728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak

24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak

The 24 in. Utility Cabinet is a practical, stylish storage solution for your kitchen, laundry, office or other home area. Featuring a sturdy composite box and a solid wood door frame, this utility cabinet has 2 storage drawers that help you store lots of household items. Ready for a coat of paint or stain, the cabinet's natural oak doors have a recessed-panel design that offers a classic appearance.
Overall rating:
3.692 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product30 of 38reviews
Rating Breakdown 39 reviews
3.7 out of 5
5
(15)
4
(10)
3
(6)
2
(3)
1
(5)
Quality 
3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product30 of 38reviews
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 34 Answers
Customer reviews for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
Review 1 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Ranger, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor quality control and construction

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought several different types of these, all from the same manufacturer. Many of them had dings hidden by the cardboard retaining straps. But what bothered me most was the sloppy construction work. The nylon corner braces were sometimes only half attached, and I had to reattach some of them. WORST, though, was the messy glue work. There were some thick gobs of hardened glue on one or two of the door interiors, and on some there were spots where the assemblers had gotten glue on the front of the door or carcase and had attempted to wipe it off, unsuccessfully... I could tell it was there because even with prep sanding, the stain did not take in spots!
I am NOT happy with these cabinets, and I would not recommend them to anyone unless you intend to paint them vice staining them. Even then, you need to be happy with occasional dinged-up fronts, from the factory. Home Depot, these were a major disappointment.
(By the way, I haven't finished staining them yet, so I have no idea how many more problems I will find. GRRRRRR!!!)
Pros: Functional
Cons: Appearance, poor quality control, lack of skill with assemblers, sloppy gluing and construction
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak

Great value allowing creativity and customization

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My rather large kitchen had a lot of wasted space and no pantry. So, I purchased several of these unfinished cabinets from this line to add a pantry and create a more appealing and efficient office space. Word of caution: use a base primer if you will be painting the cabinets in a light color. Mine are starting to "yellow" through the white paint. I modified the lower cabinet space of the pantry for pull-out shelves for a printer and turn table converter. The upper portion of the pantry is customized; added a stained glass cabinet door. Molding was added to the tops of the cabinets to give them a more finished look. Base cabinets from this line were also used for the lower units of custom designed book shelves in the family room. I couldn't be happier with my kitchen, new office and upgraded the family room - the center of this older home. I will also be purchasing items in this line to remodel my bathrooms with new vanities and linen closets (pantry cabinet) in the near future. Remember: be creative! You can - with this very economical line!
Pros: Functional, Well Made, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+26points
27out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Panama City beach
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent cabinet

PostedJanuary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I needed storage for the guest room. My husband and I installed 3 of these cabinets side by side then secured them to each other and to the wall. They are very study. I've attached a kick plate across the bottom. A light sanding and applied two coats of Benjamin Moore White Cloud paint and attached dusted nickel hardware. Absolutely beautiful. My drawer glides are smooth and sturdy. These cabinets receive daily use and look as good now as they did 3 years ago. I love them so much that I came back to look for this same product to make a 3 cabinet pantry for my kitchen...I couldn't be happier that they still carry them!
Pros: Functional, Looks Great, Stylish
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Just what I wanted it to do...give a built -into the wall look

PostedMay 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quailty was just as I expected.. needed to match the stain with stock cabinets and they worked out well.
Pros: Functional, Lots of Features, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+48points
49out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak

Does what it needs to do!

