728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Services or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Vinyl Window Project

Vinyl Window Project

Overall rating:
4.257 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(2825 reviews) 2825
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product2,326 of 2,770reviews
Rating Breakdown 2,825 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(1,827)
4
(441)
3
(202)
2
(165)
1
(190)
84%of customersrecommend this product2,326 of 2,770reviews
Customer reviews for Vinyl Window Project
Review 1 for Vinyl Window Project
LJ1960
from Tabernacle, NJ, USA

Poor communication

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had a scheduled install on a Monday morning. HD called me on Sunday evening to tell me that the installers truck had broken down on Friday and evidently didn't get it fixed over the weekend so he had to cancel. NOT my problem! I had to take time off of work for the install and was unable to change my schedule nor did I feel I should have to. HD should have taken care of the problem and NEVER involved me in 'their problem'. They called back and said they found someone to come but he might have to come a second day to finish because he was already scheduled to do something else. It actually took FOUR DAYS to complete my job!!! HD salesman assured me it was a ONE DAY install. HE LIED!!! I will never have HD do any work for me again. I could have saved a LOT of money if I had gotten a local contractor. However, I was told that the windows I was getting were some "special" window that ONLY HD installers can do......NOT. I found out that I could have purchased them myself from another HD location and had my own contractor install the SAME WINDOW! Bottom line, I was very much inconvenienced with this whole project and HD never offered me any kind of compensation for my inconvenience nor was I contacted by phone to see if I was satisfied with the job.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareMarch 10, 2014
We appreciate your feedback and are sorry to hear of the troubles with scheduling and misinformation. We will use your feedback to improve our install process. Thank you.
Review 2 for Vinyl Window Project
unhappy1
from Pflugerville, TX, USA

would not recommend for windows

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Salesman assured us we would not have to remove trim to install windows but installer removed trim and replaced trim with trim they had split. Now we have the extra expense of replacing split trim and painting the trim. Installer was also rude and installed first window crooked and I had to argue with him to fix it.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Vinyl Window Project
TennLiz
from Nashville, TN, USA

Major disappointment - I'll never deal with Home Depot again

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
One of the worst home improvement experiences ever. Wrong windows ordered even after I pointed out the "computer glitch" to the salesman he STILL ordered the wrong windows - wrong grid pattern and stationary vs. windows that open. Promised installation in 4-6 weeks, try 3 months! That makes a big difference in the fall/winter! Half of the screens did not arrive with initial order, and had to be reordered; replacements arrived and second (different) installer said the windows had not been caulked properly; he ended up re-caulking everything. I had a similar experience several years ago with a siding project at a different house in a different state, and I thought I should give Home Depot another chance. What a mistake! Next time I'll go to Lowe's! And by the way - if you need a receipt for the work, you are out of luck! They are totally paperless.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Vinyl Window Project
Tuck
from Saint Jo, TX

during installation they damaged the trim around the windows.

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It took 2 months of arguing with the representatives of Home Depot before they finally came & fixed the damage they did to the trim work. They also got the order wrong for the window screens. We ordered full length screens & they brought half screens. Nothing but problems with the representatives of Home Depot from the start of the install. They still wanted to argue with us while they were fixing the damages that they did!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareMarch 28, 2014
We are extremely sorry for your experience. We do appreciate your feedback and will be sure to use it to improve.
Review 5 for Vinyl Window Project
alexxis
from Herndon, VA, USA

Great deal!

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm very pleased with this project. This is actually the third one with Home Depot in replacing windows and doors with Simonton products. The installation on the particular project worked even smoother than the previous ones. The installers were very considerate with my property and cleaned all of debris from the site. The picture windows looks absolutely gorgeous and provides very good thermal insulation!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Vinyl Window Project
ManfredR1
from Hollywood, FL, USA

Great product, flaws on installation, poor follow up, poor managements of project.

