728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Vinyl Window Project

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Vinyl Window Project

Overall rating:
4.238 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(4465 reviews) 4465
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product3,646 of 4,366reviews
Rating Breakdown 4,465 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(2,840)
4
(736)
3
(317)
2
(254)
1
(318)
84%of customersrecommend this product3,646 of 4,366reviews
Customer reviews for Vinyl Window Project
Review 1 for Vinyl Window Project
from South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150, USA

A bad job done poorly

PostedFebruary 2, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The whole process took way longer then originally estimated and I was asked to sign for job completion before the project was complete (which I did with a note stating the job was not complete). Even through they had to make three trips to complete the work it was not done properly and I am left to clean up after them and hire someone else to finish the work (sealing the outside and inside properly, re-cutting the trim to match the original, re-running the electric for the lights BEHIND the trim as it was before, etc.). I didn't have high expectations but this is well below what I would consider even the minimum of what should have been done. I have no intention of using Home Depot ever again and will not be recommending them to anyone in the future.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Vinyl Window Project
from Pollock Pines, CA, USA

Best Customer Support!

PostedMarch 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I chose 6 windows that were on sale and upon arrival after 3 months, were the wrong customization (and 1 was even the wrong size). Even after on-site pre-measuring. But when I called upset, I could not have received better customer service and treatment from my area's install manager, who got my new windows delivered in record time. My installers were neat, efficient, courteous, and caring. Did a wonderful job and now I couldn't be happier with the entire HD Install project!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Vinyl Window Project
from Evansville, IN, USA

Smooth installation with great results.

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very pleased with entire process from meeting with salesman to finish with installation. These windows are energy star and a great value for the price. The installation, service quality, and workmanship are number one. I had 3 double hung replaced with picture windows for my bay window. I am very happy.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Vinyl Window Project
from Laurel, MD, USA

Extremely POOR Installation

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Door was of meddling quality, but 1) door with incorrect opening direction was installed, 2) door was flipped to complete installation leaving the locking mechanism oriented at the bottom of the door handles, 3) baseplate and threshold removed, but only baseplate re-installed (raw wood), 4) 1.5 inch gap around door frame on three sides, back filled gap, partially, with loose insulation, and covered gap with aluminum capping, 5) door was tensioned (side to side) using screws (approx. 3" in length) with only 1" or less actually imbedded in wood, 6) Door keys were not with door.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer careJanuary 12, 2015
Vernon, we thank you for your review and will be sure to contact you to discuss your concerns to see that they are all addressed.
Review 5 for Vinyl Window Project
from Tulsa, OK, USA

The Product is good but the service is lacking

PostedMarch 19, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Follow up from anyone has been very had to get. We started this project over 6 months ago and still do not have everything 100% to our satisfaction.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Vinyl Window Project

Process was generally good - installer had periods of time that they sat around. But we figured it would take all day.

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
While I think they did a solid job on the installation, some of the final finishing details weren't the best. Left an exposed screw head protruding out the bottom of the bay window assembly, some of the flashing was secured great, and although we picked out paint colors to match the exterior of the home, they didn't paint.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Vinyl Window Project
from Melbourne, Florida

Outstanding sales, engineering and installation effort!!

PostedApril 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I can't say enough about how pleased I am with this purchase of three replacement windows, and the engineering and installation effort that took place to install them. The front end sales and engineering effort, and the outstanding team effort of the engineering and installation team far surpassed my wildest expectations. The team of installers worked to perform this installation like a well-oiled machine. Installing windows is what this team does, and has done for a long time. They weren't strangers to adversity; they knew how to overcome an issue that didn't become apparent until the old windows and wood had been removed from the CBS opening. They performed as a team, overcame, and delivered a product and installation to perfection with the greatest attention to detail. My only hope is that this team will install the remaining 16 windows in my home when the time comes. I couldn't ask for more from the Home Depot sales, engineering and installation team. Outstanding job, Guys, in every respect!!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Vinyl Window Project
from Rome, GA

Installation was fine once the correct windows were available.

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We ordered our windows in August of 2014 and they were finally installed in February 2015. There are too many different people involved in the process. We had a salesman who measured, two different technicians that measured the windows at separate visits and then the windows came in wrong. The installer measured on the first visit when the windows were wrong and the windows were reordered. The windows came in wrong a second time and the installer (different from the first) had to reschedule and make changes to the windows in order to make them work. In the end the installers did a good job and the windows look good but the process was terrible.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Vinyl Window Project

Everything went great, very happy. 3 things to note

PostedMarch 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
1. Very disappointed that you could not replace one window in my house. The window was a normal window and had a semi-circle radius window over it. Home Depot immediately defaulted on even trying to replace this window. I believe you did not want to replace this window because it would have taken a little more time, labor and maybe a bit of risk. So, now I feel like I have an incomplete piece here at my home and will have to find another company to install a window. 2. There was no follow up on the potential for Home Depot to do the window blinds as discussed. 3. The project was not started on time. I had to call once I realized the job was not being scheduled. I was told someone dropped the ball.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Vinyl Window Project

