728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Fire Glo Gel Fuel (16-Pack)

Fire Glo Gel Fuel (16-Pack)

The Southern Enterprises Fire Glo Gel Fuel (16-Pack) is alcohol based and produces no soot or odorous fumes. It is for use with gel fireplaces and burners. Each can burns for 2 - 3 hours and can be reused until empty.
Overall rating:
3.333 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
64%of customersrecommend this product9 of 14reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
3.3 out of 5.0
5
(4)
4
(4)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(2)
Quality 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Value 
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6 out of 5
64%of customersrecommend this product9 of 14reviews
Customer reviews for Fire Glo Gel Fuel (16-Pack)
Review 1 for Fire Glo Gel Fuel (16-Pack)
from Indiana

Good stuff!

PostedFebruary 22, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've bought several cases of these over the past couple of years. compared to other brands, this is my favorite. First of all, they (the other brands/selections) all tell you that you have to unwrap each can before igniting....these aren't wrapped and all you have to do is take the lid off and light it...that's all, yes, it's that easy. It states that each can will stay lit for 2 to 3 hours...they actually stay lit closer to 4 hours, which is even better. The only reason I wouldn't rate this product with the full 5 stars is that it is a bit expensive...but other than that....really, really like them :)
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Fire Glo Gel Fuel (16-Pack)
from 06460
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Does not function as advertised

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
This is not the same product I purchased last year. This product does not perform as advertised. The flame can hardly be seen, only burns 3/4 of the way and there is an odor while it is burning. I will not purchase this product again and I will search for the product that was sold by The Home Depot last year. Extremly disappointed in the product and its advertising is misleading.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Fire Glo Gel Fuel (16-Pack)
from Connecticut

Costly "atmosphere" or heat.....

PostedMarch 1, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you buy these for OCCASIONAL use, they're great for ambiance and warmth. They really do give off heat! BUT, they are very expensive and burn out quickly. Good for maybe 2-3 hours. Use sparingly. Be VERY CAREFUL opening and transporting from room to room. Also, keep far away from kids and pets!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Fire Glo Gel Fuel (16-Pack)

Short burn times, Product left in can

PostedOctober 23, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought Real Flame logs (love 'em!) as an alternative to gas logs for a fireplace we use casually. I also ordered a case of gel fuel, assuming it was Real Flame as well, but got this Fire Glo product. I should have read more carefully, rather than assuming Home Depot would sell all Real Flame products and accessories. My bad. The Fire Glo product lasts for less than 2 hours and a third of the product remains unburnt in the can, even with multiple relights. At $4.00 a can, that's pretty expensive for a sub-par product.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Fire Glo Gel Fuel (16-Pack)
from Yorktown, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Gives off an Unpleasant odor

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used a different brand last year and really enjoyed the flame and the crackling effect. Dedided to try Fire Glow because I could use my Home Depot Card to order. Product arrived as promised. I shook up the cans before I used each. The flame was very low and of a bluish color. There was a distinct odor in the room and I coughed all night long after inhaling the fumes. I will only use the rest outdoors and will return to using my former brand. The product is very expensive to be made from alcohol. I will not purchase again.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Fire Glo Gel Fuel (16-Pack)
from Winston Salem, NC

Easy and warming

PostedJanuary 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Each can burns for about 3 hours. Easy to use. Pretty flame and crackle. Really looks nice in the fireplace. They give off a some heat. They are not meant to be a heat source but will take the chill off a cold room.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Fire Glo Gel Fuel (16-Pack)
from hamilton ohio

gel for fire

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
it is ok .but dont buy it if you buying it to keep warm ,,
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Fire Glo Gel Fuel (16-Pack)
from Stamford
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Does not last as it says

PostedJanuary 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Fire Glo is not worth the money... I thought it was this brand that I ordered last year, but I guess not....
It leaves a 1/4 can of unused gel at the bottom that will not re-light. I'm hoping the other brand on this site is the one I ordered last year.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Fire Glo Gel Fuel (16-Pack)
from St Augustine, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Can only burn for 1 to 1 1/2 hours

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The gel fuel is fine as far as lighting and burning but the one draw back is the gel canisters do not burn for 2-3 hours as the ads say, but more like 1 to 1 2/ hours. I would like to find long lasting gel fuel in case anyone knows of it. The cracking, like a wood fire, is a riot!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Fire Glo Gel Fuel (16-Pack)
from Lincoln, IL 62656, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Like the crackling sound

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We were surprised that the first time we used one of them that it lasted nearly 4 hours! Love them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Fire Glo Gel Fuel (16-Pack)
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Love the crackle

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Provides warmth, with the flames. And the crackle makes it cozy. Does give off a slight odor, nothing bad. No headaches after 4 night use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Fire Glo Gel Fuel (16-Pack)
from Columbus, GA

As promised!

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Gel works great! Burns for 2-3 hours just as they say it will. 3 cans in the converter, looks like the real thing, without the mess. Love it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Fire Glo Gel Fuel (16-Pack)
from Laguna Woods, CA, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not up to expectations.

PostedNovember 30, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The advertising pictures made the flame appear much larger than it actually was.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Fire Glo Gel Fuel (16-Pack)

Serves the purpose

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The cans are a little tall for the ceramic logs - but work great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Fire Glo Gel Fuel (16-Pack)
from Euclid, Ohio

Liquid Fuel

PostedJanuary 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great, looks natural and gives out heat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.