728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Services or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Vinyl Window Project

Vinyl Window Project

Overall rating:
4.232 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(4054 reviews) 4054
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product3,311 of 3,968reviews
Rating Breakdown 4,054 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(2,570)
4
(666)
3
(294)
2
(237)
1
(287)
83%of customersrecommend this product3,311 of 3,968reviews
Customer reviews for Vinyl Window Project
Review 1 for Vinyl Window Project
from Minnesota, USA

Run the other way!

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
13 days ago, my windows were "installed". By that, I mean they were put in place. The exterior wrap has still not been put on, and no one can give me an exact time when it will be completed. Calls to the "Operations Center" (read: typical call center where things are promised and not delivered) are fruitless. Raising a complaint through the Project Website (one of HD's 'big' selling points) will net you a call from someone clueless, who is likely to completely misunderstand your issue. Emailing HD's "teamsocial" email account is a waste of time, as you'll likely get nothing back. Keep in mind, this is the same "Operations Center" that sent out installers to my house, without everything they needed to complete the job in the first place.
The installers were nice guys, so I hate to get them caught up in this. It's not their fault their employer didn't lineup everything they needed to get the job done, and still sent them to do the job. That's on Home Depot.
Screws are missing, the handles on my casement windows were delivered broken (but it will only take a MONTH to get them replaced), there is no latch mechanism on the frame of my patio door, and debris/trim was left in my yard. No one seems to really care...despite several complaints via multiple channels.
At this point, if I could have gone with ANY other vendor/provider, I'd have done so. If they would take the windows back and refund my money, I'd do it. This has been an absolute disaster full of regret and frustration.
The attached pictures are 13 days AFTER my "installation".
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Vinyl Window Project
from Albany, NY, USA

still going

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The pre-installation work was great, then the fun began. After being told that I didn't need to be there I had to cut my camping trip short to be back for one of the installers. They left product wrappers hanging in the trees around the property, So many nails that I spent a day picking them up and then it took 3 weeks for them to take back the mound of extra material. 2nd project is still underway, it would have been nice to be told that they were not required to put the trim back on after they replaced the windows and that they were not going to be doing the work the way I requested. Now here I am almost a month later still waiting for the last window to be installed after 2 measurements.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Vinyl Window Project

door beautiful but window needs attention

PostedNovember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We ordered a garden window and patio door. Both installs were to be on the second floor. When the installer came, he was somewhat surprised by the difficulty on the window. The door install went well. There was a postpone for the window until they could bring in a scaffold and more manpower to raise the window into position. The finished product, (window), has a few flaws.My cabinet maker pointed out the window is not plumb and sure enough, it's out by a half inch in 5 ft. For the price, I expected the exterior to be finished on the roof portion and it is not. It has been caulked but not painted and seeing how I'm in my 70's, I now need to hire someone to paint the exposed wood. The covering on the roof has lifted and the installers left roofing material on top of the main roof. Lastly the trim inside wasn't done and we had our handyman install it. The rating numbers apply to the window. The door seems to be perfect.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Vinyl Window Project
from San Francisco, CA, USA

No recourse if anything goes wrong

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had three windows installed by Home Depot - two big windows and one small.
The big windows went in exactly as I expected and they look fine.
The little one however, was much smaller than I expected or wanted. The glass area went from 16" wide on the old window to only 8" wide on the new one. I was not informed at any point during the sales, measuring, or ordering process that the window would change in size.
When I saw the installers putting it in, I immediately voiced my concern. The installer called his manager, who said they could get a different window that was bigger. I said ok, and I called Home Depot representative to tell them about my concern and the installer’s promise. Since the little window was going to be replaced again anyway, they never sealed around the edges. Then Home Depot marked the job as complete and took their payment on the same day.
It’s now been almost two weeks and at least a half-dozen phone calls to Home Depot, and I still have no confirmation when or whether anything will happen at all. Every time I call in, I get some very nice individual who apologizes for the inconvenience and assures me they will figure it all out and that they will call me back right away. Then no call, nothing.
Now I’m now starting to think I've been given a run-around, that nothing will ever happen no matter how many times I call or how many people I talk to, and that I might have to just seal up this tiny window myself.
Before, I was considering going to Home Depot for several other projects around the house, such as flooring, but now I don’t trust them anymore.
I’m sure many of Home Depot’s jobs go very well with no problems, and that’s fine. But if anything does go wrong, you have no recourse.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy The Home DepotNovember 20, 2014
Hello,

Apologies for your experience with this install. We would be happy to look into this further; a specialist with our Home Services Escalations team will be following up with you by Saturday 11/22. Thank you again for the feedback.


