728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Smokers & Fryers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill

Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill

Between the outer wall and inner wall of this versatile cooker is a fully enclosed, specially designed propane burner. The heated inner wall radiates natural infrared heat that penetrates food evenly and seals the juices inside. The hot air that is generated escapes out of the top of the cooking chamber before it has a chance to dry out the food. The result is meat that stays moist and tender. The Smoker, Roaster & Grill can easily serve as the only cooker in the backyard.
Overall rating:
4.553 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(179 reviews) 179
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product164 of 172reviews
Rating Breakdown 179 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(128)
4
(33)
3
(11)
2
(3)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product164 of 172reviews
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 63 Answers
Customer reviews for Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
Review 1 for Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
from Florida, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Performs as described

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble and truly is a smoker and grill and Rotisserie, all food made on it was far beyond what I expected. Smoked steak and Potato , Pulled pork ,Chicken You name and the Big Easy makes it EASY and clean up is even EASIER Thank you for a quality product
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
from Stafford, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Greatest Smoker I've Seen In A While

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Price and convenience are the keys here. Family swore that I cooked my brisket on my big smoker.
Pros: Durable, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
from Palm Beach county, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

"BIG EASY GRILL" is really big and easy!!!

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Grill was very easy to assemble by following the instructions found on-line. First item was a full chicken in the roaster, very moist and flavorful. Second item, New York strips on the grill, the pictures speak for themselves. Home Depot price 20% below some competitors, very pleased with purchase and service.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Superior Craftsmanship
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
from Fort Myers, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Grill, Smoker and Cooker

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read a ton of reviews and decided that this was the best offer on the market for me. It heats quickly and the steaks, chicken and fish all cook great. Everything comes out moist and juicy! I have not smoked anything yet but bought a bag of applewood chips for the future smokings.
The instructions for putting the grill together could be better, but if you take your time, you can have a perfect grill in a short period of time.
Note: The grill does sit low so I set it on a piece of formica from my new kitchen sink cutout, then set that on a 4-wheel movers dolly so it is now higher and I can roll it two feet away from the house when I am cooking.
The grill cooktop grate is very easy to remove. I just take it off after every few uses and soak it in my laundry sink in some hot water with Dawn dish soap. Easy cleanup!
I also bought the Char-Broil cover which is nice and heavy duty and should help protect it from the salt air of SW Florida.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
from texas
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This SRG is awesome!

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I received it on time from Home Depot. Very good service! I have made fajitas,steak,shrimp,two chickens,pork/beef ribs and rib eyes. They all came out excellent1 I followed the enclosed cooking guide in detail. I cured it with bacon grease. This SRG is incredible! I recommend it highly to anyone. It is very user friendly and cooks fast when grilling or roasting. I like having the smokey flavor when you want it. I will be buying the accessories real soon. If you follow the guidelines implicitly, you will be impressed with the results! Thanks Home Depot and Char-Broil!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+12points
18out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
from Washington, DC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

best bbq ever

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this is the best bbq we have had in the seven or eight units, it cooks fast and no fires. and the wife likes it!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
from southington, ct
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good value

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
grill arrived with no damage but missing screws necessary for assembly. Once they arrived it went together well. Only disappointment was the smoking chip holder does not fit well and is hard to remove. First chicken that I roasted came one quite well with crispy skin and juicy meat.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
from 61301
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

some issues with smoker box

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The smoker box, stinks, It wont sit right in the slot, I bought it because of this feature, not happy.Called char-broil customer service, no help, It is a bad design, Cant return once you use it.Could of bought a nice big grill for the money, and a smoker box, I love this company, but this one, NO.Its real small grill surface, I would say pass on this one, sorry.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Cons: Small Cooking Space
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By CharbroilAugust 19, 2014By CharbroilAugust 19, 2014
We're very sorry to hear this. We value you as a Char-Broil customer and want you to enjoy using your grill. Was a case created with us? Whenever an issue is encountered please give us a call at 1-800-241-7548 and we will be able to best assist.Charbroil
Review 9 for Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
from Dallas,Tx.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very promising

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Reasonably well designed but the wood chip/smoker chamber fits poorly and has fallen out while hot!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good product

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the fryer in the US and took it back to Denmark as carry on luggage. It worked; however, the packing was not good enough for the brutal handling by the airline. Anyhow, after some bodywork it is now back into the intented shape. Therefore I have put the quality to average. Please Charbroil, make this product available in continental European or improve the design of the box!
Besides this the fryer is excellent. I am sure you have a potential market.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
from Glendale, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Versatile

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's compact, easily moved around. Cooks great. Using the mesquite in the smoker really flavors your dish well. Very please with this smoker, roaster, grill!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
from Mi
Gender:Male

Great addition to outdoor cooking!

