728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Smokers & Fryers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for The Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill

The Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill

Between the outer wall and inner wall of this versatile cooker is a fully enclosed, specially designed propane burner. The heated inner wall radiates natural infrared heat that penetrates food evenly and seals the juices inside. The hot air that is generated escapes out of the top of the cooking chamber before it has a chance to dry out the food. The result is meat that stays moist and tender. The Smoker, Roaster & Grill can easily serve as the only cooker in the backyard.
Overall rating:
4.613 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(75 reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
99%of customersrecommend this product71 of 72reviews
Rating Breakdown 75 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(52)
4
(20)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
99%of customersrecommend this product71 of 72reviews
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 59 Answers
Customer reviews for The Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
Review 1 for The Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
Guitarzan
from Florida, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Performs as described

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble and truly is a smoker and grill and Rotisserie, all food made on it was far beyond what I expected. Smoked steak and Potato , Pulled pork ,Chicken You name and the Big Easy makes it EASY and clean up is even EASIER Thank you for a quality product
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
Trill
from Stafford, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Greatest Smoker I've Seen In A While

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Price and convenience are the keys here. Family swore that I cooked my brisket on my big smoker.
Pros: Durable, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for The Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
Wileyman
from Fort Myers, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Grill, Smoker and Cooker

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read a ton of reviews and decided that this was the best offer on the market for me. It heats quickly and the steaks, chicken and fish all cook great. Everything comes out moist and juicy! I have not smoked anything yet but bought a bag of applewood chips for the future smokings.
The instructions for putting the grill together could be better, but if you take your time, you can have a perfect grill in a short period of time.
Note: The grill does sit low so I set it on a piece of formica from my new kitchen sink cutout, then set that on a 4-wheel movers dolly so it is now higher and I can roll it two feet away from the house when I am cooking.
The grill cooktop grate is very easy to remove. I just take it off after every few uses and soak it in my laundry sink in some hot water with Dawn dish soap. Easy cleanup!
I also bought the Char-Broil cover which is nice and heavy duty and should help protect it from the salt air of SW Florida.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for The Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
spidermonk
from texas
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This SRG is awesome!

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I received it on time from Home Depot. Very good service! I have made fajitas,steak,shrimp,two chickens,pork/beef ribs and rib eyes. They all came out excellent1 I followed the enclosed cooking guide in detail. I cured it with bacon grease. This SRG is incredible! I recommend it highly to anyone. It is very user friendly and cooks fast when grilling or roasting. I like having the smokey flavor when you want it. I will be buying the accessories real soon. If you follow the guidelines implicitly, you will be impressed with the results! Thanks Home Depot and Char-Broil!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+12points
16out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
Alec
from Miami, FL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cheaper materials than expected

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not what I expected from all the good reviews on Home Depot. The assembly was not difficult, but it took a lot longer than thought. The metal shell was much thinner than expected, and all the knobs and handles were not as high quality as I had hoped for. The smoker box handle broke during the first use, and adding chips was awkward as well. The size of the included basket is quite small, and the shelves slide around. Overall, good idea but poorly executed. with about $20 more in materials, this could be perfect. I'm sad to return it, but its just not even close to what I wanted.
Cons: Small Cooking Space
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
BBQKing
from Utah, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for tailgating

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The Big Easy has been a helpful addition to our household. It have us everything we were looking for - all in one unit. The heat distributes evenly and helps deal in all the juices in the meat. It is very simple to use and has been perffct for our family.
Pros: Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
maryo
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Awesome product!

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are amazed at the flavor of everything we make on the SRG and are having so much fun experimenting with trying different wood chips. We hardly even use any seasonings when we use the smoker. The flavor it infuses is excellent. The only problem we had was the smoker unit is a little tricky to get in and out but overall works great. We will be using this all year long.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly, Durable, Dishwasher Safe, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship
Cons: smoker box tricky to get in and out.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
adam

good price

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
good price just took forever to come. once it came easy to assembly and fits in my rv no problem
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for The Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
coppercat

Great product

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is all that I expected. We have done whole chickens, wings and potatoes. All have turned out very good. The chicken was very juicy and only took about an hour. I would recommend the SRG to those looking to buy a cooker for quick and very good food.
Henry
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, easy to assemble and use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for The Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
gabbyK
from Nashville, TN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love my new Grill/roaster

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My only complaint about this item is when it arrived, the igniter switch doesn't work. I am a woman who is not really used to putting such things together. The directions really do not go into much detail on this and once you have the entire item assembled, it is almost impossible to troubleshoot the igniter switch without taking it completely apart again. Therefore, I have just opted to light it manually every time which isn't ideal.
I have never grilled where the meat is so moist before. Excited to cook my Thanksgiving Turkey. I absolutely LOVE it!!
Pros: Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
ronford
from Chattanooga, TN, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Big Easy SRG

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The unit works great, Did Chicken quarters and
they were so tenter the leg bone fell out from the
meat. Does a great job.
The only problem is the place where you put the wood
chips in to create smoke it hangs and i could never get
it to hook as it should . Charbroil needs to work on
this problem. otherwise a great product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for The Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
LagoSul
from Athens, GA

