728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 18x84x24 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak

18x84x24 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak

The 18 in. Composite Unfinished Oak Utility Cabinet is a versatile freestanding cabinet that is ideal for use in the kitchen, laundry, garage, office, bathroom or wherever it is needed. The unfinished cabinet is ready to be painted or stained to match your home decor and features 2 large areas behind solid oak doors to provide plenty of storage space. Adjustable shelves help accommodate items of various shapes and sizes, and the cabinet interior features maple natural laminate for easy cleaning.
Overall rating:
3.133 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
53%of customersrecommend this product8 of 15reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
3.1 out of 5
5
(3)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(6)
1
(1)
Quality 
3.1 out of 5
3.1 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
53%of customersrecommend this product8 of 15reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for 18x84x24 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
Review 1 for 18x84x24 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Georgia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Built in for a fraction of the cost!

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
When we bought our mobile home, we knew we were going to gut the entire place and start over. The kitchen was first. We completely remodeled our kitchen 100% from Home Depot. We used two of these cabinets to create a built in feature for our refrigerator. My husband then custom built an open book shelf and finished it with crown molding. We stained it and voila`! People are amazed at our kitchen transformation as every single cabinet, piece of hardware, back splash, counter top, stain, finish, flooring, and baseboard was bought at Home Depot. installed, stained and finished by us. We are so happy with the outcome! Take a look... this is the after.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, Looks Great, Stylish
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18x84x24 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from East Brunswick, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great for the price

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This 18" cabinet is great for the money if you want to save some money. I didn't want to spend a lot of money and stained it to match the vanity. I only wish it came with sides I could stain. It has particle board on both sides. I had to buy a veneer to glue onto the sides.
Pros: Functional
Cons: sides are particle board
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18x84x24 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Texas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product which provides storage well.

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this unfinished cabinet for a house we are remodeling. Goes perfect next to the refrigerator. Will be painting ours white. One thing I did not know is that the sides have to be treated with paneling or something ie not just painted. I had some appropriate paneling as one side of the cabinet will be very visible Future buyers should know this. (I had ordered online to insure the store would have it.)
Pros: Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, High Quality, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: sides need paneling/treatment of some kind
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18x84x24 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Murrells Inlet, SC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

You get what you pay for

PostedJuly 1, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had a contractor install all of these cabinets to the walls and floor which included 13 of them to do a very much needed kitchen remodel. Unfortunately the job went bad and I stained them and put on nice hardware. I used a dark cherry stain. The natural wood shows through which looks nice but they didn't come out true to the stain color. If you need to save money and are willing to do a lot of work on them they are worth it.
I would not recommend as quality cabinets. I didn't know they would be this much work. Needless to say I trusted the contractor and he walked off the job so I had to do them myself.
They look nice after all of my work on them which also cost additional money using the best stain I could get and expensive pulls and handles..
There were NO shelves in the lower cabinets for storage, and only two shelves in a tall two door pantry cabinet pictured above which are not available from the store. To much wasted space. They are not finished on the sides of some of the other cabinets so a piece of finishing wood must be installed and stained.
Also found that if you have problems with drawers and cabinet drawers slamming shut you can purchase felt pads and press them on the inside of the drawers and cabinets which should make them last longer.
Just check these out for yourself if you are thinking of having them put in your home. I was not planning on being a DIY er. But it all worked out.
I like them now that all the work I did on them. They seems sturdy to me but it's only been less than a year since installation.
Pros: Functional, Looks Like Wood
Cons: not good quality, need a lot of work, no shelves or not enough shelves in the cabinets, hindges not good quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18x84x24 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good quality for the price.

