728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Charcoal & Wood Grills or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill

American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill

The Char-Broil American Gourmet Charcoal Grill combines the functions of charcoal smoking, barbecuing and grilling for flexible cooking. The grill features cast iron cooking grates and a grate lifter that provides easy access to the removable ash pan. It includes front, side and bottom shelves for storage space.
Overall rating:
4.4 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(270 reviews) 270
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product235 of 258reviews
Rating Breakdown 270 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(158)
4
(82)
3
(15)
2
(10)
1
(5)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product235 of 258reviews
Customer questions and answers:
28 Questions | 115 Answers
Customer reviews for American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
Review 1 for American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
from Phelan, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Recently bought this BBQ

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Let me start off by saying I purchased this bbq online with the in store pickup option, what I great idea! Within 30 minutes I got a text it was ready for pickup. I was really happy that it was so quick and I didn't have to go looking around In the store for the bbq I wanted... I brought it home and decided I'd bbq so I put it together within 30 minutes and lit the charcoal the only complaint I have is some of the exterior paint chiped/pealed off but I guess for $100 I got what I paid for I would definently recommend this bbq to anyone who wants a charcoal bbq, thanks Home Depot for the great buy and the i store pickup option
Pros: Easy to Assemble, great price good grill and large cooking surface
Cons: paint flaked off with first use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+36points
40out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 2 for American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
from Bowie, MD
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Well worth the purchase.

PostedJune 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The grill was easy to assemble. It takes a little bit of time. I have used it three or four times in the past month. You can put a family pack of chicken wings on it and still have room left over. The upper rack is great for food that doesn't need much heat. It is easy to adjust the level of the charcoals.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
from Raleigh, NC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The BOMB!!!

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This grill is the dang BOMB!!!! While preparing for my son's birthday party, I left my food on the grill for 30 minute with piping hot charcoals (red still under the grey charcoals) to run an errand and came back, not burnt at all. I just cut the air supply off at the bottom, closed the grill, and let it burn. It was more of a slow smoke than anything. Then when I was ready to crank it up a notch and get the fire back I just gave it more air...SUPER!!!! With the ability to lift and lower the charcoals I was able to cook 40 or more pieces of chicken, hot dogs, hamburgers, pork chops, sausages, and more in one cooking session.....I couldn't recommend a better grill.
Pros: Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
+41points
41out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 4 for American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
from Albany, OR
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better than expected!

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had been looking for larger and better quality grill. Purchased sight unseen because $79 was such a bargain. Happily surprised that it was a very durable and sturdy grill and I am more than pleased with it. I even built a little patio for it to sit on. Was also assembled for free and ready for pick up at my local store! I couldn't be more satisfied with my purchase.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
from Irvine, Ca
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Summer Lovin'!

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We love this BBQ! First time we've had a charcoal BBQ and the results of the burgers are amazingly Delish! It was easy to put together and is the perfect touch to great summer bbqs!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
from San Antonio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent Grill for the $$$

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After opening the box, I kinda got overwhelmed with the amount of parts. But one step at a time it went together very easily . I was grilling with in a couple of hours. Use it every weekend.
Pros: Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 7 for American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Grill

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I originally bought this grill looking for sufficient cooking area combined with a low cost to purchase. I wasn’t expecting much in terms of performance. It turns out that this grill is wonderful. It far exceeded my expectations. I have used it a number of times now and every meal turned out perfect. I used a few days ago to cook for a group of 15 people and it handled it with ease. I had chicken, hot dogs and hamburgers all cooking at once. I highly recommend this product.
A few notes: the height of the coals is very easy to manage but watch out for the hot handles. If you don’t use pot holders of some sort while holding the handles you may burn yourself. Also, hot dogs cook great on what they call the warming rack rather than on the very hot grill surface.
The free shipping should have said "shipping included in price". If you buy from the store, as I did, it is $20 less ($99)
Pros: Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 8 for American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Amazing for the price!

