728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 46 in. 22 HP Kohler V-Twin Hydrostatic Front-Engine Riding Mower

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

46 in. 22 HP Kohler V-Twin Hydrostatic Front-Engine Riding Mower

The Ariens 46 in. 22 HP Kohler Hydrostatic Front-Engine Riding Mower features a 14-gauge welded steel frame to help ensure a long working life. It uses a 22 HP Kohler engine and has a hydrostatic transmission and a pedal drive for efficient operation. Its tight 16 in. turning radius allows for easy maneuvering around obstacles, and the mower comes with a cruise control feature for a consistent mowing speed.
Overall rating:
4.536 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(125 reviews) 125
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product115 of 125reviews
Rating Breakdown 125 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(89)
4
(24)
3
(5)
2
(4)
1
(3)
92%of customersrecommend this product115 of 125reviews
Customer reviews for 46 in. 22 HP Kohler V-Twin Hydrostatic Front-Engine Riding Mower
Review 1 for 46 in. 22 HP Kohler V-Twin Hydrostatic Front-Engine Riding Mower
NjHO7822
from Augusta, NJ

So far so good

PostedJune 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this mover 2 weeks back after reading the online reviews so I want to write my feed back so that it might be useful to someone. I understood the below from the reviews.
1. Hydrostatic transmission is the best over the other transmissions
2. Kohlar Engine is the best over Briggs and Stratton when you have up hills to move.
3. Though this Ariens is made by Husqvarna, for the same price, Ariens movers have more features (one difference I see between Ariens and Husqvarna for the same price range is that Ariens has pull / push button type for blade engage/disengagement while Husqvarna has a lever ) than Husqvarna and you also get free blades for life option in Ariens.
so I made my decison based on these and I think I was right in my decision, so far this mover is running good and have no complaints. I need to buy the collection bins which I didn't yet, after that my lawn will look like a professionally mowed.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 46 in. 22 HP Kohler V-Twin Hydrostatic Front-Engine Riding Mower
jackie40
from Mojave Desert

This Product is well built, rugged and has great features

PostedMay 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live on 2-1/2 acres in a desert enviornment with a mixed variety of weeds and ground cover, from 3' high wild mustard and thorny tumbleweeds to short nettle grass. This mower handled everything with ease.
The only minor inconvenience is the gas gauge is impossible to read.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 46 in. 22 HP Kohler V-Twin Hydrostatic Front-Engine Riding Mower
maguamaster
from McComb, MS

PostedJune 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I LOVE THIS MOWER!! I have cut the grass 3 times with it and am thrilled with the performance. The ease with which it operates and the overall performance of the motor and machine make me happy on the choice I made in buying this mower. All controls are easy to operate and handy. No struggling with awkward placements or controls that are impossible to operate. Delivery was fast and the uncrating was easy. I would definately recommend this to anyone needing a new lawn tractor.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 46 in. 22 HP Kohler V-Twin Hydrostatic Front-Engine Riding Mower
justamowin

Great mower!!!

PostedJune 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had the mower for about a month now and love it. I am very glad I went with the pedal drive, its like driving a car. The Kohler engine is very powerful and runs smoothly. I also like the electric engage/disengage of the mower, very easy to use. I drilled out the hitch hole just a bit and put a 2" ball on it to pull around an eight foot trailer for light hauling. Pulls it like a champ. I just look for excuses to use the tractor and cup holder for my beverage of choice!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 46 in. 22 HP Kohler V-Twin Hydrostatic Front-Engine Riding Mower
CarolAD
from Ilion, New YOrk

Great Riding Mower!

PostedJune 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My tractor arrived on Tuesday, and I have been mowing for the past 3 days! My lawn had not been mowed for about 3-4 weeks, so everything was overgrown. I put the Ariens mower deck all the way up for the first mowing and then did another mowing with the deck 2 steps lower (from 6 to 4). I mow about 2 acres. I took my time, and the mower was just great. It's powerful and efficient. The ride is fairly smooth (it is, after all, a tractor!). My lawn now looks like a golf course rather than an open, unkempt field! I only have one small complaint - the seat does not always stay where I put it. I push it back as far as it will go - it clicks into place, but then creeps up, as if the 'click' is simply not holding. I thought the price was excellent, especially compared to a similar John Deere. I am also pleased with the prospect of receiving free blades every year!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 46 in. 22 HP Kohler V-Twin Hydrostatic Front-Engine Riding Mower
Anonymous
from Greeneville,TN

excellent lawn mower

PostedJuly 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had this mower a couple of months.Mows even what
took a few hours on a Lowes MTD lawn mower is
just a 30-45 min. job.I havent had any problems.Great
mower for the money.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 46 in. 22 HP Kohler V-Twin Hydrostatic Front-Engine Riding Mower
Noreaster
from Boston, MA.

Product Is Fine...but!

PostedOctober 12, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ordered the tractor, bagging system, mulching kit - around $2500 for all. Upon delivery noticed that they sent me the wrong mulching kit (after I had already installed the blades that came with the kit) Then I went to register for the `free baldes for life' promotion - the web site didn't recognize me or my order and instructed me to look at the FAQ's...when I did it said that this model wasn't covered (when in fact it says it is all over the HD web site) and it also stated that only 2009 models were part of the promotion. Frustrating to say the least.
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 46 in. 22 HP Kohler V-Twin Hydrostatic Front-Engine Riding Mower
cbus1971
from Cleveland, TX

Awesome Mower !!!

PostedJuly 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This mower is great. I bought it last year and have not had any issues. Turn radius is excellent for this type of mower. Has all the options of mowers priced well above this one (auto trans/ cruise). Would recommend this mower to anyone. If I HAD to find something negative to say about this mower it would be that it rides a little rough. I have a very bumpy yard but I fixed 90% of the ride issues with adjusting the tire pressure.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 46 in. 22 HP Kohler V-Twin Hydrostatic Front-Engine Riding Mower
baxtersdad
from Northern California, Auburn

20 hours and running strong

PostedOctober 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wanted to wait a few months to let the 'honeymoon' wear off. I mow 2-3 acres each week, some of it lawn and some of it tall (6-8") steeper pasture. This mower has been great. There is enough power to mow up most hills in 6" of grass. That was something that had concerned me and I do recommend this larger engine. I have burned up two 18 horse mowers in the last 15 years.
I'm glad for a few things;
push button blade engagement
foot peddle forward and reverse (keeps hands free)
extra power when i need it
metal hood instead of plastic
headlight on and off switch
seat adjustment
cruse control
Less happy;
unable to read fuel gauge window at all
That's it! I love this mower and recommend it to everyone.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for 46 in. 22 HP Kohler V-Twin Hydrostatic Front-Engine Riding Mower
Based on the average of (116) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
107 out of 116 recommend this product