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We purchased this cabinet to match our existing 80's cabinets we revamped. We painted this white to match. I did a fine sand behr paint/primer about 3 total coats and another find sanding between the 2nd and 3rd coat. came out great. The sides are not finished, BUT they are not ' rough' where the texture is different form the front. I do advise you to check out all the cabinets for any damages. We had about 4 options and my husband inspected all 4 for the best option. There were two manufacturing issues one including excess glue, and a dent in the door inside the cabinet door. We aren't perfect, neither is my house... so wasn't a big deal. For the price we were good.. if you are real picky... go custom.
Pros: Functional, Looks Like Wood, Lots of Features, Looks Great, Nice Design, Light Weight
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Eden, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Kitchen Pantry Cabinet

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My son-in-law installed the cabinet with no problems. The direction the door opened was changed. I then sanded, primed and painted the cabinet to match the existing cabinets in my 1954 ranch house. I am going to purchase the 18" wide cabinet and the over the refrigerator cabinet to give the refrigerator a built in look. I put beadboard on the side since that is the product that was on the walls. It looks like it has always been there. I have had my cabinet over a year and it is very sturdy. No problems with the plastic shelf supports and it has canned goods on the shelves. I purchased a rack for the bottom and it stores my baking pans.
Pros: Functional, Looks Great
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak

unpainted pantry cabinet

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
The box of these cabinets are not made of wood and the wood on the face frame, doors and drawer fronts is not the highest quality with knots and other digs in the wood. If you are painting them it doesn't matter; if you want a clear finish as I did, all of these defects show. I should have paid more attention to the surface condition. I am using the cabinet indoors and would be skeptical about using them in damp unheated spaces such as garages. I am also concerned about the weight of things I store in this cabinet without adding some support to the structure. You get what you pay for. I wouldn't use these for the main kitchen, but they are alright for other areas.
Pros: Functional
Cons: Appearance, low construction and material quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Suffolk, VA

Easy Pantry Solution

PostedMay 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We purchased two of these cabinets to use as pantries in our 1940's remodeled 900 sq. ft. home. With space at a premium and no storage to speak of we wanted something stylish, roomy and durable. These cabinets met all our requirements. The wood finish is lovely and took stain extremely well - only a light sanding was needed. Installation was fast and easy. The cabinets are well made and very sturdy. We added an additional shelf to each upper half and changed out the plastic clips for metal ones - just a precaution since we are storing heavy canned goods on the shelves. Very pleased with the product and the results we achieved. Recommended for all your storage needs.
+198points
206out of 214found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from jacksonville, florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

unique

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is a unique cabinet by virtue of its dimensions and features. At only 18": deep and with the two drawers, to my knowledge there is nothing else like it, unfinished or otherwise.
I bought two for different purposes. I painted both and can report that the recessed door faces should be primed if light colored paint is being applied, otherwise there will be a constant bleed through.
I picked mine from store inventory and chose undamaged units, but I can see how they would not fare well if shipped. The particle board base and backs are subject to chipping when moved.
Pros: Functional, Looks Great, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Orlando, fl
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great buy!

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased 3 of these pantry cabinets. One had minor damage at the bottom but I was credited $25.00 for it. The cabinets were easy to sand and paint. All 3 put together with crown moulding on the top makes it look like a single piece. Very spacious and roomy. Looks great in my bedroom.
Pros: Functional, Looks Like Wood, Looks Great, Stylish
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Pasadena, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

perfect enclosed storage

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We recently removed a built-in desk and book shelf unit that was originally built in our fifty plus year old house, and installed three of these cabinets side by side. We added the trim panel on one end, and installed the toe kick, and then stained and sealed the entire unit. It turned out very nice, and gave us a lot of storage space in our kitchen/dining area. We will be adding pull-out shelves on the bottom section of each cabinet for easier access. The drawer glides will probably need to be upgraded soon, which will be fairly easy to do. Overall, an easy project to install, and they look great.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love the design...However, you get what you pay for

