728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Quick Ship & Assembled Cabinets or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak

24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak

The 24 in. Utility Cabinet is a practical, stylish storage solution for your kitchen, laundry, office or other home area. Featuring a sturdy composite box and a solid wood door frame, this utility cabinet has 2 storage drawers that help you store lots of household items. Ready for a coat of paint or stain, the cabinet's natural oak doors have a recessed-panel design that offers a classic appearance.
Overall rating:
3.667 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product22 of 29reviews
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(9)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(5)
Quality 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product22 of 29reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer reviews for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
Review 1 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Ranger, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor quality control and construction

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought several different types of these, all from the same manufacturer. Many of them had dings hidden by the cardboard retaining straps. But what bothered me most was the sloppy construction work. The nylon corner braces were sometimes only half attached, and I had to reattach some of them. WORST, though, was the messy glue work. There were some thick gobs of hardened glue on one or two of the door interiors, and on some there were spots where the assemblers had gotten glue on the front of the door or carcase and had attempted to wipe it off, unsuccessfully... I could tell it was there because even with prep sanding, the stain did not take in spots!
I am NOT happy with these cabinets, and I would not recommend them to anyone unless you intend to paint them vice staining them. Even then, you need to be happy with occasional dinged-up fronts, from the factory. Home Depot, these were a major disappointment.
(By the way, I haven't finished staining them yet, so I have no idea how many more problems I will find. GRRRRRR!!!)
Pros: Functional
Cons: Appearance, poor quality control, lack of skill with assemblers, sloppy gluing and construction
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak

Great value allowing creativity and customization

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My rather large kitchen had a lot of wasted space and no pantry. So, I purchased several of these unfinished cabinets from this line to add a pantry and create a more appealing and efficient office space. Word of caution: use a base primer if you will be painting the cabinets in a light color. Mine are starting to "yellow" through the white paint. I modified the lower cabinet space of the pantry for pull-out shelves for a printer and turn table converter. The upper portion of the pantry is customized; added a stained glass cabinet door. Molding was added to the tops of the cabinets to give them a more finished look. Base cabinets from this line were also used for the lower units of custom designed book shelves in the family room. I couldn't be happier with my kitchen, new office and upgraded the family room - the center of this older home. I will also be purchasing items in this line to remodel my bathrooms with new vanities and linen closets (pantry cabinet) in the near future. Remember: be creative! You can - with this very economical line!
Pros: Functional, Well Made, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Just what I wanted it to do...give a built -into the wall look

PostedMay 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quailty was just as I expected.. needed to match the stain with stock cabinets and they worked out well.
Pros: Functional, Lots of Features, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+36points
37out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Eden, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Kitchen Pantry Cabinet

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My son-in-law installed the cabinet with no problems. The direction the door opened was changed. I then sanded, primed and painted the cabinet to match the existing cabinets in my 1954 ranch house. I am going to purchase the 18" wide cabinet and the over the refrigerator cabinet to give the refrigerator a built in look. I put beadboard on the side since that is the product that was on the walls. It looks like it has always been there. I have had my cabinet over a year and it is very sturdy. No problems with the plastic shelf supports and it has canned goods on the shelves. I purchased a rack for the bottom and it stores my baking pans.
Pros: Functional, Looks Great
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love the design...However, you get what you pay for

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I couldn't find this size at any other place. I loved the 24" width and most other pantries were 18" wide and 24" deep...which means losing stuff way in the back :) When they say these are unfinished, they mean it! They need to be sanded with fine grit sandpaper, and the sides are only particle board, so you have to buy the $21/each veneers if the sides will be showing. After sanding, we primed 2 coats and painted 2 coats of kitchen-quality paint. It took 15+ hours from applying veneer, sanding, priming, painting, mounting, etc to get them done. If you don't want much work and can afford more, pick cabinets that are already finished and you'll only have to mount them :)
I bought 2 of these and placed them next to each other.....and I took the advice of someone else and switched the hinges on one pantry so that both cabinets open from the middle and give it more of a custom (and usable) feel. There are 3 adjustable shelves on top, 2 draws that are about 3" deep (about 1" more shallow than my current kitchen drawers), and there are no shelves on the bottom. I went out and bought more pegs to add more shelving to the top part, and we're going to put some shelving down below too. All in all, I love the storage! These are so much cheaper than other places, but you also have to realize that it's not high grade anything...it's cheap oak and thin panel doors. Each cabinet in the store has some kind of ding or defect, so don't expect to walk in to do a store that only has 1 or 2 in stock and find a perfect condition cabinet. The pantry cabinet on the floor had so many defects that I wasn't even going to ask for a discount to buy it b/c it would take too much work to fix it up. I would recommend these cabinets but only for those that want to do lots of work.
Pros: Functional
Cons: not high quality
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Suffolk, VA

Easy Pantry Solution

PostedMay 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased two of these cabinets to use as pantries in our 1940's remodeled 900 sq. ft. home. With space at a premium and no storage to speak of we wanted something stylish, roomy and durable. These cabinets met all our requirements. The wood finish is lovely and took stain extremely well - only a light sanding was needed. Installation was fast and easy. The cabinets are well made and very sturdy. We added an additional shelf to each upper half and changed out the plastic clips for metal ones - just a precaution since we are storing heavy canned goods on the shelves. Very pleased with the product and the results we achieved. Recommended for all your storage needs.
+192points
200out of 208found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak

Does what it needs to do!

