728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Accord 55 in. x 30 in. x 60 in. 3-Piece Easy Up Tub Wall in White

Accord 55 in. x 30 in. x 60 in. 3-Piece Easy Up Tub Wall in White

Enhance the look of your bathroom with the Sterling Plumbing Accord 55 in. x 30 in. x 60 in. Three Piece Easy Up Adhesive Tub Wall in White. Made from solid Vikrell, these walls feature durable construction and have a high-gloss finish for an easy-to-clean surface. The out-of-the-way shelving leaves plenty of room to bathe while providing generous storage space, and the walls have a modular design for quick, easy installation.
Overall rating:
3.647 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product12 of 16reviews
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(5)
4
(6)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(1)
Quality 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product12 of 16reviews
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer reviews for Accord 55 in. x 30 in. x 60 in. 3-Piece Easy Up Tub Wall in White
Review 1 for Accord 55 in. x 30 in. x 60 in. 3-Piece Easy Up Tub Wall in White

look for chipping on the back!

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installs very easy, I recommend adding a 1" thick board on the back wall as added support in the event someone slips and falls into the back.
Upon purchase, inspect the reinforcing grid on the back. If several are chipped or broken then return for a different surround.
2 months after I installed this unit, my wife placed her hand on the back ~2/3 the way up and heard a pop at the bottom. (She is only 150 lbs, not that big!) Sterling sent a repair guy and they determined it was best to send me a voucher for a new wall. I'm guessing the chipping on the back was a sign of bad resin during the manufacturing because there is no reason for it to crack under slight pressure. I'm happy to be getting a new wall but I don't have time to install it - just a bit disgruntled.
Also for the tub install - I recommend using tile caustic instead of the mortar cement they recommend. It's rock hard and flows much better giving full support to the tub floor.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Accord 55 in. x 30 in. x 60 in. 3-Piece Easy Up Tub Wall in White
from Splendora, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Poor Product Specification, Directions, and customer service.

PostedMay 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was a Senior Facilities Design / Project Engineer with over 20 years experience prior to retirement. I was taught plumbing by my dad, who was a master plumber and later city plumbing inspector in Massachusetts. I graduated from the University of Massachusetts with a Bachelor of Science degree in Engineering. and have a very long history of successful DIY project completions with my dad, many neighbors and friends, my son, as well as alone.
The main problem is that neither the specifications on the package nor the directions indicate that only a single lever faucet may be utilized. My past experience has indicated that better temperature control was obtainable with dual faucet control. Unfortunately I had 3 of 4 holes cut prior realizing my problem because I had never experienced a tub enclosure that would not easily accommodate dual faucets.
Although I made the error of cutting holes too quickly, I feel part of the problem was due to VERY POOR package and display specifications as well as VERY POOR directions that incorporated a diagram with dimensions for dual valve installation.
To add insult to injury, my first call to Sterling / Kohler customer service indicated a design solution of moving my plumbing off the tub drain centerline and nothing was mentioned about the single faucet restriction. I sincerely hope that the designer as well as the customer service person are at least reprimanded, if not terminated for their prankster solution to my issue. I was not intrigued, impressed, nor amused with their response. After-all, how many corporations have been sued for inadequate container information, not to mention inadequate directions.
Hope this helps another customer from having the same issue. I also agree with one of the other reviewers who recommended reinforcement of the 60 inch rear panel with some thin material as opposed to just shims on studs
Cons: Difficult to Use, Performance, Build Quality, Unbalanced, Appearance, sterling / kohler customer service, sterling / kohler design, sterling / kohler design management, sterling / kohler quality control, sterling / kohler technical writers
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
-3points
4out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Accord 55 in. x 30 in. x 60 in. 3-Piece Easy Up Tub Wall in White
from North Easton, MA

Nice Tub

PostedFebruary 22, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very nice tub with ample shelves. Panels fit together nicely. The only negetive is that the caulkless design made it a bit tricky to get around the fixed tub faucet pipe. If your pipes can be loosened and put back through a access panel you will have zero issues. It also feels bigger than it looks because of the near vertical walls and has a great grippy textured floor. I wouldn't have any reservations recomending this tub system.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Accord 55 in. x 30 in. x 60 in. 3-Piece Easy Up Tub Wall in White

PostedJune 25, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Nice product for the price. Was disappointed in the engineering and directions. The manufacturer indicates three-handle controls can be used, but the design will only allow for one-handle. Just another trip back to the store to purchase a single-handle control and two more hours to un-solder and re-solder unit.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Accord 55 in. x 30 in. x 60 in. 3-Piece Easy Up Tub Wall in White
from Otto, NC

Great Product Easy to Install!

PostedJanuary 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband and I replaced our old tub and surround with this one. It was easily installed, and deeper than our old tub.
We are very pleased with it...the only thing; you have to have a one handled faucet; there is not enough room for a three handled one. The quality is very good, nice and thick, looks great, and no need for caulk! Would highly recommend!!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Accord 55 in. x 30 in. x 60 in. 3-Piece Easy Up Tub Wall in White

Handyman or product?

