728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Insect & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller

Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller

Keep nuisance animals away with the Bird-X Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller. This maintenance-free ultrasonic device is effective against many pest mammals and can be triggered by an energy-saving motion sensor or set to work continuously. Use it to repel dogs, cats, deer, raccoons, skunks, opossums, rodents and bats without snares or toxins. Covers up to 4,000 square feet. AC cord included. May be operated with four "C" batteries (not included).
Overall rating:
3.106 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(94 reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
57%of customersrecommend this product50 of 87reviews
Rating Breakdown 94 reviews
3.1 out of 5.0
5
(31)
4
(20)
3
(4)
2
(6)
1
(33)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
57%of customersrecommend this product50 of 87reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
Review 1 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from Bogota,NJ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this product to keep stray cats from using my outdoor furniture as their bed. Ever since I put the yard guard the cats have not come back.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller

Bird X yard gard

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased two based on reviews. What a waste of money. I am returning one since I do not have the box to return the other.
Who writes these reviews? They are not true. My dog/cat problem still exist. These annoying animals still do their business on my lawn!! They walk by the "repellent" like its not even there.
Do not buy this item; it does not work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from Long Island, New York, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Better than the Motion Sprinkler!

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have two of these in my front yard, and it is extremely effective in keeping my neighbor's colony of about 13 cats from defecating on my lawn. I know it works because I downloaded an app to detect frequency ranges and the frequency meter is peaking at maximum levels. Frequency can be adjusted so that humans can not hear it. Be sure to use the provided ac cord and keep it set to continuous ac. I've invested close to $200.00 to keep my lawn clean, and I'm determined to have it that way! Thank you for a great product.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller

Did not work for intended purpose

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this product to deter my neighbor's dogs from the fence line. Prior to setting it up, I aimed the product at my dog. He stopped mid-step and ran away from it, appearing to not like the sound. However, when placed along my fence line, none of my neighbor's 6 dogs were affected and continued to run along my fence, barking.
I was able to repurpose the product and use it successfully, but beware that this does not effectively deter all dogs, alike.
Pros: Durable, Good Shape
Cons: not garaunteed to work
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from Royal Oak, Michigan

It works and works well

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Bird-X Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller.has performed as promised.
We had a dog that thought our backyard was his domain
and bathroom. I didn't want to stay up all night to try to
catch the animal and if I had I am not sure a good tongue
lashing would do much anyway. I certainly didn't want to
hurt the animal so this was a great option. I has worked from day one and continues to work. After a couple of
months I plan to change the setting and go after the squirrels that like to share the bird food.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Well but...

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Got 2 units: one in backyard to keep squirrels away from fruit trees, and racoons at night. 2nd to keep deers, and dogs away from front yard.
Pros:
Works well and the range is as advertised
Product has a waterproof cover in the back, so can be plugged in and used outdoor during rain.
Cons:
If you set the variable frequency knob to repel all (insects, big mammals, small mammals), you maybe able to hear the high pitched sound. However, this sound does fade away if you rotate the knob slightly. (See attached picture for the settings where the sound begins to fade for those with more sensitive hearing)
Nuetral:
The motion sensor in the device is a bit oversensitive; personally I want the maximum effect, so I prefer to leave the device plugged in and turned on 24/7.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: not too friendly for human ears
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from Matteson, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I needed this asap and you had it available

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have purchased this product before on line to use on racoons in my attic. It got rid of the racoons immediately. Then I used it to get rid of the skunks in my back yard that kept spraying my dog. Then the raccoons were attempting to come back and I needed another one for my attic, but could not wait for it from online. I purchased another one from Home Depot and again it got rid of the raccoons before they could do too much damage and they have not returned. I plan to keep this one permanently in the attic; which is no big deal because it uses very little electricity.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, weather resistant, lives up to its description
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from Norwalk, CT 06854
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well worth the price!

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Worked great. Got rid of squirrels in roof overhang and the sales person was excellent when I inquired about it at the store and said I wouldn't regret it and she was right!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from Dale, Indiana
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent Product!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I actually bought 2 of these - one for my tenants to keep the birds off their porch and one for me to keep the cats away. It took me a few days to find the "right" setting to keep 13 barn cats off my back porch and away from my doggy door (they kept coming inside!), but I finally hit on it! Cats are real "die hards" and will put up with some really annoying things -- that's why it took a couple of days. Not only the cats, but even the birds have left the trees immediately at my back porch and handicap ramp -- the droppings have stopped! Yaay! I don't have to wash it off every 2 days anymore! Yes, I'm delighted with this product. I have it sitting on the porch so it's right at the cat's level. Thanks!
Tried twice - kept getting an error message when I tried to upload a photo
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from Chula Vista
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pest repeller

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installed for about 1 week, appears to repel as advertised, need more time to make sure.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It seems to work, but...

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
My rabbit population seems to have diminished, but the unit does not hold the selected frequency. It needs constant adjustment nearly daily.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: requires constant adjustment
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller

Doesn't Work

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased to keep neighborhood dogs from digging up our yard. Seemed to work for a few days but the digging resumed directly in front of the device. Returning this item ASAP.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from RI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

mount high

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
mount this unit high or the animal might do his/her business on top of it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from Brentwood, Ca 94513
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works great! Stopped the dogs from pooping in my yard.

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to mount and put into operation. After one month operation no dogs have pooped in my yard.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller
from Wellsville , PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

so so

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Slowed deer down but they just kept bobbing there heads up and down until they got close enough to get a food source, seems to be working ok for the groundhog so far.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller

Did the job!

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I LOVE this product! I live in Florida in a 2-story, 100 yr old home with no insulation, a crawl space and an attic. I put one of these in the crawl space and one in the attic. NO MORE squirrels, and no more rats!!!
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller

Will buy another one like this

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
First one we borrowed from our friends and it worked perfectly so we decided to purchase one from Home Depot website. We returned the first one to our friends and installed a new one. It was defective. Made horrible high- pitched noise everybody could hear. Returned it. Will buy another one since I know: if it is not defective, it works miracles. 9 dogs of our neighbor stayed away from the property line and barked on another side, probably disappointing the other neighbor. Well, defective product happens, so I am not upset and will buy it again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller

It's total wasting

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It didn't work functionally. Also, it did not repel well mice to come in or stay in the house.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller

Did not do what I wanted.

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought it so my neighbors dog would not mess in my yard. Turned it on set it in dog range and found a pile 10 feet in front of the device later that day.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Yard Gard Ultrasonic Animal Repeller

It Works

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I researched this type of unit before settling on this one. I was looking for a solution to keep the neighbors dog from dropping "land mines" on my lawn. Chemicals are expensive and wash away in the rain. Since I have had this unit on I have not had any more problems!
One day I had it off and noticed the dog wandering stubbornly in my yard. I plugged in the unit and pointed it at the dog (from across the yard). He ran home!
The unit has an adjustment knob on the back that allows you to adjust the frequency. For anyone having mixed results with this unit: you need to tweak the setting to the animal you are trying to repel. It is somewhat audible at the setting I have it on but others have said they do not hear it.
It is durable, it has gotten completely covered in mud in rain storms and keeps working.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>