728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Services or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Vinyl Window Project

Vinyl Window Project

Overall rating:
4.234 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(4328 reviews) 4328
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product3,532 of 4,233reviews
Rating Breakdown 4,328 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(2,748)
4
(712)
3
(307)
2
(253)
1
(308)
83%of customersrecommend this product3,532 of 4,233reviews
Customer reviews for Vinyl Window Project
Review 1 for Vinyl Window Project
from South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150, USA

A bad job done poorly

PostedFebruary 2, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The whole process took way longer then originally estimated and I was asked to sign for job completion before the project was complete (which I did with a note stating the job was not complete). Even through they had to make three trips to complete the work it was not done properly and I am left to clean up after them and hire someone else to finish the work (sealing the outside and inside properly, re-cutting the trim to match the original, re-running the electric for the lights BEHIND the trim as it was before, etc.). I didn't have high expectations but this is well below what I would consider even the minimum of what should have been done. I have no intention of using Home Depot ever again and will not be recommending them to anyone in the future.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Vinyl Window Project
from Laurel, MD, USA

Extremely POOR Installation

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Door was of meddling quality, but 1) door with incorrect opening direction was installed, 2) door was flipped to complete installation leaving the locking mechanism oriented at the bottom of the door handles, 3) baseplate and threshold removed, but only baseplate re-installed (raw wood), 4) 1.5 inch gap around door frame on three sides, back filled gap, partially, with loose insulation, and covered gap with aluminum capping, 5) door was tensioned (side to side) using screws (approx. 3" in length) with only 1" or less actually imbedded in wood, 6) Door keys were not with door.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer careJanuary 12, 2015
Vernon, we thank you for your review and will be sure to contact you to discuss your concerns to see that they are all addressed.
Review 3 for Vinyl Window Project
from Wesley Chapel, FL, USA

Disastrous installation

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Install delayed repeatedly. Window exterior frames were bent and gaping from side of window. No insulation in empty airspace around windows. Broke 3 marble sills, 1 was caulked to hide. Messy caulking.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Vinyl Window Project
from Minnesota, USA

Run the other way!

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
13 days ago, my windows were "installed". By that, I mean they were put in place. The exterior wrap has still not been put on, and no one can give me an exact time when it will be completed. Calls to the "Operations Center" (read: typical call center where things are promised and not delivered) are fruitless. Raising a complaint through the Project Website (one of HD's 'big' selling points) will net you a call from someone clueless, who is likely to completely misunderstand your issue. Emailing HD's "teamsocial" email account is a waste of time, as you'll likely get nothing back. Keep in mind, this is the same "Operations Center" that sent out installers to my house, without everything they needed to complete the job in the first place.
The installers were nice guys, so I hate to get them caught up in this. It's not their fault their employer didn't lineup everything they needed to get the job done, and still sent them to do the job. That's on Home Depot.
Screws are missing, the handles on my casement windows were delivered broken (but it will only take a MONTH to get them replaced), there is no latch mechanism on the frame of my patio door, and debris/trim was left in my yard. No one seems to really care...despite several complaints via multiple channels.
At this point, if I could have gone with ANY other vendor/provider, I'd have done so. If they would take the windows back and refund my money, I'd do it. This has been an absolute disaster full of regret and frustration.
The attached pictures are 13 days AFTER my "installation".
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Vinyl Window Project

Process was generally good - installer had periods of time that they sat around. But we figured it would take all day.

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
While I think they did a solid job on the installation, some of the final finishing details weren't the best. Left an exposed screw head protruding out the bottom of the bay window assembly, some of the flashing was secured great, and although we picked out paint colors to match the exterior of the home, they didn't paint.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Vinyl Window Project
from Griffith, IN, USA

great installation, the guys were excellent! !

PostedFebruary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The install was great, the guy's were really polite an did a fantastic job.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Vinyl Window Project

Decent windows

PostedFebruary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Windows looks great. installation was clean and fast. It was our first time to buy windows for my house, so we didn't know what to look for.I wish I knew more about thickness of the glass before I purchase the windows. These are dual pain but still a little bit thin. I purchased these windows based on lifetime warranty through Home Depot.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Vinyl Window Project
from Palm Coast, FL, USA

Home installation praise

PostedFebruary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Excellent an quick install. Product quality is great .
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Vinyl Window Project
from Ormond Beach, FL, USA

I can see !!!

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a great experience with Home Depot. Very good communication from the sales presentation to the final installation. We had a small mishap that the first set of windows were too small- turns out all the windows were measured wrong. A supervisor was called, he arrived with in an hour. New measurements were made and new windows ordered. 2 weeks later the second set of windows fit good! Due to the complexity of our old windows- the install took 2 full days- the guys that did it were very good and knew how to fix any glitch that came up. They even put up new trim inside and outside. The original windows were about 30 yrs old- with "fog" spots- its so nice to see outside!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Vinyl Window Project
from Rutland, VT, USA

Seamless installation process from beginning to end with excellent results.

