728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Log Splitters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter

5-Ton Electric Log Splitter

The Homelite 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter is a great addition to any home with a wood-burning stove or fireplace. The log splitter's 5-Ton of RAM force can split logs up to 20.5 in. long and 10 in. in diameter. With a 20-second cycle time, the log splitter quickly resets to cut another log. The log splitter features an efficient design for easy transport.
Overall rating:
4.556 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(448 reviews) 445
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product397 of 420reviews
Rating Breakdown 448 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(321)
4
(95)
3
(8)
2
(8)
1
(16)
Features 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product397 of 420reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer reviews for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter
Review 1 for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Stamford, CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exceeds expectations

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Selected this over others for the 2 year warranty
Far exceeded my expectations, 90% as useful as a rusty 6hp 20ton splitter I rented a few years ago.
no engine noise, exhaust, or filling gas every 2 hours
Splits virtually anything I can lift on to it, stalls only on the most knotted pieces
I use 5 to 11inch 2x3's to reduce return distance to speed up cycle time for shorter logs
Only negatives is the need for lifting and balancing large pieces on the table, and the split halves can land on the power cord
Have split logs far bigger in diameter than the 10” specified
Have split 5 cords, have 6 cords to go.
Pros: Sturdy, Durable, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from garden City Park, Long Island, New York, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I LOVE THIS LITTLE SPLITTEFR!!!!!!

PostedMarch 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This little splittler is a workhorse!
I heat my home primarily with wood & used to borrow a 30 ton splitter to split the 3-4 truckloads I would get from a landscaper. A week was all I had to work with & it did the job.
This Homelite Splitter, a very similar splitter is offered from Oregon Mfgr, is doing the job just fine! Sure it cant split the big stuff & I have to cut some of the rounds in half, but it cuts right through all the the wood with ease.
It could use a taller, more reinforced splitting wedge. And using it on the ground is just "STUPID". I put it up on an 8' long table made of 2"x6"s & that gives me plenty of work space.
I did have to make use of the 2 year warrenty, but I got a new splitter sent Directly to my home from Homelite in 2 weeks! No Problems, No Questions! You can't beat service like that!
My wife loves it because its "QUIET"! She hated that gas engine running for a week!
If you need a splitter for some lighter work to heat your home, BUY THIS ONE!
I still have work to do, but I'm confident in this splitter doing the job & Homelite to back me if it fails.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Bloomingdale, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works like a charm!

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A friend recommended that I try an electric log splitter so I did. I know that Home Depot has a good return policy if it I wasn't satisfied so I first checked the reviews... they were good. I went to the store and picked up the splitter, filled it with the proper amount of hydrolic fluid, made sure that the little ventilation nut was loosened when using and it splits the wood. I like the fact that you don't have a gas engine running continually while your splitting the wood. It is quiet and using a splitter is less messey than splitting with an axe. I am very pleased that I picked it up and I will not be returning it any time soon.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Store
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Baltimore, Maryland
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Many improvements over my last "no name" splitter

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Purchased this model to replace a previous model from a competitor big box store that lasted three years and lost its hydraulic power. This Homelite actually came with both instructions and a parts list! Some safety modifications are noticeable (addition of a cotter pin), but, so far, it works great. Just need to buy a 5/16 (I think) Allen wrench, because it has a huge uncommon slot to check the hydraulic oil level (wish Homelite would have included the wrench). Convenient storage standing up on its wheels and relatively easy to maneuver. So far, this unit performed well, even on an oversized recently felled tree. Only negative is the necessity to push a button and a level with both hands while leaning down to the unit resulting in back pain the next day. Otherwise, great unit to split firewood for the wood stove.
Pros: Powerful, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter

