728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Mini Refrigerators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2.4 cu. ft. Mini Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Look

2.4 cu. ft. Mini Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Look

Whether you're up late working or playing, keep your soda and your snacks handy in this Magic Chef 2.4 cu. ft. Compact Refrigerator. Wire shelves in the main compartment help you keep food items organized, while door storage options help you save space and keep frequently used snacks accessible. The can dispenser helps reduce shelf clutter and allows you to quickly identify when it's time to restock.
Overall rating:
4.638 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(47 reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product37 of 39reviews
Rating Breakdown 47 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(37)
4
(7)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product37 of 39reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for 2.4 cu. ft. Mini Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Look
Review 1 for 2.4 cu. ft. Mini Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Look
from Plano, TX

One of my best purchases ever, I love this thing.

PostedMay 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this mini fridge for my office so I could start making sandwiches instead of going out to eat every day.
This thing is COLD. It cools food just as well, if not better, than my full-size fridge at home. It even makes ice cubes (small cube tray included). I have it stocked with water and deli meats and cheeses and they stay very cold.
The unit isn't very heavy at all, looks great, and is completely silent.
My only complaint, and it isn't worth docking a star, is that the metal shelves inside the fridge don't lock into place. They slide freely, meaning if you pull something out, you could accidentally pull the whole shelf out. Since they only go back about 6 inches or so, it's easy to do by accident.
The fridge door is reversible and comes with the necessary hardware to make the swap.
I would buy one of these again in a heartbeat. Awesome product.
Also, it's easy to scratch, so be careful.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2.4 cu. ft. Mini Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Look
from Tucson, AZ
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very Good Little Refrigerator

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used this small fridge under my desk for about 2 weeks. It works like a charm. It has a small freezer unit and the area just below the freezer seems to work well enough keeping larger items frozen. Cooling of beverages is fine (they do not freeze). Importantly, it runs pretty quietly. I forget it's there.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2.4 cu. ft. Mini Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Look
from Central Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Shopduo returns! Super service at Home Depot!

PostedJune 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We already submitted a review based on our refrigerator not working in less than a year. We took it back to Home Depot and they honored the warranty that was in the pamphlet that came with the refrigerator........so our review is better this time. As we said originally, it was good while working and if HD honors the warranty that comes with it, we would definitely recommend it now!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, hd honored the manufacturer's 1 yr warrannty
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2.4 cu. ft. Mini Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Look
from Central Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Less than a year

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
While working, was doing a good job. Purchased less than 9 months ago and just stopped working. Should last longer or have a year warranty included in price. Our previous mini lasted almost 10 years!
We would recommend this product if you needed it only for a few months.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2.4 cu. ft. Mini Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Look
from NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mini refrigerator

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I just installed it on May 5 2014 and haven't had time to really see what it will do.
First impressions are pretty favorable. Looks nice both inside and outside. The size is pretty small but it is sold as a compact refrigerator. The size is ok for my office for lunches and drinks.
Cooling is slow due to the fact it doesn't have forced air inside but drinks left in it overnight are cold.
Time will tell how well it cools and holds up but for it's size and price it's pretty good so far.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: kind of slow to cool drinks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2.4 cu. ft. Mini Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Look
from Nyc
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Keeps food and drinks cold

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Nice frig for the value. Plenty of interior space. Keeps ice cubes frozen and drinks cold.
The door rack wasn't thought out too well. When you open the frig door, all the water bottles fall out.
Frig runs quite often, even if you haven't opened the door. Definitely isn't quiet......but not annoying.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: noisey, poor door design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2.4 cu. ft. Mini Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Look

Has it all

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This refrigerator is small, quiet and keeps drinks at 34 - 38 degrees with no problems. I actually got rid of a Haier that was a few months old due to the noise and on the highest setting was only 44 degrees inside.
This thing has been great so far, even have ice forming inside my drinks sometimes!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2.4 cu. ft. Mini Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Look
from Burlingame, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent Dorm Fridge

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased fridge for my daughter's College Dorm.
It provided all the features that one would want in a Mini fridge, style, practical, and efficient.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2.4 cu. ft. Mini Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Look
from Utah, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I have had the refrigerator for about a month now, and it is working like a champ.

