728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 42 in. 19.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Automatic Front-Engine Riding Mower

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

42 in. 19.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Automatic Front-Engine Riding Mower

The Ariens 42 in. 19.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Automatic Front-Engine Riding Mower features a strong and quiet single cylinder engine. With 18 in. rear wheels and 12 in. front wheels plus a 16 in. turning radius, this mower has optimum maneuverability to mow around trees, bushes or flowerbeds. The premium engine delivers superior cutting performance at your choice of 6 levels from 1-1/2 in. to 5-1/2 in.
Overall rating:
4.778 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(54 reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product53 of 53reviews
Rating Breakdown 54 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(42)
4
(12)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
100%of customersrecommend this product53 of 53reviews
Customer reviews for 42 in. 19.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Automatic Front-Engine Riding Mower
Review 1 for 42 in. 19.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Automatic Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Upstate NY

Well Built Mower

PostedMay 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased the Ariens 42" Automatic Lawn Tractor. It is a very sturdy and well built mower, which is important since I am a larger guy. Sitting next to my Dad's 2009 John Deere 115, they are virtually identical. Same stance, features, and identical B&S Engine. They are so close that if it wasn't for the paint scheme, you probably couldn't tell them apart.
The automatic is the smoothest mower I have ever ridden. So many automatics can be as jerky as even a manual. This isn't the case with the Ariens. Even my wife can use it flawlessly since there's no clutch to release. Just push the lever forward and it takes off smooth as can be.
The features are all that you would expect on a well built mower. All the bushings have grease fittings and can easily be serviced. You will want to lower the deck guide wheels, they are in the highest position from shipping. And if you live in the upper part of the US, you will want to put in a multi-weight oil after the break in period. The motor warms up and smooths out much faster than with the straight 30 that comes in it.
The only downside of the mower is the PTO (blade engagement) lever has a long throw to it and takes a bit more effort to engage it than it should. This shouldn't be an issue unless you have a property where you constantly have to disengage/re-engage the blades.
Ariens is a company with a great reputation with almost 80 years of quality products. Ariens also makes Gravely mowers, probably the best commercial mowers you can find.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 42 in. 19.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Automatic Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Green Bay WI

Some things needed improving

PostedMay 18, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
1. Rear hitch is stamped steel so if you tow a lawn vacuum it will stretch and bend. Reinforced mine with angle iron.
2. Clutch engagement handle for the blades is inconvenient. It sticks out in front of the steering wheel when engaged and looks dumb. I removed it and bent it 90 degrees and it works just fine.
3. Hood rubber bumpers fell off first time I used it. I remounded them with nunts and bolts. They were super glued in place. Poor design.
4. This is not a real Ariens. It is made by Husvarna/Poulan. Just so you know.
5. There is NO way to tighten the blade drive belt if it stretches you have to replace the belt. Even cheap Murray units have this adjustment.
6. Seat back should be higher to provide better support. The Poulan Pro seat should be used.
7.Engine oil drain is inconvenient. I added a 3 inch piece of Pipe and a nipple cap.
8. Filling the gas tank is horrible. The fan shroud is in the way so you spill gas easily. Tank is small capacity. .
9. The discharge chute mounting pin is not easily removed/replaced when mulching. I changed the pin to a hair clip mount.
Dont forget to grease the front axle king pins and the front wheel barings now and then.
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 42 in. 19.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Automatic Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Hurricane, WV

Great value, feel like Hank Hill

PostedJune 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did lots of research and online reading about lawn tractors before purchasing this one. Lots of visits to Home Depot and competitors. My lawn is just big enough to justify a lawn tractor, but I upgraded a bit with this one over entry level mowers.
So far so good -- I need more time for a thorough evaluation, but this thing is a blast. The 16-inch turning radius made a difference for me, to get around some smaller yard obstacles.
Go for the automatic. It's likely worth it to save you the hassle when changing speeds.
Great looking tractor. This one has nice rolled steel edges on the body parts. Deck wheels prevent scalping.
It's fast and cuts wonderfully. Have now ordered the mulch kit from Home Depot online - only $45.
Home Depot was a real star. They had the tractor loaded on their free delivery truck (using the Home Depot card) and I took it home. Felt like I bought a new car. Got 12 months to pay for it for free and the free blades for life.
Quit reading reviews and go buy it. This one, so far, is justified based on my experience. The reviews have been accurate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 42 in. 19.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Automatic Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Longview, TX

