728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Animal & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller

Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller

Keep nuisance animals away with the Bird-X Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller. This maintenance-free ultrasonic device is effective against many pest mammals and can be triggered by an energy-saving motion sensor or set to work continuously. Use it to repel dogs, cats, deer, raccoons, skunks, opossums, rodents and bats without snares or toxins. Covers up to 4,000 square feet. AC cord included. May be operated with four "C" batteries (not included).
Overall rating:
3.188 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(85 reviews) 85
Open Ratings Snapshot
59%of customersrecommend this product46 of 78reviews
Rating Breakdown 85 reviews
3.2 out of 5.0
5
(30)
4
(19)
3
(2)
2
(5)
1
(29)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
59%of customersrecommend this product46 of 78reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
Review 1 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from Bogota,NJ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this product to keep stray cats from using my outdoor furniture as their bed. Ever since I put the yard guard the cats have not come back.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller

Did not work for intended purpose

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this product to deter my neighbor's dogs from the fence line. Prior to setting it up, I aimed the product at my dog. He stopped mid-step and ran away from it, appearing to not like the sound. However, when placed along my fence line, none of my neighbor's 6 dogs were affected and continued to run along my fence, barking.
I was able to repurpose the product and use it successfully, but beware that this does not effectively deter all dogs, alike.
Pros: Durable, Good Shape
Cons: not garaunteed to work
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from Dale, Indiana
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent Product!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I actually bought 2 of these - one for my tenants to keep the birds off their porch and one for me to keep the cats away. It took me a few days to find the "right" setting to keep 13 barn cats off my back porch and away from my doggy door (they kept coming inside!), but I finally hit on it! Cats are real "die hards" and will put up with some really annoying things -- that's why it took a couple of days. Not only the cats, but even the birds have left the trees immediately at my back porch and handicap ramp -- the droppings have stopped! Yaay! I don't have to wash it off every 2 days anymore! Yes, I'm delighted with this product. I have it sitting on the porch so it's right at the cat's level. Thanks!
Tried twice - kept getting an error message when I tried to upload a photo
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from Brentwood, Ca 94513
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works great! Stopped the dogs from pooping in my yard.

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to mount and put into operation. After one month operation no dogs have pooped in my yard.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller

Will buy another one like this

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
First one we borrowed from our friends and it worked perfectly so we decided to purchase one from Home Depot website. We returned the first one to our friends and installed a new one. It was defective. Made horrible high- pitched noise everybody could hear. Returned it. Will buy another one since I know: if it is not defective, it works miracles. 9 dogs of our neighbor stayed away from the property line and barked on another side, probably disappointing the other neighbor. Well, defective product happens, so I am not upset and will buy it again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from Long Island, New York, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Better than the Motion Sprinkler!

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have two of these in my front yard, and it is extremely effective in keeping my neighbor's colony of about 13 cats from defecating on my lawn. I know it works because I downloaded an app to detect frequency ranges and the frequency meter is peaking at maximum levels. Frequency can be adjusted so that humans can not hear it. Be sure to use the provided ac cord and keep it set to continuous ac. I've invested close to $200.00 to keep my lawn clean, and I'm determined to have it that way! Thank you for a great product.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from Matteson, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I needed this asap and you had it available

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have purchased this product before on line to use on racoons in my attic. It got rid of the racoons immediately. Then I used it to get rid of the skunks in my back yard that kept spraying my dog. Then the raccoons were attempting to come back and I needed another one for my attic, but could not wait for it from online. I purchased another one from Home Depot and again it got rid of the raccoons before they could do too much damage and they have not returned. I plan to keep this one permanently in the attic; which is no big deal because it uses very little electricity.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, weather resistant, lives up to its description
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from Alabama
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't work on big dog

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worked on squirrels and other small animals but didn't work on a big bull dog. I stood next to her and tried all the different settings.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality
Cons: didn't deter big dogs
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from Twinsburg Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Four Full Weeks and no Dog on my grass

