728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Services or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Vinyl Window Project

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Vinyl Window Project

Overall rating:
4.249 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(4875 reviews) 4875
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product3,978 of 4,757reviews
Rating Breakdown 4,875 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(3,123)
4
(795)
3
(345)
2
(270)
1
(342)
84%of customersrecommend this product3,978 of 4,757reviews
Customer reviews for Vinyl Window Project
Review 1 for Vinyl Window Project
from Portland, OR, USA

Very Disappointing Customer Service (or Lack of)

PostedJuly 29, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very, very disappointed with the lack of customer service we received during the whole process. It was as if once they charged our card (got paid) they couldn’t care if we got what we ordered or not. Not until we threatened to cancel the project and demand a full refund did anyone even call us back!
It all began in early spring, after the showers had passed. No seriously, the process started the beginning of April. The Salesman was great, only he ended up selling a window design that could not be created, so at our expense we had to re-create the window weeks after the initial purchase (on our HD CC). Of course the re-design was $1000 more added to the total cost of the project. We were advised it takes on average 20-40 days to order, build and install a new window. Great!
So after that, we waited, and waited and waited. Finally after 20 days or so, we started calling the contact numbers we were given. We left message after message after message with NO RETURNED CALLS. It was beyond frustrating. Finally we started moving up the food chain to the regional manager, and finally started getting some call backs. But that communication, of course, dissipated and we were back to chasing them for information. Finally after a couple of months, we got a new project manager who was much better at returning calls. What was the holdup you ask? Well HD kept going back and forth with the manufacturer about the window size (HD measured the window for us, not our fault). But there was still a huge communication gap between us, HD and the manufacturer!
Finally at the end of July (yes 4 months later, longest 20-40 days of my life right?!) the window is finally installed. The installer was AWESOME; he was a very nice guy and did a phenomenal job. It is a beautiful window, and hey, it won't mold. Only time will tell though, we still get internal condensation which is why we replaced the old wood window. :/
So all in all OK.
Quality (so far 5 stars#,
Install #5 stars),
Customer Service = only 1 because I couldn't give 0.
This was truly a horrible experience, which is sad because they did all our other windows and front door with no hiccups. They didn’t even offer to extend our interest for the 4 long months they took to build/install it. They didn’t even offer a discount for the inconvenience of the whole project. I doubt we will be using them again for any more major projects/installs.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Vinyl Window Project
from Indianapolis, IN, USA

Excellent communication, quick clean install, one complaint

PostedAugust 26, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was thrilled with the frequent email alerts leading up to my window install. Installation was quick and looks very nice. However i did notice two pieces of rotten wood were left under the window. When i asked the installer, he said this wood wasnt on the original order. Obviously the salesman could not see inside the walls, but the installer could and he did not suggest replacing the damaged wood. Instead he just secured the window and covered up the rotten wood. I wish the installer would have been looking out for my home's best interest rather than expediting the job.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Vinyl Window Project

Very pleased with Home Depot window installation

PostedJuly 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is our second window installation project with Home Depot and the first was at a previous house we lived in. Without a doubt, we would not change either of these purchase decisions. Windows are durable and efficient, and installation is professional and done right. Another happy customer.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Vinyl Window Project
from Navarre, FL, USA

The 1 1/2 day install has taken a week and still not completed.

PostedMay 20, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
How do you screw up with window measurements when you're doing almost identical floor sizes. Doesn't anyone check these orders as they come in from manufacturer? One sliding glass door comes in 9" too wide. This has made us change our summer plans to accommodate this mistake. Installers need a lesson on clean up before leaving a job. Leaving tools and dirty screens on a bed comforter is not acceptable. Leaving behind glass and pieces of metal debris is not acceptable. We've had to sweep up sawdust so our neighbors don't have it blown into their property. Still don't know if all the caulking is completed around all the windows. No one has called me to tell me that was finished. We're not happy at all over this project.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareMay 22, 2015
Rose, we're sorry to hear of the troubles you've had with your window installation. We will be sure to look into this for you and see that you are contacted to address the workmanship of this project. Thanks for your continued patience.
Review 5 for Vinyl Window Project
from Franklin,ma

Good install, guys did a great job.

PostedJune 24, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Windows seem a bit cheap than expected, I'm selling the house anyway, so won't know how they wear as the years go by. Installers did a good job and kept the house clean.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Vinyl Window Project
from South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150, USA

A bad job done poorly

PostedFebruary 2, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The whole process took way longer then originally estimated and I was asked to sign for job completion before the project was complete (which I did with a note stating the job was not complete). Even through they had to make three trips to complete the work it was not done properly and I am left to clean up after them and hire someone else to finish the work (sealing the outside and inside properly, re-cutting the trim to match the original, re-running the electric for the lights BEHIND the trim as it was before, etc.). I didn't have high expectations but this is well below what I would consider even the minimum of what should have been done. I have no intention of using Home Depot ever again and will not be recommending them to anyone in the future.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Vinyl Window Project
from Easton, PA

The entire process from start to completion was extraordinary.

PostedJuly 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a bay window and a double hung window installed in my living room and I am 100% satisfied with the entire process. The installers were fantastic!!! I highly recommend the Home Depot team and will use them again in the future.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Vinyl Window Project
from Mundelein, IL, USA

Excellent product, price, service and installation

PostedAugust 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised about using Home Depot for my home improvement project (windows). After getting some severe "sticker shock" from quotes provided by other local contractors, I decided to give Home Depot a call. After learning that their Home services not only sold excellent material but would also manage the project and I would only deal with one primary contact I was intrigued. When I was shown the quality of material and total price, including installation, I hired them on the spot and am so glad I did. They did an excellent job on the install and made the front of my house look fabulous. Now I'm thinking of other projects I want to give to Home Depot to help fix my house at reasonable cost and great value.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Vinyl Window Project

Complicated process poor communications.