Great Little Splitter

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've had this splitter for nearly 5 years and have split close to 50 cords. It will split wood much larger than the ratings suggest. I've split black oak as large as 23 in. diameter. You might have to roll the log to find the weak spot. It won't handle extremely tough, knotty pieces or crotches. I did modify the controls with foot pedals to make it easier on the back an allow hand control of the splits. I can't say enough about how much I like this splitter.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+80points
85out of 90found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Nebraska
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great splitter for the price

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This thing can store on end so it takes up a small footprint in the garage. Only a couple of logs it couldn't split so far. Plenty of power for the average homeowner. If you buy one make sure the ram/motor end is level with or a little below the opposite end when splitting. I almost returned it when the ram wouldn't travel the entire length. Then I realized it wasn't level. The majority of the hydraulic oil was at the end opposite the motor so it didn't have enough to push the ram the rest of the way. So glad I didn't return it!
Pros: All In One, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Troy, MI, USA

Works Great

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My son and I bought this together after I was given what turned out to be 4 cords of unseasoned Black Locust and about a cord of seasoned Elm all not split and most at the maximum size for the splitter. It split all of the wood even the pieces with notches. Since then we have picked up more wood and have now split 8 or 9 cords. We both are very happy with the splitter. We read some reviews that said it would be nice to be able to adjust the travel to go further through a piece of wood. We found this could be achieved by putting a 3 inch block of wood behind any log that needs to be pushed further through the wedge.
I’ve used bigger, gas powered splitters in the past but this 5 ton electric gets the job done. And it’s nice to be able to use it in a closed garage in the winter, quietly and no fumes.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+45points
45out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from North Andover, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a tree cut down in my yard and had the workers cut the wood to fireplace length. They left all the big limbs as well as the trunk. I took a chance with this because I had to split it myself (53 year old woman). I was amazed at how easy this was. I love that it's electric, but still had enough power to split my entire tree. I now have about 1/2 cord of split wood all ready for next year. I even split some limbs many times for kindling. Since I don't have to order wood for next year, it already paid for itself. It's a bit heavy, but has to be to hold the weight of the tree. It's on wheels, so it can be stood upright and pushed with the handles.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Powerful, Easy to Store
Cons: a bit heavy but has wheels to move it around.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+38points
46out of 54found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Addy, WA. 99101
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Wonderful Log Spliter

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Assembly required Is : to remove from the shipping box and put on two wheels with pins, no tools required. I tested it as it set on the tail gate of my pick-up, for if it wasn't going to split the wood it would have went back to the store immediately. It surprised me by splitting the tough-knotty-Fir like hot butter without effort. I took it to the wood shed and split pieces of Fir & Pine with ease. I'm 72 years old and this is the only log splitter I will need. Save your money and buy one of these quiet operating ones.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Edmond, OK, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works As Advertised

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
As long as I stick with the recommended log length and log diameter, it works as advertised. Clear an area at least 30 feet in front of splitter. Some dried logs split instantaneously and the split log pieces will fly and do damage if there is not a clear zone. I have already split a cord's worth. For the green wood, it helps to use a 4 X 4 block of wood to keep the split going when at the end of the power stroke. I am glad I read user comments. The instructions do not place enough emphasis on the "wing nut" used to bleed off air pressure during use. The instructions should place description of the wing nut within the primary steps of splitter operation. Plus there should be a decal next to the wing nut to highlight its location and use.
Pros: Durable, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Cons: needs decal for wing nut
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Elizabeth City, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stop swinging that Axe & get one of these !!

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Arrived on time & shipped free as Promised! Minor assembly wheels & loosen bleed screw & it's ready to go. I split 1/2 cord in abt. 30-45 min, My ONLY complaint was the bubble on the ram end. BUT it was easily fixed with (4) bolts screwed in at each corner to stop any logs from sliding. Super great product, after looking at 12 other models (various mfg.) this had the best features for the money. I added a stand (18 Hx16Wx36L ) and a set of foot peddles (I got the Idea from another gentleman's review)
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, quick ram return
Cons: ram bubble end
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+24points
31out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Hamilton OH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best thing I have ever bought.