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
On August 3, 2014 I put up the Bird-XYard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller, it has been up for four full weeks, this is the longest time span my neighbor’s dog has not used my grass for his toilet, I don’t know if the owner is monitoring the dogs activity because he has seen the unit on my grass and thinking it is a camera or the unit is actually doing it’s job whatever reason that is preventing the dog from going on my grass is good enough for me. Recently I noticed a lady walking two dogs a miniature and lap dog as soon as they get to the protected area the dogs start walking faster pulling the owner, another time as the dogs get to the area one dog was running and the other stopped and would not go into the protected area the owner had to pick up the dog. Also, I noticed people with dogs are walking on the other side of the street so it must be working, the other thing is my dog a Lhasa Apso go potty almost up to the pole but not in the protected zone, to me it seems like if the unit is not triggered then there is no signal going out which is good, recently I was in the protected zone I could hear the unit sending out a sound different from the normal chirping so
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller

Bird x

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Since i started using this product , i have noticed improvements in my lawn and never find animals roaming around my area
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller

Useless product

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We had been using this product for a while, and we still seeing raccoons, rats, birds, etc. hanging around in our yard. useless.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: useless
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from Newmarket,Ontario

Waste of money

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Set it on various settings beside a fruit tree.
Racoons came within 5 feet and stayed to
enjoy the fruit. Did not deter them at all.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from Royal Oak, Michigan

It works and works well

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Bird-X Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller.has performed as promised.
We had a dog that thought our backyard was his domain
and bathroom. I didn't want to stay up all night to try to
catch the animal and if I had I am not sure a good tongue
lashing would do much anyway. I certainly didn't want to
hurt the animal so this was a great option. I has worked from day one and continues to work. After a couple of
months I plan to change the setting and go after the squirrels that like to share the bird food.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from Billings Mt.
Age Range:65 or over

Did not keep varments {rabbits} out of yard

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product did not do what it was intended for.Used the settings from high to low and it made no difference. Rabbits and other varments came and went as they did before we installed the product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller

Did the job!

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I LOVE this product! I live in Florida in a 2-story, 100 yr old home with no insulation, a crawl space and an attic. I put one of these in the crawl space and one in the attic. NO MORE squirrels, and no more rats!!!
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from Ottawa, Ontario canada
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have problems with raccoon and skunks digging my back yard and leaving their deposits on a daily basis. I bought this product to keep these pests away. Absolutely no difference whether I use this useless gadget or not. Simply it doesn't work. I had it for over two weeks with no success what soever. Don't understand those who gave it a better review. My advise is to try something else because you will be throwing your money down the drain.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from Cupertino, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Totally useless against raccoons

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 2 of these from HomeDepot.com for deterring raccoons fishing around my Koi pond. I have several video cameras recording the reaction of the raccoons. I had both units set up on motion activation and frequency set at mid range for raccoons and sensitivity at max. From the video footages, I can see clearly the red light on the unit coming on as the raccoon approached. But the raccoon just looked at the unit for a moment as the sound activated and continued his business with no regard at all to the noise. He was operating 3 feet directly in front of the unit and showed no problems with the noise. I tried lowering the frequency to minimum at 15Khz and that did not make any difference. The raccoon continued to come back and spend up to an hour at my pond just like before these units were installed. Only the rats seem less active in front of the it's, but they still come. Same thing for the opossum. This device is a total waste of money and effort for raccoons.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: does not work for raccoons
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller

GREAT PRODUCT!

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a raccoon problem in my attic I plugged this sucker in ran outside and would you look who came out of the attic! The raccoon almost instantly reacted to the high pitched frequency. He stayed hanging around for a little but haven't heard him n my attic since!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller

get those critters

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
it worked the first night it was used. Liked being able to use batteries so you can move it around.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from Elyria, Ohio,United States
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Home Depot Rocks with this product !

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We HAD a Big problem regarding stray cats! Home Depot was the only place I found the item I was looking for, available to men. Although it was online only, they ordered it & I picked it up in 3 or 4 days. The Great fact is = IT ABSOLUTELY WORKS ! I have not found even 1 pile of cat feces in my flowerbeds ! The neighbors have 5 cats they leave outside, & they all USE TO use my flowerbed as their personal litter box ! It was Atrocious ! Since purchasing the electronuc device = all our problems have REALLY been solved!
There's 2 facts I wasn't happy with = 1: there was a warped area on the bottom of the plastic housing lid. 2: If the red light burns out, they state the bulb is Not replaceable. I have to buy a new unit.
As far as the warped part - I know I could have returned it for a replacement to be ordered. However, we were so happy it worked, we kept it. Although, it's a bit harder to close.
All in all = a GREAT product !
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, does what it claims to do regarding cats !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>