GREAT LAWN TRACTOR

PostedDecember 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an absolutely wonderful, well-built machine. The tractor works extremely well and is easy to use, so don't be apprehensive if you have never used a lawn tractor. The automatic transmission is a welcome addition and is well worth the slightly higher price. You will be pleased with this feature.
Ariens has a great reputation and a history of quality products. You can trust their name and reputation. I have noticed some discrepancy about the origins of these machines. Let me set the record straight. This Ariens is made by Husqvarna for Ariens and you are getting as fine a lawn tractor as you can buy.
You can buy the same Husqvarna lawn tractor with their name on it, but you will pay $300.00 more for the same mower (slightly different headlights and looks). How do I know this? I had to special order mine and it was shipped to me in a Husqvarna box from the Husqvarna factory.
This unit starts easily, runs smoothly, handles very well, and has plenty of power. I would highly recommend this unit to anyone! What a great value!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 42 in. 19.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Automatic Front-Engine Riding Mower
from South cental PA,

Best for the Money

PostedJune 8, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love my new tractor,make's cutting the lawn easy. like it was previously stated this tractor turns on a dime and the automatic transmission works very well most of my yard is on a hill and i weigh 190lbs and it pulled me around like i wasn't even their cuts the grass even and clean very pleased with its performance only one complaint the lever that engages the blades is a little awkward but that could just be me . I was a little nervous buying this brand of tractor, I have never herd of it before so i did some homework and ask some friends who are lawn tractor owners themselves and they had spoken very highly of the brand but said that its probably made by MTD or something like that. but I feel for the money its a great tractor no matter what sticker they put on it. my neighbor likes it so much he is going to buy one to.I highly recommend this tractor good for 1 to 1.5 acres of ground only because i have 1 acre and i can cut it now in 30minutes instead of the hour with a push mower
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 42 in. 19.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Automatic Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Wasilla, AK

Great mower for my 1/2 acre

PostedJuly 11, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I actually enjoy mowing my lawn now. I have almost 1/2 acre of mow-able land all pretty level and navigable. This thing is pretty agile when it comes to making corners, going around trees, and in and out of low areas.
The only drawback I have found is no cutting in reverse, if I had to purchase again, I would go for that feature. The 42" cutting area is great and I can tackle my whole yard within 1 1/2 to 2 hours with a few beer breaks in between.
I just ordered my 1st set of "Free Blades for Life" which is a great feature. You get 1 set per year, so I'd suggest ordering the first set ASAP so you actually have two to start out with. The blades seem to dull quite quickly, so make yourself familiar with the sharpening process, and with a second set on hand, you can put off sharpening a little longer.
All-In-All I found this mower to be everything I needed. I haven't looked into attachments yet, but am thinking a catcher/vacuum attachment might be nice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 42 in. 19.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Automatic Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Margate, Florida

This product far exceeded expectations!!

PostedMay 15, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It sure comes in a big box!! Easy enough to get out and assemble though. (a matter of putting on the steering wheel and attaching the seat.)
Make sure you put in the oil. It's shipped without it.
The manuel says it may churn a bit the first time you start it. Not so for me. It started instantly just like the car I drive everyday. The controls are easy to learn and easy to use. Still I stalled it a couple times before I understood you have to have the starting key in a certain position to go/mow in reverse.. Amazingly, the same instant starting every time.
The mower has plenty of power and beautifully cut my lawn even though it had grown to six inches (and in places more) in the interval between my lawn care guy closing shop and getting my mower. I have a pretty decent hill in my yard, No problem. Up and down the hill working all the time with no effort.
I'd give this mower six stars at this point were that choice available.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 42 in. 19.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Automatic Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Vancouver, WA

Great Value and Power!

