728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop The Green Thumb or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 42 in. 17.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Riding Mower

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

42 in. 17.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Riding Mower

Mow your lawn down to as short as 2-1/2 in. tall with the power of this Ariens 42 in. 17.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Riding Mower. Enjoy peace of mind as you cut grass on a variety of terrain, thanks to the 2 powerful cutting blades and 6 cutting positions that provide a clean, precise cut and a 6-speed gear drive transmission that lets you mow at your own pace. An 18 in. turning radius makes it easy to avoid obstacles.
Overall rating:
4.63 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(92 reviews) 91
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product88 of 91reviews
Rating Breakdown 92 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(71)
4
(16)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(4)
97%of customersrecommend this product88 of 91reviews
Customer reviews for 42 in. 17.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Riding Mower
Review 81 for 42 in. 17.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Enfield, CT

Riding lawn mower

PostedJune 1, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It took time to un-pack it from the packing crate. I have cut the lawn twice and it works very well I am now looking to get a grass catcher for it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 82 for 42 in. 17.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Riding Mower
from iowa

excellent mower

PostedAugust 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This mower is great mower! I wouldn't ask for a better one. I have an acre of gound and I never have any problems with the mower.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 83 for 42 in. 17.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Riding Mower
from East Greenbush, NY

Excellent mower

PostedJuly 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was back and forth between getting a rider or not getting a rider since I have a little over half an acre, but after about a year of pushing it I decided I could use my time doing better things than once a week spending 2-1/2 hours on the lawn. I looked around for a good deal, and this was by far the best out there. For under $1,000, a 42" deck, 17.5 HP, and free blades -- COULDN'T beat it. All others have about 13 HP and most only a 38" deck. It is nice knowing that this is an Ariens product and from Home Depot for peace of mind also. The color of the mower is sharp too and a can holder - come on...can't beat that!
Re: Performance...GREAT! Level, the height adjustments are great, speed on mower is great! I don't zip around the lawn as I like to take my time to make sure all gets mowed, but speed 3 is fine, and level 2 seems to be the best cut. If any clippings left over I pull the chute up with rubber band (came in shipping) and go around on speed 4 and level 4-5 so it doesn't cut it again, but throws the clippings in air and all over the place so lawn looks awesome in the end!!!
I would highly recommend this product to someone looking for a riding lawn mower!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 84 for 42 in. 17.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Michigan

Good overall

PostedMay 26, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Outside the mow strips on corners occasionally...this is a GREAT unit for the price...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 85 for 42 in. 17.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Douglasville, Georgia

No more walk mowing

PostedMay 22, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The mower started right up first try. Tiny poof of smoke and I was on my way. I am glad to have purchased the 42' tractor mower. I came very close to buying a smaller one. This Areins is great for my 1/2 acre yard. It handled all of my hills with no problem. The lawn was cut even for the (most part). VERY GOOD on GAS. I used less then a quater of a tank to do my yard. Did my lawn in half the time it took to use my push mower. With a whole lot less effort :) I am breaking it in with a Mid Grade gas. The motor has the power it needed with the 17.5 HP motor. Only slightly bogged down while going up hill cutting. My weight is190 lbs. Takes a little learning curve since my manual did not come with it. They are going to send one to me latter? You will quickly learn you have to have your butt planted on the seat or it will cut off the mower. All tractor mowers have a snatch when the clutch is let out. I knew that going into the purchase. The gears were nice. 4th works best for me. Saw no need to come close to putting it in 6th. The 4 star rating is only for two reasons. One it's a brand new machine not sure how many years of use I will get, Two I have no idea how the free blades for life thing will turn out?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 86 for 42 in. 17.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Riding Mower
from N.C.

