728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Services or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Vinyl Window Project

Vinyl Window Project

Overall rating:
4.234 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(4226 reviews) 4226
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product3,448 of 4,133reviews
Rating Breakdown 4,226 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(2,682)
4
(694)
3
(304)
2
(247)
1
(299)
83%of customersrecommend this product3,448 of 4,133reviews
Customer reviews for Vinyl Window Project
Review 1 for Vinyl Window Project
from Laurel, MD, USA

Extremely POOR Installation

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Door was of meddling quality, but 1) door with incorrect opening direction was installed, 2) door was flipped to complete installation leaving the locking mechanism oriented at the bottom of the door handles, 3) baseplate and threshold removed, but only baseplate re-installed (raw wood), 4) 1.5 inch gap around door frame on three sides, back filled gap, partially, with loose insulation, and covered gap with aluminum capping, 5) door was tensioned (side to side) using screws (approx. 3" in length) with only 1" or less actually imbedded in wood, 6) Door keys were not with door.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer careJanuary 12, 2015
Vernon, we thank you for your review and will be sure to contact you to discuss your concerns to see that they are all addressed.
Review 2 for Vinyl Window Project
from Ormond Beach, FL, USA

I can see !!!

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a great experience with Home Depot. Very good communication from the sales presentation to the final installation. We had a small mishap that the first set of windows were too small- turns out all the windows were measured wrong. A supervisor was called, he arrived with in an hour. New measurements were made and new windows ordered. 2 weeks later the second set of windows fit good! Due to the complexity of our old windows- the install took 2 full days- the guys that did it were very good and knew how to fix any glitch that came up. They even put up new trim inside and outside. The original windows were about 30 yrs old- with "fog" spots- its so nice to see outside!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Vinyl Window Project
from Rutland, VT, USA

Seamless installation process from beginning to end with excellent results.

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The entire window replacement process was seamless. The process began with the installer estimating the job, showing the available materials, upon accepting the job explaining different financial options, doing a second measure of the job, ordering the materials, calling for an appointment, starting and completing the job. The entire installation far exceeded my expectation. We never knew they were there - they even washed the windows. The pictures do not do the windows justice. There were 14 windows that replaced 14 storm windows - we can already feel a difference in the heat gain - they did an excellent job of fitting the storm window openings.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Vinyl Window Project
from Minnesota, USA

Run the other way!

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
13 days ago, my windows were "installed". By that, I mean they were put in place. The exterior wrap has still not been put on, and no one can give me an exact time when it will be completed. Calls to the "Operations Center" (read: typical call center where things are promised and not delivered) are fruitless. Raising a complaint through the Project Website (one of HD's 'big' selling points) will net you a call from someone clueless, who is likely to completely misunderstand your issue. Emailing HD's "teamsocial" email account is a waste of time, as you'll likely get nothing back. Keep in mind, this is the same "Operations Center" that sent out installers to my house, without everything they needed to complete the job in the first place.
The installers were nice guys, so I hate to get them caught up in this. It's not their fault their employer didn't lineup everything they needed to get the job done, and still sent them to do the job. That's on Home Depot.
Screws are missing, the handles on my casement windows were delivered broken (but it will only take a MONTH to get them replaced), there is no latch mechanism on the frame of my patio door, and debris/trim was left in my yard. No one seems to really care...despite several complaints via multiple channels.
At this point, if I could have gone with ANY other vendor/provider, I'd have done so. If they would take the windows back and refund my money, I'd do it. This has been an absolute disaster full of regret and frustration.
The attached pictures are 13 days AFTER my "installation".
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Vinyl Window Project

