728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Bath Ventilation Fans or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Ultra Silent 80 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*

Ultra Silent 80 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*

The Broan Ultra Silent 80 CFM Bath Fan is designed to help reduce moisture to help prevent mildew from forming in your bathroom. The fan runs at only 0.3 sones for near-silent operation and it is Energy Star certified for energy efficiency. The fan can be hung over a tub or shower with a GFCI circuit. Hanger bars are included for easy and fast installation.
Overall rating:
4.821 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product27 of 28reviews
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(25)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product27 of 28reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer reviews for Ultra Silent 80 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
Review 1 for Ultra Silent 80 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
HDepotCustomer

Nice reasonable quiet fan

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is a basic fan only. No light or humidity sensor. Ordered online from Home Depot and picked up at the store (great customer service during pick-up)
It's a lot quieter than my old ones. I like that I can still hear it when it's on, but I can hear people talk in their normal voice without yelling. Also, I won't forget to turn it off. I believe it's Energy-Star rated. I had an electrician install / replace my old ones (just installed a week ago). If you are replacing an old fan, you may have to cut out the ceiling / move the ceiling opening to fit the new fan housing. Then the ceiling needs to be resealed and painted.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design, reasonable price for a quiet fan
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ultra Silent 80 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
NovatoRemodelista
from Novato, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Had to return broken fan to store

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We wanted to love this fan. We ordered two for a double bathroom remodel. Both arrived in what appeared to be good condition, but when our contractor opened them he said they were broken. The mechanism inside was so fragile it must have been damaged during shipping. We took back to the store and they tried to replace the broken piece, but then the replacement piece broke in the clerk's hands while we were standing there. With a second replacement piece we *carefully* took the repaired fan home and the contractor installed it so our project didn't get held up any longer. The fan seems to work well at pulling wet air out of the room, but it makes a weird ticking sound, which kind of defeats the whole purpose of an ultra-silent fan. We returned the second fan and will be purchasing a different brand for our other bathroom. Disappointing.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: Not Durable, too fragile to ship
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ultra Silent 80 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
treismine2
from Chicago, IL area

Ultra Silent Bath fan

PostedJanuary 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Outstanding product for money. Came nicely packed since I ordered it online and had it delivered via UPS. Quick service delivery too! I put this fan in an existing smaller bathroom where I already had a similar Broan fan mounted. Taking out the old was easy and this model fit almost exactly in the same hole. Just had to enlarge slightly. Instructions are perfect for the do-it-installer. Easy to follow. Mounting to existing stud and using the two extension side bars made it a perfect solid installation. Anyone seeking a quiet fan that provides plenty of air movement - this is it. I was able to work from the attic, but this model would install fairly easy into a room where you only had access from the bathroom. It does require a 6-inch outlet duct and I imagine most current installations are only a 4-inch. Not sure how a 4-inch duct might affect the air out and noise. But that installation would work too with just using a 4 to 6 inch reducer fitting. You won't be disappointed with the purchase of this model.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ultra Silent 80 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
CJinVA

Excellent, Quiet Fan (Easy to Install)

PostedJune 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this fan after being completely dissatisfied with the Broan NuTone version sold by the Home Depot brick and mortar store (which made a horrible clanking sound). This fan (Ultra Silent 80 CFM Bath Fan) was easy to install with the supplied hangers on existing construction as the hangers made aligning and securing a relative breeze. Switch on the fan and you get a nice low, rushing sound that is nice and quiet. I hardly ever write reviews but I felt compelled to share my experience btwn online HD product select and the HD brick and mortar product selection.
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ultra Silent 80 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
HappyJacks
from Santa Monica, CA

Super Quiet Exhaust Fan

PostedFebruary 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this fan online and installed it a few days later in a bathroom in my home. The hanger bars provided an excellent and simple method for mounting the fan between two roof joists - I used both vertical and horizontal screws to secure it and to ensure it would not vibrate.
I have read the existing online reviews about how quiet the fan runs but had no idea the fan is THAT quiet. Whoa, I can only hear the fan if there is no other noise in my home - if the sink or shower is on there is no way I can here it. (at work and at a hotel I stayed at recently the bathoom fans both sound like a small jet engine)
Also, one reason I bought the fan was because my bathroom mirror was all fogged-up after a shower. I was curious how well the fan would perform after reading a review here which said only a tiny amount of fog appeared on the reviewer's mirror edges after a shower. Well, the fan works so well in my bathroom too that no fog whatsoever appears on the mirror after a hot shower.
Finally, I agree with another reviewer here who said to use 6" ducting and not 'convert' down to 4" ducting. I think that also plays a big role in why the fan moves the air out so efficiently and quietly.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ultra Silent 80 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
KimF
from Goleta, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great fan.

