The installer had to hand carry the three 9 ft glass panel doors up 3 flights of stairs because they wouldn't fit in the elevator. Both of the guys were very conscientious about any excessive noise and were very good about cleaning up after themselves. I very much appreciated the extra effort because from the get go, this wasn't the average installation. First off, the store had given them a partial, wrong shipment to deliver. I thought it would take another month to get it resolved. But the installer took care of it in record time. There was a little issue with the parking and they had to carry the doors a little further than they would have liked. Then there was the elevator problem and the removal of the old doors. One hiccup after another, but they plowed through all of it, never complaining. I must commend them for their remarkable "let's get this done" attitude.
Had interior French doors installed. The installer came to our house and measured. A month later when the doors were to be installed, he arrived at 8:30 AM and determined that the doors were too tall for the space. He left with the doors and said he would talk to Home Depot. We waited all day for him to come back - no phone call either. I contacted Home Depot twice that day, and the installer finally called me back at 4:30 saying he would return around noon the next day. His installers finally came at 5:30 PM and installed the doors . We appreciated they came at such a late time since we were leaving town the following day. They finished the job at 8:30 PM, it was dark and we were in a hurry to pack for a 7:00 AM flight. When we returned from our trip I noticed in daylight that a piece of trim around the door was 3/8" away from the wall. I called the installer and said this was unacceptable. He said he would come by the next day. We waited all day but he never came to fix the door -- no phone call either. The next day I went to Home Depot and explained what had happened and told them I was VERY unhappy with this installer. They called the installer while I was there and left a message on his phone. They also said they would send him an email. I talked with the Everett WA Home Depot on Feb 27 and have not heard one word since then. Please please FIRE THE INSTALLER and have a new one come and fix the trim. I have no complaints about the product.
0out of1found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy Robert G, Customer Care, March 11, 2015
Thank you for your feedback, Mary. Sorry to hear that you have not been followed up with in this regard. We will be sure to review your order details, and contact you to resolve this for you. We appreciate your continued patience.
The order process was a little rough, but the installed did a great job, friendly, clean work and timely. It's worth every penny to have Home Depot do the order install. Thanks to Jeanette Wood -Contractor desk
Installer split/ cracked door when installing screws. Items sustained scratches during installation. One item was scratched from factory. Would like to have damaged door replaced an scratches repaired.
This install went on and on started process in March finished the last door in August. They ordered 1 door wrong and it took a long time to fix. Took several trips to get installation. I had a previous house done with very little trouble but now I am afraid to do any with Home Depot as far as remodel.
Response from Home DepotBy Robert G, Customer Care, September 5, 2014
We appreciate your feedback and would like to apologize for the delay with your replacement door and installation. We do understand your concerns and will be sure to continue working with our business partners to improve our overall installation services. Thanks again.
Review 7 for Interior Door Installation
from Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Fast and smooth installation the man that did the work was very polite and respectful.
BUT!!!! my kitchen is something else i ordered them March 13th. it is now July 3 and i'm told for the third time they are ordering THE cabinet and it will be July 12-17 before it will come ..And they can't start working again. it still be a few weeks after before it's finish because of the counter top .I have had to eat out every meal since May 13th.I'm tried with all this and think for my $47k I have PAID HOME DEPOT it should have ran a lot smoother and faster .And think there should be some adjustment I'm NOT HAPPY WITH THIS.
Door opening was measured on April 13, a correct door finally installed on July 18. This was no fault of the installer or Home Depot personnel. I received great service from both of these two groups. I am disappointed that the supplier (JenWeld) that Home Depot uses. This company would not believe that they were making the door incorrectly (door swinging the wrong way) even when the door was returned the several times. Received little support from this company's district rep or the manufacturing plant personnel. Despite constant phone calls and e-mail on my behalf from my local Home Depot store expediter. JenWeld sent two of these incorrectly made doors to the wrong Home Depot stores. Home Depot may need to reconsider this supplier as an option.
The installer came to measure for one solution and recommended a much better solution. Products and materials were ordered and paid for. Unfortunately they weren't available when the installer came to get them. I was very disappointed to be left with 96 inches of open doors in my family room for Thanksgiving entertaining. :-( Store manager did refund some of my install $$. Poor checks and communication at the store.
The workmanship was terrible quality. The installer left gaps in the frame, scratched the door, didn't leave pieces that came with the door, and was about to leave without installing the step that we had paid extra for until we said something. We've been contacting Home Depot to have the problems fixed, especially because we can't properly lock the door, and the problem still hasn't been resolved. The contractor was supposed to show up yesterday to fix the shoddy work and never showed. I'm very upset with the quality and lack of service.
Response from Home DepotBy Robert G, Customer Care, May 8, 2015
Stephanie, we're sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with the workmanship of your door installation. We will be sure to reach out to you to address your concerns and see that this is resolved. Thanks for your feedback.
Review 18 for Interior Door Installation
from Marietta, GA, USA
Poor measurement and information leads to major issues at install
First I want to say that this is the first poor experience I have had with HD. We have had many major projects, but never an issue until the doors. The in store people were wonderful in facilitating the necessary issues to resolution. The major issue was that the inital measurement did not take into account the difference in the threshold size from the original doors, leaving a gap of almost an inch across the top of the door frame. A gap at the top, interior flooring and carpet needed to be stretched were all caused by the difference in the threshold size.. They did fix the carpet and floors, but the hole at the top of all 3 doors needed to be addressed.The installer was excellent and did all he could,but he couldnt stretch the doors. The bottom line was after 3 visits by "management" they would not admit the problem. The holes were covered up. We reached an agreement to settle the issue. But never again will I have a construction project with HD.
Response from Home DepotBy Robert G, Customer Care, April 20, 2015
Hi Thomas, sorry to see how your door/frame was installed. We will be sure to review your order and see what we can do to help provided the workmanship of this project. Thanks for your continued patience.
Review 20 for Interior Door Installation
from San Francisco, CA, USA
Good materials and ordering process, horrible install process
The folks in the store were good to work with and had no problem with the ordering/delivery process. The installation however was a mess. The installer was late, didn't have the proper tools, and at first did not want to haul away the old item even though it was paid for. After the install of the door the track attached to the ceiling detached and the screws fell out of the ceiling. This was because the installer failed to secure it to a stud, they simply attached it to the sheetrock which held for only a few days. I went to home depot and asked if it could be fixed, the installer made an appointment about 2 weeks later and then was a no show. After several attempts the installer finally called back several days later to reschedule and again was a no show. After 1 week finally rescheduled to May 1 for them to come out and fix the job. Hopefully they show up this time. I would recommend Home Depot find different installers because you have lost a customer that will never use your services again.