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had a handyman install this product, and it didn't turn out well. I can't tell if it is the product's fault or the handyman's fault. The overlap of the sections of the back wall looks awkward because it is not flush. The handyman also had a difficult time gluing it because the faux tile creates concave spaces against the wall where glue didn't stick. Is this because of the product, or did my handyman just not know how to do it? Not sure, but I decided to pull it out and have someone else put real tile in. I've previously had good experience with flat versions of tub surrounds. It might be better to try those next time.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Accord 55 in. x 30 in. x 60 in. 3-Piece Easy Up Tub Wall in White
from Hopkinton, MA

Accord Smooth Wall Set in White, Model #71244700-0

PostedMarch 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this wall set, along with the tub that goes with it, and love it! It installed easily and looks great. We're very pleased with the final result.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Accord 55 in. x 30 in. x 60 in. 3-Piece Easy Up Tub Wall in White
from WATONGA, OK

ACCORD 3 PIECE WALL SURROUND MODEL #71244700-0

PostedJune 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
GREAT PRODUCT! EASY TO INSTALL. I'M NOT A PROFESSIONAL JUST A HOMEOWNER RELATIVELY EASY. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT TO ANYONE.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Accord 55 in. x 30 in. x 60 in. 3-Piece Easy Up Tub Wall in White
from Houston, TX
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Check it first

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I like the overall design and thickness of this surround. However, be sure to check it close for cracks. The first one we brought home had a hairline crack that appeared to be damage caused by a forklift. Do not purchase if the box is damaged in any way.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Accord 55 in. x 30 in. x 60 in. 3-Piece Easy Up Tub Wall in White
from Louisville, KY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I installed this unit back in October when we discovered that the grout from the old tub had been leaking into the wall for a while. I wanted something maintenance free, this was the answer. After removing the old tub and tile walls, it is key that you make the tub opening level! That's the only way that the walls will sit correctly. In the installation instruction video, they show an image of shimming after you place the tub, that wont happen the tub is skirted... I love the product, feels solid and you simply wipe away the soap scum with a sponge.
Pros: Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Great Value, Nice Design, Easy to Clean
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Accord 55 in. x 30 in. x 60 in. 3-Piece Easy Up Tub Wall in White
from Fenton, MI

We Like It!

PostedMarch 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Went in relatively easily. We had limited space to work with and were able to make this unit work with minor stud modifications and plumbing adjustments due to original building of home. Looks good.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Accord 55 in. x 30 in. x 60 in. 3-Piece Easy Up Tub Wall in White

Difficult to install

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
The surround pieces are poorly made. Had a small crack in the bottom of one of the pieces and had to deburr the plastic flash on a number of places. Unfortunately did not see this right away and had to do it before the pieces would slide togeather. Instructions should call for rubber mallet.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Build Quality
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Accord 55 in. x 30 in. x 60 in. 3-Piece Easy Up Tub Wall in White
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great addition to the tub

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Installation is easy only if you follow the YouTube video and forget about the written instructions in the box. Also the video says there is supposed to be a mat that goes under the tub, but it didn't come with ours.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Accord 55 in. x 30 in. x 60 in. 3-Piece Easy Up Tub Wall in White
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Quite as Described...and poor instructions don't help.

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Our contractor called Sterling for advice on how to place the Accord Bath Wall Set (Model 71244700) and attach it to the existing tub? (no information at all comes in the box, and the on-line video is a bit misleading in that it only shows the complete tub & surround job vs. any tie-in to existing) The Help line folks advised that the 'clips' (built into the 3 pieces to mate) are only designed to work with the Accord tub, and that the warranty is void w/o that, aside from also being mighty hard to use. The surround product is sold as a stand-alone do-it-youself, but is apparently only useful with the tub. So it's a round-trip return to HD, which should probably caution buyers to save wrestling this heavy product in and out of the truck. Quite disappointed to find the devil in the details here, and with no way to see that up front despite carefully looking over all the available info on the HD site and Sterling's. So we're back to doing ceramic tile despite really liking this kind of product.
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Use, requires accord tub to mate, no instructions in box, sold as a stand-alone but not so, incomplete web information to prevent problems
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Accord 55 in. x 30 in. x 60 in. 3-Piece Easy Up Tub Wall in White
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well matched addition to the Accord tub

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The well designed and made 3 piece tub surround fit just perfect together and installation was literally a snap after the studpocket was reworked to exact required measurements.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Accord 55 in. x 30 in. x 60 in. 3-Piece Easy Up Tub Wall in White

Must buy as a set

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had one three piece set installed by contractor so do not know how easily it went in. Looks great. Bought a 2nd tub, same model, for a different bath with a tile wall because Home Depot employee said he read on the box that it could work with both types of installation. Well, after everything unpacked, it can only go into a bath where you can accommodate its surround.
Pros: Looks Great, Great Value, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Accord 55 in. x 30 in. x 60 in. 3-Piece Easy Up Tub Wall in White

fit good with tub

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the shelves on the inside corners don't hold things well they fall
off.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Looks Great, Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.