was leaking and had to have them come back out and fix the water leak. Then had a man come out to check the efficiency of the new unit for the rebate to find out they had not installed the correct condenser unit, So I waited to hear back from them for 1 week and never heard back from them, So I called and they were out the next day to install the correct unit. I am still waiting on the efficiency check which is suppose to happen on 8/8/14. Now I have already received my bill from home depot and found out that none of $178 or $78 were taken off of my bill and that the job has not even been completed. Thought it was pretty wild to get billed before the job is even completed. Now Ready services has agreed to give me gift cards of $300 for the problems I have had to go through and I believe home depot should give me compensation for my troubles I have been trough of $200. I will be waiting to hear back from you.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Summerville, SC, USA

The new AC Unit failed 10 days after installation

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Heating & Cooling System Installation
The new system failed 10 days after installation. It took multiple calls to the installer to get it repaired. The part was not available and they would not take one off of another new unit. As a result we were without AC for several days in the summer heat and humidity. They promised us a portable unit until the part arrived but they never fulfilled that promise. They ended up saying they were all in use elsewhere. The person responsible for the installation stopped taking my calls or returning my calls. In the end the unit was repaired but it took multiple calls and longer than we should have reasonably expected. We got more excuses than service.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Los Angeles, CA, USA

Install was not as smooth and quickly done as promised.

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Heating & Cooling System Installation
The original heating installation was supposed to take 4 days, but not completed until about six weeks later. The family room was not completed and another specialist had to come out and complete that room about 3 weeks later. I was promised the wall heaters would be removed and walls repaired. The original installers removed the heaters. The drywall person came about two weeks after the final vent was installed. Since one of the wall heaters has a exposed gas line I was told I would have the get another company to do that or just cover it was a bookcase or something.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Redlands, CA, USA

Poor customer service

PostedJune 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Installation
Ac service guy came out. Didn't introduce himself.. 1st thing off the bat he said my ac was not working right. He didn't even get in the backyard. I guess he can tell by the sound. After looking at my unit he already suggested that my ac gets replace and said my unit will not last the summer. Then said a part was bad and that it would be to expensive to replace and that I should replace the unit, quoted me $12,000 to replace it... Paid the $30 for a service that has a company tell you to get a new unit when my unit has not had any problems... No filter replacement and didn't even check the freon... According to Home Depot when they call to make the appt that was the detail of the inspection. But when ac guy came out he just did visual look.. Home Depot need to be ontop of there contractors and make sure they do the work they are task to do..
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Benicia, CA, USA

Job started in June was not completed until August

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Heating & Cooling System Installation
Great product but the installation took way to long and was substandard. Thank God for city building inspectors who made them come back and do it right!
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareSeptember 2, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We apologize for the delay with your installation and workmanship. We are happy to hear that the installers did return to correct the work to your satisfaction.
Review 11 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Los Angeles, CA, USA

Owner: Installers arrived on time, were neat and overall do a very good job.

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Heating & Cooling System Installation
The salesperson and the installers seemed more knowledgeable than the others who submitted bids. The Home Depot bid was also among the lowest .
I suggest that your form proposal be clarified in two ways:
1. Make it clearer that the 5 year labor warranty is really not included. It's conditioned on paying $290+ per year for maintenance. Leaving the cost of the maintenance off the form left me feeling a bit blind sided when I discovered it.
2. Make it clearer that the HERS test is not included in the "total amount" and that payment is the responsibility of the owner--similar to the way asbestos removal is handled on the form.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
24out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Austin, TX, USA

Was overcharged and no warranty

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Installation
It was overly expensive $75 per pound of refrigerant. You can see the price of the product online at $5 or less per pound. Hence its way to overpriced even with labor. I will never use homedepot again. The technician was not able to find the leak at all. Still since it was low on refrigerant that means there was a leak somewhere. Still he charged me $100 to test the leak even though he couldn't find the problem. The leak sealant that he put comes without any warranty and that too is overpriced at $200. The price of labor and product should be separate.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Houston, TX

Blower flow rate was excessive. Eventually corrected.

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Heating & Cooling System Installation
Felt blower could have been initially adjusted to match unit that had been removed. Took two service trips. Removed programmable thermostat and replaced with single set one. Eventually installed programmable thermostat. Eveyrthing seems OK now.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Oro Valley, AZ, USA

I can not imagine a less professional relationship

PostedJune 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Installation
You installed the WRONG water heater!! The wrong size
the wrong capacity, and the wrong warranty. I paid for the
correct heater, but was given a lesser model because "IT
was out of stock"...It does not work!!!! No shower. No live
body returns calls...not the store..Not corporate..The install
company blames Home Depot..and Home Depot blames
the installation...BE VERY CAREFUL OF THIS COMPANY
+26points
32out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Heating & Cooling System Installation

Less than reputable service

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Installation
The Company chosen to service my system pulled some shady practices while at my home.
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Lansdale, Pa

technician didn't seem interested in doing the job

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Installation
Also said needed 2lbs and wound up charging me for 4, so an expected $90 visit, wound up being $250.
hopefully his inspection was thorough.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Heating & Cooling System Installation

Air Conditioning repair

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Installation
I very much appreciated the quick and responsive service on the repair of AC unit. But I was not satisfied with the diagnostics of the overall system as I did not receive a written estimate as promised. I was told that by repair technician that he projected the AC unit would not last the summer and other verbal problems with entire unit would create future problems because of its age. I requested written estimate of repairs and never received it.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Heating & Cooling System Installation

Great job, good product

PostedMay 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Heating & Cooling System Installation
Got the no duct AC unit installed, and a great job was done. Installer showed up on time, and took no time to do a great job. Now my patio room, is not a sauna box! The no duct AC unit is very quiet all the way around. I had to check on it three times to make sure it was working. The installation was not sloppy, very neat and professionally done. Thank you again, for moving us out of our family room to the new patio room. Oh I love it!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Roselle il

Bad contractor

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Installation
Ars is bad contractor very expensive service missleadiding advertisment at the store as far as spring cleanup go Ars charge 240 $ for replacing the part on ac that cost 14.99 at the store and took 5 min to replace
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Atlanta GA

AFter installation of air conditioning unit, not all parts were replaced so had to return to replace

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This review is from:Heating & Cooling System Installation
Average work because not all new parts were used so had to return to replace part. Also extra loud noise when running the air con. Inspector did not come to do final inspection of installation.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>