728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Services or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Vinyl Window Project

Vinyl Window Project

Overall rating:
4.268 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(3380 reviews) 3380
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product2,790 of 3,309reviews
Rating Breakdown 3,380 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(2,193)
4
(538)
3
(236)
2
(187)
1
(226)
84%of customersrecommend this product2,790 of 3,309reviews
Customer reviews for Vinyl Window Project
Review 1 for Vinyl Window Project
from Minnesota, USA

Run the other way!

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
13 days ago, my windows were "installed". By that, I mean they were put in place. The exterior wrap has still not been put on, and no one can give me an exact time when it will be completed. Calls to the "Operations Center" (read: typical call center where things are promised and not delivered) are fruitless. Raising a complaint through the Project Website (one of HD's 'big' selling points) will net you a call from someone clueless, who is likely to completely misunderstand your issue. Emailing HD's "teamsocial" email account is a waste of time, as you'll likely get nothing back. Keep in mind, this is the same "Operations Center" that sent out installers to my house, without everything they needed to complete the job in the first place.
The installers were nice guys, so I hate to get them caught up in this. It's not their fault their employer didn't lineup everything they needed to get the job done, and still sent them to do the job. That's on Home Depot.
Screws are missing, the handles on my casement windows were delivered broken (but it will only take a MONTH to get them replaced), there is no latch mechanism on the frame of my patio door, and debris/trim was left in my yard. No one seems to really care...despite several complaints via multiple channels.
At this point, if I could have gone with ANY other vendor/provider, I'd have done so. If they would take the windows back and refund my money, I'd do it. This has been an absolute disaster full of regret and frustration.
The attached pictures are 13 days AFTER my "installation".
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Vinyl Window Project
from ft myers florida

very poor product and installation

PostedJune 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
windows leak - most do not work properly - at least one was installed at an angle, crooked. caulk easily peels and or rubs off which results in no seal. the screws through the bottom seal were not even attached to anything.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Vinyl Window Project

Window Frame Warped - Bad Install

PostedJune 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Window was installed earlier this month. Serviceman came out to my residence on June 28 to address issue with sash not closing smoothly. The serviceman is going to order a lower sash and screen. The issue is clearly that the whole frame was not properly squared at time of install. I also pointed out the obvious signs of the unsquare frame, but the serviceman decided to order a sash and screen to see if that will resolve the issue. At this point, I'm losing a little confidence. I would like customer service to assure me they will resolve the issue properly.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Vinyl Window Project
from Temecula, CA, USA

Installation to three attempts!!!

PostedMay 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My window initially broke back in February. I called and they had an employee out the next day to measure and order me a new window. A few days later the installer came by to see the damaged window and said I purchased the wrong type of window from the salesman that came to my house. He had me complete new paperwork and added an additional charge for upgrading the window so it would look like the other windows in the house. Approximately a month later the window arrived and I was contacted to make an appointment to have it installed. The installers showed up an attempted to install the window but it was not the correct window. The window was reorder and I was told I would be contact once it arrived to setup a new installation date. I was contacted again that the window had arrived and I called and spoke with an agent that made the appointment and then the day they were supposed to show up to install the window I received a phone call to see how the installation went and I told her they never showed. She sounded confused and asked if she could call me back. We were then contacted by another installer saying the window was incorrect again and that they were going to have to reorder it again. At this point we asked for a specific date for the new window since we were pushing two months. The installer said he would call back and then never returned phone message. At this point I Contact with Home depot and was told that they pretty much just sale the windows and that we need to deal with the installers for the remainder of the process. I expressed my disappointment with home depot and there customer service and at that point they did assist me in communication with the company installing the window. After approximately two and a half months the window was finally installed correctly. I will not be purchasing anymore windows from Home depot. This was a process that was extremely too long for a broken window. There seemed to no sense of urgency. If Home Depot is going to contract out there work they should take a little pride in what they do and at least attempt to communicate with the installers and their customers.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Vinyl Window Project
from Farmington, NY 14425, USA

Many problems from processing sales order to final install

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My initial order was processed incorrectly, and would not have been found had I not called to inquire. When the contractor showed up to do the install, he only had one window instead of two (the second were patio doors). Calls to find out why we're not returned. After many calls, the second install was scheduled. The contractor did not trim both windows in the same fashion as he and the salesman had previously stated. The contractor took the door keys with him by mistake and I only received them after one week by calling his supervisor. I received a $50 gift card for my dissatisfaction. The process took over 2 months.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Vinyl Window Project
from Ohio, USA

install was good.

