728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Charcoal & Wood Grills or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill

American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill

The Char-Broil American Gourmet Charcoal Grill combines the functions of charcoal smoking, barbecuing and grilling for flexible cooking. The grill features cast iron cooking grates and a grate lifter that provides easy access to the removable ash pan. It includes front, side and bottom shelves for storage space.
Overall rating:
4.441 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(256 reviews) 256
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product225 of 244reviews
Rating Breakdown 256 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(152)
4
(79)
3
(14)
2
(8)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product225 of 244reviews
Customer questions and answers:
26 Questions | 113 Answers
Customer reviews for American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
Review 1 for American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
from Phelan, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Recently bought this BBQ

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Let me start off by saying I purchased this bbq online with the in store pickup option, what I great idea! Within 30 minutes I got a text it was ready for pickup. I was really happy that it was so quick and I didn't have to go looking around In the store for the bbq I wanted... I brought it home and decided I'd bbq so I put it together within 30 minutes and lit the charcoal the only complaint I have is some of the exterior paint chiped/pealed off but I guess for $100 I got what I paid for I would definently recommend this bbq to anyone who wants a charcoal bbq, thanks Home Depot for the great buy and the i store pickup option
Pros: Easy to Assemble, great price good grill and large cooking surface
Cons: paint flaked off with first use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+37points
40out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 2 for American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
from Bowie, MD
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Well worth the purchase.

PostedJune 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The grill was easy to assemble. It takes a little bit of time. I have used it three or four times in the past month. You can put a family pack of chicken wings on it and still have room left over. The upper rack is great for food that doesn't need much heat. It is easy to adjust the level of the charcoals.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
from Raleigh, NC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The BOMB!!!

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This grill is the dang BOMB!!!! While preparing for my son's birthday party, I left my food on the grill for 30 minute with piping hot charcoals (red still under the grey charcoals) to run an errand and came back, not burnt at all. I just cut the air supply off at the bottom, closed the grill, and let it burn. It was more of a slow smoke than anything. Then when I was ready to crank it up a notch and get the fire back I just gave it more air...SUPER!!!! With the ability to lift and lower the charcoals I was able to cook 40 or more pieces of chicken, hot dogs, hamburgers, pork chops, sausages, and more in one cooking session.....I couldn't recommend a better grill.
Pros: Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
+39points
39out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 4 for American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
from Albany, OR
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better than expected!

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had been looking for larger and better quality grill. Purchased sight unseen because $79 was such a bargain. Happily surprised that it was a very durable and sturdy grill and I am more than pleased with it. I even built a little patio for it to sit on. Was also assembled for free and ready for pick up at my local store! I couldn't be more satisfied with my purchase.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
from Atlanta, Georgia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Barrel and weber in one

PostedMay 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Moved into my house recently and needed a grill. I usually get a Weber grill but i wanted something a little bigger this time. Was thinking about getting one of those huge barrel grills but i just couldn't justify the size and cost. Then i ran across this gem. At the time it was $99 as opposed to the $79 price tag i see here which is insane for what you're getting.
If you like charcoal grills and you're cooking for a family you don't need anything larger than this. The temp control works and i've smoked with it too. I assembled it within an hour by myself. Make sure to prime it with vegetable oil treatment like the manual says. I left mine out for a few days, it rained and started rusting a little bit. Soon as primed it i haven't had any issues.
Great, great, great charcoal grill for the family.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Superior Craftsmanship
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
from Irvine, Ca
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Summer Lovin'!

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We love this BBQ! First time we've had a charcoal BBQ and the results of the burgers are amazingly Delish! It was easy to put together and is the perfect touch to great summer bbqs!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
from San Antonio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent Grill for the $$$

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After opening the box, I kinda got overwhelmed with the amount of parts. But one step at a time it went together very easily . I was grilling with in a couple of hours. Use it every weekend.
Pros: Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 8 for American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
from PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome groll

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This grill is awesome. Took a little bitof time to get togeher and I needed a little bit of help to hold pieces while attaching other pieces. Works great, looks good (except the charbroile emblem is upside down on the lid). Overall a fantastic little charcoal grill!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
from Buffalo, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Almost Best Grill Ever

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been charcoal grilling for over 40 years and this is the best...if I could attach a rotisserie to this it would be 5 stars. I have owned gas grills,but nothing beats the taste of charcoal-NO lighter fluid ever. This easily starts with a bit of newspaper loosely rolled under the charcoal.
The 3 grates are high quality cast iron, not just cheap wire. Also it is wide enough that it is easy to move stuff off the heat. So easy to raise and lower the coals for maximum control. The dual air vents add another measure of flame and heat control. The side & front "counters" come in handy. Great grill at a terrific price.
I opted to put this together as a project with my grandkids. It was a great teaching moment and we all had fun.
We have used it 4-5 times a week for the last month. Notice the grates in the picture and sorry they are sideways. Be sure to follow the set up directions for prepping them.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Dishwasher Safe, Large Cooking Space
Cons: could be a little bit more sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
from Sanford, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

BARREL STYLE CHARCOAL GRILL

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Best charcoal Grill that I have seen lately, also best price as well. I have been searcing for a charcoal grill to get best taste for my BBQ parties and so finally I got one and enjoying my Kebabs and All other grill parties with my friends and loved ones, Thanks Home Depot!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
from San Antonio, TX

Love it!