PostedJune 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with the performance of this refrigerator. I installed it in a cabinet in my small motor home. To insure that the compressor did not overheat I installed a 2W fan that blows on the top of the compressor. I also installed the refrigerator so that there is plenty of room around it in the cabinet to allow convective air currents to keep hot spots on the side of the refrigerator cool.
I am powering the refrigerator with a 1 kW, true-sine wave inverter when on the road. The nominal power requirement is only about 100W. For start-up, the compressor needs many hundreds of Watts. My inverter only works to start the refrigerator if the DC voltage is over about 12.5 Volts. Thus, I only use the inverter when the engine is running or when the RV battery if fully charged. When parked, I either use an external source of AC, use a generator, or turn it off. I keep two frozen ice packs in the freezer to help keep the refrigerator cool when I have to park overnight without power. When powered, the refrigerator does keep the ice packs frozen.
I have had it on the road for over two weeks now, and the refrigerator is working fine. The duty cycle on the compressor is not very high. Usually it is on for a few minutes and then off for a few minutes. I installed a remote power switch to facilitate turning the refrigerator on and off. This is very useful when changing power sources. I installed a compressor-power indicator light to keep track of when the compressor is actually operating.
So far I am very happy with this refrigerator and using it in my motor home. It takes time ensuring that it has the power it needs, but that is part of life in a motor home anyway. Even with having to buy an expensive inverter, I think I am going to have the refrigerator we need for about half the cost of a new gas-AC-DC refrigerator. Moreover, the inverter will provide quality AC while on the road.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2.4 cu. ft. Mini Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Look
from Memphis, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what I needed for my office

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Needed a small fridge to tuck into the corner of my office to keep drinks and lunch cold. Runs so quietly I don't even know it's there. Great purchase for the price and features.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2.4 cu. ft. Mini Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Look

Great Fridge for the Dorm

PostedOctober 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this fridge for my son to have in his dorm room at school. It is quieter than the one he had before and even keeps Ice cream frozen. The one he had before did not keep anything frozen.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2.4 cu. ft. Mini Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Look
from Bohemia, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Have had 1 month and no problems.

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very quiet; I only know its there because I can see it. Holds enough stuff for a dorm room or small office. Keeps temp at consistent range. Looks nice. Just plug in... no set up. I'd buy again if I needed a small fridge. Has ice tray and small freezer area.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2.4 cu. ft. Mini Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Look
from Beaverton, OR, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

awesome little fridge

PostedApril 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This fridge was an addition to my man cave an it didn't disappoint. If you switch around shelving you can fit about a 24 pack of beer ( bottles) stacked on top of eachother not including door storage or ice maker. Fridge keeps beer close to ice cold on level 5 ( 6 levels ). Placed a couple of beers in freezer area over night to test freezer an they were slushies in the morn'n. This fridge gets the jod done and it's crome finish makes my cave look pimp'n
Pros: High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2.4 cu. ft. Mini Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Look
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Just what I wanted

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This little refrigerator is just what I needed and works perfectly. Holds cold drinks, keeps small amounts of ice cream frozen and fits under my desk top. Thanks!!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2.4 cu. ft. Mini Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Look
from RI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Magic Chef Mini Fridge Very Happy with this Purchase

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband wanted a small fridge for his man cave. I got him the Magic Chef Mini Fridge for Christmas, based on other reviewers who said it kept everything nice and cold and runs quiet.. We have had it for a month now, and hubby says the fridge is surprisingly quiet (so quiet that at first he thought it wasn't running) and keeps all of his favorite drinks cold. I would recommend.
Pros: Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Quiet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2.4 cu. ft. Mini Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Look
from Pottstown, PA

Fantastic Frig

PostedDecember 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Forget those expensive beverage centers costing $400 or more. This little Magic Chef is surpisingly spacious. Holds all your favorite drinks from soda to beer to champagne! Roomy enough for your snacks too. Quiet operation and lightweight ! Easy to set up, easy to clean. Attractive and stylish - will match any decor. This is not your college dorm item... it's so much much more. Highly recommended
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2.4 cu. ft. Mini Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Look
from Dayton,OH

great for the office

PostedJuly 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had researched the different brands and I had read so many positive reviews about the Magic Chef brand that I selected the 2.4 cubic ft model. It is perfect for the office in both size and amount of noise. It is quiet and has plenty of room for snacks and drinks. I put a refridgerator therometer in to check the temperature and on a setting of 4.5 it holds easily at a little below 40 degrees. Shipping took just a few days and the packaging makes it very easy for one person to unpack.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2.4 cu. ft. Mini Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Look
from Florida Keys

Functions well and is quiet

PostedMay 15, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The mini refrigerator has an attractive finish and works well and is quiet. It arrived with a dented door, but Home Depot shipped out a new one right away. Great service.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2.4 cu. ft. Mini Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Look
from Washington, DC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This mini fridge is perfect for the workplace.

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the mini fridge was everything the other reviewers stated: runs quietly, looks good, and keeps everything cold. I am very satisfied with the purchase.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2.4 cu. ft. Mini Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Look
from MASS
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far so good. Works well.

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Only had this a month, but works fine and was delivered on time. Easy to install. Keeps food cold, freezer freezes.
Does what it should.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>