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
after a week a window sill came lose it took almost a month to repair, and then we ending up fixing it.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Vinyl Window Project
from Aliquippa, PA, USA

paid full price for a bargain outlet job

PostedJune 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We were excited for our new windows. We thought they were great at first. We were told not to touch them for at least 24hrs. About 28hrs later I went to clean them. We had 2 windows replaced. They were covered in what I thought was fingerprints. It turned out to be a greasy/tacky residue that I couldnt get it all off. It only smeared so an hour later I gave up. But not before I found that 2of the panes had actual dirt inside. 3 of the pains have gobs of silicone coming out of its sash encasing onto the window itself. The seaming of the sash was supposed to be very nice looking with the series we purchased. Every single corner is ridged, lumpy, no 2 are alike. Far from sample we were shown. The corner seaming of sashs' are wider and deeper than I recalled on sample as well. One lock is loose and actually moves when locking it. The handles are cut with excess plastic left hanging on them. They look as if they were broken. Our 2nd window has all of these issues aside from interior staining. But it did have what looks like dirty caulk smears all over the framework. The top of the sash has tons of little hairline scratches they are almost impossible to see but can feel them immediately. I called cs and was told a tech would call to come see. He called home phone, When I realized they called secondary number I called cs service back and was told that they were calling to inform me they ordered replacements and itll be 2wks, I asked how they knew and was told they went by my description. A little over 2 wks later with no updates I call back. Im told they ordered them backwards???and I should expect call by June 6th to set up appt. But my concerns of scratches, excess silicone and poor seaming were not addressed when they placed the order. Mgr did say he could try to come out to review other issues but we decided to do it when the do the replacements. I have 9 mnth old twins so it is kind of a pain to keep them out of the way for what is looking like 3 times.Original install was 5/1 it is 6/1 and we dont have a completed job. Why did we pay $2700 for 2 windows and are experiencing a job like we went to a bargain outlet? My favorite was that mgr told me that his techs told him there were issues and I might be calling. Extremely irritated and not planning to replace the rest of our windows through Home Depot as we originally thought. Prefer to pay full price for a job done right the first time.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Vinyl Window Project
from Tabernacle, NJ, USA

Poor communication

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had a scheduled install on a Monday morning. HD called me on Sunday evening to tell me that the installers truck had broken down on Friday and evidently didn't get it fixed over the weekend so he had to cancel. NOT my problem! I had to take time off of work for the install and was unable to change my schedule nor did I feel I should have to. HD should have taken care of the problem and NEVER involved me in 'their problem'. They called back and said they found someone to come but he might have to come a second day to finish because he was already scheduled to do something else. It actually took FOUR DAYS to complete my job!!! HD salesman assured me it was a ONE DAY install. HE LIED!!! I will never have HD do any work for me again. I could have saved a LOT of money if I had gotten a local contractor. However, I was told that the windows I was getting were some "special" window that ONLY HD installers can do......NOT. I found out that I could have purchased them myself from another HD location and had my own contractor install the SAME WINDOW! Bottom line, I was very much inconvenienced with this whole project and HD never offered me any kind of compensation for my inconvenience nor was I contacted by phone to see if I was satisfied with the job.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareMarch 10, 2014
We appreciate your feedback and are sorry to hear of the troubles with scheduling and misinformation. We will use your feedback to improve our install process. Thank you.
Review 9 for Vinyl Window Project

Lack of communication project still not completed no one returns my calls. Bilked in full. Faulty install wrong door third time no door yet.

PostedJune 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The building permit is about to expire. I've called the original salesman he says he no longer works for homedepot. I've called the person responsible for the job that is unfinished completely paid for and no response hadn't returned my calls. My front door and three windows have no alarm. None of my doors n windows have been caulked or secured? My walls n window sills scratched stained. Screws missing. One front window broken corner no replacement. No where to go or report this. I'm angry and will seek legal support. This cannot happen!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Vinyl Window Project
from Mukwonago, WI, USA

Good sales and installation, but in between was poor.