PostedJune 24, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
During our process we had to different points of contact,
One gave us a price and informed us he would be with us throughout the install, then we never saw him again and when we received our bill it was 3,000.00 more then what we agreed upon. This issue is still being worked.
The second contact sent his crew out without him being present, they showed up in a beat up truck which looked as if it came from the junk yard and were poorly dressed and not providing any Home Depot installer identification. My wife had enough concern to have to call me to let them in. Then two of the windows he had ordered were not even on the truck and he had to re order them along with three others that were not right so we had to wait another two weeks for the job to finish but it gets better he talked us into signing that the job was complete so his managers could get their bonus. After they left the first time he was very hard to get ahold of to inquire when the job would be finished. I even had to call the store to track him down.
I also had to call him to inform him that his crew had broken out one of the porch lights when carrying one of the windows to its location.
So I am not very happy with this service and will not recommend in the future.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Vinyl Window Project
from Pollock Pines, CA, USA

Best Customer Support!

PostedMarch 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I chose 6 windows that were on sale and upon arrival after 3 months, were the wrong customization (and 1 was even the wrong size). Even after on-site pre-measuring. But when I called upset, I could not have received better customer service and treatment from my area's install manager, who got my new windows delivered in record time. My installers were neat, efficient, courteous, and caring. Did a wonderful job and now I couldn't be happier with the entire HD Install project!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Vinyl Window Project
from New York, USA

Great installation. Clean work and very professional.

PostedJuly 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Contractor did an excellant job of installing the window. Explained exactly what they were doing. Fantastic clean up both inside the house and outside. Removed all debris. Would give them my highest recommendation.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Vinyl Window Project
from WURTSBORO N.Y.

JOB WELL DONE

PostedMay 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
EXCELLENT WORK. I COULD NOT RECOGNIZ MY OWN HOUSE. CLEAN UP AFTER WORK.EXCLLENT.
ROOF, WINDOWS & SIDEDING GREAT PRICE.ONE SHOP DEALS . I'LL WAYS COME BACK.
RUTHANN
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Vinyl Window Project
from Venice, FL.

Average

PostedJuly 8, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Installers were very nice but one window sills was broken in the process and had to be replaced. We had several delays with the project which was frustrating. I had to keep after my contacts to see when things would be finished.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Vinyl Window Project

Great bang for the buck!

PostedJune 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
HD did a great job with the speed and efficiency of the install of my impact windows. they said they would be there on a particular day, and they were. the price and finance options were second to none and Jorge, my project manager was great and full of knowledge.
the only negative on the experience was that the my house was left very dusty... and they have to come back to paint a couple of areas. they also removed some bars that were covering the old windows and didn't fix the area where the bars were attached to house.
with that said, i would DEF. use Home Depot again.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Vinyl Window Project
from Laurel, MD, USA

Extremely POOR Installation

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Door was of meddling quality, but 1) door with incorrect opening direction was installed, 2) door was flipped to complete installation leaving the locking mechanism oriented at the bottom of the door handles, 3) baseplate and threshold removed, but only baseplate re-installed (raw wood), 4) 1.5 inch gap around door frame on three sides, back filled gap, partially, with loose insulation, and covered gap with aluminum capping, 5) door was tensioned (side to side) using screws (approx. 3" in length) with only 1" or less actually imbedded in wood, 6) Door keys were not with door.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer careJanuary 12, 2015
Vernon, we thank you for your review and will be sure to contact you to discuss your concerns to see that they are all addressed.
Review 16 for Vinyl Window Project
from VERNON VT

POOR ALL THE WAY AROUND !!!!

PostedJuly 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I WONT DO THIS AGAIN!!! FILL IN HALF INCH GAP WITH SILICONE ?. ETC… 1CANCELATION .1 NO CALL NO SHOW. 1 CANCEL DAY OF PROJECT. GO TO MAKE 4TH APPOINT THEY SAY COMING THE NEXT DAY WHEN IT IS NEWS TO ME ?? AND WHY DO YOU NEED TO FILL IN GAPS WITH SILICONE ANYWAYS??? HOWEVER SALES REP WAS DECENT
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Vinyl Window Project
from Fredericksburg, VA, USA

7 Replacement Vantage Point/Simonton Windows Installed

PostedJune 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This was my first big purchase as a first time homeowner and I'm glad I decided to go with windows instead of a privacy fence. I could only open two of the old windows, only two of the seven had screens, they lost so much heat during the winter months, and I could hear all the traffic from the road. The new ones have sound barriers and ALL OPEN with ease! I am very happy and excited to see how much lower my heating bill will be in the winter months.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Vinyl Window Project
from Germantown, MD, USA

I love my new windows!

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The installation of my new windows went well. My new windows are beautiful and functional. The sliders on the windows are easy to use. I had a lot of neighbors stopped by during the install to inquire about the new windows. What they were told was to call Home Depot.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Vinyl Window Project

Good quality products and installation was vey good

PostedAugust 26, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
The warehouse lost our materials and my wife had to burn a day off because they couldn't come out that day. It took several phone calls on our end to find out where the material was and when they would be out to install. We were told that we would be called immediately to update us on where the materials were. Got nothing. Very disappointed in the start up process.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Vinyl Window Project
from Capon Bridge, WV 26711, USA

Installation process huge headache took 9 months

PostedJune 17, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ordered wrong windows twice!!!! Three times did not call just no show!!!! Said we would adjust balance for inconvenience forgot this and gave a price more than we owed!!!! Received call after payment received saying we owed 500 more dollars we didn't owe!!!! Have bought numerous supplies at lowes since horrible expense will not step back in Home Depot!!!!!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 244 >>