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this grill as a valentine's gift for my husband! Does everything it's supposed to, grills perfectly with coal and wood, smokes evenly, the warming rack serves its purpose.. the best part is the cast iron grill grates! This was an excellent value and is perfect as a starter for a smaller family. I had it assembled in store and it is sturdy. I also purchased a grill cover and we keep it on the back porch and it's very tolerant of this texas heat and humidity. We love this grill, and I recommend it to friends all the time. It's also a good option for those who are just getting familiar with charcoal grilling, and clean up is a breeze!
Pros: Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly, Durable, Large Cooking Space
+25points
29out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 9 for American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
from Atlanta, Georgia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Barrel and weber in one

PostedMay 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Moved into my house recently and needed a grill. I usually get a Weber grill but i wanted something a little bigger this time. Was thinking about getting one of those huge barrel grills but i just couldn't justify the size and cost. Then i ran across this gem. At the time it was $99 as opposed to the $79 price tag i see here which is insane for what you're getting.
If you like charcoal grills and you're cooking for a family you don't need anything larger than this. The temp control works and i've smoked with it too. I assembled it within an hour by myself. Make sure to prime it with vegetable oil treatment like the manual says. I left mine out for a few days, it rained and started rusting a little bit. Soon as primed it i haven't had any issues.
Great, great, great charcoal grill for the family.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Superior Craftsmanship
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
from San Antonio, TX

Love it!

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a fine grill for the money, and Home Depots' free service in putting it together for me as a Christmas gift was superb! Love the warming tray, and can see lots of use out of it for the coming years. Only con is trying to find a grill cover that fits it, but I will keep looking.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 11 for American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
from Huntsville, AL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great grill at a great value!

PostedNovember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this grill for my husband last Christmas and he loves it (as do I)! Assembly was fairly easily. Together, it took us about an hour to assemble. Everything we have cooked on it has been delicious! Heat is easy to adjust and distributes evenly. Cast iron grates are durable and divided into 3 separate pieces making it convenient to remove them to add charcoal or clean if needed. In addition, it has an adjustable ash pan and side and front shelves. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for an affordable, quality charcoal grill .
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 12 for American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
from Melbourne, FL

Season the cast iron = NO RUST

PostedSeptember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love this grill. Great cooking surface, charcoal bed is suspended above grill bottom - plenty of airflow and control.
If you follow the instructions, wash and oil cast iron grills and insides, start a small fire and add to it, the insides and grills will SEASON and NOT RUST.
Treat this just like any cast iron skillet and it will turn BLACK with carbon (natures non-stick). This will be my last grill for a long time.
I LOVE THE CHIMNEY!
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 13 for American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
from Mooresville, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Medium Size grill with Great Grilling Features

PostedMay 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this grill from Statesville, NC store. Got it home and got it "seasoned" with Hickory wood. Next grilling proved to be exactly what I wanted with a charcoal grill. Movable interior charcoal rack made cooking chicken and steak very easy. Great cast iron grates (comes with 3) makes food look like it's suppose to when you grill. The store associates were most helpful in my selection. Thanks Home Depot!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 14 for American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
from United States
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Rustic and sturdy

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Heavy components, so assembly may require a helper. The lid was dinged in the back due to rough handling in storage/shipping, but not enough to send back. Looks like it will last a long time. Large enough for a small get together, small enough for 2. Would recommend.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
from TN, NY, GA, CA

A REAL GRILL

PostedDecember 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been using this particular grill for a few years now. It gives me the latitude to cook different ways. Direct, Indirect, and smoking. The grill units are thick cast iron tht distributes heat very well. The top or warming rack is very good for indirect slow cooking. I sear the meat over the fire to seal it then move it to the other side to cook slowly.
I cook 12-15 lb. ribeye loins indirect. Each time they come out beautifully done in 3-4 hrs. I travel the country when the weather is good and I have 8 of these grills staged at different places. I know these grills and I know how they cook. I use lump not briquette charcoal and no lighter fluid. I have also cooked with wood. Thew results are the same. Consistently well flavored and done to perfection. Cleaning the ashes is made easy with the movable coal grate. The bottom piece of metal under the grate is a good heat deflector for full, even coverage within the barrel. This grill makes pros out of any body.
+31points
34out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 16 for American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very happy

PostedAugust 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've never bought a bar-b-que grill before, but saw this one early this summer and thought it would be perfect for the project I volunteer with in CT. We do most of our cooking outdoors and we had been using a dilapidated, "built-with-loving-hands" grill that was way too big and used way too much charcoal. Those of us who used the old thing were fed up with it. The new one is a joy! You can use it to cook several different ways, including smoking. It uses far less charcoal, cooks twice as fast, can be rolled into the garage when it rains--even while cooking-- and is easy to clean up. What more could you ask for? The price was astonishing when you consider all the perks that came with it: shelves on the front and side, grease catcher, inside wire fold-down shelf to keep food warm or to cook something additional while bar-b-queing the main dish. I just hope it holds up under all the use. But right now, everyone who's used it, loves it!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 17 for American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
from Dallas GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You Get What Ypu Pay For