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The process did not fit into the timeline that we were told. Due to a selling a condo, we were on a specific time line and wanted to get the window replaced before the closing. After the measurements were taken in a timely fashion we were told 3 to 4 weeks. It ended up taking eight weeks and would've been longer if I hadn't forced the issue. The first date we scheduled, the installer did not show up and a phone call was not made to inform us of this. Another date was scheduled, we sat around again for two hours without the installer showing up. We were not given a phone call to inform us this time either. Finally, it was installed the third time, but it was after the closing and the new owner was moved in. The lack of communication and courtesy towards the customer made this a very very poor experience. I will never go through Home Depot for a house repair or replacement again!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Vinyl Window Project
from Hyattsville, Maryland USA

Poor quality doors and sloppy, unprofessional installers

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Doors were of poor quality. Installers weren't very concerned about the fit or trueness of the doors, as they never used a level to check them for level or plumb. They also never checked them for square. All these things were mentioned in the installation instructions supplied with the doors. There was also breaking and splitting of existing trim and and framing to accommodate the wrong size doors.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Vinyl Window Project
from Silver Spring MD

window install good, concern about a few exterior wraps

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The installation of replacement windows and frames was good. But I had a preexisting situation with two window openings where a different exterior window wrap option (by building it out) would have concealed the thin blue aluminum siding strips above the windows and below the board (see photos). This was done for other homes on my block and looks better, in my opinion. I am planning to paint the thin siding strips white for a more consistent appearance with the white exterior wrap. More information provided to this customer on wrap options ahead of time would have been been helpful.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Vinyl Window Project
from ROCKFORD ,il

INSTALLING WAS GREAT ONCE THEY GOT TO THE HOUSE, PROBLEM WAS MISTAKE WAS MADE ON THE DESTINATION OF THE WINDOWS WERE TO BE SHIPPED.

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
WINDOWS WERE SHIPPED TO ANOTHER DESTINATION AND INSTALLER DIDNT KNOW UNTIL THE DAY OF THE INSTALLATION. THEY HAD TO GO PICK UP THE WINDOWS FROM WISCONSIN. THEY CALLED ME THE MORNING OF THE INSTALL TO LET ME KNOW THAT THE WINDOWS WERE ELSE WHERE, I WASTED A DAY OFF FROM WORK. BUT ONCE THE INSTALLERS CAME TO PUT THEM IN, THEY WERE GREAT. THIS IS NOT THE FAULT OF THE INSTALLERS IT WAS ORDERING AND SHIPPING ISSUES.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Vinyl Window Project
from Fairfax, CA, USA

Excellent installation, but unfortunate repeated scratch on one window panel

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I'm very happy with my new windows: excellent on-site consultation, unbelievably smooth & professional installation, and they look and function beautifully. My one issue is that one window panel came with a significant scratch, and it took FOUR replacement windows to get an unscratched panel. Pretty disappointing and frustrating. One replacement person, upon bringing me the third scratched window, said that I would "get ten scratched windows in a row." Not great for building my confidence in the product, nor ideal customer service. I am happy that all is now resolved however, it took over 6 months to finally get an unscratched product post intial installation. Better quality control needed!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Vinyl Window Project
from St. Clair, MI, USA

Forgot parts

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was pleased with the manners of the installers. I am pleased with the one picture window I bought.
I am not please with the lack of screw covers. My window needs four and it has none. It looks cheap and unfinished. You need to send them to me asap. The window looks like junk with big screw holes showing.
I have included a picture of the lack of screw hole covers.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Vinyl Window Project
from Lawndale, California

Smooth install. Installation crew worked with us so we could continue projects we were working on.

PostedMay 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The installation crew was great. We were painting the inside & outside and they worked with us so there was no delays for us or them and they were very professional. Instructions on how to open close and lock was very extensive and easy to understand.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Vinyl Window Project
from Birmingham, AL, USA

The whole process was great

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The salesman John Katalik was great. Brian Pecce did a great job. The installers Danny and Cory did great. They even did a great job cleaning up. It was a good experience.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Vinyl Window Project
from Westwood, MA, USA

Removal of window, installed new window without a hitch.

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Entire job went well, covered rugs and cleaned up job site. Accommodated us with what we requested at the time...
Product Quality: Window's do NOT open fully
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Vinyl Window Project

Installers were real pros!

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great quality in workmanship, speed and clean-up. I have already recommended Home Depot to my friends.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Vinyl Window Project
from North Richland Hills, TX, USA

Smooth install process

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The sales representative was very helpful and informative without being pushy. We had windows installed 3 years ago through Home Depot and were happy with that process also.
The installers were courteous and professional.
Great job!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 169 >>