728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Pots & Planters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Compressed Brick Coco Peat Growing Medium for Hydroponic and Soil Planters-DISCONTINUED

Compressed Brick Coco Peat Growing Medium for Hydroponic and Soil Planters-DISCONTINUED

The Compressed Brick Coco Peat Growing Medium for Hydroponic and Soil Planters can be used as an alternative to peat moss. It expands to approximately 2-1/2 cu. ft. when you add water. Use coco peat in your potting mixes and garden beds to create a rich environment for them.
Overall rating:
4.444 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product6 of 7reviews
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(7)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product6 of 7reviews
Customer reviews for Compressed Brick Coco Peat Growing Medium for Hydroponic and Soil Planters-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for Compressed Brick Coco Peat Growing Medium for Hydroponic and Soil Planters-DISCONTINUED
from Mid-West

Good stuff, Great price!

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I mix my own potting soils, and used to use peat moss as a component. I came upon coir a few years ago, but found it hard to come by and pricy. For environmental reasons, I prefer to use coir over peat moss, so I was very glad to find this at home depot. Just a note: you do have to add a few hours for "preparation". Soaking takes time, and then separating takes more time, but it's worth it. This is no different from 2 other brands I have used in the past. Some other reviewer complained about a bad smell, I don't know what they are talking about. It does have an "earthy" aroma similar to peat moss or commercial potting mixes.
Pros: price, "green" alternative to peat moss, helps retain moisture and adds some nutrients to potting mix.
Cons: time consuming to separate
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Compressed Brick Coco Peat Growing Medium for Hydroponic and Soil Planters-DISCONTINUED

Good but took time to break up

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used these coir bricks as a pete moss substitute for my garden. THe bricks are huge, and heavy! The instructions say to soak each brick for 45 minutes and then break up. This is not enough soaking time. I found I had to soak the bricks over night in order for them to be soft enough to crumble in my garden. Also, you will need quite a large tub or container to soak them in. Since these bricks yield so much coir, the price can't be beat!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Compressed Brick Coco Peat Growing Medium for Hydroponic and Soil Planters-DISCONTINUED
from Jensen Beach, FLorida

Just waht I expected at a great price

PostedAugust 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, it did not stink, or smell of mold, It was perfect, and was a very good price. I used it in my Hydroponic system, and will order it again. It is a much bigger brick than what you usually find in some stores.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Compressed Brick Coco Peat Growing Medium for Hydroponic and Soil Planters-DISCONTINUED
from Kansas City, MO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I can't believe this is a discontinued item!

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I can't believe this is a discontinued item! Great product for wrought iron planters and window boxes, works beautifully to hold soil and retain water for perfect blooms all season.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Compressed Brick Coco Peat Growing Medium for Hydroponic and Soil Planters-DISCONTINUED

if your looking for a great deal on coir

PostedSeptember 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Definitely will buy again, there in the form of "panels" this is a great buy, perfect for plants and even edible mushrooms, home depot for your vermeculite, coir, perlite, and various tools and equipment, spores101 and mushbox for your other mycology needs and edible mushroom cultures!
Kudos to home depot for selling a truly exelent product!
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Compressed Brick Coco Peat Growing Medium for Hydroponic and Soil Planters-DISCONTINUED
from Hershey, PA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

coco peat meets my needs

PostedOctober 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently bought two units of compressed coco peat growing medium and found it an excellent soil amendment for my potting soil, affording good drainage and prevention of compacting of the mixed material. Plants are doing well. I highly recommend this product for all gardenng and planting needs. Love it.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Compressed Brick Coco Peat Growing Medium for Hydroponic and Soil Planters-DISCONTINUED

Great Sustainable Product

PostedSeptember 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A great, sustainable product with good consistency and value, especially if free shipping is available. A bit tough to break up, so be sure to give it a good soak beforehand.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Compressed Brick Coco Peat Growing Medium for Hydroponic and Soil Planters-DISCONTINUED

Musty, moldy smell, very disappointed

PostedJanuary 4, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I recently bought a 2.5 cu. ft. brick of "Coco Peat" through this website. It is produced by a company called "HyperGrow." When I received it, I noticed It was brownish in color, not the brighter orange-ish color of fresher coco coir that I have bought from other producers in the past. But the worst part is the musty, moldy smell of damp hay. Even dry, it carries that smell, and when you add water, the smell is awful. Also, it did not really expand when I added water, it just got wet and stunk. I had to crumble the whole thing apart by hand. I don't know what I'm going to do with it, maybe use it outside or just throw it away. I wish I could get my money back. I will not buy the "HyperGrow Compressed Brick Coco Peat" again.
The reason I know it is not supposed to smell musty and moldy is because I have previously bought coco coir online from other "producers" (NOT HyperGrow). In both cases the bricks smelled clean and fresh and had a brighter orange-ish color. When I added water, the bricks expanded rapidly and crumbled on their own into a wonderful light pile of coco fiber. They produced a delightful fresh clean-smelling potting medium that I loved.
-4points
7out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Compressed Brick Coco Peat Growing Medium for Hydroponic and Soil Planters-DISCONTINUED

great!

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
good product, fast delivery, and good price. i'm happy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.