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Thanks Home Depot for selling a great item. Don't let the size of this log splitter fool You. It does the job well. Not hard to use and very quite. I only wish I would have bought one sooner !!! Very easy to store and move around. Worked as said right out of the box.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Albuquerque, NM
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Tool I have Seen In A Long Time!

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was going to drop $1,400 on a log splitter. Then a friend told me to check out the Homelite. Well heck, for 300 bucks what do you have to loose?
8 cords of wood later all I can say is WOW! I just set it on the end gate and roll the logs onto it, split and toss on the pile. No bending over to pick up logs, no gas fumes, I can use it in my shop, no gas engine to have to take care of, and it only takes up about a sq ft of space in the shop.
I split Oak, Douglas Fur, Pinion, and Ponderosa Pine. Logs up to 20" dia, no problem, it's doesn't even slow it down.
What a great tool! Get one you won't be sorry.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Maine
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good little machine

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was skeptical about an elect splitter however this little thing works good. Didn't like the two hand operation very inconvenient so I designed a lever so now I only use one hand in which frees up the other to work the wood. Now I love it you can split at least three times faster. I also added a 4" block to the ram for further extension. I have a buddy that is going to purchase one this week and he wants me to build him the One Hand Operation Lever. Pic's below
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, simple to use with the lever
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The BEST investment...peroid.

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Got real tired, real quick after buying, trying to light and burn, several loads of "wet" firewood. Decided to cut, split and "season" our own. This little unit is amazing for the $$$. I placed mine on a sturdy table top and that also saved my back from bending over. It will also work great on the tailgate of your truck (Another reviewer suggested putting the splitter in the utility cart behind your lawn tractor...it fits perfect and the split wood falls into the cart). Now, not only do I cut my wood to size (we have a fireplace that takes 18 inch pieces and a wood stove that takes 8 inch pieces), we can now easily split the wood into much smaller "wedges"...even into kindling. Also, if you're cutting your own wood, I recommend making your cuts as close to 90 degrees as possible. Angled cuts will "slip" off of either end when the ram pushes the wood into the cutting blade. A 4x4 wood block will also speed up the process (the unit will accept a piece of wood up to 20 1/2 inches, so if you're cutting your wood into 16 inch lengths, use a 4 inch wood block to reduce "travel" time. DO NOT (per the instructions) ATTEMPT TO CUT A LOG WIDTH-WISE (SIDEWAYS)...YOU WILL BREAK SOMETHING (LIKE YOURSELF!) My GF (who also loves to use the splitter) kept bugging me to shorten a already split piece of wood. It sounded like a gun had gone off!
Bottom line; very well constructed, compact, sturdy, efficient, major bang for the buck, stupid simple to use, stores upright, quiet, two year warranty, electric (when it's freezing outside, you can split wood in your garage/workshop.), easily lifted and rolled around, more than ample power for homeowner use, fully assembled (except the 2 wheels...takes about 2 minutes...no tools required).
Highly Recommend!
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Hernando, MS
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great splitter for the money

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Assembly consisted of putting the wheels on, giving the air-bleed screw a couple of turns and plugging it in and removing the lever lock pin.
Once it was up and running, the first thing I noticed was the necessity for two hands was horrendous and totally unnecessary. A heavy pair of vice grips solved that problem. It extended the lever reach so that I could operate it with one hand so I could pull the wood off or at least block the "poppers" from hitting me. The second thing I noticed was that the travel is horribly short. Like 5+ inches short of where it needs to be but that is probably how they were able to advertise such a fast cycle time. It never gets near the wedge.
On the upside, it has all the power it advertised and really does cycle pretty quick. I like that holding the lever down also stops the ram return so it doesn't have to go all the way back. We had a big storm and a 100+ year old oak tree lost 1/2 of its trunk and limbs. I'm sawed it up and started splitting very fresh, very wet (rain water-logged too) wood and only had to back the ram up a few times. I made lots of kindling with 3-8" logs and then started splitting logs up to 22" long and 14" across- with no problems at all. Very Impressed overall.
I would buy another if this one disappeared.
Pros: Powerful, Good Size & Weight, quick cycle time, ability to stop ram reset distance, great price
Cons: short travel, two-hand operation, instability
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Bloomfield, CT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

