728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Animal & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller

Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller

Keep nuisance animals away with the Bird-X Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller. This maintenance-free ultrasonic device is effective against many pest mammals and can be triggered by an energy-saving motion sensor or set to work continuously. Use it to repel dogs, cats, deer, raccoons, skunks, opossums, rodents and bats without snares or toxins. Covers up to 4,000 square feet. AC cord included. May be operated with four "C" batteries (not included).
Overall rating:
3.127 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(63 reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
59%of customersrecommend this product33 of 56reviews
Rating Breakdown 63 reviews
3.1 out of 5.0
5
(21)
4
(15)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(23)
Quality 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
59%of customersrecommend this product33 of 56reviews
Customer reviews for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
Review 1 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
sjt10

Did the job!

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I LOVE this product! I live in Florida in a 2-story, 100 yr old home with no insulation, a crawl space and an attic. I put one of these in the crawl space and one in the attic. NO MORE squirrels, and no more rats!!!
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
Alex122
from Bogota,NJ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this product to keep stray cats from using my outdoor furniture as their bed. Ever since I put the yard guard the cats have not come back.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
usmcmomma
from Matteson, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I needed this asap and you had it available

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have purchased this product before on line to use on racoons in my attic. It got rid of the racoons immediately. Then I used it to get rid of the skunks in my back yard that kept spraying my dog. Then the raccoons were attempting to come back and I needed another one for my attic, but could not wait for it from online. I purchased another one from Home Depot and again it got rid of the raccoons before they could do too much damage and they have not returned. I plan to keep this one permanently in the attic; which is no big deal because it uses very little electricity.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, weather resistant, lives up to its description
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
none
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It was easy to set up, but not clear on how all the settings work.

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I just got it set up, but not sure it is set properly since dogs seem to not be bothered by it.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: not sure how effective it is, questions on how to set it
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
Huach70
from Long Island, New York, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Better than the Motion Sprinkler!

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have two of these in my front yard, and it is extremely effective in keeping my neighbor's colony of about 13 cats from defecating on my lawn. I know it works because I downloaded an app to detect frequency ranges and the frequency meter is peaking at maximum levels. Frequency can be adjusted so that humans can not hear it. Be sure to use the provided ac cord and keep it set to continuous ac. I've invested close to $200.00 to keep my lawn clean, and I'm determined to have it that way! Thank you for a great product.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
goldiea1

Doesn't work

PostedApril 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is a sham.. I bought it to put next to my garbage cans against the squirrels.. and it doesn't work... Also the batteries burned out in 2 days... So this product was not worth buying.. I will be returning one.
Cons: Not Durable, doesn't work, battery drains very fast
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
MikeinRoyalOak
from Royal Oak, Michigan

It works and works well

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Bird-X Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller.has performed as promised.
We had a dog that thought our backyard was his domain
and bathroom. I didn't want to stay up all night to try to
catch the animal and if I had I am not sure a good tongue
lashing would do much anyway. I certainly didn't want to
hurt the animal so this was a great option. I has worked from day one and continues to work. After a couple of
months I plan to change the setting and go after the squirrels that like to share the bird food.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
JPBs

Did not do what I wanted.

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought it so my neighbors dog would not mess in my yard. Turned it on set it in dog range and found a pile 10 feet in front of the device later that day.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
laura
from South Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best Possible Solution

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent value for the money. Everyone I know wants one now. Haven't had any cats in or around my patio, car, or porch since I set this up. Bought two for a relative and have recommended over and over to my neighbors in my townhouse association. Works like a charm!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
jceo

It Works

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I researched this type of unit before settling on this one. I was looking for a solution to keep the neighbors dog from dropping "land mines" on my lawn. Chemicals are expensive and wash away in the rain. Since I have had this unit on I have not had any more problems!
One day I had it off and noticed the dog wandering stubbornly in my yard. I plugged in the unit and pointed it at the dog (from across the yard). He ran home!
The unit has an adjustment knob on the back that allows you to adjust the frequency. For anyone having mixed results with this unit: you need to tweak the setting to the animal you are trying to repel. It is somewhat audible at the setting I have it on but others have said they do not hear it.
It is durable, it has gotten completely covered in mud in rain storms and keeps working.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
tappygap
from San Antonio, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It seems to work on cats, not sure about squirrels yet