Overall satisfied with product

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
In the beginning, we had a few issues with scheduling the install due to the installation tech not being made aware of the proper install date, but luckily we were available the day he called to come over and it worked out fine. The only other issue was that the installation tech did smell strongly of smoke which filled our non-smoking home with the scent long after he was gone. I am mildly allergic to smoke, so it was a little bit of a burden to deal with the scent afterward. Otherwise, the installer installed the window to our satisfaction, cleaned up after himself and showed me how to use and clean it. A day or so later, my husband commented that the external sealant quality could have been better and maybe a little cleaner, but the window serves its purpose and a few weeks out it seems to be doing its job.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Vinyl Window Project

Need to send more qualified installer

PostedDecember 26, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very sloppy, broke a lamp, an alarm clock, got white caulking on flat screen television which was nowhere near the window. Left drop cloth. Left broken glass outside on Front porch, back patio and master bedroom. Left some wood debri in bathroom. Left caulking container in front lawn. I am not satisfied how the back windows look. Different moulding was used in back of house same window were installed in front of house same day.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Vinyl Window Project
from Wesley Chapel, FL, USA

Disastrous installation

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Install delayed repeatedly. Window exterior frames were bent and gaping from side of window. No insulation in empty airspace around windows. Broke 3 marble sills, 1 was caulked to hide. Messy caulking.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Vinyl Window Project
from Albany, NY, USA

still going

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The pre-installation work was great, then the fun began. After being told that I didn't need to be there I had to cut my camping trip short to be back for one of the installers. They left product wrappers hanging in the trees around the property, So many nails that I spent a day picking them up and then it took 3 weeks for them to take back the mound of extra material. 2nd project is still underway, it would have been nice to be told that they were not required to put the trim back on after they replaced the windows and that they were not going to be doing the work the way I requested. Now here I am almost a month later still waiting for the last window to be installed after 2 measurements.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Vinyl Window Project
from North Myrtle Beach, SC, USA

Very professional and quick!

PostedJanuary 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I own a 50 year old beach house with 40 year old windows and was expecting good but was impressed beyond that. From the consultation to the installation everything was perfect.....You guys will be getting my future business!!!
Thank you!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Vinyl Window Project
from West Milford, NJ, USA

Quick, great team. Very experienced. Cleaned after each window.

PostedDecember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I needed 15 windows installed. The next day, the weather was supposed to be terrible. This crew knew exactly what to do and how to to it. They had precut the pieces of insulation which expedited the install. They didn't take a break for anything, knowing that the next day, the weather would not have permitted them to work on the house. They worked into the dark, answered any questions and reviewed all the paperwork with me. The install went perfectly and now I do not have any drafts coming from my windows. Great job! Great windows!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Vinyl Window Project
from Port Charlotte, FL, USA

Great and timely job.

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Everything ran smoothly from start to end. Everybody was nice and professional.
I asked to rush a job to be done before Christmas and you did it right on time!
Thank you "Home Depot" !
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Vinyl Window Project
from Chelsea, MA, USA

Good product great installers

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The windows are as good as expected, the installation was difficult because of building buy they adapted and did a great job, I appreciate thier efforts
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Vinyl Window Project
from ft myers florida

very poor product and installation

PostedJune 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
windows leak - most do not work properly - at least one was installed at an angle, crooked. caulk easily peels and or rubs off which results in no seal. the screws through the bottom seal were not even attached to anything.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Vinyl Window Project
from Sparks, NV, USA

Still not done. No update on anything. What a nightmare. Been two weeks and no one has contacted us about anything

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Appointment was for 1-3pm. He showed up at 5pm. Worked until 9pm. Had to come back to finish the install. Called mr Rowe and told him that he had ordered the wrong door. He said he would call back before 5pm the next day.he NEVER called. We went to Home Depot and called him so he could see which door we paid for. He said he was busy. I questioned why his estimate was so high. He said I could get a different contractor but there would be NO warranty. Did not explain why he was higher than the first estimate.No one has given us a update of them doing anything this was installed September 18&20th. His boss mr Scott said he would order the proper doors. No response in 2weeks since install they have no problem sending the billing invoice . SO WHAT DO WE DO NOW??
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareOctober 7, 2014
Anna we appreciate your review and will be sure to follow up with you to discuss how we can help. Thanks for your patience while we look into this for you.
Review 15 for Vinyl Window Project