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The install was apparently going smooth until the main window was installed and I found deep stains on the glass. I suppose PGT failed to Q.C. the windows prior to shipment. The Installation boss told me it would be fixed by replacing the faulty glass. Furthermore, I noticed one screen was broken, yet was left for me to find out. Several weep holes covers were missing. The Installation manager got involved, and although he was very professional in his approach, the results were long delays in getting the window fixed. The screen was replaced a month later or so, and just replaced the covers for the weep holes in one window. They failed to inspect them all and finalized the job. After all the delays, the manager offered and promised a discount for the faulty window. I had to delay my other projects because of this. He said the credit would be applied to my account. I have not received any credit since then. Most of all, I understand mistakes are made, but the empty promises were jus too many. I think Home Depot has higher standards of service. I have a sour taste with these ordeal, even if I am happy with my windows. I think definitely there is a lot of room for improvement!!!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareMarch 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. We apologize for the troubles that you faced during this installation. We will be sure to follow up with you to see that your account is credited. Thank you for your continued patience while we work to resolve this for you.
Review 7 for Vinyl Window Project
Kyb0y
from Denver, CO, USA

Way too difficult to order w/ home visit, call center, and installation manager involvement.

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
1. Having to have a salesman come to the house to order a stock window is not necessary. Select the window in the store and have the measurement guy provide the sizing info.
2. First installation date installers missed their window of time and we had to leave. There was no phone call from anyone letting us know they were going to be late.
3. Wrong window was received causing us inconvenience and schedule impacts. Installer called to let me know wrong window was again received and they would not be there. Third time the window was correct.
4. Installers were courteous, on time on the final install, and did a good job with the installation.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareMarch 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and would like to apologize for the troubles faced during your recent window installation.
Review 8 for Vinyl Window Project
TGK10503

Terrible installation - caulked the windows in without any screws. Totally unsatisfactory!!!!

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These were 5 basement windows and they are all caulked in - no screws. Anyone can push on them and the will fall out. They are being replaced because the wind blew out the original windows, so I don't have much hope that these will last. Have tried to get them installed properly with no luck and am totally dissatisfied with the result.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Vinyl Window Project
Marcee421

Would never use a Home Depot contractor again.

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Appointment was scheduled and cancelled by contractor multiple times. The day of the install, the contactor tried to change the appointment again, but we could not adjust the time. The said they would keep the appointment, but ended up being hours late, without notification. It took WEEKS to have one small window replaced in my home. Never again.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareMarch 26, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the multiple reschedules and we will be sure to use your feedback to improve our installation processes.
Review 10 for Vinyl Window Project
Sharon68
from Independence, MO, USA

Great installation! Tight fit and there for me!

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A little slow start because I ordered one big window and then went back and ordered a small kitchen window. But all in all, they came and their installers did a fantastic job! I even thought I had some air coming through so I called and they immediately sent out the installer back out and he did a complete check and I found out it was my air vent! Sorry Home Depot! It was my bad!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Vinyl Window Project
Unhappycustomers
from Oxon Hill, MD 20745, USA

Rough install process and poor results

PostedApril 17, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We are not satisfied with the installation process or the installation. The job began in February and here it is April and our job is still not complete. We do not have a single window that was installed to our satisfaction. Many windows still have drafts. Would not recommend this company.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Vinyl Window Project
Happy1Customer
from Covington, GA

Super value, Expert Installation, Incredible Service

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Home Depot is THE place for window replacement, for sure. The initial service rep came out and measured and numbered all windows. The installer then came and measured to double-check. When the materials arrived, the installer and crew arrived and in SIX HOURS installed 18 windows, ALL PERFECTLY, caulking, trim, EVERYTHING. Did ALL the cleanup, took ALL debris away, and were totally professional and proficient. THE BEST ! ! !
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Vinyl Window Project
Church2008
from Tampa, FL, USA

Smooth process

PostedApril 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Everyone was nice and efficient. We only had one problem the caulk I believe didn't adhere in all place and we have a whole that you can see up into on the edging of the windows.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Vinyl Window Project
Saddenedbypoorservice
from Moss Beach, CA, USA