PostedJune 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For those of you out there that are thinking of buying the 17.5 Manual version and saving some bucks... Think Again!
I went from an old 12hp manual and got this automatic and it is great.
I went to the store and got it pre-built, I rented the flat bed for 19$, but, if you are going to go this route, plan ahead, it takes 3 men to push this thing up the ramp and to bring it down.
I bought the bagger and it fits very nicely
I have a 3rd of an acre back yard and did it in about 20 min.
Pros:
1. Starts great,
2. Lots of power
3. Great turning capacity
4. So nice having the automatic
5. Easy fail save controls (minimal moving parts)
6. Comfy seat
7. Roomy deck for big guy like me.
Cons
1. The Clutch goes from nogo to go very quickly, so hang on.
2. The blade engage handle is in an awkward place
3. Oil fill and check is slightly blocked by blower housing.
I am very happy with this mower and recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 42 in. 19.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Automatic Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Dover, Arkansas (central Arkansas)

smoothest mower used

PostedJuly 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently purchased the Ariens 19.5 hp 42in riding mower. I own five acres of rolling hills and rough pasture, this lawnmower shows no fear in taking on all that I have thrown at it. The acreage had overgrown while waiting to decide on what brand mower to purchase, we chose the Ariens and had to use it like a mini-bush hog to clear the overgrowth. I was done in three hours. Now I can mow my five acres in about 1 1/2 hours on one tank of full. From the first turn of the key it has started the first crank every time. The 19.5 hp motor has more than enough power and it rides so smoothly. The only complaint I had was that the seat kept coming loose, but a simple lock washer I had worked perfect. I love this tractor and have been a John Deere owner for many years, but not anymore. All of this and I still get free blades for life? This deal just can't be beat.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 42 in. 19.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Automatic Front-Engine Riding Mower
from from Brooklyn, NY and am now living in Florida

The right tools for the job

PostedMay 19, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a big believer in the right tools for the job. It makes any job go that much smoother and easier. That belief has been confirmed with my recent purchase of the Ariens 42 inch deck riding lawn mower. It is an easy to use riding lawn mower, cuts the grass evenly, quickly and more importantly with so much less effort and time than many other riding mowers that I have used. Its 19.5 horsepower Briggs and Stratton engine is powerful but easy to maintain. I know mowing the lawn is not supposed to be fun, but this machine makes it fun. It turns tight circles and has no problems running on sloped areas of the lawn. At his price and with the free blades for life deal, what are you waiting for? I would recommend this riding mower to anyone that has a lot of lawn and likes to get it done with quickly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 42 in. 19.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Automatic Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Nashville, TN

Mower makes cutting fun!

PostedSeptember 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I researched mowers for many weeks and found this mower rated highest above all of them, Cub Cadet, John Deere included. This is my first cutting season with this wonderful mower. Mine has a Kohler engine which is a great engine and powerful. I enjoy the cut in reverse feature you activate with a turn of the key. The hydrostatic feature is fun to use. I had to break myself from pressing the brake all the time, it is so easy to slow down or speed up using the hydrostatic feature. The seat sets high which is good, it is firm I slide around sometimes when in turns. The turn radius is sharp it surprises me, I feel like I have a 0 turn radius. I love this mower, am completey satisfied with it and love the American Flag sticker it wears. Overall Great Mower!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 42 in. 19.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Automatic Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Cantonment, FL

Solid Mower for the Money

PostedJune 8, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have a little over 1 1/2 acres and this mower handled it just great. Nice even cut, after leveling the deck, and the automatic trans. worked great. I have owned hydrostatic trans. mowers in the past and could tell very little difference. My only complaints are: 1) the blade engagement cable came loose from its clamps and I had to re-attach it under the fender and 2) it has no rear deck wheels. I tried ordering the rear deck wheels and brackets and have not been able to find a number for the brackets. The step-up model with hydrostatic has the rear wheels but I was told by an Ariens tech that they would not work on this mower...deck looks the same to me. No big deal, just like 4 wheels on the mowing deck.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 42 in. 19.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Automatic Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Western Wisconsin

Great Buy

PostedMay 24, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good value for the money and blades for life. I've owned my Ariens lawn tractor for almost one year now. It works great and is well built with practical components. Mine is powered by the Kohler engine. Plenty of "guts," but uses a little oil; which may be a Kohler trait.
My lawn is uneven, slightly hilly and a little under 2 acres. I would suggest mounting a set of rear deck wheels (like the ones that come on the larger decks) on the existing deck flange pre-drilled brackets to prevent the back of the deck from "digging in" to uneven spots when you set the deck very low and mow in reverse. Otherwise, it's well engineered.
I like my Ariens - Husqvarna lawn tractor and the folks at Home Depot are great!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 42 in. 19.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Automatic Front-Engine Riding Mower
from asheville nc

