728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Black Diamond Plate 2 ft. Square interlocking Foam Mats (4-Pack)

Black Diamond Plate 2 ft. Square interlocking Foam Mats (4-Pack)

Improve your garage, workshop, laundry room or basement with Best Step EVA Foam Flooring. These four 2 ft. x 2 ft. interlocking, anti-fatigue mats are multifunctional, easy to assemble and can be cut with a standard utility blade for custom sizing. Borders are included for a clean, finished look.
Overall rating:
4.438 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(48 reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product45 of 47reviews
Rating Breakdown 48 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(28)
4
(17)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Appearance 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product45 of 47reviews
Customer reviews for Black Diamond Plate 2 ft. Square interlocking Foam Mats (4-Pack)
Review 1 for Black Diamond Plate 2 ft. Square interlocking Foam Mats (4-Pack)
cooldude
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Recommended flooring

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
bought for the mud room/porch area. broom & blower clean it. toss up whether 5 stars or 4 stars. too early to determine. time will tell.
Pros: Easy to Install, Comfortable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Black Diamond Plate 2 ft. Square interlocking Foam Mats (4-Pack)
gahuffs
Gender:Female

putting in a new floor, has never been so easy

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's a great value for the floor, put in on the basement workout room, and bedrooms. Gives lots of cushion and acutally keeps the heat in the rooms.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Black Diamond Plate 2 ft. Square interlocking Foam Mats (4-Pack)
Myr1234

Good Product

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Excellent appearance, easy to clean, good cushioning for workout, skid resistance is fair.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Effective
Cons: would like more skid resistance
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Black Diamond Plate 2 ft. Square interlocking Foam Mats (4-Pack)
cpurnjr1
from Darby, PA

Great for exercise floor

PostedJuly 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased these mats when I converted my garage into an exercise room. I could not use my garage to store my vehicle because I have a truck that would not fit. So I figured I'd use the space for exercising. The foam mats are great for cushioning under your feet to support your joints during exercising. I am a P90X and Insanity workout user. I recommend these mats to all of my friends who workout and to anyone who I come across during workout conversation. They are a must have!
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Black Diamond Plate 2 ft. Square interlocking Foam Mats (4-Pack)
nanniji
from Baltimore, MD
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product for the price

PostedSeptember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought these tiles for a home gym. the gym is in my basement which has thin carpet over cement flooring. The tiles provide cushioning I need to do aerobic exercises and I don't need an exercise mat when I have to be on the floor for ab exercises, stretching, etc.
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Black Diamond Plate 2 ft. Square interlocking Foam Mats (4-Pack)
piddyMcloud

i require it in roll format not interlocking mats

PostedMarch 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
can someone please direct me as to where i can get this best step 8mm 1/4" flooring in the roll format please
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Black Diamond Plate 2 ft. Square interlocking Foam Mats (4-Pack)
petey
from Kaneohe, HI, USA

This product is as-advertised

PostedAugust 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am happy with the purchase. Needed something to put on my back porch to work out on. Easy to install and, so far, holding up in the weather.
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Black Diamond Plate 2 ft. Square interlocking Foam Mats (4-Pack)
mom929

Good for a home gym

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to install and working well in a home gym. Only drawback is that pet hair is hard to sweep up - so we have to remember to keep the door closed and the cat out.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Comfortable, Effective
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Black Diamond Plate 2 ft. Square interlocking Foam Mats (4-Pack)
Ronald
from Port Orange, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Large Project

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installed Best Step in a 16' x 24' workshop. Made a couple of mistakes. I installed it in sections; should have done the entire project at once. When you do it in sections you run the chance that each piece of the next section will not interlock perfectly with the old section(s). Chairs, etc, will leave an impression on the flooring but will recover in a day or two. Heavy items, like a motorcycle/garden tractor, will leave an impression on the flooring but the flooring will bounce back to its normal thickness in a few weeks. The one bad feature is the same as all flooring: the color will vary from box to box (nothing major but you can see it in a large project). The manufacturer does not mark on the boxes any batch #'s. As with any flooring, estimate the amount you will need then add an additional 10%.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Effective
Cons: color has slight variations
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Black Diamond Plate 2 ft. Square interlocking Foam Mats (4-Pack)
Lyvick
from Snellville, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pretty Good

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy installation, served its purpose. We put it in our home gym..
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Black Diamond Plate 2 ft. Square interlocking Foam Mats (4-Pack)
NelsonK
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great mat for my gym!

