728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Animal & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller

Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller

Keep nuisance animals away with the Bird-X Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller. This maintenance-free ultrasonic device is effective against many pest mammals and can be triggered by an energy-saving motion sensor or set to work continuously. Use it to repel dogs, cats, deer, raccoons, skunks, opossums, rodents and bats without snares or toxins. Covers up to 4,000 square feet. AC cord included. May be operated with four "C" batteries (not included).
Overall rating:
3.28 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(75 reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
62%of customersrecommend this product42 of 68reviews
Rating Breakdown 75 reviews
3.3 out of 5.0
5
(28)
4
(17)
3
(2)
2
(4)
1
(24)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
62%of customersrecommend this product42 of 68reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
Review 1 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller

Did not work for intended purpose

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this product to deter my neighbor's dogs from the fence line. Prior to setting it up, I aimed the product at my dog. He stopped mid-step and ran away from it, appearing to not like the sound. However, when placed along my fence line, none of my neighbor's 6 dogs were affected and continued to run along my fence, barking.
I was able to repurpose the product and use it successfully, but beware that this does not effectively deter all dogs, alike.
Pros: Durable, Good Shape
Cons: not garaunteed to work
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from Bogota,NJ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this product to keep stray cats from using my outdoor furniture as their bed. Ever since I put the yard guard the cats have not come back.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from Brentwood, Ca 94513
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works great! Stopped the dogs from pooping in my yard.

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to mount and put into operation. After one month operation no dogs have pooped in my yard.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from Dale, Indiana
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent Product!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I actually bought 2 of these - one for my tenants to keep the birds off their porch and one for me to keep the cats away. It took me a few days to find the "right" setting to keep 13 barn cats off my back porch and away from my doggy door (they kept coming inside!), but I finally hit on it! Cats are real "die hards" and will put up with some really annoying things -- that's why it took a couple of days. Not only the cats, but even the birds have left the trees immediately at my back porch and handicap ramp -- the droppings have stopped! Yaay! I don't have to wash it off every 2 days anymore! Yes, I'm delighted with this product. I have it sitting on the porch so it's right at the cat's level. Thanks!
Tried twice - kept getting an error message when I tried to upload a photo
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from Matteson, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I needed this asap and you had it available

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have purchased this product before on line to use on racoons in my attic. It got rid of the racoons immediately. Then I used it to get rid of the skunks in my back yard that kept spraying my dog. Then the raccoons were attempting to come back and I needed another one for my attic, but could not wait for it from online. I purchased another one from Home Depot and again it got rid of the raccoons before they could do too much damage and they have not returned. I plan to keep this one permanently in the attic; which is no big deal because it uses very little electricity.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, weather resistant, lives up to its description
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller

Did the job!

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I LOVE this product! I live in Florida in a 2-story, 100 yr old home with no insulation, a crawl space and an attic. I put one of these in the crawl space and one in the attic. NO MORE squirrels, and no more rats!!!
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from Long Island, New York, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Better than the Motion Sprinkler!

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have two of these in my front yard, and it is extremely effective in keeping my neighbor's colony of about 13 cats from defecating on my lawn. I know it works because I downloaded an app to detect frequency ranges and the frequency meter is peaking at maximum levels. Frequency can be adjusted so that humans can not hear it. Be sure to use the provided ac cord and keep it set to continuous ac. I've invested close to $200.00 to keep my lawn clean, and I'm determined to have it that way! Thank you for a great product.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller

get those critters

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
it worked the first night it was used. Liked being able to use batteries so you can move it around.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from Elyria, Ohio,United States
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Home Depot Rocks with this product !