PostedFebruary 26, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Purchased two cabinets for my wife for Xmas to install as a pantry. Not a high end cabinet but very good for the person on a budget. Very pleased with outcome and wife is very happy.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18x84x24 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from veneta, oregon

cabinet review

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
inexpensive and very light, will work for our purpose.
top and bottom of cabinet had flaws, laminate was buckled on back
Pros: Functional, Light Weight
Cons: Appearance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18x84x24 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Mid-Michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Try some metal shelf tabs next time

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
For almost two hundred dollars, you'd think that this cabinet would come with some sturdy metal shelf tabs. Instead, it comes with the cheapo plastic tabs that are apparently to designed to hold up the shelf itself, but bear no further weight than that. I have attempted to use this as pantry storage in our kitchen, holding things like boxes of crackers, cereal, jars of pasta sauce, cans of vegetables, but the plastic tabs are not capable of bearing those loads. I am currently dealing with two broken tabs and a collapsed shelf (and the broken glass to make things especially delightful to clean up). The load was borne evenly over the shelf and it was NOT overloaded. Home Depot should inform customers that if we actually want to USE these shelves in any capacity beyond storing cotton balls that we will need to spend the extra money to get metal tabs. There should be neon warning signs on these shelves with that notice.
Or, oh, hey, instead of spending the money on those signs, INCLUDE METAL TABS. NOVEL THOUGHT.
Pros: Looks Like Wood
Cons: cheap plastic tabs
+10points
14out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18x84x24 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Crescent City, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Served The Purpose

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Needed more storage for pots and pans.
This was right size. But only came with 2 shelves. At more expense we got hardware and lumber for 5 more shelves. Had to drill holes for pins for more shelves. The door rubbed against the cabinet making an annoying noise so after filing and sanding I finally altered the hinges by breaking off the tabs so I could move it farther out. We painted the sides (which chip easily) white and stained the front. It looks okay and works. For the price I didn't expect to have to do so much.
Pros: Functional
Cons: poor quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18x84x24 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not to impressed

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product claims its ready for stain. Its not. I brought it home and found all kinds of spots I have to sand. I have to sand off some blue tinted areas that I have no idea how it got onto the wood. Some of the parts are beat up (corners of the doors/ Inside of the doors). If I wasn't in a crunch to keep my basement bathroom moving along I would take it back and have one custom built. I just don't have the time to do that.. Glue dripped all over the inside of the cabinet.
Pros: cannot think of one
Cons: knotty wood, poorly built
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18x84x24 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Nevada
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Low quality contractor cabinets.

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had to visit 2 different Home Depots and rumage thru 5 untis to fnd one good one that was cosmetically acceptable. Even so the one I selected had a door whose hinges that would not allow the door to open and close propersly.
+17points
30out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18x84x24 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Altoona, pa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I feel the quality is really low.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The workmanship is really poor. I know the cabinets are not high priced but the quality is horrible. The center panels of the doors are falling out, we have to reglue them. We had to use 3 cabinets to make one usable one. It was really bad. I do not think I would bother with these cabinets again
Cons: Appearance, poor workmanship
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18x84x24 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
Age Range:65 or over

Check for shelves

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Before buying please check for shelves because the utility cabinets did not have any so I had to return it.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18x84x24 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Harrisburg, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cheaply Constructed

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I don't know why one review I wrote is not here. I chose this cabinet thinking it will be oak cabinet construction. Nothing is oak but maybe the front and doors, which are flimsy. I ordered the side panels too because the sides are particle board stuff. There are two shelves for the whole cabinet. If I order this tall thing, I did because I need storage space, so having 2 shelves was a little funny. I used my old cabinet doors for shelves :) Anyway, buy the time you add shelves, shelf support, varnish, side panels, this cheap cabinet will cost a lot more than what you first think is a good deal. I will post pictures of the finished product. I am doing my best to match my cabinets. I also bought two pull out shelves from Costco.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Cons: Appearance
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18x84x24 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Mi
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Question for EBcontractor

PostedSeptember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Your vanity looks just like my vanity and I have been trying to match the stain because mine came prefinished and you did such a good job matching colors on the cabinet I was wondering what color stained you used? Thank you, Grateful in MI.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18x84x24 in. Pantry Cabinet in Unfinished Oak

Exaclty What We were Looking for as Linen Cabinet

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Needed an 18" unfinished cabinet to fit between vanity and tub wall, this fits perfectly. Need to glue plywood to 1 unfinished side, then prime, paint and add hardware.
Pros: Well Made, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.