5-TON ELECTRIC LOG SPLITTER -- Good Value, effective product

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The original item I received had a broken dipstick. Because there could be a loose metal part in the oil reservoir I returned this immediately. Replacement unit was provided quickly, after 2nd call to Home Depot, and operated very well. I immediately split about 1/4 cord of wood with some logs having a diameter larger than the stated 10" max range. Comes assembled except for installing wheels which is quite simple to do. You need an 8mm hex allen wrench to remove the dipstick. Wrench is not supplied.
I am very happy with this product and it is more than sufficient to handle splitting for our fireplace. Powerful, splits wood with ease.
Pros: Easy to Use, Powerful
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter

Homelite Electric Log Splitter A Plus!

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
No Exhaust fumes, quiet, easy storage, powerful unit. Should have got one a long time ago! 300 bucks, great investment. Has better features than other models I looked at. Faster and only 15 amps, no tripping circuits.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Brighton, Michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good splitter for the money

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Good splitter if you read the directions first.
I got mine on a super sale/floor model rebuild, but I rated it as if I were to have paid full price.
Vent the cylinder like it says in the directions or it may blow a seal or may not return the pusher after you split a piece of wood.
Check and fill up the cylinder with hydraulic fluid before and after each use. The splitter will not function properly if the fluid is low, but don't over fill it either because it will blow out the seals.
I say all that because the person who bought the splitter before me I now own didn't vent it or check the fluid level and burned up a perfectly good splitter after only one use.
Pros and cons;
1. It has two levers that must be pushed at the same time to work, which safety wise is good, but speed wise it slows you down unless you have a helper.
2. It is short, heavy and portable, I set mine on the tailgate of my truck to keep from constantly having to hunch over and had a wheel barrel to catch the falling wood from splitting.
3. The wheels are helpful moving it on flat ground only, the first bump you hit the heavy splitter wants to fall over and take you with it, be careful.
4. It can run a long time straight without a rest, (20-45 minutes depending on outside temperature), but when it gets hot, you'll need to let it cool down for 5 to 15 minutes or it will pop a breaker.
5. It pulls lots of amps/watts when first starting a split, if you are using an extension cord, make sure its thick and over rated, or you'll pop a breaker. It's rated at 15 amps, but it will pull more amps splitting hard wood, you may need a 20 amp outlet/breaker to plug into. Same goes for the off-grid people using an inverter to run the splitter, you'll need at least a 2000 watt inverter with a 3000 watt surge start up and two fully charged batteries to keep up with the splitter.
6. If you're going to use it a lot, (twice a week or more), buy the extended warranty, you'll thank me later.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: Too Heavy, energy hog
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Seattle, WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for my needs

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I don't need to split 40 chords of wood each year to heat my house. I split a 4'x4' rack of wood for my fireplace about every other week. This splitter is everything I could want or need. Most of my wood is pine and alder. It has never jammed and has managed to split logs as large as 18" in diameter, I'm impressed! It helps to have it elevated so I do the splitting on my porch with the splitter on the upper step to raise it a bit. I take good care of it by checking the oil level before each use and clean it well after each use. I keep it indoors and have a cover for it too. By doing this I expect it to last many, many years. The only negative (a very minor one) is that there was no Allen wrench that came with it. Fortunately I had one the correct size, but it wouldn't have hurt the company to supply one. In short, this has been a wonderful purchase, a very useable and functional tool that has saved me from wielding a splitting maul every week.
Pros: Easy to Use, Powerful, Easy to Store
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 23 >>