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We purchased this cabinet to match our existing 80's cabinets we revamped. We painted this white to match. I did a fine sand behr paint/primer about 3 total coats and another find sanding between the 2nd and 3rd coat. came out great. The sides are not finished, BUT they are not ' rough' where the texture is different form the front. I do advise you to check out all the cabinets for any damages. We had about 4 options and my husband inspected all 4 for the best option. There were two manufacturing issues one including excess glue, and a dent in the door inside the cabinet door. We aren't perfect, neither is my house... so wasn't a big deal. For the price we were good.. if you are real picky... go custom.
Pros: Functional, Looks Like Wood, Lots of Features, Looks Great, Nice Design, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from jacksonville, florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

unique

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a unique cabinet by virtue of its dimensions and features. At only 18": deep and with the two drawers, to my knowledge there is nothing else like it, unfinished or otherwise.
I bought two for different purposes. I painted both and can report that the recessed door faces should be primed if light colored paint is being applied, otherwise there will be a constant bleed through.
I picked mine from store inventory and chose undamaged units, but I can see how they would not fare well if shipped. The particle board base and backs are subject to chipping when moved.
Pros: Functional, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Pasadena, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

perfect enclosed storage

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We recently removed a built-in desk and book shelf unit that was originally built in our fifty plus year old house, and installed three of these cabinets side by side. We added the trim panel on one end, and installed the toe kick, and then stained and sealed the entire unit. It turned out very nice, and gave us a lot of storage space in our kitchen/dining area. We will be adding pull-out shelves on the bottom section of each cabinet for easier access. The drawer glides will probably need to be upgraded soon, which will be fairly easy to do. Overall, an easy project to install, and they look great.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Allentown, pa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good product for price

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought 2 of these pantries and placed them side by side, reversed the way the door opens on one of them so it appears they both open from middle. Works nicely with existing cabinets. Very sturdy and roomy. I still have to stain.
The one negative feature is there could be more shelves. (comes with 2 adjustible shelves on tops, no adjustible shelf for bottom). I added shelves on my own to top and bottom.
I love the drawers. I needed more drawers in my kitchen.
Very happy with this product.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, Looks Great, Nice Design
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Western, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You get what you pay for

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought 2 of these to add storage in a home office. I'll start by saying that I knew they were "low end" when I selected them. The drawer guides are very cheap and I planned on replacing them even before I left the store. The doors can be inverted to have a right or left swing. All the doors needed some adjustment so they didn't rub on the cabinet when opened. One of the cabinets needed some repair when I got it home... No glue & several of the nails missed their mark. Not a big deal if you are handy & have the time, tools.
These are sturdy once you get them secured to the wall. However, they are not a heavy duty item. Thin (3/8"?) flake board and staple construction with oak face. I seems like a minimal cost per unit increase to have used plywood for the sides rather than the flake board & these would have been a much better product.
Overall I am satisfied with the purchase when I compare it to the price I would have paid for a better quality cabinet and the light use I intend to give these units.
I rated the item 3 stars because they are just what they were intended to be; entry level cabinets.
I'll try to add some photos once I get them stained.
Cons: weak construction
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Central Alabama
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for hiding multiple small appliances

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We are still in the finishing touches of our recent kitchen remodel. I needed a place to store my electric appliances such as my mixer, electric grill, etc. The pantry is perfect for my use. Hard to believe that it has replaced a 3'x5' built in pantry, but it has. It's easy to find things in, and as we buy our paper goods in bulk, the bottom cabinet is perfect for storage of my paper towels and toilet paper. The two larger drawers have taken the place of 4 junk drawers. This purchase has made finding things in the kitchen much easier and more convenient. My only down side, is that the description said that it was paint and stain ready, and it actually took quite a bit of sanding to get it smoothed out enough for paint. If I had been staining it, it would have required even more than the 2 hours I spent with an electric sander and sanding sponges. I would definitely recommend this pantry to anyone looking for one. Just remember that you have to finish the sides with something other than paint or stain, as they are heavy duty particle board. I used bead board to finish mine, and it looks great.
Pros: Functional, Looks Great, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak

We took it back

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When we got it home we noticed that door was hung incorrectly so that it scraped that cabinet when it opened. The hinges cannot be moved because of the way it is constructed. Because of this and the overall shoddy construction we returned the product.
Cons: shoddy construction
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from New Braunfels, TX

Nice light weight cabinet for the price but cheaply built.

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cheaply built~not the best quality. Home Depot could do a lot better then this. Functional but not for asthetic beauty.
Pros: Functional, Light Weight
Cons: Appearance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Fitchburg, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product was as described.

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product installed easily. Side panels and toe plate were a great match. Took stain easily.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect For My Sewing Room!

PostedJune 3, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have boughten 5 of these cabinets and put them on one whole wall in my craft room. (Of course my hard working husband did most of the work!) He made sure they were level and screwed them to the wall. They are great! They are roomy and hold much fabric, machines, pictures and all kinds of neat stuff! I have painted them white with a "cool jazz" paint by Behr (light aqua) on the walls. FINALLY have my room functional! SO HAPPY!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Tennessee, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lots of room for storage.

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was desperate for some storage space in my kitchen, but could not find anything to fit in a 24 inch space. Was so happy to find this, every other cabinet was to wide or not deep enough. I stained this pretty close to my current cabinet color and I love it. FYI, the sides are not stainable though. BTW, you do get 2 generous drawers too.
Pros: Functional, looks good
Cons: unfinished sides
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from brentwood
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

will be buying another!!

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
we are updating on kitchen and need to stay on low end tried this and will be buying other pieces.. very impressed!!
Pros: Functional, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great features

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I debated about these and ones from another store for a month before I actually bought them. These were the perfect width to go between my wall and fridge. I got 2 and they are amazing. Easy to install and big enough for what I needed them for.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Lots of Features, Looks Great, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Parma Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best for the buck

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
They are very nice and we bought them on sale for kitchen remodel and they worked out very nice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>