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a fine grill for the money, and Home Depots' free service in putting it together for me as a Christmas gift was superb! Love the warming tray, and can see lots of use out of it for the coming years. Only con is trying to find a grill cover that fits it, but I will keep looking.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 12 for American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Grill

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I originally bought this grill looking for sufficient cooking area combined with a low cost to purchase. I wasn’t expecting much in terms of performance. It turns out that this grill is wonderful. It far exceeded my expectations. I have used it a number of times now and every meal turned out perfect. I used a few days ago to cook for a group of 15 people and it handled it with ease. I had chicken, hot dogs and hamburgers all cooking at once. I highly recommend this product.
A few notes: the height of the coals is very easy to manage but watch out for the hot handles. If you don’t use pot holders of some sort while holding the handles you may burn yourself. Also, hot dogs cook great on what they call the warming rack rather than on the very hot grill surface.
The free shipping should have said "shipping included in price". If you buy from the store, as I did, it is $20 less ($99)
Pros: Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 13 for American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
from Lithonia, GA 30058, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for the price

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I love smokers so I love this grill. plenty of room for all your treats and the adjustable ash pan that hold the coals is a plus. I like the ideal of moving the coals up or down and not the food; no chance of dropping your food. I think the ash pan could have been a little wider as a few coals fell off but they stayed in the bottom of the grill. The grate is heavy duty and you even get a handle to lift the hot grate if needed. A non-stick grate would have been better but I try to remember to spray my grate with Pam after cleaning so it don't rust. I got mine for $79 so get one before they are gone...
Pros: Sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
from Phoenix
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Buy it!

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Best grill we've ever had. We no longer use the gas grill since we bought this last month. It's better than a Weber charcoal grill. This charcoal grill has an accurate thermostat, cooks to perfection, and smokes the food. It also has a front and side cart for plates, utensils, etc.
Unit is strong and fairly easy to assemble. This will hold up for years.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
from Salt lake city, Utah
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A lot of bang for the buck!

PostedApril 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After moving to a house from an apartment where I wasn't able to have a charcoal grill I was excited to get back into doing some real bbq. I picked up this grill because I'm a cheapskate and I'm very pleased with it. I assembled it, oiled the inside as per the instructions and then seasoned it with a charcoal/hickory fire for about two hours. After re stoking the fire I set it up for smoking and made the best ribs I've ever cooked! I now know this grill is going to work well for direct and indirect grilling and temperature control is easy. After a few hours of hickory smoke you open it up and you just smell that "this is where the magic happens" scent of a good charcoal grill. The only way I see myself replacing it is with a larger one. The ribs went way too fast!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Amazing for the price!

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this grill as a valentine's gift for my husband! Does everything it's supposed to, grills perfectly with coal and wood, smokes evenly, the warming rack serves its purpose.. the best part is the cast iron grill grates! This was an excellent value and is perfect as a starter for a smaller family. I had it assembled in store and it is sturdy. I also purchased a grill cover and we keep it on the back porch and it's very tolerant of this texas heat and humidity. We love this grill, and I recommend it to friends all the time. It's also a good option for those who are just getting familiar with charcoal grilling, and clean up is a breeze!
Pros: Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly, Durable, Large Cooking Space
+25points
29out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 17 for American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill

Nice little grill

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Assembly was pretty straight forward,however somethings required a beer or 2 to look at right. I do think it is a little on the weak side, it could use a little more sturdiness. I got it home assembled it in like 30 mins and threw some burgers on it at 9pm.. It was cold but the burgers were worth it!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
from South Jersey
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great charcoal grill

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Looking for a small grill, read the reviews, did not believe all the great reviews this grill got,BUT they were so on the spot. I have had more grills than I can remember in the past 30+ years! never had a CharBroil, it's now the only one l would ever own. What this grill can do with 2 lbs of coal is amazing. The heat control is fantastic. If you are a serious grilled. Or just want to cook some burgers, go to the Depot and get this one. I assure you there will be no disappointments at all. The price was great, assembly took 35 minutes, season it and enjoy some great cook out time.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly, great cooking
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
from Chicago, Illinois
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Absolute Great Grill

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this grill right before the 4th of July. The assembly was easy. You just need to ensure that you follow the directions and not be like my fiancé and turn into Bob The Builder. Anywho, we used it on the holiday. This grill is one of the best grills I've ever purchased. The ability to slow cook your food on the second shelf is great. You can monitor your heat index not to mention cleaning up the grill eyes so you won't have to worry about rust is good...Everyone talked about how good the food was.
Caught the grill for a phenomenal price. Great Buy!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
from Olympia, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I Love This Grill

PostedMay 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I LOVE this grill! The cooking surface is rectangular, not round like the other guy. This fact makes for a much more usable grill surface. The grates are cast-iron. You can season them just like your stove-top cast-iron pan, making them really slippery, even under the high heat of BBQ. It's an overall great grill, but keep it covered/inside when not in use or the barrel will begin to rust (but I've had mine outdoors for 3-4 years and it's still just fine. I always cover it after it cools, helping it to last).
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: none
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>