728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Mortar, Cement & Concrete Mix or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 50 lb. Play Sand

50 lb. Play Sand

A screened and washed sand for use in playgrounds, kitty litter, gardens, etc. Play sand is a washed, sterilized, dried, screened, and contains no organic matter. It may be used in sand boxes, moulding, traction sand, fish bowls, foundations under brick patios, winter ballast for car trunks, foundation for above ground pool, cigarette urns, gardening, mason sand and pet boxes.
Overall rating:
4.444 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product9 of 9reviews
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(7)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product9 of 9reviews
Customer reviews for 50 lb. Play Sand
Review 1 for 50 lb. Play Sand
from Strongsville, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great buy!

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
sand was used as the substrate in a saltwater aquarium. Looks great, very clean and aquarium safe. Much less than sand or gravel from a pet store. If you are looking for sand for you fresh and/or saltwater tank this is a great buy!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 50 lb. Play Sand
from Wisconsin

Gorgeous in a FISH TANK!

PostedJuly 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
You cannot go wrong with the price compared to sand in bags from pet specialty stores. You pay just over $3 for 50 lbs. where as at a pet specialty store, you pay close to $60 for 50 lbs.
In the aquarium with any light fixture, this sand almost glows as it is very white and looks excellent in amazon natural tanks as well as imitation reef tanks. You can pull off any them in the aquarium with this stuff for SUPER cheap compared to something that says it's specifically for fish tanks - says in the description that it can be used in fish bowls safely, which is HUGE for a fish keeper. I highly recommend this if you are okay and used to cleaning sand in an aquarium.
+32points
34out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 50 lb. Play Sand
from Richmond, VA, USA

GREAT PRODUCT

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is great if you have a bearded dragon or other reptile! It is extremely cheap compared to pet store sand. I also recommend this product if you have a fish tank because it is cheap and brings out the color in your tank!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 50 lb. Play Sand
from Draper, UT, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This product is great

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We used this sand for winter storage of annual flower bulbs.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 50 lb. Play Sand

The perfect bedding

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this play sand to use under my hamster's Carefresh bedding so I could go longer without cleaning his cage. Turns out, my hamster absolutely loves burrowing holes and sleeping in this sand. Watching him do this is so much fun. I would definitely recommend this product to any hamster lover!
Pros: Stylish, Great Value, High Quality, Comfortable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 50 lb. Play Sand

very good price and quality

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this item has the lowest price I can find on the playsand market so far, the sand is clean and neat. Other store or website sell the same quantity sand above $10, I don't think it is worthy.
Pros: Great Value, low price
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 50 lb. Play Sand
from Starke
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

nice clean sand

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
used for bonefire pit I am building - good coverage!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 50 lb. Play Sand

price incorrect

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
the price given for my store was $2.50 per bag at the store they have it priced at $3.73 per bag
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 50 lb. Play Sand

great value...used to lay pavers

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
was informed by text when available and it was ready for pick up when I arrived.
Pros: Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.