-Alex
Review 5 for Vinyl Window Project
from Sparks, NV, USA

Still not done. No update on anything. What a nightmare. Been two weeks and no one has contacted us about anything

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Appointment was for 1-3pm. He showed up at 5pm. Worked until 9pm. Had to come back to finish the install. Called mr Rowe and told him that he had ordered the wrong door. He said he would call back before 5pm the next day.he NEVER called. We went to Home Depot and called him so he could see which door we paid for. He said he was busy. I questioned why his estimate was so high. He said I could get a different contractor but there would be NO warranty. Did not explain why he was higher than the first estimate.No one has given us a update of them doing anything this was installed September 18&20th. His boss mr Scott said he would order the proper doors. No response in 2weeks since install they have no problem sending the billing invoice . SO WHAT DO WE DO NOW??
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareOctober 7, 2014
Anna we appreciate your review and will be sure to follow up with you to discuss how we can help. Thanks for your patience while we look into this for you.
Review 6 for Vinyl Window Project
from Friendswood, TX, USA

terrible install process and great results

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The installers were late by two hours both days without calling. It rained earlier in the day and they did not put booties on or take their shoes off making a terrible mess all through our house. The installation process took two days due to their tardiness which was a horrible inconvenience.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Vinyl Window Project
from ft myers florida

very poor product and installation

PostedJune 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
windows leak - most do not work properly - at least one was installed at an angle, crooked. caulk easily peels and or rubs off which results in no seal. the screws through the bottom seal were not even attached to anything.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Vinyl Window Project
from Dallas, TX, USA

Very Happy!

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The scheduling went well, the presentation did too. The measure was fine, there was a little disocnnnect about some tempered glass that required an additional visit, but did not hinder the time line. The Install team was great! I was not happy to find out HD billed me for the deposit and the final payment at the same time, but a short schedule, so it did not matter that much. Really love my new windows, looking forward to my new doors soon!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Vinyl Window Project

had problems with order

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I had problems with the order and people communicating with me, consequently my order was delayed by over two weeks, I only found out after I had gone to the store to inquire, This was very frustrating,
I then had problems with the installers- their truck broke down and I was never contacted. After making phone calls to the help line and the regional installation manager I was put in contact with the installer who wanted to start the installation process at 7:30 at night- not acceptable.
I contacted Jeff, the store manager and he got involved.
I was promised a 200 dollar home depot gift card by the installer manager- I have yet to receive that gift card, it was been about six weeks since the installation.
The windows are great- the communication process was very poor at the beginning.
Still waiting for the gift card.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Vinyl Window Project
from Sherrills Ford, NC, USA

Excellent process from start to finish

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We were very impressed with all the people we delt with from appraisal to install and setting all this up
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Vinyl Window Project
from Overland Park, KS

lots of problems

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
but were handled well, I was promised a gift card for all of the issues with my project, but I never got it. Did not like having to give out my drivers license three times to three different people when processing my check. Should not have been necessary. The other problems, (ie wrong sized windows, extra long waiting period and the installation of a window under a crawl space had to be install with the lock outside of the house. Need that gift card to buy an outside cover over the window to deter anyone from trying to crawl inside the house.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Vinyl Window Project
from Morrisville, NC, USA

My blinds was broken during the installation

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My blinds were broken and I got no answer for support team yet. Also I should have laminated glass but there is no indication on the label that came with windows. I emailed sale rep but no response from the rep. Very bad customers service and negligence information provided by sales rep.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareOctober 6, 2014
We're sorry to hear of any troubles that you may be facing regarding your installation. We will be sure to follow up with you to address any concerns you may have. Thanks for your feedback.
Review 13 for Vinyl Window Project

Not a smooth installation process, workmanship fair

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The procees took too long, poor communication with us and no inspection of final work with us from the store to evaluate how the installer did. The workmanship was not great. I expressed my concerns with Ashley at 1-877-903-3768 on 10/3/14 but there has been no follow up with us since. My account was assessed the full contracted amt before the work was ever completed and evaluated. I have been a long standing HD customer and find this unacceptable. I would like someone to call me asap fo discuss this further.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Vinyl Window Project

shoddy quality

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
1. old window
2.and 3. and 4. new window.
installer had to work around the measuring mistakes made leaving 2in., more on inside window sill instead of on it..new window is sitting outside of it.
It was brought to us with adhesive hanging around the splits top and bottom..caulking, if u will.
half screens do not stay up and the corners are not together. can see thru cracks where corners meet.
have reported this to all involved.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareSeptember 19, 2014
Hi Christy, we will be sure to contact you to go over your concerns regarding your window install. We appreciate you letting us know. Thank you.
Review 15 for Vinyl Window Project
from Kern County, CA, USA

Best windows install ever!!