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great product overall. I used the mats in a T-formation for my bench, and the number of tiles was just right to fit my gym. You can check out my picture for more clarity. The installation was quick and easy. They were perfect for my bench on my wood floors. I don't have to worry about dropping the weights too heavily and damaging the floors. The mats sufficiently absorb the weights that I place or even may drop.
The product had a chemical odor for the first days, but the odor was gone after a few days of airing them out. I have had the mats for a few weeks now and the quality seems great. They indent with weights, but revert back to normal.
I also checked prices all around, even eBay, and the prices here are competitive with the other products I saw on the internet. I put 4/5 for value because it is still more than I wanted to pay, but these are as affordable as they come. Overall, it may cost quite a bit depending on how big the area you need to cover is, but it is a great product!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Great Instructions, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Black Diamond Plate 2 ft. Square interlocking Foam Mats (4-Pack)
RTDownward
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what I was looking for.

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am overall satisfied with the product. Home Depot was easy to work with. But The gray flooing had different shades of gray in each package. I can understand from one package to another (dye lots etc.) but don't understand different shades in same package.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Effective
Cons: shades of gray not the same in each package.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Black Diamond Plate 2 ft. Square interlocking Foam Mats (4-Pack)
acough2001
from Franklin, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great stuff!

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We used this product to cushion the stone terrace floor of our booth at a church fair. Over the three days our booth was open, all of the volunteers remarked how comfortable the flooring was. Highly recommended!
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Black Diamond Plate 2 ft. Square interlocking Foam Mats (4-Pack)
Annette
from Hammonton
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks were NOT deceiving!

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Standing on my feet all day was getting too painful! I was looking for something soft and comfortable and got both with this product. Not only that, my granddaughter put it together for me, that's how simple and fun it is!! Now my feet say thank you as well. Excellent product that I would highly recommend to others.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Black Diamond Plate 2 ft. Square interlocking Foam Mats (4-Pack)
Sean
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Cheap, easy to install and works well. We use it for trade shows.

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Products is great for temporary use at trade shows.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Black Diamond Plate 2 ft. Square interlocking Foam Mats (4-Pack)
iCarrieb
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job but not perfect

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought a few sets of these to do P90X3 workouts in my unfinished basement. They installed very easily and are great to use on my concrete floors. The floor seems to slide with some faster/higher impact moves. When I do burpees/sprawls they have separated a bit in some places. It still does the job - they would be perfect if 1 side had silicone or something to make it a "non-slip" surface. I'll probably have to put a rug pad or something underneath it.
Pros: Comfortable, Easy to Install, Effective
Cons: slips
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Black Diamond Plate 2 ft. Square interlocking Foam Mats (4-Pack)
TWINSPLUSONE
from Las Vegas, NV

Great Product! Used for multiple reasons!

PostedMay 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These mats are great for the garage but also for outdoor play sets! We have a concrete patio that has a playset on it but by layering the patio with these mats and putting the playset on top makes for a much softer ground cover in case of falls or crawls!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Black Diamond Plate 2 ft. Square interlocking Foam Mats (4-Pack)
stovek
from northville, mi

Great mat

PostedJuly 17, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We placed these mats at the base of our playset and they work great. We put them right on top of the the worn away grass because it was getting muddy and we did not want to put mulch down. The mats are soft, water-resistant and flexible. They keep the area much cleaner and the kids love the feel on their bare feet.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Black Diamond Plate 2 ft. Square interlocking Foam Mats (4-Pack)
5337
from Utica, New York

Foam Flooring

PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product is easy to install and soft on the feet.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Black Diamond Plate 2 ft. Square interlocking Foam Mats (4-Pack)
Fang

You Get what you pay for

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product did not last as long as expected. I use it to work out with in my garage and it started to fall apart after 2 weeks of using it.
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>