The Big Easy Smoker Roaster Grill Model 10101

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an excellent product I would recommend to anyone. We bought this specifically to cook our 22 lb turkey at Thanksgiving, no longer wanting to cook the turkey in the oven, nor by frying it in oil due to the potential danger of the hot oil. So we decided to try the Big Easy. The results were outstanding, and everyone said it was the best tasting turkey they ever had. We even smoked it using the smoker tin provided, even though the directions don't recommend using the smoker method for a large turkey. It worked beautifully, and added a lot to the overall taste. The turkey was full of juices, yet the skin was browned and very tasty and easy to eat. No more dried out white meat, and the kitchen oven was free to cook other dishes at the same time.
And, the great thing about this model of Big Easy is it also serves as a small to mid size grill for steaks, burgers, hot dogs, etc., eg anything you want to grill for a small number of people. The infrared cooking worked wonderfully for us.
The opinions from my son and daughter after eating the turkey was so positive that I ordered 2 more Big Easy's to give each one of them for Christmas. I know they are going to be thrilled. They said our turkey this year was the best they had ever had, and they have had over 30 years of my wife's delicious turkeys.
My main criticism to the unit is it has to be manually lifted to move it around. To counter this, I built a 24 inch square platform and mounted it on 2 1/2 inch wheels so I could easily move the grill around. I notched out spaces for the legs to sit in so they wouldn't slide off the platform, and I can pull/roll the whole thing using the lid handle on the grill.
While I have only had this grill about 1 month, we have roasted chickens, grilled steaks, done some burgers, and find it rather fun to use. It has its social advantages too, as it has become a big conversation piece due to its uniqueness, and people kind of like to stand around it while it is cooking, just talking about how well it works and how good the food tastes.
The biggest problem I have had with other grills in the past is they tend to rust easily, causing them to breakdown. Only time will tell regarding this situation for the Big Easy, but I keep it under cover when not in use. It's easy to wheel it from the deck to the screen porch waiting for the next meal.
Overall, you won't go wrong with the Big Easy Smoker Roaster Grill, even if you have another type of grill you normally use. Their method of infrared heating works very effectively.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 13 for The Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
bigguy

great unit no need for anything else

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Cooks well, smokes well, grills well. No need for any other type of cooker.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for The Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
kyken

Best Smoker Cooker Grill ever

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I haven't cooked anything on this that turned out great leave the lid open for poultry though keeps turkey and chicken from burning close it only to brown.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly, Durable, Dishwasher Safe, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for The Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
BobTheGriller

Great Product

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Big Easy is a great cooking machine! I am a grilling, smoking, and cooking connoisseur and the product for the price is fantastic! I bought this for camping and casual cooking when I do not want to spend all day smoking meats. The results are nearly as good as my specialized cooking products.
My only complaint is that my Big Easy was missing the grill grate and Char Broil customer service is slow to get my replacement to me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for The Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
Bamp
from Spring Grove, PA 17362, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Big Easy fun

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My "BIG EASY" is by far the best grill I have ever owned.
I recently cooked two chickens together in the basket. I had 8 friends visiting for a picnic. Plenty of chicken...the only way to prepare for that many folks. I used smoker pellets, waited till they were smoking, the lowered the basket with my two chickens into the hot smoking area. What a treat. Thank you Char-Broil
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for The Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
TimS
from Midland, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great All Around Grill, Smoker and Roaster

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Waited several months for the Big Easy to get back into stock. I've not been disappointed with the wait. Great system for all types of back yard cooking. I've grilled steaks, roasted a turkey and smoked a brisket, all to great results for a newbie. Thoroughly enjoy the system and would recommend for anyone.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for The Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
Dare
from Florida
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Good, versatile cooker

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Have smoked, roasted and grilled using this roaster grill. Everything has turned out great. A few minor flaws: the smoker chip box does not fit securely and the drip tray doesn't fit well. I recommend ordering the extra racks if you plan on doing more than one rack of ribs at a time. The smoker chip box should be a little bigger (needs replenishing every 15 minutes). This would be an easier task if the box fit securely.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for The Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
Lulu7104
from Minnesota
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product is not a quality product.

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
My husband asked for a smoker for Christmas and picked the one he wanted from your store. He used it one time and smoked chicken wings and it literally fell apart. Very disappointing! The parts are neither durable, nor sturdy. Needless to say, we will be returning the product as soon as we have a chance to get to the store.
Cons: Not Durable, Not Sturdy
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for The Big Easy Propane Gas Smoker Roaster and Grill
stanley
from Rochester NY
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

love it!

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are in the midst of a REALLY cold december - first use was at 14 degrees to "fry" 2 chickens at the same time.. Even at that temperature, the birds took only about 40 minutes to cook. Added sweet potatoes on the grill at the top, they were done very quickly as well.
A few days later, had to "fry" again to bring a turkey to work. Got up at 7am, outdoor temperature 6 degrees, got the turkey going - again maybe an hour and a half and it was done! and to perfection. Very juicy, nicely browned, great flavor. If I had used the oil fryer , oil temperature would have been impossible to control. Looking forward to using it as a smoker. Really pleased so far.
You just turn on the propane, set the temp and go, it heats up beautifully.
There was a lot of assembly, but nothing difficult at all.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>