728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Smokers & Fryers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill

Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill

Between the outer wall and inner wall of this versatile cooker is a fully enclosed, specially designed propane burner. The heated inner wall radiates natural infrared heat that penetrates food evenly and seals the juices inside. The hot air that is generated escapes out of the top of the cooking chamber before it has a chance to dry out the food. The result is meat that stays moist and tender. The Smoker, Roaster & Grill can easily serve as the only cooker in the backyard.
Overall rating:
4.531 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(209 reviews) 209
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product191 of 202reviews
Rating Breakdown 209 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(147)
4
(41)
3
(12)
2
(3)
1
(6)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product191 of 202reviews
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 69 Answers
Customer reviews for Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
Review 1 for Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
from Florida, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Performs as described

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to assemble and truly is a smoker and grill and Rotisserie, all food made on it was far beyond what I expected. Smoked steak and Potato , Pulled pork ,Chicken You name and the Big Easy makes it EASY and clean up is even EASIER Thank you for a quality product
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
from Stafford, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Greatest Smoker I've Seen In A While

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Price and convenience are the keys here. Family swore that I cooked my brisket on my big smoker.
Pros: Durable, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
from Helotes, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Well Worth the money...Big Easy

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Fantastic product, super easy to use and performs better than advertised. Everything that I have cooked so far exceeds expectations. Looking forward to testing other things.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: none so far
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
from texas
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This SRG is awesome!

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I received it on time from Home Depot. Very good service! I have made fajitas,steak,shrimp,two chickens,pork/beef ribs and rib eyes. They all came out excellent1 I followed the enclosed cooking guide in detail. I cured it with bacon grease. This SRG is incredible! I recommend it highly to anyone. It is very user friendly and cooks fast when grilling or roasting. I like having the smokey flavor when you want it. I will be buying the accessories real soon. If you follow the guidelines implicitly, you will be impressed with the results! Thanks Home Depot and Char-Broil!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+13points
19out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
from Fort Myers, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Grill, Smoker and Cooker

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I read a ton of reviews and decided that this was the best offer on the market for me. It heats quickly and the steaks, chicken and fish all cook great. Everything comes out moist and juicy! I have not smoked anything yet but bought a bag of applewood chips for the future smokings.
The instructions for putting the grill together could be better, but if you take your time, you can have a perfect grill in a short period of time.
Note: The grill does sit low so I set it on a piece of formica from my new kitchen sink cutout, then set that on a 4-wheel movers dolly so it is now higher and I can roll it two feet away from the house when I am cooking.
The grill cooktop grate is very easy to remove. I just take it off after every few uses and soak it in my laundry sink in some hot water with Dawn dish soap. Easy cleanup!
I also bought the Char-Broil cover which is nice and heavy duty and should help protect it from the salt air of SW Florida.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
from Athens, GA

The Big Easy Smoker Roaster Grill Model 10101

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is an excellent product I would recommend to anyone. We bought this specifically to cook our 22 lb turkey at Thanksgiving, no longer wanting to cook the turkey in the oven, nor by frying it in oil due to the potential danger of the hot oil. So we decided to try the Big Easy. The results were outstanding, and everyone said it was the best tasting turkey they ever had. We even smoked it using the smoker tin provided, even though the directions don't recommend using the smoker method for a large turkey. It worked beautifully, and added a lot to the overall taste. The turkey was full of juices, yet the skin was browned and very tasty and easy to eat. No more dried out white meat, and the kitchen oven was free to cook other dishes at the same time.
And, the great thing about this model of Big Easy is it also serves as a small to mid size grill for steaks, burgers, hot dogs, etc., eg anything you want to grill for a small number of people. The infrared cooking worked wonderfully for us.
The opinions from my son and daughter after eating the turkey was so positive that I ordered 2 more Big Easy's to give each one of them for Christmas. I know they are going to be thrilled. They said our turkey this year was the best they had ever had, and they have had over 30 years of my wife's delicious turkeys.
My main criticism to the unit is it has to be manually lifted to move it around. To counter this, I built a 24 inch square platform and mounted it on 2 1/2 inch wheels so I could easily move the grill around. I notched out spaces for the legs to sit in so they wouldn't slide off the platform, and I can pull/roll the whole thing using the lid handle on the grill.
While I have only had this grill about 1 month, we have roasted chickens, grilled steaks, done some burgers, and find it rather fun to use. It has its social advantages too, as it has become a big conversation piece due to its uniqueness, and people kind of like to stand around it while it is cooking, just talking about how well it works and how good the food tastes.
The biggest problem I have had with other grills in the past is they tend to rust easily, causing them to breakdown. Only time will tell regarding this situation for the Big Easy, but I keep it under cover when not in use. It's easy to wheel it from the deck to the screen porch waiting for the next meal.
Overall, you won't go wrong with the Big Easy Smoker Roaster Grill, even if you have another type of grill you normally use. Their method of infrared heating works very effectively.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
from Palm Beach county, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