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product does require assembly but is packaged well and very easy to assemble. For the price the quality of materials are good. This is a great alternative for those not looking for the traditional low and slow BBQ, but still want great bbq flavor. It works well as a grill and when combining the basket and grill surface a good amount of food can be done at once.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: paint what you would expect for price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
from Buffalo NY

Nice roaster...

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Was easy to put together and works great. Haven't done to much with the smoker but everything I've roasted has come out just about perfect.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
from Miami, FL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cheaper materials than expected

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not what I expected from all the good reviews on Home Depot. The assembly was not difficult, but it took a lot longer than thought. The metal shell was much thinner than expected, and all the knobs and handles were not as high quality as I had hoped for. The smoker box handle broke during the first use, and adding chips was awkward as well. The size of the included basket is quite small, and the shelves slide around. Overall, good idea but poorly executed. with about $20 more in materials, this could be perfect. I'm sad to return it, but its just not even close to what I wanted.
Cons: Small Cooking Space
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
from Ripley, OH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not a True Smoker

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Works fine as a grill/roaster but cooks too hot to be a true smoker. Contacted Charbroil and they basically said that's a feature, not a bug.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy
Cons: not a true smoker
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
from Overland Park Ks
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Smoker?

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
My sister bought this the other day. I was excited to use it since I have an electric smoker and it is hard to maintain a descent temp. So I lite this baby up and was ready to rock out my pork butt! Well, it heated up to 400 and stayed there. That was the lowest temp and I couldn't get it to get any lower. So, if you want to smoke low and slow this isn't the cooker you are looking for. I did like that it was hot in minutes, but this just doesn't work for large pieces of meat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
from Garden Grove
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Big Easy Roaster

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Big Easy Roaster/rill/Smoker is fairly easy is put together. there were a few problems.
Made some changes to the handles to make stronger. The vent holes are in the wrong place-right
where the handles are so you can not touch the handles when it is on heat. On the other hand it does what it claims and food comes out good. It is a great item and I am pleased.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: vent holes should be moved and handles stronger
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
from Bainbridge Island, WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not sure

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
the igniter does not work, I’m unsure where the wire plugs in
and does the metal liner remain in place for all operations<
Pros: appears good
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
from El Dorado Hills, Ca
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best cooker

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Didn't believe it when I saw the commercial But what a cooker. easy to use. Juicy meals in a snap. Turkey next.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
from Athens, GA

The Big Easy Smoker Roaster Grill Model 10101

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an excellent product I would recommend to anyone. We bought this specifically to cook our 22 lb turkey at Thanksgiving, no longer wanting to cook the turkey in the oven, nor by frying it in oil due to the potential danger of the hot oil. So we decided to try the Big Easy. The results were outstanding, and everyone said it was the best tasting turkey they ever had. We even smoked it using the smoker tin provided, even though the directions don't recommend using the smoker method for a large turkey. It worked beautifully, and added a lot to the overall taste. The turkey was full of juices, yet the skin was browned and very tasty and easy to eat. No more dried out white meat, and the kitchen oven was free to cook other dishes at the same time.
And, the great thing about this model of Big Easy is it also serves as a small to mid size grill for steaks, burgers, hot dogs, etc., eg anything you want to grill for a small number of people. The infrared cooking worked wonderfully for us.
The opinions from my son and daughter after eating the turkey was so positive that I ordered 2 more Big Easy's to give each one of them for Christmas. I know they are going to be thrilled. They said our turkey this year was the best they had ever had, and they have had over 30 years of my wife's delicious turkeys.
My main criticism to the unit is it has to be manually lifted to move it around. To counter this, I built a 24 inch square platform and mounted it on 2 1/2 inch wheels so I could easily move the grill around. I notched out spaces for the legs to sit in so they wouldn't slide off the platform, and I can pull/roll the whole thing using the lid handle on the grill.
While I have only had this grill about 1 month, we have roasted chickens, grilled steaks, done some burgers, and find it rather fun to use. It has its social advantages too, as it has become a big conversation piece due to its uniqueness, and people kind of like to stand around it while it is cooking, just talking about how well it works and how good the food tastes.
The biggest problem I have had with other grills in the past is they tend to rust easily, causing them to breakdown. Only time will tell regarding this situation for the Big Easy, but I keep it under cover when not in use. It's easy to wheel it from the deck to the screen porch waiting for the next meal.
Overall, you won't go wrong with the Big Easy Smoker Roaster Grill, even if you have another type of grill you normally use. Their method of infrared heating works very effectively.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>