Excellent Sales Support - Poor Project Management

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Sales
Excellent. Warren was prompt and efficient. Covered all of the information that I needed to have. Quickly scheduled next steps. Asked to be involved if I have any problems.
Measurement
Good. Quickly scheduled and completed. However, the person doing the measurement left some of his tools at my house when he left.
Installation
Part 1 - February 12. Poor. On arrival of the installers I was advised that the work would take about 3 hours. 6 hours later the two installers left having installed 3 of the 4 windows. They said that the fourth window was not manufactured correctly and it would have to be reordered. Left a large trash bag in the yard, large areas of the yard not cleaned up and left the wrong window on my deck. After they left, counter to my specific instructions, they had the full remaining balance charged to my credit card.
Part 2 - March 4. Excellent. A different installer put the new window in correctly and quickly, cleaned the area and removed the trash and old window left by the first installers.
Project Management
Poor. David, the project manager, did not return phone calls, did not follow up on commitments that he made, and did not address issues that I raised with him. Further, on the two occasions that we talked about the project, he did not have current information about the project status. And, the County Building Inspector indicated during final inspection that the paperwork was not complete.
Other - Web Site Tracking System
Poor. The information displayed was either incorrect or out of date. It was of no use in tracking the project status.
Overall, I am very disappointed in this installation process and have to question the commitment that Home Depot has to these projects.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareMarch 28, 2014
Thank you Steven for such a detailed review. We will be sure to document this, and follow up with you to address your concerns. We thank you for your feedback, and continued patience.
Review 15 for Vinyl Window Project
EP88
from Reno, Nv

Worst Installation I have ever been a part of.

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The job kept getting passed off to the next guy. Issue after issue and excuse after excuse. Install price was quoted and changed, date was quoted and changed(over a month longer and 2 seperate installs = money lost taking time off work), & everyone blamed someone else.
Needless to say, I will be shopping at Lowes in the near future.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareMarch 17, 2014
Erik, thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the troubles experienced during your installation, including the lack of responsibility taken as you feel you were continually past off. We will be sure to review our processes in this area, so that we can keep this from happening in the future. Thank you again for sharing with us.
Review 16 for Vinyl Window Project
Morocco2014
from CA

Excellent Job.

PostedApril 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
From start to finish, they all provided good customer service and excellent job.
All came on time with their scheduled appointments and very knowledgable with their own field of specialties. Highy recommendable.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Vinyl Window Project
Ginny
from Mill Valley, CA, USA

Installation was great. Pre- and post- installation were not.

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Before and after the installation there were a number of mistakes made by the project estimator/ sales person. She ignored critical info that I gave her, was condescending when I asked a question, made a mistake on the form that caused a substantial delay, and did not return my calls when I wanted to verify that the correction had been made.
The installer did a great job and we love the windows. The person assigned to manage our project did not do well at all. Since she was a Home Depot employee I don't feel I can recommend their services.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Vinyl Window Project
unhappy

Horrible onsite management.

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
The product is a good one. The installation was questionable as the project manager never came out to the site to check.. which he told me he was going to do. The installers left glass shards everywhere, did a horrible job of finishing the sealer edging and the trim pieces where cut quickly and crooked. Obviously hurrying at 4:30pm and not taping off their trim lines because they came late.When I asked the manager to inspect he defended the installers work and offered no solutions, and brought the installer with him which created a confrontational and uncomfortable situation. I have attempted to upload examples but Home Depot"s "upload images" link is not working (hmmmmm, wonder why?). I will be sending out a very bad Yelp review in the coming weeks... run, do not walk away from this service!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareMarch 21, 2014
We are sorry to hear of the quality of service received by the install team. We will be sure to work with them to improve these services. We thank you for sharing your feedback with us, making us aware and showing areas where we can improve.
Review 19 for Vinyl Window Project
que615
from Lexington, KY, USA

everything was wonderful

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the men that came out for my installation were wonderful, I had one small problem, called, and they came right out and fixed the problem..the only thing was the one gentleman who was the oldest, and heavyset, he was a little condesending, when I tried to tell him what I had a problem with , he would come back with, I have installed thousands of windows, and I think I know what I am talking about, I think he could use a little customer service training to teach him how he should not talk to people. Besides that, they did a wonderful job...would suggest them to anyone....thanks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Vinyl Window Project
Jennyjill
from Lemon Grove, CA, USA

Amazing!

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Two guys came, had my old doors,3, completely out and prepped in an hour and a half. Then had all three sliders installed, cleaned and hauled my old doors away in 3 hours. They not only where quick but I checked their work with a fine toothed comb, flawless! I am amazed they worked so well together, helped each other when needed and answered any questions I had about the doors, how to use them, how to clean them, etc. I wish I would have had them door our windows, I know those guys are the best in this industry!
Thanks for the awesome job and I am 100% pleased and WILL recommend them to anyone!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 142 >>