excellent, professional and timely

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The installation process was seamless which was admirable.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Vinyl Window Project

door beautiful but window needs attention

PostedNovember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We ordered a garden window and patio door. Both installs were to be on the second floor. When the installer came, he was somewhat surprised by the difficulty on the window. The door install went well. There was a postpone for the window until they could bring in a scaffold and more manpower to raise the window into position. The finished product, (window), has a few flaws.My cabinet maker pointed out the window is not plumb and sure enough, it's out by a half inch in 5 ft. For the price, I expected the exterior to be finished on the roof portion and it is not. It has been caulked but not painted and seeing how I'm in my 70's, I now need to hire someone to paint the exposed wood. The covering on the roof has lifted and the installers left roofing material on top of the main roof. Lastly the trim inside wasn't done and we had our handyman install it. The rating numbers apply to the window. The door seems to be perfect.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Vinyl Window Project
from San Francisco, CA, USA

No recourse if anything goes wrong

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had three windows installed by Home Depot - two big windows and one small.
The big windows went in exactly as I expected and they look fine.
The little one however, was much smaller than I expected or wanted. The glass area went from 16" wide on the old window to only 8" wide on the new one. I was not informed at any point during the sales, measuring, or ordering process that the window would change in size.
When I saw the installers putting it in, I immediately voiced my concern. The installer called his manager, who said they could get a different window that was bigger. I said ok, and I called Home Depot representative to tell them about my concern and the installer’s promise. Since the little window was going to be replaced again anyway, they never sealed around the edges. Then Home Depot marked the job as complete and took their payment on the same day.
It’s now been almost two weeks and at least a half-dozen phone calls to Home Depot, and I still have no confirmation when or whether anything will happen at all. Every time I call in, I get some very nice individual who apologizes for the inconvenience and assures me they will figure it all out and that they will call me back right away. Then no call, nothing.
Now I’m now starting to think I've been given a run-around, that nothing will ever happen no matter how many times I call or how many people I talk to, and that I might have to just seal up this tiny window myself.
Before, I was considering going to Home Depot for several other projects around the house, such as flooring, but now I don’t trust them anymore.
I’m sure many of Home Depot’s jobs go very well with no problems, and that’s fine. But if anything does go wrong, you have no recourse.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy The Home DepotNovember 20, 2014
Hello,

Apologies for your experience with this install. We would be happy to look into this further; a specialist with our Home Services Escalations team will be following up with you by Saturday 11/22. Thank you again for the feedback.


-Alex
Review 18 for Vinyl Window Project
from Hemet, CA

Efficient and knowledgeable install.

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The windows arrived ahead of schedule. The installation went smoothly. The installers were very professional and personable.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Vinyl Window Project
from Douglasville, GA, USA

Love everything about this installation

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installers were very efficient & knowledgeable about product. Installation went smoothly & when they finished, you would have never known they had been here, other than the great windows in my "new house",,,,,,everyone from sales rep, project manager, to installers wonderful to work with. Have more projects in the spring planned. Will definitely call Home Depot
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Vinyl Window Project

had problems with order

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I had problems with the order and people communicating with me, consequently my order was delayed by over two weeks, I only found out after I had gone to the store to inquire, This was very frustrating,
I then had problems with the installers- their truck broke down and I was never contacted. After making phone calls to the help line and the regional installation manager I was put in contact with the installer who wanted to start the installation process at 7:30 at night- not acceptable.
I contacted Jeff, the store manager and he got involved.
I was promised a 200 dollar home depot gift card by the installer manager- I have yet to receive that gift card, it was been about six weeks since the installation.
The windows are great- the communication process was very poor at the beginning.
Still waiting for the gift card.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 212 >>