728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Residential Gas or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 29 gal. Tall 6 Year 32,000 BTU Natural/Liquid Propane Gas Mobile Home Atmospheric Water Heater-DISCONTINUED

29 gal. Tall 6 Year 32,000 BTU Natural/Liquid Propane Gas Mobile Home Atmospheric Water Heater-DISCONTINUED

29 gal. mobile home atmospheric water heater features a convertible gas control valve for use with either natural or LP gas. This model is for use only in mobile homes with outside access to the water heater closet. 6 year tank and parts limited warranty. 32,000 BTU input with low NOx burner design. Factory installed temperature and pressure relief valve. Piezo ignition system for no match lighting.
Overall rating:
4.143 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(7 reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product5 of 6reviews
Rating Breakdown 7 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(4)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Ease of installation 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product5 of 6reviews
Customer reviews for 29 gal. Tall 6 Year 32,000 BTU Natural/Liquid Propane Gas Mobile Home Atmospheric Water Heater-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 29 gal. Tall 6 Year 32,000 BTU Natural/Liquid Propane Gas Mobile Home Atmospheric Water Heater-DISCONTINUED
from Santa Barbara, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Install went smooth....

PostedDecember 15, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought this water heater on 12/14/2012 to replace a blown out unit in a fairly new mobile home (just 4 years old). I was initially leery about this water heater due to marginal review, after purchase, inspection of the unit and installation....I couldn't be MORE pleased! The fittings attached to this new water heater seamlessly.....install was very easy, the only qualm was the lighting of the pilot light...I had to attempt to light it twice, was no big deal, just follow the directions to the letter and you should have no issues! At this point in time I would recommend a "buy" for this water heater!
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: none as of now 12/14/2012
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 29 gal. Tall 6 Year 32,000 BTU Natural/Liquid Propane Gas Mobile Home Atmospheric Water Heater-DISCONTINUED
from Ridgecrest, CA

Richmond Mobile Home Water Heater

PostedOctober 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a very nice water heater. Just had it installed less than a week ago. Easy installation too! I like the fact the water heater is so quiet and hot water is there at your fingertips in a heart beat. It's energy efficient also. It only heats what you use, so it keeps the gas bill down. I haven't had it that long, but, I'm very impressed so far. Great that Home Depot didn't forget us Mobile Home folks, and had it in stock at my local store! Thanks !
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 29 gal. Tall 6 Year 32,000 BTU Natural/Liquid Propane Gas Mobile Home Atmospheric Water Heater-DISCONTINUED
from So Cal
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A hassle to convert to propane!

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Why they ship this product set up for natural gas is beyond me. The only reason to buy this model is because it will convert to propane. In the past, all models that were designed for mobile homes came already set up for propane. Converting this thing is way more complicated than most home owners are going to want to deal with. Plus, if you don't get it right, you could cause serious injury/death/damage!! Fortunately, I am a retired appliance service technician and was able to convert this thing by myself. For most people, I would seriously recommend having a dealer/appliance tech perform the conversion. (Or better yet, see if you can order one that is already set up for propane)
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 29 gal. Tall 6 Year 32,000 BTU Natural/Liquid Propane Gas Mobile Home Atmospheric Water Heater-DISCONTINUED
from lahabra ca
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

bought on line,picked up at store installed it my self. all done 4 hrs,store people were great

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
all good, real good, realy good, really,realy good. just plain old good
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 29 gal. Tall 6 Year 32,000 BTU Natural/Liquid Propane Gas Mobile Home Atmospheric Water Heater-DISCONTINUED
from Az

PostedNovember 10, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this is a great water heater it fit exactly were the old water heater was no modifications were necessary
-1point
7out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 29 gal. Tall 6 Year 32,000 BTU Natural/Liquid Propane Gas Mobile Home Atmospheric Water Heater-DISCONTINUED
from Hemet, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Frustrating Path To Hot Water.

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When I decided to do it myself, I had never replaced a water heater. The Home Depot guide for choosing a water heater only mentioned two categories - residential and commercial. I live in a mobile home, so I figured 'residential'. I selected a model that would fit, and got the old one out and the new one in. It wouldn't light. Rheem told me they couldn't honor the warranty because I live in a mobile home and I should have gotten their one mobile home water heater. I had to pull out the defective new one and trade it for the right model. I got the mobile home version put in, and it wouldn't light either. At least I was covered under warranty on this model. I called Rheem and they shipped a new Piezo igniter to replace the one that didn't work. It didn't work. Rather than ask them to send me another igniter which might not work, I bought a piezo barbecue igniter and connected it up and the water heater fired right up. Rheem obviously has a quality control issue with their supplier on the igniters, if I ran into three in a row that didn't work. I took my first hot shower this morning after three weeks of cold sponge baths.
Home Depot sympathized with my situation, and sold me the mobile home version for the price I paid for the original residential water heater, and picked up the defective water heater and delivered the new Mobile Home version free of charge.
I have to say it's been an education. At 58 years of age, with diabetes, with no help available to me, I'd seriously think about waiting until I saved enough money to pay someone to do the install next time, if I live that long.
Pros: No Leaks
Cons: need to designate separate categories for res & mh, need to have a forty gallon model for mobile homes
-2points
5out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 29 gal. Tall 6 Year 32,000 BTU Natural/Liquid Propane Gas Mobile Home Atmospheric Water Heater-DISCONTINUED
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Just what I needed

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was time to replace. This water heater was easy to install and works wonderfully. Plenty of hot water.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.