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We got this to keep stray cats out of our back yard; and hopefully squirrels from eating our dwarf apples when they are ready to ripen.. So far the yard guard, seems to be working on the cats as we haven't seen one in our back yard since we put it out there. We haven't noticed any noises from it in the house and my husband hasn't said it was noisy out back. Will know more later when our apples are getting close to ripening whether it is really working on the squirrels. I haven't noticed as many squirrels but time will tell. The only reason haven't given 5 stars as not sure about the squirrels yet.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
dogchaser
from Largo, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install, weather resistant

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I installed the Yard Gard in our back yard and the red light is on continuously and I hear the high pitch sound but there is still dog feces in our yard. I'm not going to give up on it yet. I will move it to another location and see if it works any better. At this time I wouldn't recommend this product until it performs a little better.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Strong
Cons: not effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
matt
from Houston
Age Range:25 to 34

Product works very well

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used to have cats digging around in my backyard everyday when getting home from work. I built a raised vegetable garden bed so started trying every product out there. I tried powders, pellets, blocking the pathways. Nothing worked until I bought this product. I haven't seen a cat in my yard since.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Durable, Great Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
phoebe
from TN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Fabulous

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The birdX yard guard ultrasonic animal repeller works perfectly when plugged into electricity. It wasn't harmed by torrential rain. I was plagued with cats using my raised beds as litter boxes and have not had one cat visitor since I connected the yard guard. Plus the birds do not seem disturbed by the sound. So - my garden and the birds are now safe from kitty.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
Shawn

Not working

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have rabbits in my yard. I put two units in the yard to insure I am covering the area. Rabbits still come around right at the center of the yard at nights. I changed frequency and still not working. It also creates an annoying noise. Manufacturer suggested to use a product they have called Nature Defense. I will give that a try now.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Strong
Cons: jut not working
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
MatureGAPeach
from Atlanta, GA 30331, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product works well in my townhouse front yard.

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So far, this product has kept the stray dogs away. It takes a few days for the ultrasonic sounds to establish themselves. It is easy to set up and and the ac cord is long enough to stretch a good distance. I recommend that you move it every few days.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
CatTrouble
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

adjustable frequency, Mounting hardware, Long cord, Battery mode

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I like the ability to fine tune the frequency. I gave this as a gift as the person was being overrun with cats. At this point, I am waiting to see what the results have been with the product.
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
treesrgreen
from oregon
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product does what it says

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This thing really works....just know that you have to get the right adjustment initially when you first set up otherwise you could have some upset neighbors. The price was great and I have no more cats, dogs or any other roaming animals cruising through our yard. I have recommended this product to many friends!
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Durable, Easy to Clean, Great Quality
Cons: change the way cover goes on
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
TechnologyLover
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I love this device!!!

PostedSeptember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product works exactly as it claims! I had the neighborhood dogs and cats using my front yard as their toilet. Every morning I walked out my front door, there was at least one new pile, if not more. The flies, the stench, and having to pick up after them were all incredibly frustrating. I tried pepper powder, with absolutely no benefit. Then I tried this device. Overnight the problem completely stopped!!! I've seen dogs walking along the sidewalk, that cross to the other side of the street when they get to my yard. They don't even want to walk near my yard! The only complaint I've had is by a neighbor who lives across the street, who claims that he can hear the sound when it's set on high. I had to adjust the frequency of the device to the setting for only dogs and cats. It can be used to ward off rodents and insects at the highest setting, but the frequency at this setting is slightly audible to people with very good hearing, who are standing directly in front of the device. On the "Dogs and Cats only" setting, it is very difficult to hear the frequency, even standing directly in front of the device. The directions state that the "constant on" setting is more effective against pests, and I've found this as well. The motion sensor mode doesn't seem to be as effective. The neighbors on either side of me have told me that the neighborhood dogs and cats have now moved onto using their yards. I advised them both to get one of these devices to keep the pests out of their yards, too. In fact, I would recommend this product to any of my friends who have this problem. By the way, Home Depot's price on this product is the best one I've found. Some sites charge as much as double their price.
Pros: 100% effective!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
SatisfiedCustomer
from Beeville, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works great

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this last year and have been extremely pleased with my purchase. Bought this to keep the cats off my patio, porch furniture, and car. Works great. I love this product and have recommended it to all my friends and family.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>