728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Gas Walk Behinds or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 21 in. 2-in-1 Front Wheel Drive Mower

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

21 in. 2-in-1 Front Wheel Drive Mower

Ariens 21 in. front wheel drive mower is perfect for any home or land owner. Featuring a 173 cc Kohler 4-Cycle OHV engine this mower has more than enough power to get through tall or damp grass. Powered front wheel drive on 8 in. wheels as well as a grass collection bag make this unit a cut above the competition.
Overall rating:
3.629 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(62 reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product45 of 60reviews
Rating Breakdown 62 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(22)
4
(21)
3
(4)
2
(4)
1
(11)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product45 of 60reviews
Customer reviews for 21 in. 2-in-1 Front Wheel Drive Mower
Review 1 for 21 in. 2-in-1 Front Wheel Drive Mower
from sacramento ca

Great Buy

PostedMay 3, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was not happy with the other reviews. This is a fine mower. the wieght of mower is heavy but what would you exspect for a quality mower. I put my gas in pulled the cord and it started. I read that others thought the pull start was to hard. My next door 64 year old lady uesd it and it started for her onthe first time. I feel that the other user that wrote reviews must be weak! To heavy Starts to hard not .THIS IS A GOOD PRODUCT
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 21 in. 2-in-1 Front Wheel Drive Mower
from Chattanooga, Tn.

Good mower,but having some issues!

PostedJune 20, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Mower starts cold on first pull,thats great! Front rockerarm cover is seeping oil, snugged up bolts to see if will stop leaking.I stopped the mower after mowing for 30 minutes and it took about 20 pulls to get it started,it was flooded out! If these issues continue I will be returning the mower for an exchange, they can send this one back and give me another one. I like the mower it does a nice job cutting.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 21 in. 2-in-1 Front Wheel Drive Mower
from Salt Lake City, UT

Poor Poor Poor! Hard Starting...lack of power.

PostedMay 7, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This machine starts anywhere between the first and third pull initially then dies. After about ten minutes of pulling on it, eventually it restarts. Once running again it takes another five minutes maybe for it to pull out of its stupor and run well enough to mow.
I am getting ready to load it up and return it now. Had it for three weeks and does not get any better. Thought perhaps would break in as I was sold on the Kohler engine. Do not let that fool you...I know I never heard of Ariens before I purchased for the engine...do not make the same mistake! Junk!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 21 in. 2-in-1 Front Wheel Drive Mower
from South Windsor, CT

You get what you pay for

PostedMay 22, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This Ariens mower is not bad for the price, all things considered.
Pros: Starts with one pull when the engine is cold; level cut; strong engine does not bog down when mowing thru thick grass.
Cons: May require several pulls to start when engine is hot; poor traction going up slight incline (I think it has more to do with the plastic wheels than with the weight distribution – I found slippage even on level ground); the gas consumption is high – at times it takes more than one tank to do my lawn, which is approximately 5,000 square feet.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 21 in. 2-in-1 Front Wheel Drive Mower
from Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sturdy, Reliable, Very Well Made

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This lawn mower is very well made and starts right up after 2 pulls. The lawn mower is heavy but thats because majority of it is made out of metal not like the other ones made out of plastic.The Kohler engine is very strong. Front wheel drive is great and it makes cutting the grass with ease especially with sloping yard and uneven land. I wish the bag catcher was bigger and another setting on the wheels to make the lawn mower higher. Over all this is a great lawn mower.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 21 in. 2-in-1 Front Wheel Drive Mower
from Upstate New York.

Ariens Lawn Mower

PostedMay 1, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great product. I ordered it on line and received the product a week later. It took three pulls to start the lawnmower at first. I looked for the primer bulb but couldn't find it even though it was mentioned in the manual. The mower did well and the drive pulled the mower just fine. The second lawn mowing went even better. It started on the first pull and cut the grass very well even though I had let the grass get a little high due to the rain last week. The price was good. At 245 and some change it came in at 50.00 cheaper than the yard machines and almost 100.00 cheaper than the Toro. The mower is light weight and very easy to handle.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 21 in. 2-in-1 Front Wheel Drive Mower
from Atlanta, GA

Good value for the money

PostedApril 15, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It started up on the second pull, but only ran for about two minutes before stuttering and dying. I used starter fluid on it several times, and it would only run for about ten seconds. I was ready to give up and called Home Depot. They kindly offered to replace it with another. Before I left, I gave it one more shot, and it kept running. I have a large lawn, and it did the whole thing on one tank of gas. This is a big plus. My wife was able to handle it as well, and she is not big. Walking speed is about right. With a regular push mower, it takes 1 and a half to two hours to mow my lawn. We both worked on it for probably a little more than an hour. I was happy to see that this didn't require the bagger, because taking away the clippings increases the fertilizer requirements. It has easy to adjust heights, and a nice range. Overall, I am happy with it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 21 in. 2-in-1 Front Wheel Drive Mower
from South Texas

I highly recommend this mower to anyone.

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The lawn mower starts up on the very first pull and runs smooth as silk. I particularly like the self choke and not having to "feel for the right position on the carberator" to start this mower, because there isn't one. Just be sure you have the oil level correct and fuel in the tank, and just pull, it starts and adjusts itself to cut immediatly. I'm not used to a mwer that does that and I like it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 21 in. 2-in-1 Front Wheel Drive Mower
from garland tx

Best Deal around!!!