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This fan is great. It's hard to tell when it's on. It is very basic, no light or other feature, which is all I needed. It replaced a very old, noisy fan. It was installed by a handyman, not me, but seems to have been easy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ultra Silent 80 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
LakeWorthFla
from Lake Worth, Florida

As Quiet as Advertised

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent unit! Installed without problems or difficulty, and it was truly as quiet as advertised. Unlike the demo units mounted in the store which are barely able to be heard until you actually install them in your house, where they sound like a freight train in your bathroom, this unit is truly very very quiet, and still very effective at moving air. This seems to have been managed by using an oversized fan and box, and then running the fan at a lower speed which reduces the noise considerably. Also, this has a 6 inch exhaust duct which eliminates back-pressure, also reducing noise. DO NOT try and use a 4" duct - that will only increase the noise. I have installed several bath fans in the past, and this is the FIRST ONE that is honestly quiet and effective at the same time.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ultra Silent 80 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
Stick

Super quiet, good price, a little big

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The fan is great. I dislike the sound of fans. So this fan is great. It is very quiet. So if you like quiet fans this is great.
Only downside it was a little large to install, but there are other models that are a little more expensive but easier to install with a retrofit with little to no attic access.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ultra Silent 80 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
NewhomeownerFullertonCA
from Fullerton CA

Easy to Install

PostedJune 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed this last weekend. It was very easy to install . The directions were accurate. I had also purchased the roof vent kit by Broan, but I did not need it because I already had an extra vent hole in the roof. I did have to call an electrician friend to wire this up. I do not mess with wiring. The unit is quiet and very powerful. I have it wired to run whenever the light is on in the bathroom. This is perfect because the fan is so quite, you hardly notice it. The fan is strong enough to keep the mirrors clear when the shower is on. I recommend this to anyone who does not like foggy mirrors. Buy the good foil tape to plug up any holes around the unit and to seal up the exhaust.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ultra Silent 80 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
MeSoCritical

Meets expectation

PostedApril 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this for a small 6x6 bathroom with shower. Wanted something quiet but with enough CFM. This thing is so quiet that I wasn't sure if it was working the first time when it was turned on. No issues with it's ability to move air either. Overall, great value and definitely worth the money.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ultra Silent 80 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
Kpsmo
from Coastal California

Very quietly clears the humid air from bathroom

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very pleased with this fan. It's truly as quiet as advertised. We live in a humid coastal area- it quickly clears the moisture from the bathroom mirrors following hot showers.
Pros: High Quality, sooo quiet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ultra Silent 80 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
animallover
from Arlington, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I love it. It's so quiet that I forget that it's on.

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Vast improvement over my old cheap one that my remodeler installed years ago. The old one sounded like a really old loud dishwasher. I'm so glad I bought it. It's so quiet, I've almost forgotten to turn it off. It's only be a few weeks since it was installed but no problems. I don't think my handyman, the installer, had any problems with the installation.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ultra Silent 80 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
Goneshopping
from Wilmington, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great fan!

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this fan for a small powder room reno. It came well packaged and is so quiet, you hardly know it's on. I did have it professionally installed. Absolutely love it and would highly recommend it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, High Quality, Nice Design, Quiet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ultra Silent 80 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
Grandma
from California, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quiet as advertised

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installation was easy and the performance is quiet, much better than the fan it was replacing. Also looks nice.
Pros: Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ultra Silent 80 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
olderNdirt
from Eastern Iowa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Quiet & Energy Efficient

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My BroanUltra Silent 80 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan is ENERGY STAR* and is very quiet. Mine uses only 20 watts. I made a plenum to fit it to the register from my central air and the fan does a great job of boosting the cool air. The gentile whoosh of air also masks the street noise in my bedroom and I sleep very well.
I rated the appearance as good because the housing is fully visible in my installation - but it makes no difference as most of its use is when the lights are out:-)
Pros: Performs Well, Quiet, High Quality
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ultra Silent 80 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
Laurie
from Houston
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very quiet motor!

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this particular fan because of quiet operation and feature that permits installation over your shower. We installed this over a stand up shower with glass surround ending about a foot from ceiling. During showers, glass interior is steamed up but there is no fogging of the mirror which is just a few feet from the shower. We wired it so that it comes on with the vanity lights so you don't forget to turn it on before entering shower and its quiet operation goes unnoticed. Love it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ultra Silent 80 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
MattD
from Tampa, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So quiet you don't know it's running

PostedMarch 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was replacing an old fan that worked well but was loud.
I wanted a quiet fan and this one did not disappoint. It works great, looks great and is silent. Worth every penny
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ultra Silent 80 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
LARemodel
from West Hollywood

Very quiet, works well

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Because of the code requirements in CA, we had to find a bathroom fan with no lighting (for a remodel, 50% of your lighting must now be high efficiency - LED or fluorescent which is nearly impossible). This fan works very well, is very quiet and has no light. The only way to improve this fan is to incorporate a high efficiency light into it - code does not allow just replacing a regular bulb with a CFL to qualify.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ultra Silent 80 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
runninmike

Super quiet, easy installation

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Fan is extremely quiet. Installation was easy, but took some time to understand the instructions. Works really well in a 50 sq ft bathroom - very little fogging or steam on the mirrors.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ultra Silent 80 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
jmmjr
from Chapel Hill, NC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The most silent fan I ever purchases. Have to listen to hear that it is operating.

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The fan was easy to install and the air movement as well as the lack of sound is great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>