Love my mower

PostedAugust 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My first riding lawn tractor. Shipped right to my door in a large box--shipping free. Had to install the steering wheel and seat which was easy. Read instruction book and really has been a good buy . Starts up great, cuts great. My house sits on a fairly steep hill and took some getting use to as far as nerves go, but it pulls the hill like a dream and goes down them in a safe manner. I don't go sideways on the hill due to fear it may tip over so I go straight up and down. Gear shift is excellent--no clutch has to be depressed-just move the lever which way you want to go. Can't tell you how it compares to another mower, but I do know for what I got, the quality and price seem to be pretty darn good.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 42 in. 19.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Automatic Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Spartanburg, SC

Good investment

PostedAugust 23, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this mower online. Shipping took over 2 weeks, but that I fault more with the carrier. Was delivered and uncrated by driver, only minimal assembly was required on my part. Added gas and was ready to go. Upon 1st cut, found that blade deck was not level, but leveling was a simple procedure. Functional wise, blade deck has good range, however on level 2, blades will nick raised roots, can't imagine being able to ever use the lowest setting. The brake is extremely sensitive, took some getting used to to prevent a lot of jerking. Very minor complaints.
Have used to cut twice and yard looks great. Would recommend this to anyone looking for new mower.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 42 in. 19.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Automatic Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Poolesville, MD

Most Excellent

PostedOctober 3, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the Ariens 42 in. Automatic Riding Mower Model # A195BG42 and have been very happy with it! It mows through the yard so quick I always feel like I run out of lawn before I am done having fun. It starts great, runs smooth and strong and has no problems all summer long. With the mulching kit (search the Home Depot web site) I can just mow a lawn covered with leaves instead of raking it and it looks great! No more raking leaves is a good thing! And with Free Blades for Life you can't go wrong. Delivery was fast and fully assembled. I just put gas in it and started mowing. I'd definitely buy Ariens products from Home Depot again!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 42 in. 19.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Automatic Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Akron, IA

Excellent Buy

PostedMay 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent mower, Shipped free from the Factory, arrived in its crate, had to install, steering wheel and seat, very easy to do, and set deck wheels. MOWS in REVERSE by using the Key safety setting , auto transmission very easy to use, you can control your mowing speed by moving the forward/reverse lever to go slower or faster, have already used it several times on a 1 acre very uneven ground and lawn, cuts very level with the deck wheels adjusted, 2 ½ gallon fuel tank is nice, less refuels, only down side is Mower is very loud at full speed with blades engaged, so hearing protection should be worn.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 42 in. 19.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Automatic Front-Engine Riding Mower

boy with a new toy

PostedAugust 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My boyfriend has been mowing 3 acres with a weedeater for years. I have researched riding mowers for the past 2 years and this mower was exactly what we were looking for. It has plenty of power, great cutting surface area, turns sharp, and the price was within our budget. Wish I would have had the video camera out when he first used it....he had a grin from ear to ear, then he was kicking himself for not buying this sooner. He is now out mowing the neighbors yard, they have 3 acres also. We have no complaints on this mower so far except for it is my turn to mow!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 42 in. 19.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Automatic Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Carrollton, GA

42" Automatic Riding Mower

PostedAugust 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is our 1'st riding mower purchased. Assembly of the seat & steering wheel was a breeze (even if you're not mechanically inclined). After connecting battery cables & adding fuel, it fired right up. We have about 2 acres of rough & hilly yard with alot of stumps left from tree removal. This 19hp tractor handles the hills with ease & even in the taller wet grass it has never bogged down & the turn radius is great. We just received our 1st "free blades ." This mower exceeded my expectations in every way. We would buy another 1 without hesitation!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 42 in. 19.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Automatic Front-Engine Riding Mower
from New Albany, IN

Very Pleased with my Purchase

PostedMay 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am 54 years old and diabetic with nerve neuropathy. I can no longer walk very well to mow my small yard. I purchased this lawn tractor after seeing the ease of access, the quality of construction, and the easy to use hand controls for the automatic transmission and mowing deck. Even with a small yard the turning radius is very good. Edging with the mower deck is very adequate. It arrived to my door without any damage or scratches. After looking at several tractors in this catagory I believe I got the best bang for my buck.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>