PostedApril 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I found out homedepot was going to carry Ariens push mower with kohler engine i was impressed... I had to go to three locations because they were all sold out, finally got one they were selling like hotcakes... the mower is awesome. starts like a charm no pumping a bulb to get fuel to engine, easy start, self propeled, and has a strong engine on it 4.5 hp.... I bought it on sale for 229.99 what a deal...
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 21 in. 2-in-1 Front Wheel Drive Mower
from Orlando FL

Great Mower So So pull cord

PostedApril 5, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
The mower went the grass like a charm. Just for some reason on the 4th pull of the string the plastic washer holding the string to the pull handle broke. So I plan to put a metal washer there instead. The bad part it was the first time mowing the lawn after I bought it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 21 in. 2-in-1 Front Wheel Drive Mower
from Boston

Worst lawnmower I've ever owned

PostedApril 30, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've been mowing lawns for almost fifty years and this is by far the worst lawnmower I've ever owned. Here are the issues:
1) It weighs a TON! And, it is maneuverable like a mack truck. Heavy and unweildy. Just awful.
2) Starting mechanism is very hard to pull. I'm 6'3" and 240 and this was the hardest starting gas engine I've ever had. It is MUCH harder to start than my snowblower that starts on the first pull every time. This thing takes four or five pulls and it's tough. Ugh.
3) The engine seems weak. I bought this because the HD guy said that this engine was much better than the B&S engines on the other machines. But, this one has trouble going through even moderately tall grass.
So, kudos to HD for taking it back within the 30-days, with no questions asked. I'm not sure what I am going t get but you can be sure I am going to look at weight and engine first.
Other folks like this, and no one else has problems starting it, so maybe I got a bad one. Buy at your own risk and keep all the stuff so you can return it.
Good luck,
Bob
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 21 in. 2-in-1 Front Wheel Drive Mower
from michigan

would not resell in garage sale

PostedMay 21, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
this is the worst piece of junk i have ever owned. very hard to start with full tank (not less than 10 pulls) ran out of gas and it took me no less then 45 pulls to restart. the unit is heavy(i will give it that) but to heavy for the self propelled to pull itself sufficiently , i will be taking this unit back for a refund as soon as i can get some one to help me load it in the car!!! i think the new self prime system is a bunch of junk as well!!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 21 in. 2-in-1 Front Wheel Drive Mower
from Denver, CO

Green Machine

PostedMay 28, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It cuts like a dream
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 21 in. 2-in-1 Front Wheel Drive Mower
from Chicago, IL

Failed in 2 weeks

PostedMay 19, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
bought this because of the initial reviews it got (previous review was not published when i got this, otherwise i'd have got another brand) and it's cheaper than other ones out there at home depot.
this mower will work for 5mins and then it shuts off by itself. i can hear some noise changes before this turns off by itself (seems like it's struggling like a truck engine sounds on an uphill road). my lawn is flat and i mow it every week (upgrading from a push mower to this), so it's not the overgrown grass. i tried to start up the engine and it didn't work. i had to wait ~5min and in order to start it again. this happened 3-4 times so i'm not going to take the risk, returned it in-store and bought another brand.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 21 in. 2-in-1 Front Wheel Drive Mower
from West Coast

Perfect

PostedMay 17, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great Value. Kohler motor as smooth as a Honda. Starts on first easy pull. Has much more REAL power than my old Briggs motored mower regardless of stated HP, displacement, etc... does not bog down in tall-ish grass.
Front Wheel drive is a bit difficult to get used to if you currently use a rear drive. It will spin because there is no weight on the front wheels from the motor, grass catcher, or you pushing on the handle as there is on the rear wheels. I found it easiest to start pushing the mower and then engage the drive bar.
It's an ugly Orange unless you like Orange. Appears to be new "old stock" from some association between Ariens and Husqvarna. Easy to put up with though at this price and with a superior quality motor. That's all a mower is anyway. Doesn't matter whose name is on the deck as long as there IS a deck to hold the motor.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 21 in. 2-in-1 Front Wheel Drive Mower
from Loganville, GA

What A Piece of JUNK!

PostedMay 15, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After using this mower sparingly for about 6 months, it just stopped. After repeated attempts to start it, I finally took the mower in for warranty work.
Upon arrival to pick it up, I was told that the cost would be $55 or it would be sold to cover the repair cost.
I have since purchased a Toro and couldn't be happier. Don't waste your money. Get a quality product the first time!
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 21 in. 2-in-1 Front Wheel Drive Mower
from Myrtle Beach, SC

A great lawn mower

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We just bought our new home and needed a lawn mower for the yard. This was the cheapest self-propelled mower I could find and it works great. I put it together in 5 minutes, put the oil in, and it started right up. It cuts the grass great and is really easy to maneuver. I raised mine up though because the way it comes out of the box cuts the grass really low.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 21 in. 2-in-1 Front Wheel Drive Mower
from Minnesota

Back to Home Depot

PostedSeptember 26, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was happy to get a great price on this mower, but It's going back without even being started. The axle for the left rear wheel is bent, way bent, like the poor thing has club foot. The mower has never been assembled and the box is undamaged. I figure I'm lucky that the mower came with such a clear statement about quality control -- the orange color is a thin disguise for an obvious lemon.
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 21 in. 2-in-1 Front Wheel Drive Mower
from Haverhill, NH

GRRRRREAT MOWER!!!

PostedMay 6, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Starts like a charm every time. Did some research on a few different types and brands and am thrilled I picked this one. Love that it's self propelled and easily adjustable. Really cut down on the time it takes to mow my lawn. Am thoroughly enjoying this mower!!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 21 in. 2-in-1 Front Wheel Drive Mower

Cheap price only thing good about it!

PostedJune 9, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Even though it is a cheap mower I would have expected it to last at least a few years. I only used this mower 3-4 times, I only use it for trim work, when it died and all the gas poured out the side of the mower. Took it back to Home Depot. It was sent for repair, the carburetor had to be replaced. There was no charge but still...it is heavy, hard to crank, takes forever to warm up, uses alot of fuel. Wish I had stuck with a reliable Briggs engine, they run forever! Buyer beware.
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 >>