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The entire window replacement process was seamless. The process began with the installer estimating the job, showing the available materials, upon accepting the job explaining different financial options, doing a second measure of the job, ordering the materials, calling for an appointment, starting and completing the job. The entire installation far exceeded my expectation. We never knew they were there - they even washed the windows. The pictures do not do the windows justice. There were 14 windows that replaced 14 storm windows - we can already feel a difference in the heat gain - they did an excellent job of fitting the storm window openings.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Vinyl Window Project
from Kennesaw, GA

Installation was good, but took longer than expected

PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The windows are great and the install crew did a terrific job, but the time estimate on how long it would take to complete was drastically wrong. The estimate was 1-2 days. It took 3 full days into late hours to complete.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Vinyl Window Project

Overall satisfied with product

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
In the beginning, we had a few issues with scheduling the install due to the installation tech not being made aware of the proper install date, but luckily we were available the day he called to come over and it worked out fine. The only other issue was that the installation tech did smell strongly of smoke which filled our non-smoking home with the scent long after he was gone. I am mildly allergic to smoke, so it was a little bit of a burden to deal with the scent afterward. Otherwise, the installer installed the window to our satisfaction, cleaned up after himself and showed me how to use and clean it. A day or so later, my husband commented that the external sealant quality could have been better and maybe a little cleaner, but the window serves its purpose and a few weeks out it seems to be doing its job.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Vinyl Window Project
from Crystal Lake , IL

Had a Great Service and Installation manager that made it all come out great .

PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Windows are great but the experience was "made" by the service. A big 10
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Vinyl Window Project

Good product but a bit pricey

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I like the window and it made a big difference in our room. I wish the installation paid more attention to the finishing details and didn't leave me with touch up work. Also, final price ended up being a lot more expensive than what I thought and next time I will shop around more before i get the window.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Vinyl Window Project
from Albany, NY, USA

still going

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The pre-installation work was great, then the fun began. After being told that I didn't need to be there I had to cut my camping trip short to be back for one of the installers. They left product wrappers hanging in the trees around the property, So many nails that I spent a day picking them up and then it took 3 weeks for them to take back the mound of extra material. 2nd project is still underway, it would have been nice to be told that they were not required to put the trim back on after they replaced the windows and that they were not going to be doing the work the way I requested. Now here I am almost a month later still waiting for the last window to be installed after 2 measurements.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Vinyl Window Project
from Arden Hills, MN, USA

Lack of Communication

PostedFebruary 19, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had windows installed in my lower level by Home Depot - same brand (Home Depot exclusive; Simonton) and it was a good experience. So when it came time to replace my upstairs windows. I went with the same. The salesman was egotistical and seemed to belittle me. Anyway, I bought the windows... From there, the communication was sparse and inaccurate. I was told that the installation date was on 1/28, but the installer showed up on 1/27! Thank goodness my parents live near by and are retired as I had to go to work! Absolutely no apology either! I got a follow-up voice mail, but no "in-person call". You'd think that they would call to remind you or warn you about the installation date and make it a point to follow-up with more than this little survey here. The windows are now installed. They're only inserts into my 40 year-old frames, but will suffice for $7,000. The windows were left with marks, scuffs, scratches and the panes were dirty, but oh well, right? What is the point of complaining any more?
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Vinyl Window Project

Need to send more qualified installer

PostedDecember 26, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very sloppy, broke a lamp, an alarm clock, got white caulking on flat screen television which was nowhere near the window. Left drop cloth. Left broken glass outside on Front porch, back patio and master bedroom. Left some wood debri in bathroom. Left caulking container in front lawn. I am not satisfied how the back windows look. Different moulding was used in back of house same window were installed in front of house same day.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Vinyl Window Project
from ft myers florida

very poor product and installation

PostedJune 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
windows leak - most do not work properly - at least one was installed at an angle, crooked. caulk easily peels and or rubs off which results in no seal. the screws through the bottom seal were not even attached to anything.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Vinyl Window Project
from Cape Coral, FL, USA

Went as planned

PostedFebruary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Everything went smoothly. All parties involved called and showed up to the jobsite as promised. They also did an excellent job with installation. I had a former window installer friend with me on final inspection and he was extremely impressed with the quality of work. I had a whole house of windows (10) installed in one day. They left the house in great condition. There was nothing to clean up afterward. I can already tell the difference in my home with the new windows. I live in southwest Florida. My house stays cool all the time and the sound insulation provided by my impact windows is excellent.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Vinyl Window Project
from North Myrtle Beach, SC, USA

Very professional and quick!

PostedJanuary 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I own a 50 year old beach house with 40 year old windows and was expecting good but was impressed beyond that. From the consultation to the installation everything was perfect.....You guys will be getting my future business!!!
Thank you!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 217 >>