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I couldn't find this size at any other place. I loved the 24" width and most other pantries were 18" wide and 24" deep...which means losing stuff way in the back :) When they say these are unfinished, they mean it! They need to be sanded with fine grit sandpaper, and the sides are only particle board, so you have to buy the $21/each veneers if the sides will be showing. After sanding, we primed 2 coats and painted 2 coats of kitchen-quality paint. It took 15+ hours from applying veneer, sanding, priming, painting, mounting, etc to get them done. If you don't want much work and can afford more, pick cabinets that are already finished and you'll only have to mount them :)
I bought 2 of these and placed them next to each other.....and I took the advice of someone else and switched the hinges on one pantry so that both cabinets open from the middle and give it more of a custom (and usable) feel. There are 3 adjustable shelves on top, 2 draws that are about 3" deep (about 1" more shallow than my current kitchen drawers), and there are no shelves on the bottom. I went out and bought more pegs to add more shelving to the top part, and we're going to put some shelving down below too. All in all, I love the storage! These are so much cheaper than other places, but you also have to realize that it's not high grade anything...it's cheap oak and thin panel doors. Each cabinet in the store has some kind of ding or defect, so don't expect to walk in to do a store that only has 1 or 2 in stock and find a perfect condition cabinet. The pantry cabinet on the floor had so many defects that I wasn't even going to ask for a discount to buy it b/c it would take too much work to fix it up. I would recommend these cabinets but only for those that want to do lots of work.
Pros: Functional
Cons: not high quality
+34points
34out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Colorado
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Price

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This Pantry Cabinet has excellent storage and is of good quality for the price. The concern is there are no side panels that fit this cabinet. You are expected to use the panels from the other pantry which requires custom cutting of this product. The other concern is that the stores do not keep a good supply of the side panels and the few they have gotten in are marked up. Finally, Home Depot will not deliver their "unfinished" cabinets, not good customer service.
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Looks Great
Cons: side panels
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Springfield, MO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ideal item for the application intended.

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The cabinet is absolutely perfect for my kitchen. It is everything I wanted and needed for the space. It painted nicely. and trimming it out was a breeze.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Lots of Features, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Central Alabama
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for hiding multiple small appliances

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We are still in the finishing touches of our recent kitchen remodel. I needed a place to store my electric appliances such as my mixer, electric grill, etc. The pantry is perfect for my use. Hard to believe that it has replaced a 3'x5' built in pantry, but it has. It's easy to find things in, and as we buy our paper goods in bulk, the bottom cabinet is perfect for storage of my paper towels and toilet paper. The two larger drawers have taken the place of 4 junk drawers. This purchase has made finding things in the kitchen much easier and more convenient. My only down side, is that the description said that it was paint and stain ready, and it actually took quite a bit of sanding to get it smoothed out enough for paint. If I had been staining it, it would have required even more than the 2 hours I spent with an electric sander and sanding sponges. I would definitely recommend this pantry to anyone looking for one. Just remember that you have to finish the sides with something other than paint or stain, as they are heavy duty particle board. I used bead board to finish mine, and it looks great.
Pros: Functional, Looks Great, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Allentown, pa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good product for price

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought 2 of these pantries and placed them side by side, reversed the way the door opens on one of them so it appears they both open from middle. Works nicely with existing cabinets. Very sturdy and roomy. I still have to stain.
The one negative feature is there could be more shelves. (comes with 2 adjustible shelves on tops, no adjustible shelf for bottom). I added shelves on my own to top and bottom.
I love the drawers. I needed more drawers in my kitchen.
Very happy with this product.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, Looks Great, Nice Design
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Louisiana
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not just a pantry

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great use in my utility room for additional storage.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Stylish
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from New Braunfels, TX

Nice light weight cabinet for the price but cheaply built.

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cheaply built~not the best quality. Home Depot could do a lot better then this. Functional but not for asthetic beauty.
Pros: Functional, Light Weight
Cons: Appearance
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak

We took it back

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When we got it home we noticed that door was hung incorrectly so that it scraped that cabinet when it opened. The hinges cannot be moved because of the way it is constructed. Because of this and the overall shoddy construction we returned the product.
Cons: shoddy construction
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 24x84x18 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak

nice pantry

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It is a very nice cabinet for the price,I use one for food and one for kitchen items.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>