Went well

PostedMarch 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Every thing went well
No problems don't have anything more to say but your silly survey won't let me be done
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Vinyl Window Project
from Wesley Chapel, FL, USA

Disastrous installation

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Install delayed repeatedly. Window exterior frames were bent and gaping from side of window. No insulation in empty airspace around windows. Broke 3 marble sills, 1 was caulked to hide. Messy caulking.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Vinyl Window Project

Pretty good overall just a few minor things

PostedApril 2, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Only a couple of negatives for me men didn't wear booties or take off their shoes when coming in and out of the house and I have brand new carpet! My son stepped on a nail in his bedroom after they had cleaned up and cleared out and my big window in the living room was left with some wood missing at the bottom where the two windows don't connect with the frame. Men were friendly and efficient and did show me how to open, close, lock and pull out to wash so that was good.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Vinyl Window Project
from Minnesota, USA

Run the other way!

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
13 days ago, my windows were "installed". By that, I mean they were put in place. The exterior wrap has still not been put on, and no one can give me an exact time when it will be completed. Calls to the "Operations Center" (read: typical call center where things are promised and not delivered) are fruitless. Raising a complaint through the Project Website (one of HD's 'big' selling points) will net you a call from someone clueless, who is likely to completely misunderstand your issue. Emailing HD's "teamsocial" email account is a waste of time, as you'll likely get nothing back. Keep in mind, this is the same "Operations Center" that sent out installers to my house, without everything they needed to complete the job in the first place.
The installers were nice guys, so I hate to get them caught up in this. It's not their fault their employer didn't lineup everything they needed to get the job done, and still sent them to do the job. That's on Home Depot.
Screws are missing, the handles on my casement windows were delivered broken (but it will only take a MONTH to get them replaced), there is no latch mechanism on the frame of my patio door, and debris/trim was left in my yard. No one seems to really care...despite several complaints via multiple channels.
At this point, if I could have gone with ANY other vendor/provider, I'd have done so. If they would take the windows back and refund my money, I'd do it. This has been an absolute disaster full of regret and frustration.
The attached pictures are 13 days AFTER my "installation".
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Vinyl Window Project
from Monroe,Ga

great install, improved looks, very satisfied.

PostedApril 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was very impressed with the removal and replacement of my windows. The installer was very fast, and very clean. I was impressed with the fact that he removed the old windows and installed the new ones all from the inside of the house. He wrapped the window frames from the inside also. When he was finished, he vacuumed the floor. Other than the great look of the house, now, you would never know he was here. I am very pleased with the job.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Vinyl Window Project
from Collierville, TN

Excellent

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The whole process was smooth. The contractors were very nice and cleaned up after themselves. Hard workers. Would definitely recommend windows and installation from Home Depot.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Vinyl Window Project
from New Hampshire, USA

process was not smooth at all; one issue after another-finally got done

PostedApril 1, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
(this was an entire home for replacement windows) Wrong measurements were taken, twice by 2 different people, a couple of wrong size window(s) arrived; reordered and still arrived the wrong size. When they finally came in, they were installed. We noticed damage that the Installer never noticed until we told them, (after the install was done); they had to reordered, again. There was always a different tech.(who would ask what happened and you'd have to explain, AGAIN.) time frame from when we signed the contract and the job was done took 4 mos. vs what we were told to be approx. 1 mo. We went to Home Depot AND called several times asking for the name of the District Mngr for the window dept; NO ONE seemed to know who it was or how we could contact him. The sales person who sold us the windows, was of no help; once you signed his paperwork, he was done with you. To this day, we have NOT had a call from Home Depot to ask how our experience was. You order, you pay -The End.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Vinyl Window Project
from Avon Lake, OH

Good product, good install.

PostedMarch 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My vinyl window project went very well. The windows are solid and contain no air leaks after installation.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Vinyl Window Project
from Las Vegas, NV, USA

Beautiful windows - quick installation

PostedMarch 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installation was quick and easy. The new windows look and function great. Well done.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Vinyl Window Project
from Staten Island, NY, USA

Installation good and consistent

PostedMarch 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Only critique is that one of the windows was missing grills. Been waiting 2 weeks for replacement parts.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Vinyl Window Project
from Ormond Beach, FL, USA

I can see !!!

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a great experience with Home Depot. Very good communication from the sales presentation to the final installation. We had a small mishap that the first set of windows were too small- turns out all the windows were measured wrong. A supervisor was called, he arrived with in an hour. New measurements were made and new windows ordered. 2 weeks later the second set of windows fit good! Due to the complexity of our old windows- the install took 2 full days- the guys that did it were very good and knew how to fix any glitch that came up. They even put up new trim inside and outside. The original windows were about 30 yrs old- with "fog" spots- its so nice to see outside!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 224 >>