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Well I see lots of fabulous reviews so I guess I got the one lemon out of the bunch. We had been without a grill for a few years and even though we struggle financially I broke down and decided to trust a well known brand name. The grill on display really looked well made so I decided to take a chance. I brought it home and near the final assembly stage noticed a broken piece. I had to drive back to the store where they promptly swapped it with a piece from the assembled display grill. I followed the seasoning directions to the letter. I used an entire family size can of spray vegetable oil to thoroughly coat everything inside and burned a $10 bag of charcoal before ever trying to cook anything. A week or two after using it I noticed the grates are now rusted. The grates also don't fit correctly in the bottom half of the grill. Either they are too small or the frame is too big. When you try to clean or scrape the grates before using when they slide all the back to the rear of the grill the front part of the grate falls down into the coals. This has also happened when cooking and when trying to slide a spatula under the burgers etc they fall down into the coals with the grate. This is not riight. I expected more from a brand name like this. I wish I had my $100 back for sure. I attached a photo where you can see that when the grates are pushed all the way to the rear of the grill the front edge BARELY is hanging on to the front ledge. All it takes is a little force towards the rear of the grill and the front edge falls down onto the coals.
Cons: not of good overall quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By CharbroilOctober 28, 2014By CharbroilOctober 28, 2014
We're very sorry to hear this. We value you as a Char-Broil customer and want you to enjoy using your grill. Has a case been created with us? Please give us a call at 1-800-241-7548 and we will be able to best assist.Charbroil
Review 18 for American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill

Great as a gift

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this grill for my fiancé's birthday. He loves it so much he uses it everyday. The features make it very easy to regulate the temperature within the grill. The basic shipping was very quick, I ordered the grill on a Friday and received it on the following Wednesday. It absolutely needs 2 people for assembly. It took us about an hour. We've had it for about 3 weeks now and it has been outside through all kinds of weather without rusting at all. I would just recommend following the seasoning instructions. Overall I'm very happy with the purchase, especially since I don't have to worry about cooking anymore!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
from Rhode Island

Has it's flaws but decent for the price.

PostedMay 15, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Design: Pretty- looking grill. The barrel design is very nice and it holds a lot of food. My top swing away grate came broken but my local Home Depot gave me a replacement ( awesome customer service ). Front and side shelves are nice. The bottom rack is good for storage but don't expect it to hold a ton of weight. The smoke stack is cute but I never see smoke come out of it ( useless decoration ? ) Smoke always seeps out around the bottom of the cover instead. Side vent is useful for controlling heat as is the adjustable ash pan ( which comes dirty and discolored by the way. I was told this was part of the metals treatment process so don't be alarmed ). Some hooks at the bottom of the grill to hold hang utensils would have been greatly welcomed.
Materials: The "barrel" is very soild and heavy. Otherwise the rest of the parts are the standard cheap fair found on lower prices items. Front and side shelves are not wood as stated in product description. They are metal. I was disapointed with this. Coating scratches easily and some of my parts came with scratches. There is special spray paint you can buy to correct this. The temperature gauge is very cheap and probably not entirely reliable. The grilling surface is soild and cooks well. Universal replacement parts are readily available at Home Depot.
Assembly: Pain in the neck. Manual is not clear at times and refers incorrectly to several parts. Says you need two people for assembly and it's probably a good idea although you can pull it off solo with some acrobatics. If you have an aptitude for assembly you may be off better than I made out.
Performance: cooks fine. Make sure you are familiar with charcoal cooking as it can be a hassle if you don't do your research.
Overall: What you get is pretty decent for around 100.00. I would still take this grill over the more popular Weber "dome" style grills because you get more features. If you are budget concious and looking for an entery level charcoal grill with some added pizazz this grill may be for you.
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 20 for American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
from St Paul, MN, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really like this grill!

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My husband and I purchased this grill a few weeks ago and have really been enjoying it. My husband put it together himself (even though it could have been put together for free in the store!) and it didn't take him too long. We have used it several times and everything has turned out great. I really like the warmer shelf on top for corn or veggies. The only thing we've noticed is that the grill burns hot for a very long time. It will completely burn up all the charcoal in the grill so it feels like a bit of a waste when you only do one round of burgers. Also, we've had a few times where the heating hasn't been quite even. Lastly, it seems a little difficult/awkward to get the ashes out of the grill. For the price, you can't beat this grill!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>