Good

PostedSeptember 4, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good , but deck was not level...also rides rough...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 87 for 42 in. 17.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Chesapeake, Va

pretty good

PostedMay 15, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Throttle control is loose and can't tighten. But good overall.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 88 for 42 in. 17.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Malta, NY 12020

MOWER PERFORMANCE

PostedJune 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
great mower for the price, easy to handle, good power!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 89 for 42 in. 17.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Riding Mower
from CALIFORNIA

42 In. Deck 17.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6 Speed Ridi

PostedJune 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
EXCELLENT TRACTOR. BLADES FOR LIFE AWESOME.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 90 for 42 in. 17.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Framingham, MA

Riding Lawn Mower

PostedJuly 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am from California, now living in Massachusetts. Never did I imagine I would one day be buying a riding lawn mover. So the task of finding one was lengthy. Several considerations were necessary. (1) Purchase from a reliable source: Home Depot is just down the street and I know I can always be provided with customer service when needed. (2) Cost: Since this is my first riding lawn mover I didn't want to go overboard like a friend in Arkansas did and spend over $4,000. While I understand the Zero Turn Mowers are great, I would rather keep my money in my pocket. I have 2 acres and didn't need the cadillac of mowers, yet I am sure there many out there who do. (3) Good quality and good rating: Again I wasn't looking for the best, but a reliable machine. Reading many reviews prior to my purchase sold me on this mower. It fit in all 3 areas above. I love the size, doesn't take of much room in barn and is easily moved about by hand when necessary. Starts instantly. Covers entire property on one tank (1.5 is more than enough at today's prices). A little bouncy but then I attribute that to my uneven lawn of which it mows quite well, I like a fun ride. iPhone in hand, music playing, it is an enjoyable time. Stopping to shift gears in easy and not a problem as so may have stated. Once you get into the flow you don't even think about it. I can see where some may prefer automatic just as a car, I drive a standard. I have somewhat of a sttep inlcine in part of my property and it handles it great, in all speeds. I have only used it twice to date, but happy to mow my own lawn and save the $55 weekly that the landscapers charged. To sum up, for a first time buyer ... I love it. Feel like a kid rifing the Autopoia Cars in Disneyland.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 91 for 42 in. 17.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Elkhorn, NE

Outstanding!

PostedJune 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'd been cutting our grass with a 98 Craftsman 42 inch and was extremely happy with how well it cut the yard. We just got it last year from a family member that had it since new and kept it well maintained. Last year we put about $200 into it including a new tire and new starter. This year it worked well for the first 7 mows but then it lost engine power last week. As old as it was, we decided to use the fixit money towards a new mower instead.
Interestingly enough, the site for the store that sells the Craftsman equivelance had more 1 star reviews than 5 star reviews. So there really wasn't any inclination to take Craftsman over the Ariens.
This new Ariens allowed us to pick up where we left off. It's almost identical to the Craftsman, just 12 years newer. I do appreciate the smaller back tires for less mark when mowing.
We bought the Ariens at a store (not online) so they just put it together for me while I waited and I took it home and fired it up. I'd read the reviews here before the purchase so I did check the oil first but it was exactly where it should be.
I wasn't sure how I'd like going from a mower deck with stabilizer wheels to the new one without, but surprisingly enough the Ariens deck is very well balanced so it's a non issue (left the stabilizer wheels on the old tractor when it sold).
I also was cautious about not having true mulching blades on the new Ariens. However, I just took off the grass deflector from the new deck, put the mulching cover from the old mower on, and you'd swear I cut using mulching blades.
The engine runs very quiet.
The mowing in reverse safety feature isn't hard to get used to. Just put the key position where you can do it and leave it there the whole time you mow.
The blades for life is nice! I ordered my first pair today.
I've only mowed once, but we have a huge yard and this is an impressive investment so far. We were also pleased that the guy we worked with in the store sold it to us at the sale price listed a couple of weeks ago.
Overall, my online research showed that old/used Craftsman riders sell really good but online advice towards a new mower leans heavily in the favor of the new Ariens instead.
If you haven't made your mind up yet and these reviews factor into your buying decision, I know you'll be pleased with the orange and black rider on your yard too!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for 42 in. 17.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Riding Mower
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
<< 1 2 3 4 5