"BIG EASY GRILL" is really big and easy!!!

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Grill was very easy to assemble by following the instructions found on-line. First item was a full chicken in the roaster, very moist and flavorful. Second item, New York strips on the grill, the pictures speak for themselves. Home Depot price 20% below some competitors, very pleased with purchase and service.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Superior Craftsmanship
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill

big easy smoker, roaster, grill

PostedJanuary 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very happy with this purchase. Use it all the time. Can't wait to get the accessories for it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
from San Marcos, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy to assemble, READ the instructions and all will go well for you, I hope!

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to assemble, read the directions closely, they can be a bit confusing, LOL!! I purchased this as a Christmas Gift for my Daughter and Son-in-law and then helped to put it together. Seems well made but will not know performs until after we are invited to dinner in the near future. :-)
I am thinking about getting one for myself...
Cheers
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
from Washington, DC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

best bbq ever

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
this is the best bbq we have had in the seven or eight units, it cooks fast and no fires. and the wife likes it!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Big easy propane smoker

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was very pleased with this smoker and grill. I
bought it as a gift and the person who got it really liked it he done a ham in it and it turned out great
The cover was also a good deal
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: nothing to add
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BIG EASY PROPANE GAS SMOKER ROASTER AND GRILL

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Works as advertised so I'm impressed with that - made a turkey in it for the first time and it came out perfect.... If the unit was made more sturdy without so much sheet metal - I'd give it a 5 -- but still a good deal...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
from Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

seriously -a fantastic buy

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The only con of this buy- and make sure you shop around- is that this kit doesnt have all of the accessories offered by some merchants. if you will never use the kabob rack, or the leg rack, then its not a biggie. Go look on you tube for videos of this grill being used. This is the best chicken cooker ever. Like being deep fried, but none of the oily mess. I LOVE THIS ITEM
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: cooks slower in the cold
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill

Love big easy

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Cooks great my husband loves it! Cooked a 23 pound turkey in 3 hrs!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill

Great supprise

PostedDecember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It was pretty simple to put together. Works great, but I have to learn to cook again. The booklet has menus that list cooking on Smoking, Roasting or Grilling temps. However the knob only has a high to low indicator. So practice makes perfect. I love it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
from gettysburg pa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great value

PostedDecember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
man this thing rocks made a 14 lbs turkey the day I got it .it took 2 hrs on med with some hickory chips and it was perrrrfect.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill

Big Easy Smoker grill 3and1

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the best smoker and grill ever. I use this three to four times a week
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
from Miami, FL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cheaper materials than expected

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not what I expected from all the good reviews on Home Depot. The assembly was not difficult, but it took a lot longer than thought. The metal shell was much thinner than expected, and all the knobs and handles were not as high quality as I had hoped for. The smoker box handle broke during the first use, and adding chips was awkward as well. The size of the included basket is quite small, and the shelves slide around. Overall, good idea but poorly executed. with about $20 more in materials, this could be perfect. I'm sad to return it, but its just not even close to what I wanted.
Cons: Small Cooking Space
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
from Modesto, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Pay Pal flash sale

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We used it for our Thanksgiving Turkey....it was faster than an average smoker by HALF!. It was about four and a half hours for a perfectly juicy, smoked, 15 lb Turkey.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill

Best grill ever

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Best grill ever had juicy meat and worry free with no flareups!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>