728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Quick Ship & Assembled Cabinets or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak

24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak

The 24 in. Utility Cabinet is a practical, stylish storage solution for your kitchen, laundry, office or other home area. Featuring a sturdy composite box and a solid wood door frame, this utility cabinet has 2 storage drawers that help you store lots of household items. Ready for a coat of paint or stain, the cabinet's natural oak doors have a recessed-panel design that offers a classic appearance.
Overall rating:
3.76 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product19 of 24reviews
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(8)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(4)
Quality 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product19 of 24reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
Review 1 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak

Great value allowing creativity and customization

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My rather large kitchen had a lot of wasted space and no pantry. So, I purchased several of these unfinished cabinets from this line to add a pantry and create a more appealing and efficient office space. Word of caution: use a base primer if you will be painting the cabinets in a light color. Mine are starting to "yellow" through the white paint. I modified the lower cabinet space of the pantry for pull-out shelves for a printer and turn table converter. The upper portion of the pantry is customized; added a stained glass cabinet door. Molding was added to the tops of the cabinets to give them a more finished look. Base cabinets from this line were also used for the lower units of custom designed book shelves in the family room. I couldn't be happier with my kitchen, new office and upgraded the family room - the center of this older home. I will also be purchasing items in this line to remodel my bathrooms with new vanities and linen closets (pantry cabinet) in the near future. Remember: be creative! You can - with this very economical line!
Pros: Functional, Well Made, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Just what I wanted it to do...give a built -into the wall look

PostedMay 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quailty was just as I expected.. needed to match the stain with stock cabinets and they worked out well.
Pros: Functional, Lots of Features, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+35points
36out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Eden, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Kitchen Pantry Cabinet

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My son-in-law installed the cabinet with no problems. The direction the door opened was changed. I then sanded, primed and painted the cabinet to match the existing cabinets in my 1954 ranch house. I am going to purchase the 18" wide cabinet and the over the refrigerator cabinet to give the refrigerator a built in look. I put beadboard on the side since that is the product that was on the walls. It looks like it has always been there. I have had my cabinet over a year and it is very sturdy. No problems with the plastic shelf supports and it has canned goods on the shelves. I purchased a rack for the bottom and it stores my baking pans.
Pros: Functional, Looks Great
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love the design...However, you get what you pay for

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I couldn't find this size at any other place. I loved the 24" width and most other pantries were 18" wide and 24" deep...which means losing stuff way in the back :) When they say these are unfinished, they mean it! They need to be sanded with fine grit sandpaper, and the sides are only particle board, so you have to buy the $21/each veneers if the sides will be showing. After sanding, we primed 2 coats and painted 2 coats of kitchen-quality paint. It took 15+ hours from applying veneer, sanding, priming, painting, mounting, etc to get them done. If you don't want much work and can afford more, pick cabinets that are already finished and you'll only have to mount them :)
I bought 2 of these and placed them next to each other.....and I took the advice of someone else and switched the hinges on one pantry so that both cabinets open from the middle and give it more of a custom (and usable) feel. There are 3 adjustable shelves on top, 2 draws that are about 3" deep (about 1" more shallow than my current kitchen drawers), and there are no shelves on the bottom. I went out and bought more pegs to add more shelving to the top part, and we're going to put some shelving down below too. All in all, I love the storage! These are so much cheaper than other places, but you also have to realize that it's not high grade anything...it's cheap oak and thin panel doors. Each cabinet in the store has some kind of ding or defect, so don't expect to walk in to do a store that only has 1 or 2 in stock and find a perfect condition cabinet. The pantry cabinet on the floor had so many defects that I wasn't even going to ask for a discount to buy it b/c it would take too much work to fix it up. I would recommend these cabinets but only for those that want to do lots of work.
Pros: Functional
Cons: not high quality
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Suffolk, VA

Easy Pantry Solution

PostedMay 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased two of these cabinets to use as pantries in our 1940's remodeled 900 sq. ft. home. With space at a premium and no storage to speak of we wanted something stylish, roomy and durable. These cabinets met all our requirements. The wood finish is lovely and took stain extremely well - only a light sanding was needed. Installation was fast and easy. The cabinets are well made and very sturdy. We added an additional shelf to each upper half and changed out the plastic clips for metal ones - just a precaution since we are storing heavy canned goods on the shelves. Very pleased with the product and the results we achieved. Recommended for all your storage needs.
+191points
199out of 207found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Central Alabama
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for hiding multiple small appliances

