728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Insect & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller

Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller

Keep nuisance animals away with the Bird-X Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller. This maintenance-free ultrasonic device is effective against many pest mammals and can be triggered by an energy-saving motion sensor or set to work continuously. Use it to repel dogs, cats, deer, raccoons, skunks, opossums, rodents and bats without snares or toxins. Covers up to 4,000 square feet. AC cord included. May be operated with four "C" batteries (not included).
Overall rating:
3.194 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(108 reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
60%of customersrecommend this product61 of 101reviews
Rating Breakdown 108 reviews
3.2 out of 5
5
(37)
4
(25)
3
(4)
2
(6)
1
(36)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
60%of customersrecommend this product61 of 101reviews
Customer questions and answers:
23 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer reviews for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
Review 1 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from TEMPLE TEXAS
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

#1 customer

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Probably a good omen ,, The day I received my "critter getter" I had set it up next to my desk just to adjust intensity , adjust critter range and check motion sensor , and then unplugged it.
Later I was watching a youtube clip and heard a scratching sound , turned down my volume and determined I had an opportunity to give it a live test. Reached over - plugged it in.
WITHIN 15 SECOND THE WOOD CHIPPER HAD ENOUGH AND HAVENT BEEN BACK FOR DAYS.
INCIDENTLY: I had unplugged my unit that same night!!!!!
I've got it set up in where I had originally needed it for squirrel attack and haven't heard from my (former) quest , its been a week !!
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from Bogota,NJ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this product to keep stray cats from using my outdoor furniture as their bed. Ever since I put the yard guard the cats have not come back.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from New Port Richey, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does what it is supposed to do.

PostedJune 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I use it in a back corner of my yard to keep my dog from peeing on my neighbors screened in patio and yes, it keeps him away. Now I need one of the bark activated models to keep my neighbors little yappy dog from barking all day long!
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Shape
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from thousand oaks ca
Age Range:65 or over

mostly great

PostedJuly 2, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The yard gard definitely worked as far as getting rid of rabbits and birds were not an issue with us. We were hoping it would be more effective in deterring raccoons and it MAY be although we have had difficulties keeping the yard gard up and running so there have been raccoons slurping on our grapes with such bad table manners that they wake us up! I would recommend this product with the caveat that Mother Nature generally finds a way to win some battles :)
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from Long Island, New York, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Better than the Motion Sprinkler!

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have two of these in my front yard, and it is extremely effective in keeping my neighbor's colony of about 13 cats from defecating on my lawn. I know it works because I downloaded an app to detect frequency ranges and the frequency meter is peaking at maximum levels. Frequency can be adjusted so that humans can not hear it. Be sure to use the provided ac cord and keep it set to continuous ac. I've invested close to $200.00 to keep my lawn clean, and I'm determined to have it that way! Thank you for a great product.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller

Martha

PostedJuly 9, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought it a week ago. I feel it's very good. Squirrels and birds don't come anymore. strawberry and tomatoes that I planted are safe.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from Royal Oak, Michigan

It works and works well

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Bird-X Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller.has performed as promised.
We had a dog that thought our backyard was his domain
and bathroom. I didn't want to stay up all night to try to
catch the animal and if I had I am not sure a good tongue
lashing would do much anyway. I certainly didn't want to
hurt the animal so this was a great option. I has worked from day one and continues to work. After a couple of
months I plan to change the setting and go after the squirrels that like to share the bird food.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from Orlando, Fl
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So happy I found the Yard Guard!

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Yard Guard was easy to install....And I like the versatility of AC or DC power....After setting it up in my courtyard, I don't have a problem with nuisance cats or other animals.
Pros: Easy to Install, Durable, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from Indianapolis IN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Working pretty well so far

PostedMay 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A cat kept leaving a digusting mess in my yard. I tried several online recommendations and store-bought products to prevent the cat from defecating in my yard. Nothing worked for very long so I purchased the Yard Gard. I've had it on continuous operation for about a week now with no new deposits from the cat. I'm hoping this has solved my problem.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from beaumont, texas

So far, so good.....

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The item arrived at the store but upon opening at home, it was not in the original yard guard box, it had no paperwork/instructions/directions included.
The 4 C batteries i purchased for it, did not last long, so use with a/c adapter, works fine.
I feel like the item is working though, so far.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from milwaukee, wi
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

works great!

PostedMay 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
very please and happy, don't see any rabbits anyone.
Pros: Easy to Install, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from Matteson, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I needed this asap and you had it available

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have purchased this product before on line to use on racoons in my attic. It got rid of the racoons immediately. Then I used it to get rid of the skunks in my back yard that kept spraying my dog. Then the raccoons were attempting to come back and I needed another one for my attic, but could not wait for it from online. I purchased another one from Home Depot and again it got rid of the raccoons before they could do too much damage and they have not returned. I plan to keep this one permanently in the attic; which is no big deal because it uses very little electricity.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, weather resistant, lives up to its description
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What a Joke

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Snake oil. It probably keeps robins an cardinals at bay. But forget any other animal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from Murrieta CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bugs my teenager but not the Rabbits

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product itself is of good quality but doesn't do a thing to deter rabbits. If anything I have more now than i did before. It bugs the heck out of my teen daughter, My old ears don't hear a thing but all the younger people here it. Well nice try, going back to the store tomorrow
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: doesnt work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller

It Works

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I researched this type of unit before settling on this one. I was looking for a solution to keep the neighbors dog from dropping "land mines" on my lawn. Chemicals are expensive and wash away in the rain. Since I have had this unit on I have not had any more problems!
One day I had it off and noticed the dog wandering stubbornly in my yard. I plugged in the unit and pointed it at the dog (from across the yard). He ran home!
The unit has an adjustment knob on the back that allows you to adjust the frequency. For anyone having mixed results with this unit: you need to tweak the setting to the animal you are trying to repel. It is somewhat audible at the setting I have it on but others have said they do not hear it.
It is durable, it has gotten completely covered in mud in rain storms and keeps working.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from Barrington, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

We think it works!!!!!

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We were having a problem with birds pecking at the glass doors adjacent to our deck as well as raccoons using our deck as their latrine. Nothing has worked to keep both from happening UNTIL we purchased this out of desperation. Since placing it on our deck a month ago, we have not had either problem.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller

Did not do what I wanted.

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought it so my neighbors dog would not mess in my yard. Turned it on set it in dog range and found a pile 10 feet in front of the device later that day.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from Mesa, AZ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Hard to tell!!!

PostedApril 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Its hard to tell if the product works unless you actually see a cat or dog is close to it...but I haven't seen any cat doodoo close to my side door since I placed it there. There are several stray cats in my neighborhood and my allergies have gotten better since I got the Yard Gard!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller

Bird X yard gard

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased two based on reviews. What a waste of money. I am returning one since I do not have the box to return the other.
Who writes these reviews? They are not true. My dog/cat problem still exist. These annoying animals still do their business on my lawn!! They walk by the "repellent" like its not even there.
Do not buy this item; it does not work.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller

Did not work for intended purpose

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this product to deter my neighbor's dogs from the fence line. Prior to setting it up, I aimed the product at my dog. He stopped mid-step and ran away from it, appearing to not like the sound. However, when placed along my fence line, none of my neighbor's 6 dogs were affected and continued to run along my fence, barking.
I was able to repurpose the product and use it successfully, but beware that this does not effectively deter all dogs, alike.
Pros: Durable, Good Shape
Cons: not garaunteed to work
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>