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We HAD a Big problem regarding stray cats! Home Depot was the only place I found the item I was looking for, available to men. Although it was online only, they ordered it & I picked it up in 3 or 4 days. The Great fact is = IT ABSOLUTELY WORKS ! I have not found even 1 pile of cat feces in my flowerbeds ! The neighbors have 5 cats they leave outside, & they all USE TO use my flowerbed as their personal litter box ! It was Atrocious ! Since purchasing the electronuc device = all our problems have REALLY been solved!
There's 2 facts I wasn't happy with = 1: there was a warped area on the bottom of the plastic housing lid. 2: If the red light burns out, they state the bulb is Not replaceable. I have to buy a new unit.
As far as the warped part - I know I could have returned it for a replacement to be ordered. However, we were so happy it worked, we kept it. Although, it's a bit harder to close.
All in all = a GREAT product !
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, does what it claims to do regarding cats !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from Belleville, ON

Harmless to Humans eh?

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My neighbour put this device on their yard to keep our dog away, however he is not effected and the high pitch sound is driving me crazy everyday. Most people who have come over can't hear it, but some can. I have sensitve ears and just going outside gives me an instant migrane from the sound. The plus side we have seen 3x the amount of deer in our backyard.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from Glide, Oregon
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It came I installed I do not know if it works yet????

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Delivery was fast. The product lights up and I haven't seen any animals but it is early to tell. I have some old ones (VERY OLD) and they have worked well!
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from Holly, MI 48442, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great

PostedJune 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I really don't know why all the negative feedback on this item. Perhaps they didn't read the instructions. There is an adjustment knob inside the box for different sized animals. My backyard was cat and squirrel haven until last week when I installed this unit. I haven't seen a cat, squirrel, dog or any other critter in over a week. I went through all the other natural sprays, etc. and they were a complete waste of time and money. I set this unit for cat/dog setting and voila - no more pesty pets !!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, actually works
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from Brooklyn, New York
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very effective device

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We had lots of feral cats who would defecate and rip the netting on our gazebos so they could lounge inside. We set up this unit and it worked! Maybe because we left it out all year the unit burned out so we're purchasing another unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from Royal Oak, Michigan

It works and works well

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Bird-X Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller.has performed as promised.
We had a dog that thought our backyard was his domain
and bathroom. I didn't want to stay up all night to try to
catch the animal and if I had I am not sure a good tongue
lashing would do much anyway. I certainly didn't want to
hurt the animal so this was a great option. I has worked from day one and continues to work. After a couple of
months I plan to change the setting and go after the squirrels that like to share the bird food.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from Phillipsburg NJ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Yard Gard Repeller

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my second unit, am very happy with them so far. I use the provided cord, but you can use batteries if power is not available. It's well made and very weather resistant. These DO work, but you may have to spend a little time experimenting with adjusting frequency, sensitivity, and location of the unit. Placement is very important, as is adjusting the pitch level/frequency for the type of animal you are trying to target. It may take a little time to train the unwanted animals too. So no matter, you may not get an instant result from installing this unit, or each time you adjust it or move it. The difference between my lawn this season, from the way it was last summer, is absolute proof to me that this product works. And it's harmless to everyone involved. No nasty chemicals. No constant re-applications. I recommend this product and will buy more if/when needed.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller

TERRIBLE

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I BOUGHT TWO YARD GUARD ANIMAL REPELLER. THEY DO NOT WORK. IT SEEMS LIKE MORE SQUIRRELS ARE COMING THEN BEFORE.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller

Did not do what I wanted.

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought it so my neighbors dog would not mess in my yard. Turned it on set it in dog range and found a pile 10 feet in front of the device later that day.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It was easy to set up, but not clear on how all the settings work.

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I just got it set up, but not sure it is set properly since dogs seem to not be bothered by it.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: not sure how effective it is, questions on how to set it
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from South Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best Possible Solution

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent value for the money. Everyone I know wants one now. Haven't had any cats in or around my patio, car, or porch since I set this up. Bought two for a relative and have recommended over and over to my neighbors in my townhouse association. Works like a charm!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from Oklahoma City, OK, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Ultrasonic Animal/ Bird Repeller

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installed before the nesting season it is working so far. I have two areas on my porch that has been a nesting spots
for swallows for 5 years. They are very messy and the clean up after they leave is difficult. Hope this does the trick.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>