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We are still in the finishing touches of our recent kitchen remodel. I needed a place to store my electric appliances such as my mixer, electric grill, etc. The pantry is perfect for my use. Hard to believe that it has replaced a 3'x5' built in pantry, but it has. It's easy to find things in, and as we buy our paper goods in bulk, the bottom cabinet is perfect for storage of my paper towels and toilet paper. The two larger drawers have taken the place of 4 junk drawers. This purchase has made finding things in the kitchen much easier and more convenient. My only down side, is that the description said that it was paint and stain ready, and it actually took quite a bit of sanding to get it smoothed out enough for paint. If I had been staining it, it would have required even more than the 2 hours I spent with an electric sander and sanding sponges. I would definitely recommend this pantry to anyone looking for one. Just remember that you have to finish the sides with something other than paint or stain, as they are heavy duty particle board. I used bead board to finish mine, and it looks great.
Pros: Functional, Looks Great, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak

We took it back

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When we got it home we noticed that door was hung incorrectly so that it scraped that cabinet when it opened. The hinges cannot be moved because of the way it is constructed. Because of this and the overall shoddy construction we returned the product.
Cons: shoddy construction
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Pasadena, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

perfect enclosed storage

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We recently removed a built-in desk and book shelf unit that was originally built in our fifty plus year old house, and installed three of these cabinets side by side. We added the trim panel on one end, and installed the toe kick, and then stained and sealed the entire unit. It turned out very nice, and gave us a lot of storage space in our kitchen/dining area. We will be adding pull-out shelves on the bottom section of each cabinet for easier access. The drawer glides will probably need to be upgraded soon, which will be fairly easy to do. Overall, an easy project to install, and they look great.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Allentown, pa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good product for price

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought 2 of these pantries and placed them side by side, reversed the way the door opens on one of them so it appears they both open from middle. Works nicely with existing cabinets. Very sturdy and roomy. I still have to stain.
The one negative feature is there could be more shelves. (comes with 2 adjustible shelves on tops, no adjustible shelf for bottom). I added shelves on my own to top and bottom.
I love the drawers. I needed more drawers in my kitchen.
Very happy with this product.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, Looks Great, Nice Design
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from brentwood
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

will be buying another!!

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
we are updating on kitchen and need to stay on low end tried this and will be buying other pieces.. very impressed!!
Pros: Functional, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Tennessee, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lots of room for storage.

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was desperate for some storage space in my kitchen, but could not find anything to fit in a 24 inch space. Was so happy to find this, every other cabinet was to wide or not deep enough. I stained this pretty close to my current cabinet color and I love it. FYI, the sides are not stainable though. BTW, you do get 2 generous drawers too.
Pros: Functional, looks good
Cons: unfinished sides
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Parma Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best for the buck

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
They are very nice and we bought them on sale for kitchen remodel and they worked out very nice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Fitchburg, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product was as described.

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product installed easily. Side panels and toe plate were a great match. Took stain easily.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great features

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I debated about these and ones from another store for a month before I actually bought them. These were the perfect width to go between my wall and fridge. I got 2 and they are amazing. Easy to install and big enough for what I needed them for.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Lots of Features, Looks Great, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect For My Sewing Room!

PostedJune 3, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have boughten 5 of these cabinets and put them on one whole wall in my craft room. (Of course my hard working husband did most of the work!) He made sure they were level and screwed them to the wall. They are great! They are roomy and hold much fabric, machines, pictures and all kinds of neat stuff! I have painted them white with a "cool jazz" paint by Behr (light aqua) on the walls. FINALLY have my room functional! SO HAPPY!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Colorado
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A great addition to my kitchen!

PostedJune 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My kitchen is lacking in storage space and I needed something that would look good and hold a lot. After looking around, this cabinet was by far the best buy so I purchased 2 of them. They were really easy to stain but I did find several areas on them that looked like they had been hastily put together and the drawer slides were not installed very straight (the reason for only 4 stars instead of 5). Overall, though, I am incredibly happy with them and they have made my kitchen much more liveable.
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Illinois, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great for storage

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I picked up in store and had to look hard to find 2 that weren't scratched up. I got them home and one of the doors were broke so I returned that with no problem. The two cabinets were made differently which made one deeper than the other so I had to add to the back of one so they would be the same depth because they were going on the same wall. One of the drawer brackets was loose so I had to fix that. I finally have them finished and they look great.
Pros: Functional
Cons: not put together well
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
Age Range:65 or over

Wood was hard to stain - cabinet had some really good features

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Happy we purchased it - holds everything I wanted it too. It is in my office so it really was no big deal that the wood did not stain evenly. It looks okay ( wouldn't want it in my kitchen)
Pros: Well Made, Nice Design
Cons: wood did not stain evenly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Great product and easy install

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought three of these to replace the "dressing area desk" in my 1960's house. They were easy to install and took stain well. They provide a lot of flexible storage. I am now buying another one to replace a linen cabinet in the master bath.
Pros: Functional, Looks Great
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Pasadena, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Marked down cabinets pretty banged up but workable for my project.

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good design for extra storage with shelving, drawers and larger undivided space. Not too well put together in the particle board areas.
Pros: Functional, Nice Design
Cons: not put together securely.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>