PostedDecember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love my windows! They installed them fast and no hassle.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Vinyl Window Project

too expensive, too long to get done and so-so quality

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I only wanted one window installed and to do that I must have had to talk to 10+ people to get that done, sales, someone to measure, an installer. The whole thing took an incredible amount of time. I started this in August and it wasn't installed until the middle of November. You got to be kidding. I also had to talk to customer service multiple times to coordinate this. I just needed one window! I didn't think I had time to find and installer who would just get the window and install it. In reality I did and I could have gotten it done for 1/2 the price. I am very dissatisfied.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Vinyl Window Project
from Temecula, CA, USA

Installation to three attempts!!!

PostedMay 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My window initially broke back in February. I called and they had an employee out the next day to measure and order me a new window. A few days later the installer came by to see the damaged window and said I purchased the wrong type of window from the salesman that came to my house. He had me complete new paperwork and added an additional charge for upgrading the window so it would look like the other windows in the house. Approximately a month later the window arrived and I was contacted to make an appointment to have it installed. The installers showed up an attempted to install the window but it was not the correct window. The window was reorder and I was told I would be contact once it arrived to setup a new installation date. I was contacted again that the window had arrived and I called and spoke with an agent that made the appointment and then the day they were supposed to show up to install the window I received a phone call to see how the installation went and I told her they never showed. She sounded confused and asked if she could call me back. We were then contacted by another installer saying the window was incorrect again and that they were going to have to reorder it again. At this point we asked for a specific date for the new window since we were pushing two months. The installer said he would call back and then never returned phone message. At this point I Contact with Home depot and was told that they pretty much just sale the windows and that we need to deal with the installers for the remainder of the process. I expressed my disappointment with home depot and there customer service and at that point they did assist me in communication with the company installing the window. After approximately two and a half months the window was finally installed correctly. I will not be purchasing anymore windows from Home depot. This was a process that was extremely too long for a broken window. There seemed to no sense of urgency. If Home Depot is going to contract out there work they should take a little pride in what they do and at least attempt to communicate with the installers and their customers.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Vinyl Window Project

Window Frame Warped - Bad Install

PostedJune 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Window was installed earlier this month. Serviceman came out to my residence on June 28 to address issue with sash not closing smoothly. The serviceman is going to order a lower sash and screen. The issue is clearly that the whole frame was not properly squared at time of install. I also pointed out the obvious signs of the unsquare frame, but the serviceman decided to order a sash and screen to see if that will resolve the issue. At this point, I'm losing a little confidence. I would like customer service to assure me they will resolve the issue properly.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Vinyl Window Project
from Ambler, PA, USA

Good install process but lacking after-installation service

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installers were good, very professional, explained every step, & cleaned up completely.
After they left, we noticed what appears to be a defect in one of the windows & vent stops that were installed upside down. Immediately entered request for service online & received a call back same day saying would schedule service visit on followup call. Played telephone tag for a couple days & was finally told service tech would call to schedule. Received that call 5 days later (9 days post-install & initial service request) & service tech wanted to come next day. Explained that we would need another option to schedule time off from work. Service tech said he would call back the following week to schedule - that was just over 4 weeks ago. Still waiting for that call.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Vinyl Window Project
from Boise, ID, USA

Install good

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First visit 8/12 second visit 8/13. Person said he would rush order. Took credit card details. 8/15 card did not go through. Said they had tried card twice. My bank said no they did not. Said took deposit,I said how much he said I don't know. Said windows were being made, a month later I was told they are not being made. Phone call were not returned. Windows were installed almost 2 months later. Friends advice was go to BBB and get someone else to install windows. This will be the first and last time I get anything done through Home Depot. I feel I deserve some sort of compensation for putting up with all this nonsense.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareOctober 21, 2014
Maxine, thank you for your feedback. We will be sure to contact you to discuss your concerns and assist further to accommodate your request.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 203 >>